DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatsuya (JPH08288187A).
In re claim 15, Tatsuya discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (3 – Figure 1, ¶27) including a winding portion (¶27) in which an anode foil and a cathode foil are wound (¶24);
a container (4 – Figure 1, ¶27) that houses the capacitor element (3 – Figure 1); and
a heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1, ¶36) that dissipates heat generated inside the container (¶36), wherein:
the heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) includes a plate portion (6 – Figure 1) having a plate shape and a column portion (2 – Figure 1) extending from one surface of the plate portion (Figure 1, Figure 2),
the column portion is inserted into the winding portion (Figure 2), and the plate portion is in contact with the container (Figure 1).
In re claim 16, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 15, as explained above. Tatsuya further discloses wherein the column portion (2 – Figure 1, Figure 2) has a cylindrical shape (Figure 2).
In re claim 17, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 15, as explained above. Tatsuya further discloses wherein the heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) is formed of a material having a thermal conductivity of greater than or equal to 155 W/m-K (¶23; Note that aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 237 W/m-k).
In re claim 18, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 15, as explained above. Tatsuya further discloses the container (4 – Figure 1) has an opening (Figure 1), and the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) covers at least a part of the opening (Figure 1).
In re claim 19, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 18, as explained above. Tatsuya further discloses the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) is in contact with the container by a drawing (Figure 1; Note that the drawing part of the container extends over the sealing plate.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US Publication 2004/0100756) in view of Takayuki (JP2003297673A).
Figure 9 of Koizumi with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 9EC)
In re claim 1, Koizumi discloses an electrolytic capacitor (Abstract) comprising:
a winding portion (1 – Figure 7, Figure 8, ¶49) including an anode foil ( 2- Figure 8, ¶52) and cathode foil (4 – Figure 8, ¶53) that are wound (Figure 8);
an anode lead member (3 – Figure 8, ¶52) connected to the anode foil (2 – Figure 8) and extending in a first direction (vertical direction shown in Figure, Figure 8); and
a cathode lead member (5 – Figure 8, ¶56) connected to the cathode foil (4 – Figure 8) and extending in the first direction (vertical direction shown in Figure, Figure 8), wherein:
the winding portion has a shape viewed in the first direction (Figure 9), the shape including a first peripheral region (PR1 – Figure 9EC) and a second peripheral region (PR2 – Figure 9EC) that are opposed to each other in a second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC) intersecting the first direction (Figure 9EC), and a third peripheral region (PR3 – Figure 9EC) and a fourth peripheral region (PR4 – 9EC) that are opposed to each other in a third direction (D3 – Figure 9EC) intersecting the first direction and the second direction (Figure 8, Figure 9),
the anode lead member (3 – Figure 9EC) and the cathode lead member (5 – Figure 9EC) are arranged point-symmetrically with respect to a center of the winding portion when viewed in the first direction (Figure 9).
Koizumi does not disclose a length of the winding portion in the third direction is larger than a length of the winding portion in the second direction.
Takayuki discloses a flat-type capacitor (¶1) (1 – Figure 4, ¶14) having a length of the winding portion in the third direction (horizontal direction – Figure 4) is larger than a length of the winding portion in the second direction (vertical direction – Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the flat-type capacitor structure of Takayuki to provide for an electronic component having a low profile per user specifications.
In re claim 2, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a first anode lead member (upper 3 – Figure 9EC) that is the anode lead member; and
a second anode lead member (lower 3 – Figure 9EC) connected to the anode foil (2 – Figure 8) and extending in the first direction (vertical direction – Figure 8), wherein the second anode lead (lower 3 – Figure 9EC) member is arranged to face the first anode lead member (upper 3 – Figure 9EC) in the second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC).
In re claim 3, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a first cathode lead member (upper 5 – Figure 9EC) that is the cathode lead member; and
a second cathode lead member (lower 5 – Figure 9EC) connected to the cathode foil (4 – Figure 8) and extending in the first direction (vertical direction – Figure 8), wherein the second cathode lead (lower 5 – Figure 9EC) member is arranged to face the first cathode lead member (upper 5 – Figure 9EC) in the second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC).
In re claim 4, Koizumi discloses an electrolytic capacitor (Abstract) comprising:
a winding portion (1 – Figure 7, Figure 8, ¶49) including an anode foil ( 2- Figure 8, ¶52) and cathode foil (4 – Figure 8, ¶53) that are wound (Figure 8);
a first anode lead member (upper 3 – Figure 9EC) and a second anode lead member (lower 3 – Figure 9EC) that are connected to the anode foil (2 – Figure 8) and each extend in a first direction (vertical direction – Figure 8); and
a first cathode lead member (upper 5 – Figure 9EC) and a second cathode lead member (lower 5 – Figure 9EC) that are connected to the cathode foil (4 – Figure 8) and each extend in the first direction (vertical direction – Figure 8),
the winding portion has a shape viewed in the first direction (Figure 9), the shape including a first peripheral region (PR1 – Figure 9EC) and a second peripheral region (PR2 – Figure 9EC) that are opposed to each other in a second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC) intersecting the first direction (Figure 9EC), and a third peripheral region (PR3 – Figure 9EC) and a fourth peripheral region (PR4 – 9EC) that are opposed to each other in a third direction (D3 – Figure 9EC) intersecting the first direction and the second direction (Figure 8, Figure 9),
the first peripheral region (PR1 – Figure 9EC) includes a first end (E1 – Figure 9EC) and a second end (E2 – Figure 9EC) that are opposed to each other in the third direction (D3 – Figure 9EC),
the second peripheral region (PR2 – Figure 9EC) includes a third end (E3 – Figure 9EC) and a fourth end (E4 – Figure 9EC) that are opposed to each other in the third direction (D3 – Figure 9EC),
the first end of the first peripheral region and the third end of the second peripheral region are opposed to each other in the second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC),
the second end of the first peripheral region and the fourth end of the second peripheral region are opposed to each other in the second direction (D2 – Figure 9EC),
the first anode lead member (upper 3 – Figure 9EC) is located at the first end of the first peripheral region (E1 – Figure 9EC) when viewed in the first direction (Figure 9EC),
the first cathode lead member (upper 5 – Figure 9EC) is located at the second end (E2 – Figure 9EC) of the first peripheral region when viewed in the first direction (Figure 9EC),
the second anode lead member (lower 3 – Figure 9EC) is located at the third end of the second peripheral region (E3 – Figure 9EC) when viewed in the first direction (Figure 9EC), and
the second cathode lead member (lower 5 – Figure 9EC) is located at the fourth end of the second peripheral region (E4 – Figure 9EC) when viewed in the first direction (Figure 9EC).
Koizumi does not disclose a length of the winding portion in the third direction is larger than a length of the winding portion in the second direction.
Takayuki discloses a flat-type capacitor (¶1) (1 – Figure 4, ¶14) having a length of the winding portion in the third direction (horizontal direction – Figure 4) is larger than a length of the winding portion in the second direction (vertical direction – Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the flat-type capacitor structure of Takayuki to provide for an electronic component having a low profile per user specifications.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US Publication 2004/0100756) in view of Takayuki (JP2003297673A) and in further view of Runshen et al. (CN114267540A).
In re claim 5, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a container (9 – Figure 7, ¶8) that houses the winding portion (1 – Figure 7, ¶8)
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member that dissipates heat generated inside the container, wherein: the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion having a plate shape and a column portion extending from one surface of the plate portion, the column portion is inserted into the winding portion, and the plate portion is in contact with the container.
Runshen discloses a heat dissipation member (4, 5, 6 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals) that dissipates heat generated inside the container (Detailed Ways ¶1-5), wherein:
the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion (4, 6 – Figure 2, Figure 3) having a plate shape (Figure 2, Figure 3) and a column portion (5 – Figure 2) extending from one surface of the plate portion (Figure 2), the column portion is inserted into the winding portion (2 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals), and the plate portion is in contact with the container (1 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member to effectively reduce heat within the capacitor element and provide for increased service life of the component.
In re claim 6, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 5, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose wherein the column portion has a plate shape.
Runshen discloses wherein the column portion (5 – Figure 2) has a plate shape (Detailed Ways ¶2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member to effectively reduce heat within the capacitor element and provide for increased service life of the component.
In re claim 25, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 4, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a container (9 – Figure 7, ¶8) that houses the winding portion (1 – Figure 7, ¶8)
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member that dissipates heat generated inside the container, wherein: the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion having a plate shape and a column portion extending from one surface of the plate portion, the column portion is inserted into the winding portion, and the plate portion is in contact with the container.
Runshen discloses a heat dissipation member (4, 5, 6 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals) that dissipates heat generated inside the container (Detailed Ways ¶1-5), wherein:
the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion (4, 6 – Figure 2, Figure 3) having a plate shape (Figure 2, Figure 3) and a column portion (5 – Figure 2) extending from one surface of the plate portion (Figure 2), the column portion is inserted into the winding portion (2 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals), and the plate portion is in contact with the container (1 – Figure 2, Description of Reference Numerals).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member to effectively reduce heat within the capacitor element and provide for increased service life of the component.
In re claim 26, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 25, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose wherein the column portion has a plate shape.
Runshen discloses wherein the column portion (5 – Figure 2) has a plate shape (Detailed Ways ¶2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member to effectively reduce heat within the capacitor element and provide for increased service life of the component.
Claim(s) 5, 7-10, 25, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US Publication 2004/0100756) in view of Takayuki (JP2003297673A) and in further view of Tatsuya (JPH08288187A).
In re claim 5, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 1, as explained above.
Koizumi further discloses a container (9 – Figure 7, ¶8) that houses the winding portion (1 – Figure 7, ¶8)
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member that dissipates heat generated inside the container, wherein: the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion having a plate shape and a column portion extending from one surface of the plate portion, the column portion is inserted into the winding portion, and the plate portion is in contact with the container.
Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1, ¶36) that dissipates heat generated inside the container (4 – Figure 1, ¶27), wherein:
the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion (6 – Figure 1) having a plate shape and a column portion (2 – Figure 1, Figure 3, ¶36) extending from one surface of the plate portion (Figure 1), the column portion is inserted into the winding portion (3 - Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶35 ), and the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) is in contact with the container (4 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 7, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 5, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose wherein the heat dissipation member is formed of a material having a thermal conductivity of greater than or equal to 155 W/m-K.
Tatsuyua discloses wherein the heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) is formed of a material having a thermal conductivity of greater than or equal to 155 W/m-K (¶23; Note that aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 237 W/m-k).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 8, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 5, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose the container has an opening, and the plate portion covers at least a part of the opening.
Tatsuya discloses the container (4 – Figure 1) has an opening (Figure 1), and the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) covers at least a part of the opening (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 9, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 8, as explained above.
Koizumi does not disclose the plate portion is in contact with the container by subjecting a drawing to a part of the container.
Tatsuya discloses the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) is in contact with the container by subjecting a drawing to a part of the container (Figure 1; Note that the drawing part of the container extends over the sealing plate.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 10, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 8, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a sealer (23 – Figure 12, ¶12) that seals the opening (Figure 12), wherein:
the sealer (23 – Figure 12) has an exposed surface (lower surface of 23 – Figure 12) exposed from the opening, and the sealing plate (25 – Figure 12, ¶14) is disposed in contact with the exposed surface (Figure 1).
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) that comprises a sealing plate (6 – Figure 1)
The combination of Koizumi and Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 25, Koizumi in view of Takayuki discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 4, as explained above.
Koizumi further discloses a container (9 – Figure 7, ¶8) that houses the winding portion (1 – Figure 7, ¶8)
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member that dissipates heat generated inside the container, wherein: the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion having a plate shape and a column portion extending from one surface of the plate portion, the column portion is inserted into the winding portion, and the plate portion is in contact with the container.
Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1, ¶36) that dissipates heat generated inside the container (4 – Figure 1, ¶27), wherein:
the heat dissipation member includes a plate portion (6 – Figure 1) having a plate shape and a column portion (2 – Figure 1, Figure 3, ¶36) extending from one surface of the plate portion (Figure 1), the column portion is inserted into the winding portion (3 - Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶35 ), and the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) is in contact with the container (4 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 27, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 25, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose wherein the heat dissipation member is formed of a material having a thermal conductivity of greater than or equal to 155 W/m-K.
Tatsuyua discloses wherein the heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) is formed of a material having a thermal conductivity of greater than or equal to 155 W/m-K (¶23; Note that aluminum has a thermal conductivity of 237 W/m-k).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 28, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 25, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose the container has an opening, and the plate portion covers at least a part of the opening.
Tatsuya discloses the container (4 – Figure 1) has an opening (Figure 1), and the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) covers at least a part of the opening (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 29, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 28, as explained above.
Koizumi does not disclose the plate portion is in contact with the container by subjecting a drawing to a part of the container.
Tatsuya discloses the plate portion (6 – Figure 1) is in contact with the container by subjecting a drawing to a part of the container (Figure 1; Note that the drawing part of the container extends over the sealing plate.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
In re claim 30, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 28, as explained above. Koizumi further discloses a sealer (23 – Figure 12, ¶12) that seals the opening (Figure 12), wherein:
the sealer (23 – Figure 12) has an exposed surface (lower surface of 23 – Figure 12) exposed from the opening, and the sealing plate (25 – Figure 12, ¶14) is disposed in contact with the exposed surface (Figure 1).
Koizumi does not disclose a heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member (2, 6 – Figure 1) that comprises a sealing plate (6 – Figure 1)
The combination of Koizumi and Tatsuya discloses a heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the heat dissipation member of Tatsuya to suppress heat in the winding center of the capacitor element and provide for a capacitor with higher reliability.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (US Publication 2004/0100756) in view of Takayuki (JP2003297673A) and in further view of Tatsuya (JPH08288187A) and in further view of Bueno De Camargo Mello et al. (US Publication 2022/0262564 – herein after referenced as Mello).
In re claim 13, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 5, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose further comprising a dummy terminal fixed to a substrate mounted with the container, wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses a dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 4, ¶38) fixed to a substrate mounted with the container (¶61), wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container (1 – Figure 4, ¶33) or the heat dissipation member. Note that the terminal is in indirect contact with the container.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
In re claim 14, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 13, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose an auxiliary heat dissipation member in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal, wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses an auxiliary heat dissipation member (7 – Figure 8, ¶35) in contact with at least one of the container (1, 11 – Figure 3, Figure 4, ¶38, ¶43) or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 8), wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member (Figure 3, Figure 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
In re claim 33, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 25, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose further comprising a dummy terminal fixed to a substrate mounted with the container, wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses a dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 4, ¶38) fixed to a substrate mounted with the container (¶61), wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container (1 – Figure 4, ¶33) or the heat dissipation member. Note that the terminal is in indirect contact with the container.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
In re claim 34, Koizumi in view of Takayuki and in further view of Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 33, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose an auxiliary heat dissipation member in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal, wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses an auxiliary heat dissipation member (7 – Figure 8, ¶35) in contact with at least one of the container (1, 11 – Figure 3, Figure 4, ¶38, ¶43) or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 8), wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member (Figure 3, Figure 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuya (JPH08288187A) in view of Koizumi et al. (US Publication 2004/0100756).
In re claim 20, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 18, as explained above. Tatsuya further discloses the heat dissipation member comprises a sealing plate (6 – Figure 1).
Tatsuya does not a sealer that seals the opening, wherein:
the sealer has an exposed surface exposed from the opening, and the heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
Koizumi discloses a sealer (23 – Figure 12) that seals the opening (Figure 12), wherein:
the sealer has an exposed surface (lower surface of 23 – Figure 12) exposed from the opening, and the sealing plate (25 – Figure 12) is disposed in contact with the exposed surface (Figure 12).
The combination of Tatsuya and Koizumi discloses a sealer that seals the opening, wherein:
the sealer has an exposed surface exposed from the opening, and the heat dissipation member is disposed in contact with the exposed surface.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sealing element of Koizumi to provide for a hermetically sealed capacitor.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuya (JPH08288187A) in view of Bueno De Camargo Mello et al. (US Publication 2022/0262564 – herein after referenced as Mello).
In re claim 23, Tatsuya discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to claim 15, as explained above. Tatsuya does not disclose a dummy terminal fixed to a substrate mounted with the container, wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses a dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 4, ¶38) fixed to a substrate mounted with the container (¶61), wherein the dummy terminal is in direct or indirect contact with at least one of the container (1 – Figure 4, ¶33) or the heat dissipation member. Note that the terminal is in indirect contact with the container.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
In re claim 24, discloses the electrolytic capacitor according to Claim 23, as explained above. Koizumi does not disclose an auxiliary heat dissipation member in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal, wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member.
Mello discloses an auxiliary heat dissipation member (7 – Figure 8, ¶35) in contact with at least one of the container (1, 11 – Figure 3, Figure 4, ¶38, ¶43) or the heat dissipation member and in contact with the dummy terminal (9a, 9b – Figure 8), wherein the dummy terminal is in contact with at least one of the container or the heat dissipation member via the auxiliary heat dissipation member (Figure 3, Figure 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the dummy terminals of Mello to improve a mechanical and thermal connection with the printed circuit board (Mello: ¶61).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 21-22, and 31-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the heat dissipation member is formed of a material having a Young's modulus higher than a Young's modulus of the sealer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawakubo (US Patent 8,644,004) Figure 9
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848