DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3 July, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 objected to because of the following informalities: reference to “the grinding jig having the shape of a pair of tweezers” is redundant as only one grinding jig is claimed and there is no need to distinguish it from a jig having a different shape. Consider ––the grinding jig––. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the support means”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and is likewise rejected as indefinite.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 covers “[a] grinding system comprising a grinding machine having a grinding means and a support means, the grinding system being configured for co-operation with the grinding jig of claim 1.” Claim 19 refers to claim 1 only in terms of an intended use, which means that it could be satisfied by a grinding system that is capable of use with the grinding jig of claim 1 but does not require the presence of the grinding jig. Because it does not require the presence of the grinding jig defined by the parent claim, it does not include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends and is therefore rejected for improper dependent form. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18/838,528 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 18 of the reference application recites each of the structural elements of claims 1 and 20 of the present application. The only difference between claim 18 of the reference application and claims 1 and 20 of the present application are additional structures recited in claim 18 of the reference application, because claims 1 and 20 use an open-ended transitional phrase, the inclusion of additional elements in claim 18 of the reference application does not patentably distinguish that invention from the inventions of claims 1 and 20.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones (US 1339397).
1. Jones teaches a grinding jig for holding a blade of a tool in a grinding machine, wherein the grinding jig comprises:
a first and a second clamp portion (jaws 6, Jones fig. 1) that are movable with respect to one another to clamp the blade (jaws 6 may be displaced for blade insertion, see Jones 1:96-101); and an elongate support portion (stem 7, Jones fig. 1) capable of supporting the grinding jig on a grinding machine (Jones fig. 1), the elongate support portion comprising a first support leg carrying the first clamp portion and a second support leg carrying the second clamp portion (each jaw forms a portion of stem 7, Jones fig. 1 and 1:87-95), wherein the elongate support portion extends along a longitudinal center axis Y of the grinding jig (see Jones fig. 1) and comprises a radial abutment surface (at 8) capable of abutment against the grinding machine (round end of 8 is capable of being abutted against a portion of a grinding machine), and wherein the first and second support legs of the support portion are fixed to one another at the radial abutment surface (ends 7 are fixed to socket 8, Jones fig. 2 and 1:60-66).
2. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the first and second support legs are configured to be bent such that first and second clamp portions are movable with respect to one another (jaws 6 bent and are movable, Jones fig. 1 and 1:87-101).
3. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the grinding jig has the shape of a pair of tweezers (jaws 6 form tweezers, see Jones fig. 2).
4. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 3, wherein the first support leg carrying the first clamp portion forms a first lever of the grinding jig having the shape of a pair of tweezers and the second support leg carrying the second clamp portion forms a second lever of the grinding jig having the shape of a pair of tweezers (jaws 6 form tweezers, see Jones fig. 2).
5. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 3, wherein the radial abutment surface is positioned at the fulcrum of the grinding jig having the shape of a pair of tweezers (if the jig of Jones is used as a lever, the junction at 8 is capable of being used as a fulcrum, see Jones fig. 1).
6. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the first and second support legs are solid or comprise resilient sections that are solid (7 are solid, see Jones fig. 1).
7. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the first and second support legs are integral or are attached to one another at least at the radial abutment surface (7 are attached to each other at 8, see Jones fig. 2).
9. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the clamp portions are made from metal (jaws made from metal, Jones 1:87-88).
10. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, further comprising an actuating system (combination of slots 11 and clamping pin 12, see Jones fig. 1) arranged to releasably force the first and second clamp portions towards one another to clamp the blade (pin 12 moves in slots 11 to clamp or release blade, Jones 1:87-101.
11. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 10, wherein the actuating system is configured to engage the first and second clamp portions (pin 12 engages with jaws 6 via slot 11, see Jones fig. 1).
12. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 10, wherein the actuating system comprises a joining actuator (pin 12, Jones figs. 1-2).
18. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, wherein the length of the support legs and the clamp portions along the longitudinal center axis Y corresponds to at least 70 percent of the length of the grinding jig.
The claim requires a correspondence between lengths, i.e., that the clamp and support leg lengths have some relation to the total length rather than that the clamp and support leg lengths combine to equal at least 70 percent of the total length. Because the total length of the grinding jig is a function of the length of the support legs and clamp portions as well as any additional elements, the lengths of any constituent elements will inherently correspond to the total length of the jig as well as any subdivision thereof. Consequently, Jones anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Persson (US PGPub 2020/0316748).
8. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, but does not teach that the first and second support legs are made from plastic material.
However, Persson teaches a grinding jig (100) having two halves (101,102, wherein the halves comprise clamping portions (110,120) and support legs (161, 162), and wherein the halves are made of metal or plastic (Persson [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grinding jig of Jones according to the teachings of Persson regarding suitable materials such that the first and second support legs were made from plastic material, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one art-recognized suitable material for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
14. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, but does not teach that the elongate support portion comprises a rear radial abutment surface and a front radial abutment surface, wherein the rear and front radial abutment surfaces are spaced apart such that the grinding jig may be moved back and forth relative to the support means in the direction of the longitudinal center axis Y of the grinding jig.
However, Persson teaches a grinding jig (100) having two halves (101,102, wherein the halves comprise clamping portions (110,120) and support legs (161, 162), and the legs comprise a rear radial abutment surface (180) and a front radial abutment surface (170), wherein the rear and front radial abutment surfaces are spaced apart such that the grinding jig may be moved back and forth relative to the support means in the direction of the longitudinal center axis Y of the grinding jig (see Persson figs. 2a and 4 and [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grinding jig of Jones according to the teachings of Persson regarding plural abutment surfaces, such that the elongate support portion comprises a rear radial abutment surface and a front radial abutment surface, wherein the rear and front radial abutment surfaces are spaced apart such that the grinding jig may be moved back and forth relative to the support means in the direction of the longitudinal center axis Y of the grinding jig, as doing so would assist an operator in achieving convex edge bevels (Persson [0041]).
15. Jones as modified teaches the grinding jig of claim 14, wherein the front radial abutment surface comprises a first front radial abutment surface and a second front radial surface formed on the first and second support leg, respectively (surfaces 163 and 164 are formed on separate legs, see Persson fig. 3).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Jones teaches the grinding jig according to claim 1, but does not teach that the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion and the elongate support portion are separate parts that are attachable to one another, or that the first clamp portion is configured to be attached to the first support leg and the second clamp portion is configured to be attached to the second support leg.
However, Persson teaches a grinding jig (100) having two halves (101,102, wherein the halves comprise clamping portions (110,120) and support legs (161, 162), wherein the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion and the elongate support portion are separate parts that are attachable to one another (Persson [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the grinding jig of Jones according to the teachings of Persson regarding the manufacture of the clamp and support portions such that the first clamp portion, the second clamp portion and the legs defining the elongate support portion were separate parts attachable to one another, as doing so represents the simple substitution of one method of making a jig for another, the results of such a substitution being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
20. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a grinding system comprising a grinding machine and the grinding jig of claim 1.
However, However, Persson teaches a grinding system comprising a grinding machine (300) and a grinding jig grinding jig (100, Persson fig. 2a) having two halves (101,102, wherein the halves comprise clamping portions (110,120) and support legs (161, 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the grinding jig of Jones according to the teachings of Persson regarding a grinding system comprising a grinding machine and grinding jig to obtain a grinding system comprising a grinding machine and the grinding jig of claim 1, as doing so represents the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods, the results of such a combination being predictable to one of ordinary skill.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Schwartz (US 8303381).
13. Jones teaches the grinding jig of claim 10, wherein the actuating system comprises a joining actuator (pin 12, Jones figs. 1-2). Jones does not teach that the actuating system comprises a separating actuator, wherein the separating actuator is positioned between the joining actuator and the first and second support legs.
However, Schwartz teaches a grinding jig (2) having two halves (10,12) comprising clamping portions (22,24) and support portions (38,40, Schwartz fig. 3); and an actuating system comprising a joining actuator (14) and a separating actuator (18, see Schwartz fig. 3, 2:54-67, and 3:35-45), wherein the separating actuator is positioned between the joining actuator and the first and second support portions (18 is between 14 and supports 38,40; see Schwartz fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the grinding jig of Jones according to the teachings from Schwartz regarding an actuating system such that it included a separating actuator positioned between the joining actuator and the first and second support legs, as doing so would improve clamping and stabilize the clamping members (Schwartz 3:35-45).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Keska (US 7182678), Sessoms (US 4497142), Haile et al. (US 3924360), Keller (US 2562618), Connerat (US 2189883), and Warner (US 1770538) teach relevant structures of sharpening jigs.
/J.R.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723