DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication mailed on 5/13/2026 and applicant has submitted an amendment, filed on 8/11/2016.
Claims 1-4 are pending, with claims 1-4 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-4 filed on 8/11/2016have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20230209590 (hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20240306154 (hereinafter referred to as Wang).
Consider claim 1, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE) (see at least ¶ [0356], Fig. 5, “…a user equipment…”), comprising:
circuitry (see at least ¶ [0359], “…implemented as devices or modules using hardware circuits…”) configured to:
in a case that a high priority (HP) physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), for up to 2 bits of HP hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with PUCCH format 0 (see at least ¶ [0232], “…PUCCH format 0 …. When the high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK all are 2 bits…” and see at least ¶ [0251], “…high priority HARQ-ACK uses PUCCH format 0…” and see at least ¶ [0267], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK is 2 bits …”) or
PUCCH format l, overlaps with one or more HP scheduling request (SR) PUCCH resources with PUCCH format 0 (see at least ¶ [0299], “…the high priority SR uses PUCCH format 0 for transmission…”) or
PUCCH format 1 and overlaps with a low priority (LP) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least ¶ [0015], “…the control channel includes a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), and the low priority shared channel includes a low priority physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH …” and see at least ¶ [0143], “…the PUCCH resource carrying high priority HARQ-ACK contain PUCCH format 0 and the PUCCH resource carrying low priority HARQ-ACK contain PUCCH format 1, the combination of different bit values of the high priority and low priority HARQ-ACK can be represented by the UE's transmission of different sequences of the high priority PUCCH format 0. Alternatively, the combination of different bit values between the high priority HARQ-ACK and low priority HARQ-ACK can be transmitted by the UE on different PUCCH resources combined with different sequences or bits to achieve multiplexing…” and see at least ¶ [0342], “…the PUCCH carrying high priority HARQ-ACK overlaps with the low priority PUSCH…”), and
if HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured and/or dynamically indicated by downlink control information (DCI), append 1 bit for HP SR to the HP HARQ-ACK, wherein a bit of 1 indicates a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicates a negative HP SR (see at least ¶ [0315], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK can be multiplexed with the low priority channel by (1) a new multiplexing indicator field in DCI that schedule the PDSCH corresponding to the high priority HARQ-ACK or (2) higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC parameter, in PUCCH resource. When the time domain overlapping occurs between the PUCCH resource of the high priority HARQ-ACK and the low priority PUSCH, the multiplexing indicator in DCI or the configuration parameter in RRC signaling can be used to determine whether the high priority HARQ-ACK can be multiplexed with the low priority PUSCH…” and see at least ¶ [0326], “…the low priority channel by a new multiplexing indicator field in DCI that schedule the PDSCH corresponding to the high priority HARQ-ACK or by RRC configuration in PUCCH resource. At the same time, the gNB indicate whether the high priority PUSCH can be multiplexed with the low priority channel by DCI multiplexing indicator or RRC …”); and
multiplex the combined up to 2 bits of HARQ-ACK and the 1 bit of SR on the LP 1 as HP HARQ-ACK bits (see at least ¶ [0339], “…the PUCCH carrying high priority HARQ-ACK overlaps with the PUCCH carrying low priority HARQ-ACK in time domain, if these two HARQ-ACKs all are less than or equal to 2 bits…”).
Chen discloses all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Chen does not particularly disclose HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured and append 1 bit for HP SR to the HP HARQ-ACK, wherein a bit of 1 indicates a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicates a negative HP SR. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Wang, which teaches HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured and append 1 bit for HP SR to the HP HARQ-ACK, wherein a bit of 1 indicates a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicates a negative HP SR (see Wang, at least ¶ [0066], “…A HARQ-ACK information bit value of 0 may represent a NACK while a HARQ-ACK information bit value of 1 may represent a positive ACK …” and see at least ¶ [0078], “…transmit a group of overlapping PUCCHs (e.g., PUCCHs overlapping each other) in a slot or to transmit overlapping PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) in a slot …” and see at least ¶ [0124], “…PUCCH resource 102 for (transmitting) LP HARQ-ACK overlaps PUCCH resource 104 for HP SR and PUCCH resource 106 for HP HARQ-ACK …, …PUCCH resource 104 for HP SR and PUCCH resource 106 for HP HARQ-ACK may have a high priority…” and see at least ¶ [0125], “…a high priority PUCCH overlaps a low priority PUSCH, UCI of the high priority PUCCH may be multiplexed in the low priority PUSCH…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Chen disclosed invention, and have HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured and append 1 bit for HP SR to the HP HARQ-ACK, wherein a bit of 1 indicates a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicates a negative HP SR, as taught by Wang, thereby, to provide a wireless communication, and specifically, to a method for multiplexing uplink control information (UCI) in cellular wireless communication networks, as discussed by Wang, (see at least ¶ [0002]).
Consider claim 3, Chen discloses base station (gNB) (see at least ¶ [0356], “…a hardware platform that may be a part of a network node…”), comprising:
circuitry (see at least ¶ [0359], “…hardware circuit…”) configured to:
in a case that a high priority (HP) physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), for up to 2 bits of HP hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) with PUCCH format 0 (see at least ¶ [0251], “…high priority HARQ-ACK uses PUCCH format 0…” and see at least ¶ [0267], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK is 2 bits …”) or
PUCCH format 1, overlaps with one or more HP scheduling request (SR) PUCCH resources with PUCCH format 0 (see at least ¶ [0252], “…PUCCH format 1 for transmission and the low priority HARQ-ACK uses the PUCCH format 0…”) or
PUCCH format 1 and overlaps with a low priority (LP) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and if HPHARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured and/or dynamically indicated by downlink control information (DCI), receive a combined up to 2 bits of HARQ-ACK and 1 bit of SR multiplexed on the LP PUSCH as HP HARQ-ACK bits, wherein the 1 bit for HP SR is appended to the HP HARQ-ACK, with a bit of 1 indicating a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicating a negative HP SR (see at least ¶ [0315], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK can be multiplexed with the low priority channel by (1) a new multiplexing indicator field in DCI that schedule the PDSCH corresponding to the high priority HARQ-ACK or (2) higher layer signaling, e.g., RRC parameter, in PUCCH resource. When the time domain overlapping occurs between the PUCCH resource of the high priority HARQ-ACK and the low priority PUSCH, the multiplexing indicator in DCI or the configuration parameter in RRC signaling can be used to determine whether the high priority HARQ-ACK can be multiplexed with the low priority PUSCH…” and see at least ¶ [0326], “…the low priority channel by a new multiplexing indicator field in DCI that schedule the PDSCH corresponding to the high priority HARQ-ACK or by RRC configuration in PUCCH resource. At the same time, the gNB indicate whether the high priority PUSCH can be multiplexed with the low priority channel by DCI multiplexing indicator or RRC …”).
Chen discloses all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Chen does not particularly disclose HPHARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured or wherein the 1 bit for HP SR is appended to the HP HARQ-ACK, with a bit of 1 indicating a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicating a negative HP SR. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Wang, which teaches HPHARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured or wherein the 1 bit for HP SR is appended to the HP HARQ-ACK, with a bit of 1 indicating a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicating a negative HP SR (see Wang, at least ¶ [0066], “…A HARQ-ACK information bit value of 0 may represent a NACK while a HARQ-ACK information bit value of 1 may represent a positive ACK …” and see at least ¶ [0078], “…transmit a group of overlapping PUCCHs (e.g., PUCCHs overlapping each other) in a slot or to transmit overlapping PUCCH(s) and PUSCH(s) in a slot …” and see at least ¶ [0124], “…PUCCH resource 102 for (transmitting) LP HARQ-ACK overlaps PUCCH resource 104 for HP SR and PUCCH resource 106 for HP HARQ-ACK …, …PUCCH resource 104 for HP SR and PUCCH resource 106 for HP HARQ-ACK may have a high priority…” and see at least ¶ [0125], “…a high priority PUCCH overlaps a low priority PUSCH, UCI of the high priority PUCCH may be multiplexed in the low priority PUSCH…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Chen disclosed invention, and have HPHARQ-ACK multiplexing on the LP PUSCH is configured or wherein the 1 bit for HP SR is appended to the HP HARQ-ACK, with a bit of 1 indicating a positive HP SR or a bit of 0 indicating a negative HP SR, as taught by Wang, thereby, to provide a wireless communication, and specifically, to a method for multiplexing uplink control information (UCI) in cellular wireless communication networks, as discussed by Wang, (see at least ¶ [0002]).
Consider claim 2 (depends on at least claim 1), Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Chen teaches in a case that a HP PUCCH, for up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK with PUCCH format overlaps with only HP SR PUCCH resources with PUCCH format 0 and a LP PUSCH, and if HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on LP PUSCH is configured and/or dynamically indicated by DCI, ignore the HP SR (even if it is positive), and multiplex only the up to 2 bits of HPHARQ- ACK on the LP PUSCH (see at least ¶ [0251], “…high priority HARQ-ACK uses PUCCH format 0…” and see at least ¶ [0267], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK is 2 bits …” and see at least ¶ [0289], “…the positive SR uses PUCCH format 1 to transmit, the bit value in this PUCCH format 1 may be 1…” and see at least ¶ [0339], “…the PUCCH carrying high priority HARQ-ACK overlaps with the PUCCH carrying low priority HARQ-ACK in time domain, if these two HARQ-ACKs all are less than or equal to 2 bits, different sequences, different bits, and different PUCCH resources are used to indicate the different states of these two HARQ-ACK…”), ignore the HP SR (even if it is positive), and multiplex only the up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK on the LP PUSCH (see at least ¶ [0339], “…the PUCCH carrying high priority HARQ-ACK overlaps with the PUCCH carrying low priority HARQ-ACK in time domain, if these two HARQ-ACKs all are less than or equal to 2 bits, different sequences, different bits, and different PUCCH resources are used to indicate the different states of these two HARQ-ACK…”).
Consider claim 4 (depends on at least claim 3), Chen in view of Wang discloses the limitations of claim 3 as applied to claim rejection 3 above and further discloses:
Chen teaches in a case that a HP PUCCH for up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK with PUCCH format 1 overlaps only with HP SR PUCCH resources with PUCCH format 0 and a LP PUSCH, and if HP HARQ-ACK multiplexing on LP PUSCH is configured and/or dynamically indicated by DCI (see at least ¶ [0251], “…high priority HARQ-ACK uses PUCCH format 0…” and see at least ¶ [0267], “…the high priority HARQ-ACK is 2 bits …” and see at least ¶ [0289], “…the positive SR uses PUCCH format 1 to transmit, the bit value in this PUCCH format 1 may be 1…” and see at least ¶ [0339], “…the PUCCH carrying high priority HARQ-ACK overlaps with the PUCCH carrying low priority HARQ-ACK in time domain, if these two HARQ-ACKs all are less than or equal to 2 bits, different sequences, different bits, and different PUCCH resources are used to indicate the different states of these two HARQ-ACK…”), receive only the up to 2 bits of HP HARQ-ACK multiplexed on the LP PUSCH assuming the HP SR is ignored (even if it is positive).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645