DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024, 11/18/2025, 12/24/2025, 02/12/2026 are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clare (EP 3256317; cited on IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 5, Clare teaches a laminated structure and stand up pouch comprised of the laminated structure ([0001]). The laminated structure (package bag laminate) is comprised of an outer web (base layer) and an inner web comprising a first B layer and a second B layer (together corresponding to the intermediate layer) and a third B layer (sealant layer) comprising a sealant polyethylene composition ([0010-0022, 0027-0072, 0095-0098]). The outer web is a multilayer extruded film comprised of at least one layer of HDPE and at least one layer of a lower density polyethylene such as MDPE or LDPE, wherein the multilayer extruded film is subjected to machine direction orientation (i.e. stretching) ([0010-0022, 0053-0061]).
The inner web is comprised of a multilayer extruded film comprised of one skin layer (support layer) of a polyethylene composition, a barrier layer of EVOH, a core layer (support layer) of HDPE composition and a polyethylene sealant layer (claims 5 and 6; [0091-0098]).
Regarding claim 4, Clare teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches that low amounts of EVOH, such as less than 10 weight %, are used in the overall laminated structure in order to maintain recyclability ([0093], claim 6), therefore, greater than 90 weight % of the overall laminated structure would be comprised of polyethylene material.
Regarding claim 6, Clare teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches that the laminated structure is used to make a stand up bag (packaging bag) ([0001, 0018-0022]).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Clare teaches all the limitations of claim 6 above, and further teaches that the tope of the stand up back (packaging bag) can be equipped with a straw for liquids or a spout for pastes, emulsions, purees and the like ([0018-0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clare (EP 3256317; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Clare teaches all the limitations of claim 7 above, and while the reference does not expressly teach that the spout includes a gas barrier layer, such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Clare teaches the use of a gas barrier layer to provide barrier properties and performance for the laminated structure and resultant stand up bag. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include gas barrier materials in the spout as well, to further enhance the gas barrier properties of the overall stand up bag to protect the contents within.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clare (EP 3256317; cited on IDS) in view of Sugiyama et al. (JP H11-320739, cited on IDS, Machine Translation via EPO provided).
Regarding claim 3, Clare teaches all the limitation of claim 2 above, however, the reference does not expressly teach that the ethylene vinyl alcohol comprising the barrier layer has an ethylene unit content of 20 mol% or more and 70 mol% or less as presently claimed.
Sugiyama et al. teaches a barrier film used for heat sealable bags, wherein EVOH is used as a gas barrier layer ([0001]). Sugiyama et al. teaches that the gas barrier layer comprises EVOH with an ethylene content of 25 to 50 mol%, wherein materials having an ethylene content less than 25 mol% have poor flexibility in the barrier layer making it difficult to avoid a decrease in barrier performance due the occurrence of pinholes ([0008, 0010, 0013-0015]). The ethylene content range taught by Sugiyama et al. of 25-50mol% falls completely within the claimed range of 20-70 mol%.
As both Clare and Sugiyama et al. are in the same field of endeavor (i.e. packaging films with gas barrier layers), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the EVOH gas barrier layer of Clare to have an ethylene content of 25 to 50 mol% as taught by Sugiyama et al. to ensure the layer maintains barrier properties as well as flexibility.
Conclusion
LAURA POWERS
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785