DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the reference database” and “the reference color coordinates” should read --a reference database-- and --reference color coordinates--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 11-12, 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreysar et al. (US 2007/0177230) in view of Terauchi (US 6222631).
In regard to claim 1, Kreysar et al. teach a method for determining color coordinates of light emitted (fig. 2 element 218) by each emitter of a matrix display (element 140 and paragraph 18), using already available information for similar light emitters with similar color characteristics other than those present in the matrix display (paragraph 31, interpolating X, Y, Z using three known values), the method comprising: a) Acquiring at least two intensity images of each emitter of the matrix with different filtering by acquisition filters, at least one of said intensity images being acquired with filtering by at least one of said acquisition filters (paragraph 28, using three filters), b) determining for each emitter of the matrix estimated color coordinates of said emitter based on said already available information and said intensity images (paragraph 31, using known values. See element 220 and paragraph 32. Kreysar et al. teach performing the measurements for each pixel) but does not teach the at least one acquisition filter having an attenuation that changes by more than 10% when the wavelength changes by 25nm around a central wavelength (λ0) of the light emitted by the light emitter.
Terauchi teaches the at least one acquisition filter having an attenuation that changes by more than 10% when the wavelength changes by 25nm around a central wavelength (λ0) of the light emitted by the light emitter (column 3 lines 6-8).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of measuring color characteristics of displays.
At the time of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. with the filters of Terauchi. The rationale is as follows: At the time of invention it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. with the filters of Terauchi because the filters of Terauchi would work equally as well in the apparatus of Kreysar et al. as they do separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the filters of Terauchi would work predictably and any filter could be chosen based on availability, cost, size, etc.
In regard to claim 6, Terauchi teaches wherein the at least one acquisition filter having a response curve of slope of at least 0.05 nm-1 a central wavelength of the light emitted by the light emitter (see fig. 2a. Terauchi teaches the curve peaking at the central wavelength).
In regard to claim 7, Terauchi teaches wherein the at least one acquisition filter having a response curve of slope of at least 0.1 nm-1 a central wavelength of the light emitted by the light emitter (see fig. 2a. Terauchi teaches the curve peaking at the central wavelength).
In regard to claim 11, Kreysar et al. teach wherein the image acquisition apparatus being a camera (paragraph 15).
In regard to claim 12, Kreysar et al. and Terauchi teach all the elements of claim 12 except LEDs.
Official Notice is taken that, before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with LEDs. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with LEDs because LEDs are notoriously well-known and provide low energy usage with a small footprint.
In regard to claim 13, Kreysar et al. teach wherein the acquisition filters being transmission filters (elements 116, the light is transmitted through the filters as shown in fig. 1A).
In regard to claim 16, Kreysar et al. teach acquiring for each emitter of the matrix at least two intensity images filtered by at least two respective different acquisition filters (paragraph 28, three filters).
In regard to claim 17, Kreysar et al. teach wherein the at least two acquisition filters having response curves of opposite slopes around the dominant wavelength (λ0) of the emitter (paragraph 28, Kreysar et al. show using filters for three different colors for each pixel. The red filter, for example, has an opposite slope from the green filter at the red pixel).
In regard to claim 20, Kreysar et al. and Terauchi teach all the elements of claim 20 including memory storing using available information about color coordinates measured for light emitters other than those present in the matrix (paragraph 19 Kreysar et al.), - an image acquisition apparatus (elements 123 Kreysar et al.), - a selectable set of acquisition filters (elements 116, 118 and paragraph 17 Kreysar et al.),- a processor for controlling the image acquisition apparatus and selecting the acquisition filters (element 160 Kreysar et al.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreysar et al. in view of Terauchi further considered with Oh et al. (US 2022/0113194).
In regard to claim 2, Kreysar et al. and Terauchi teach all the elements of claim 2 except the acquisition at a) of at least one filtered intensity image of each emitter of the matrix filtered by at least one of said acquisition filters and of at least one intensity image without acquisition filter.
Oh et al. teach the acquisition at a) of at least one filtered intensity image of each emitter of the matrix filtered by at least one of said acquisition filters and of at least one intensity image without acquisition filter (figs. 6, 7, paragraphs 111 and 115. OH et al. teach measuring the light without the filter and with the filter).
The three are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of measuring color characteristics of displays.
At the time of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with the unfiltered light of Oh et al. The rationale is as follows: At the time of invention it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with the unfiltered light of Oh et al. because the measuring the unfiltered light would allow for additional luminance measurements and would improve the measurement algorithms.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreysar et al. in view of Terauchi further considered with Oh et al. and Moggridge et al. (US 2018/0288292).
In regard to claim 10, Oh et al. teach acquiring at least one intensity image without an acquisition filter (figs. 6, 7, paragraphs 111 and 115. OH et al. teach measuring the light without the filter and with the filter) but none of Kreysar et al., Terauchi and Oh teach at least one neutral density filter.
Moggridge et al. teach at least one neutral density filter (paragraph 5 and elements 230-231).
The four are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of measuring color characteristics of displays.
At the time of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al., Terauchi and Oh et al. with the neutral density filter of Moggridge et al. The rationale is as follows: At the time of invention it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al., Terauchi and Oh et al. with the neutral density filter of Moggridge et al. because the neutral density filter would provide uniform light filtering allowing for accurate color detection.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreysar et al. in view of Terauchi further considered with Chang (US 2003/0011832).
In regard to claim 18, Kreysar et al. and Terauchi teach all the elements of claim 18 except repeating steps a) to b) for different respective powering currents of said emitters.
Chang teaches repeating steps a) to b) for different respective powering currents of said emitters (fig. 3 elements 112-118 and paragraph 40).
The three are analogous art because they all deal with the same field of invention of measuring color characteristics of displays.
At the time of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with the multiple power outputs of Chang. The rationale is as follows: At the time of invention it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kreysar et al. and Terauchi with the multiple power outputs of Chang because using multiple power outputs would allow for the calibration of the display for the use of the device in any condition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 9, 14, 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In regard to claim 3, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious “acquisition at a) of at least one filtered intensity image of each emitter of the matrix filtered by at least one transmission slope and of at least one filtered intensity image of each emitter of the matrix filtered by at least a different transmission slope” in combination with the claim’s other features.
In regard to claims 4, 8 and 9, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious “using a reference database storing for a plurality of light emitters color coordinates of said emitters and reference normalized luminance energy vectors corresponding to the light of said emitters filtered by one or more corresponding acquisition filters” in combination with the claim’s other features.
In regard to claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious “computing based on said intensity images obtained at a) a corresponding normalized luminance energy vector for each emitter of the matrix, and) determining for each emitter of the matrix estimated color coordinates of said emitter using an interpolation technique based on the reference color coordinates and normalized luminance energy vectors or using a neural network trained with the reference database to estimate color coordinates of an emitter based on the normalized luminance energy vector” in combination with the claim’s other features.
In regard to claims 14 and 15, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the transmission vs. wavelength differing from a linear approximation in combination with the claim’s other features.
In regard to claim 19, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the iterative algorithm in combination with the claim’s other features.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621