Restriction/Election
Applicant's election, without traverse, in the reply filed July 22, 2026 of Group I, claims 1 – 10, 12, and 17 - 22, directed to a recombinant acid molecule, a vector, a host cell, and a composition comprising a recombinant acid molecule.
Claims 13 – 15, and 23 - 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The claims will be examined insofar as they read on the elected species.
Therefore, claims 1 – 10, 12, and 17 - 22 are under consideration to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2026, and July 3, 2024 has been considered. An initialed copy of the IDS accompanies this Office Action.
Priority
The present application filed July 3, 2024, is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2023/060036, filed January 3, 2023, which claims the benefit of Provisional Application 63/296,432, filed January 4, 2022.
Therefore, the earliest priority date is January 4, 2022.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 10, 12, and 17 - 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 – 17 of published patent US 10071172 B2 (published September 11, 2018) (hereinafter referred to as ‘B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are wholly encompassed by, and significantly overlap in scope with claims 1, 25 – 26, and 28 - 46 of application 17/633,146.
Claims 13 – 17 of Patent ‘B2 is directed to a composition: a) an adeno-associated virus vector comprising a glucagon promoter operably linked to a nucleic acid sequence encoding Pdx1 and a nucleic acid sequence encoding MafA, wherein the vector does not encode Neurogenin 3 (Ngn3), and wherein the glucagon promoter a) consists of the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, or b) comprises the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3; b) a buffer; and c) a contrast dye for endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography.
Instantly recited claims 1 – 10, 12, and 17 are directed to a recombinant nucleic acid comprising a glucagon promoter operably linked to a nucleic acid molecule, a vector, a host cell, and a composition comprising a recombinant acid molecule. Specifically, claim 1 teaches that the glucagon promoter essentially consists of a nucleotide sequence of Seq ID No: 2. Seq ID No: 1 of ‘B2 is 1243 residues, whereas instantly recited Seq ID No: 2 is 592 residues, and Seq ID No: 2 has a 100% alignment score to Seq ID No: 1 of patent ‘B2.
Therefore, the instant application is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of patent ‘B2. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 4 - 10, 12, and 17 - 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gittes et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Gittes”) (US 20170087254 A1, published March 30, 2017). (This reference is listed in the IDS filed July 3, 2024).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, Gittes teaches a viral vector comprising a promoter operably linked to a nucleic acids encoding Pdx1 and a nucleic acid encoding MafA (Abstract). Gittes teaches Seq ID No: 2, which is a nucleic acid sequence of a human glucagon promoter (long) (Paragraph [0024]). Please note: Seq ID No: 2 has a 100% sequence alignment with instantly claimed Seq ID No: 1 (See Below).
Regarding claim 4 – 7, Gittes teaches an adeno-associated virus vector comprising a promoter operably linked to a nucleic acids (Paragraph [0127]). Gittes teaches that the vector is an rAAV6 (Paragraph [0158]).
Regarding claim 8 – 10, and 12, Gittes teaches a vector, wherein a a host cell which can be cultured that contains a nucleic acid sequence encoding an adeno-associated virus (AAV) serotype 8 capsid protein (Paragraph [0142]). Gittes teaches that the glucagon promoters that can be used to express a heterologous protein in alpha cells (Paragraph [0003]). Specifically, Gittes teaches that the glucagon promoter drives expression of human PDX1 and human MAFA in human alpha cells (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 17, Gittes teaches teaches a viral vector comprising a promoter operably linked to a nucleic acids encoding Pdx1 and a nucleic acid encoding MafA (Abstract).
Regarding claims 18 – 22, Gittes teaches a composition comprising an adeno-associated virus vector comprising a promoter operably linked to a nucleic acid encoding Pdx1, and a contrast dye for endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (claim 15). Gittes teaches that the contrast dye is lopromid (claim 20).
Gittes meets all the limitations of the claims and, therefore, anticipates the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 2, 4 – 10, 12, and 17 – 22 are rejected.
/VYOMA SHUBHAM TIWARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638