DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Each of Figures 1-7, 8B, 9, and 10, is objected to because the sheets must not contain frames around the sight. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claims 14 and 16 are rejected since the language “roundabout embracement manner” is indefinite.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected since the language “interference manner” is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, and 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neumann et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0367554 A1, hereinafter “Neumann”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Neumann discloses an automatic cleaning device (100), comprising: a mobile platform (102; FIG. 1) configured to automatically move on an operation surface and comprising a cover plate (154; FIG. 4A), and a button assembly (163) assembled to the cover plate (154), wherein the button assembly (163) comprises a button cap (195, 199) and a bracket (192), and the button cap (195, 199) is assembled to the bracket (192), wherein the bracket (192) and the cover plate (154) are integrally formed.
Regarding Claim 2, Neumann discloses that the button cap (195, 199) comprises a button cap pressing portion (195), and a button cap skirt border (194) disposed around the button cap pressing portion (195; FIG. 7A).
Regarding Claim 3, Neumann discloses a decorative cover (104) disposed on an upper surface of the cover plate (154), wherein the decorative cover (104) comprises a mounting hole (164) that matches with the button cap pressing portion (195) in shape, and when the button cap (195, 199) is assembled to the bracket (192), an edge of the mounting hole (164) presses against the button cap skirt border (194).
Regarding Claim 4, Neumann discloses that the cover plate (154) comprises a button cap mounting portion (FIGS. 4-5) that substantially matches with the button cap skirt border (194) in contour (FIGS. 4-5), and when the button cap (195, 199) is assembled to the bracket (192), the button cap skirt border (194) fits with the button cap mounting portion (FIGS. 4-5), and an upper surface of the button cap skirt border (194) is substantially coplanar with or is slightly higher than surface of the cover plate (154; inherently disclosed at, e.g., FIGS. 4-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Neumann discloses that the button cap mounting portion (FIGS. 4-5) comprises two button holes disposed symmetrically (FIG. 4A), and the bracket (192) is integrally formed in each of the button holes (FIG. 4A).
Regarding Claim 19, the method limitations have been given little patentable weight since the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann in view of Lin et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 8,278,579 B2, hereinafter “Lin”).
Neumann discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed portion and protrusion. However, Lin discloses (i) a button cap mounting portion (200) [comprising] a groove (2012) extending circumferentially along an edge of the button cap mounting portion (FIG. 6), the button cap skirt border (103; FIG. 6) comprises a protruding rim (1035; FIG. 6) extending circumferentially along an edge of the button cap skirt border (FIG. 6), and when the button cap is assembled to the bracket, the protruding rim (1035) is inserted into the groove (2012), as recited in Claim 5, and (ii) that at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the protruding rim (1035) comprises at least one protrusion (1035 itself), as recited in Claim 6.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with those of Neumann to increase guidance of an actuation surface during actuation.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann in view of Rajagopal et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0084251 A1, hereinafter “Rajagopal”).
Neumann discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed portions. However, Rajagopal discloses that the button cap (195, 199) further comprises a first protruding portion (230; FIG. 9) and a second protruding portion (230; FIG. 9) which are disposed on a lower surface of the button cap pressing portion (298), and when the button cap (300) is assembled to the bracket (202; via 204, FIG. 9), the first protruding portion (230) and the second protruding portion (230) implement pressing through the bracket (FIG. 9).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rajagopal with those of Neumann to increase a contact surface area during actuation.
Regarding Claim 11, Neumann discloses that the bracket (192) comprises at least one elastic arm (194) and a button plate (192; FIG. 7A) connected through the at least one elastic arm (194; FIG. 7A), the button plate is configured to transmit a pressing force through the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion when the button cap (195, 199) is pressed, and the elastic arm is configured to enable the button plate to restore an original position thereof (FIG. 7A).
Claims 9, 12, 13, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Neumann and Rajagopal in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0224330 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
The combination of Neumann and Rajagopal discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed protrusions.
However, Liu discloses that the protruding portion (5) comprises a columnar structure (CS; FIG. 5, reproduced and annotated below) extending downward from the lower surface of the button cap pressing portion (PP) and a conical structure (CNS) extending downward from the columnar structure (FIG. 5), and a flat structure (FS) is formed at a joint where the columnar structure is connected with the conical structure (FIG. 5), as recited in Claim 9, (ii) a lower surface of the button plate (BP) comprises a conical protrusion (CNS; FIG. 5), and the conical protrusion is configured for use in implementing pressing (FIG. 5), as recited in Claim 12, (iii) further comprising a switch element (41, 42; FIG. 2) configured to be triggered by pressing applied through the conical structure or the conical protrusion (FIG. 5), as recited in Claim 13, and (iv) a switch element (41, 42; FIG. 2) configured to be triggered by pressing applied through the conical structure or the conical protrusion (FIG. 5), as recited in Claim 15.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with those of Neumann and Rajagopal to provide depression stabilization and increased actuation accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831