DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering Claim 15: Claim 15 recites a method of processing elastomer in particular form, but the recited steps do not include particulate elastomer. It is not clear what other unrecited steps are required by the claim to achieve the statement of intended use. As such, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of further examination, the claim will be considered to be met if the recited method step is met by the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rappmann et al. (DE 102007029644).
Considering Claim 15: Rappmann et al. teaches mixing a liquid polybutadiene and a polyoctenamer (pg. 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. (US Pat. 5,844,043) in view of Rappmann et al. (DE 102007029644). Note: A machine translation is being used for DE 102007029644.
Considering Claims 1, 4, 8, and 16: Peter et al. teaches a crosslinkable composition comprising recycled rubber granules/a powder comprising at least one elastomer (1:65-2:5); a liquid rubber component comprising a polyoctenamer (2:31-67); and crosslinking agent (4:34-40). Peter et al. teaches the mixture as having a plastic flow (Abstract).
Peter et al. does not teach the liquid rubber as comprising a liquid polybutadiene. However, Rappmann et al. teaches a blend of liquid polybutadiene, polyoctenamer, and crosslinking as the rubber component of an adhesive (pg. 3-4). Rappmann et al. teaches the polybutadiene as being 2 to 55 weight percent and the polyoctenamer as being 0.2 to 15 percent (pg. 4). Peter et al. teaches the polybutadiene as having hydroxyl groups to increase adhesion to substrates (pg. 4). The mixture has a plastisol like flow (pg. 3). Peter et al. and Rappmann et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely crosslinkable rubber mixtures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the liquid butadiene of Rappmann et al. to the liquid rubber component of Peter et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Rappmann et al. suggests, the mixture has high strength and impact resistance (pg. 3).
Considering Claim 2: Peter et al. teaches rubber granules as being recycled (1:65-2:5).
Considering Claim 3: Peter et al. teaches an example using a recycled natural rubber granule (Table 2).
Considering Claims 5 and 19: Peter et al. teaches the molecular weight of the polyoctenamer as being from 20,000 to 150,000 (3:49-56).
Considering Claim 6: Peter et al. teaches the amount of binder as being 10 parts per 100 parts by weight of the rubber granules (Table 1). Thus the amount of polybutadiene and polyoctenamer in the modified composition would be above 5 parts by weight.
Considering Claims 7 and 20: Rappmann et al. teaches the liquid polybutadiene as having a molecular weight of 5,000 in the examples (Example 5).
Considering Claim 9: Peter et al. teaches the crosslinking system as being sulfur and a vulcanization accelerator (4:34-40).
Considering Claims 10 and 11: Peter et al. teaches forming an article from the mixture through crosslinking (4:44-52).
Considering Claim 13: Peter et al. teaches a process comprising providing the mixture and crosslinking the mixture (Example 1).
Considering Claim 14: Peter et al. teaches vulcanizing the mixture at 180 ºC for 20 minutes (Example 1).
Considering Claim 17: Peter et al. teaches that a mixture of natural and synthetic rubber can be used in the recycled rubber granules (2:6-14). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of natural and synthetic rubber in the mixture through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, the content of the rubber would depend on the recycled material readily available to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering Claim 18: Peter et al. teaches the polyoctenamer as having a trans content of 50 to 90% (3:49-55).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peter et al. (US Pat. 5,844,043) in view of Rappmann et al. (DE 102007029644) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Price et al. (US 2023/0271063).
Considering Claim 12: Peter et al. and Rappmann et al. collectively teach the article of claim 11 as shown above.
Peter et al. does not teach the article as being a ball. However, Price et al. teaches forming a tennis ball from a rubber composition comprising recycled rubber material (Abstract). Peter et al. and Price et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely recycled rubber compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared a tennis ball from the material of Peter et al., as in Price et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Price et al. suggests, to allow for the use of recycled materials in the production of the more valuable product.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767