CTNF 18/726,893 CTNF 85738 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This application has been examined. Claims 1-42 were originally filed, and in a preliminary amendments claims 4, 7, 11, 13, 15-16, 21-22, 24-35, and 37-38 were cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-14, 17-20, 23, 36, and 39-42 have been amended and remain pending. In the rejections below, for the claims that comprise the conditional “or”, only one of the conditions or options in the claims has to be met, and the claims are interpreted as such. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites, in the multiple conditional limitations the phrase “supports same (or different) distribution rules of IRB indexes” which renders the claim indefinite. Firstly, it is not clear what the “IRB distribution rules” are, and what they constitute or what those rules are. What does the distribution mean? Furthermore, it is unclear how then, those undefined distribution rules are applied to the RB sets. Further clarification is respectfully requested. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-10, 18-19, 23, 36, and 39-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0306171; hereinafter Zhao) . Regarding claim 1 Zhao discloses a method for indicating resource allocation, applied to a sidelink-unlicensed frequency band, wherein the method is performed by a network device, and the method comprises: determining a frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is a sub-channel or an interlaced resource block (IRB) (paragraphs 0083-0084, 0333; configuration information is used to determine frequency domain granularity of the sidelink transmission resource, the granularity is a sub-channel or an interlace) ; and sending downlink control information to a terminal device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the downlink control information comprises a frequency domain resource allocation indication domain configured to indicate a frequency domain resource allocated to the terminal device (paragraphs 0102-0103, 0332-0335, 0367-0370; wherein the network device transmits DCI to a terminal, the DCI comprising frequency (RBs) resource allocation) . Regarding claim 5 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is the IRB, and sending the downlink control information to the terminal device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity comprises: sending the downlink control information to the terminal device based on that the IRB is the frequency domain resource allocation granularity (paragraphs 0079, 0083, 0184-0185; the interlace(s) included in the each SL transmission resource are determined based on an interlace corresponding to a frequency domain starting position of the each SL transmission resource and the number of interlaces included in one RB set of the each SL transmission resource) , wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain in the downlink control information is configured to indicate at least one of a size or a position of a frequency domain resource allocated to the terminal device, and to indicate a size of and a starting position of a frequency domain resource in a reserved sidelink resource (paragraphs 0090-0093, 0118, 0331; first resource allocation information is further configured to indicate at least one of: an interlace corresponding to the frequency domain starting position of the first SL transmission resource; first resource allocation information may be configured to indicate multiple SL transmission resources, and frequency domain resource sizes of multiple SL transmission resources) . Regarding claim 6 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain comprises at least one of: a first part, wherein the first part is configured to indicate at least one of a quantity or a position of an IRB index in an unlicensed LBT sub-band occupied by sidelink transmission, the first part comprises X bits, and X is a positive integer (paragraphs 0079-0080, 0122-0123, 0174-0175; interlace indices, the first part comprising at least 4 bits) ; or a second part, wherein the second part is configured to indicate at least one of a quantity or a position of an unlicensed LBT sub-band occupied by sidelink transmission, the second part comprises Y bits, and Y is a positive integer (paragraphs 0090-0093, 0118, 0124, 0174-0175; position information the field comprising at least 4 bits) . Regarding claim 8 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 6, further comprising: determining X based on whether the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain indicates a position of a lowest IRB index for initial transmission and based on a frequency domain resource allocation manner supported by frequency domain resource allocation in which an IRB is a granularity (paragraphs 0121-0123; index values corresponding to the first information field are indexed first in an ascending order of indexes of RB sets and then in an ascending order of indexes of interlaces) . Regarding claim 9 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein L is a quantity of IRB indexes comprised in an LBT sub-band and is a positive integer (paragraphs 0121-0130; field indicates both the RB set and interlace corresponding to the frequency domain starting position of the first SL transmission resource) , and X is determined according to at least one of following manners that (only one of the options below has to be met) : X is L-1, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain does not indicate the position of the lowest IRB index for the initial transmission, and the frequency domain resource allocation supports discrete IRB index allocation; X is log 2 (L) wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain does not indicate the position of the lowest IRB index for the initial transmission, and the frequency domain resource allocation supports continuous IRB index allocation (paragraphs 0129; the two information fields indicate the RB set and interlace corresponding to the frequency domain starting position of the first SL transmission resource respectively, and the two information fields include the first information field) ; X is L, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain indicates the position of the lowest IRB index for the initial transmission, and the frequency domain resource allocation supports discrete IRB index allocation; or X is log 2 L ( L + 1 ) 2 , wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain indicates the position of the lowest IRB index for the initial transmission, and the frequency domain resource allocation supports continuous IRB index allocation. Regarding claim 10 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the downlink control information further comprises a lowest IRB index indication domain configured to indicate the position of the lowest IRB index for the initial transmission (paragraphs 0121-0130; index ascending order) , and wherein a quantity of bits of the lowest IRB index indication domain is log 2 (L) (paragraph 0129; the two information fields indicate the RB set and interlace corresponding to the frequency domain starting position of the first SL transmission resource respectively, and the two information fields include the first information field) . Regarding claim 18 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising: sending configuration information to the terminal device (paragraph 0053; receiving configuration signaling from the network device) , wherein different values of the configuration information are configured to indicate enabling or disabling sending the downlink control information to the terminal device based on that the IRB is the frequency domain resource allocation granularity (paragraphs 0069, 0086; the SL feedback may be activated or deactivated through pre-configuration information or network configuration information, or the SL feedback may be activated or deactivated through the terminal at the sending side) . Regarding claim 19 Zhao discloses a method for obtaining resource allocation, applied to a sidelink unlicensed frequency band, wherein the method is performed by a terminal device, and the method comprises: determining a frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is a sub-channel or an interlaced resource block (IRB) (paragraphs 0083-0084, 0333; configuration information is used to determine frequency domain granularity of the sidelink transmission resource, the granularity is a sub-channel or an interlace) ; and receiving downlink control information sent by a network device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the downlink control information comprises a frequency domain resource allocation indication domain configured to indicate a frequency domain resource allocated to the terminal device (paragraphs 0102-0103, 0332-0335, 0367-0370; wherein the network device transmits DCI to a terminal, the DCI comprising frequency (RBs) resource allocation) . Regarding claim 23 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is the IRB (paragraphs 0079, 0083, 0184-0185; the interlace(s) included in the each SL transmission resource are determined based on an interlace corresponding to a frequency domain starting position of the each SL transmission resource and the number of interlaces included in one RB set of the each SL transmission resource) , and receiving the downlink control information sent by the network device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity comprises: receiving the downlink control information sent by the network device based on that the IRB is the frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation indication domain in the downlink control information is configured to indicate at least one of a size or a position of a frequency domain resource allocated to the terminal device, and to indicate a size of and a starting position of a frequency domain resource in a reserved sidelink resource (paragraphs 0090-0093, 0118, 0331; first resource allocation information is further configured to indicate at least one of: an interlace corresponding to the frequency domain starting position of the first SL transmission resource; first resource allocation information may be configured to indicate multiple SL transmission resources, and frequency domain resource sizes of multiple SL transmission resources) . Regarding claim 36 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 23, further comprising: receiving configuration information sent by the network device (paragraph 0053; receiving configuration signaling from the network device) , wherein different values of the configuration information are configured to indicate enabling or disabling sending downlink control information to the terminal device based on that the IRB is the frequency domain resource allocation granularity (paragraphs 0069, 0086; the SL feedback may be activated or deactivated through pre-configuration information or network configuration information, or the SL feedback may be activated or deactivated through the terminal at the sending side) . Regarding claim 39 Zhao discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (memory 520, processor 510) , wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to enable the communication apparatus to perform a method (paragraph 0528) comprising: determining a frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is a sub-channel or an interlaced resource block (IRB) (paragraphs 0083-0084, 0333; configuration information is used to determine frequency domain granularity of the sidelink transmission resource, the granularity is a sub-channel or an interlace) ; and sending downlink control information to a terminal device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity, wherein the downlink control information comprises a frequency domain resource allocation indication domain configured to indicate a frequency domain resource allocated to the terminal device (paragraphs 0102-0103, 0332-0335, 0367-0370; wherein the network device transmits DCI to a terminal, the DCI comprising frequency (RBs) resource allocation) . Regarding claim 40 Zhao discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to enable the communication apparatus to perform the method according to claim 19 (paragraph 0528) . Regarding claim 41 Zhao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein, when the instruction is executed, the method according to claim 1 (paragraph 0528) . Regarding claim 42 Zhao discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store an instruction, wherein, when the instruction is executed, the method according to claim 19 (paragraph 0528) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-3, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Ganesan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0133612; hereinafter Ganesan) . Regarding claim 2 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is the sub-channel (paragraphs 0050, 0073, 0118, 0248, 0333; indication information is configured to indicate that a frequency domain resource granularity of the SL transmission resource is a sub-channel) . Zhao does not explicitly disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink unlicensed, discloses sending the downlink control information to the terminal device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity comprises: determining a mapping relationship between the sub-channel and the IRB (paragraphs 0092-0095, 0157; the interlacing configuration indicates: a) a number of subcarriers (or PRBs) per interlace (N) based on the subchannel size, b) a spacing between the interlace (M) based on the subchannel size, c) a minimum amount of resource (e.g., subchannel and/or PRB) to be used for transmission in a resource pool, and d) the type/method of interlacing to be performed) ; and sending the downlink control information to the terminal device based on the mapping relationship and the sub-channel (paragraphs 0092-0095, 0157; the interlacing configuration as part of the terminal sidelink configuration) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to improve system performance (Zhou: paragraph 0108) . Regarding claim 3 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 2. Zhao does not explicitly disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink unlicensed, discloses wherein determining the mapping relationship between the sub-channel and the IRB comprises at least one of: determining the mapping relationship between the sub-channel and the IRB as that an IRB index is mapped to a sub-channel, wherein a quantity of IRB indexes and a quantity of sub-channels comprised in a given listen-before-talk (LBT) sub-band are the same; or determining the mapping relationship between the sub-channel and the IRB as that each physical resource block (PRB) in a sub-channel is mapped to a specific PRB in an IRB, wherein a given LBT sub-band comprises M sub-channels and N IRBs, M and N being positive integers, respectively (paragraphs 0092-0095, 0100-0102, 0106; LBT sub-band spans 100 PRBs (i.e., from PRB index #0 to PRB index #99) with SCS=15 kHz. As depicted, the interlacing structure comprises one PRB in ten, for example PRBs #0, #10, #20, #30, #40, #50, #60, #70, #80, and #90) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to improve system performance (Zhou: paragraph 0108) . Regarding claim 20 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation granularity is the sub-channel (paragraphs 0050, 0073, 0118, 0248, 0333; indication information is configured to indicate that a frequency domain resource granularity of the SL transmission resource is a sub-channel) . Zhao does not explicitly disclose but Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor related to sidelink unlicensed, discloses receiving the downlink control information sent by the network device based on the frequency domain resource allocation granularity comprises: determining a mapping relationship between the sub-channel and the IRB (paragraphs 0092-0095, 0157; the interlacing configuration indicates: a) a number of subcarriers (or PRBs) per interlace (N) based on the subchannel size, b) a spacing between the interlace (M) based on the subchannel size, c) a minimum amount of resource (e.g., subchannel and/or PRB) to be used for transmission in a resource pool, and d) the type/method of interlacing to be performed) ; and receiving the downlink control information sent by the network device based on the mapping relationship and the sub-channel (paragraphs 0092-0095, 0157; the interlacing configuration as part of the terminal sidelink configuration) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Ganesan, in order to improve system performance (Zhou: paragraph 0108) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Myung et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0304040; hereinafter Myung) . Regarding claim 12 Zhao discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein K is a quantity of resource block sets comprised in a sidelink bandwidth part (BWP) and is a positive integer (paragraphs 0096, 0121, 0129; frequency domain starting position and the frequency domain ending position of each RB set may be determined according to the frequency domain starting position of the SL BWP) . Zhao fails to explicitly disclose but Myung, in the same field of endeavor related to resource block interlacing, discloses Y is determined according to at least one of following manners that (please note that only one of the conditional elements cited below has to be met as per the “at least one” language) : Y is log 2 K ( K + 1 ) 2 wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of continuous resource block sets, and supports same distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of a resource for one transmission (paragraphs 0234-0236; wherein Y is calculated based on the log 2 equation; wherein the RB sets are assigned consecutively as the interlaces are, and reserves PUSCH transmission) ; Y is log 2 K ( K + 1 ) ( 2 K + 1 ) 6 wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of continuous resource block sets, and supports same distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of resources for two transmissions; Y is log 2 K ( K + 1 ) 2 , wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of continuous resource block sets, and supports different distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of a resource for one transmission; Y is log 2 K ( K + 1 ) ( 2 K + 1 ) 6 , wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of continuous resource block sets, and supports different distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of resources for two transmissions; Y is K-1+K , wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of discrete resource block sets, and supports same distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of a resource for one transmission; or Y is 3K-1 wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of discrete resource block sets, and supports same distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of resources for two transmissions; Y is K-1+K ,wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of discrete resource block sets, and supports different distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of a resource for one transmission; or Y is 3K-1, wherein the frequency domain resource allocation supports resource allocation of discrete resource block sets, and supports different distribution rules of IRB indexes in different resource block sets, and supports reservation of resources for two transmissions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Myung, in order to improve system performance (Myung: paragraph 0022) . Regarding claim 14 the modified Zhao discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the downlink control information further comprises a first offset indication domain configured to indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource for current transmission (paragraphs 0082-0083; distance between interlaces in adjacent RB sets) , or indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource reserved for one transmission, or indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource reserved for another transmission, wherein a quantity of bits of the first offset indication domain is log2 (L), and L is a quantity of IRB indexes comprised in an LBT sub-band (paragraph 0129; requires log.sub.2(N.sub.RB-set.sup.SL) bits for representation) . Regarding claim 17 the modified Zhao discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the downlink control information further comprises a second offset indication domain configured to indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource for current transmission (paragraphs 0082-0083; distance between interlaces in adjacent RB sets) , or indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource reserved for one transmission, or indicate an offset of IRB indexes in adjacent resource block sets in a resource reserved for another transmission, wherein a quantity of bits of the second offset indication domain is log2(L), and L is a quantity of IRB indexes comprised in an LBT sub-band (paragraph 0129; requires log.sub.2(N.sub.RB-set.sup.SL) bits for representation) . Citation of Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2024/0314812 to Zhao et al. – that discloses method for wireless communication, a first terminal device, and a second terminal device are provided. The method includes that the first terminal device receives first Sidelink Control Information (SCI). Herein, the first SCI includes a first information field configured to determine Resource Block (RB) set(s) included in each of at least one sidelink (SL) transmission resource . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Aixa A Guadalupe-Cruz whose telephone number is (571)270-7523. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 6AM - 4:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at 571-272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/ Examiner Art Unit 2466 /FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 8 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 9 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 10 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 11 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 12 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 13 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 15 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 16 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 17 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/726,893 Page 18 Art Unit: 2466