DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Legal phraseology such as “said” (see both occurrences of “said” on line 6) should not be present therein.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Reference characters 11 (see page 5, line 26) and 1 (see page 6, line 15) are not present in any of the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 7, line 32, “upper flange 46” should be “upper flange 47”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, on line 9, it appears “said upper edge” should be “said cylindrical wall” since the opening 48 is positioned in the cylindrical wall 49 of the chamber insert 40 and not in the upper edge 41 of the chamber insert 40 (see, for example, Figure 4). It is noted claim 1 will be examined as “said upper edge” is defining “said cylindrical wall”.
Further in regard to claim 1, on lines 8 and 9, it is unclear as to what limitations the phrases “on the one hand” and “on the other hand” are intended to define.
In regard to claims 2 and 3, the phrase “always being the same” is unclear in that the two elements are which are “always being the same” have not been defined.
In regard to claim 5, it is unclear as to whether or not the “single opening” (see lines 2-3) is referring the same “opening” defined in claim 1 (see line 10) or another opening.
In regard to claim 6, it is unclear as to whether or not the openings defined therein (see the last line) is referring to the same opening defined in claim 1 or another opening.
In regard to claim 7, it is unclear as to whether or not the openings defined therein (see line 2) are referring to the same opening defined in claim 1 or another opening.
In regard to claim 8, it is unclear as to which element the term “it” is referring.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, an antecedent basis for “the contents” (see line 7) has not been defined.
In regard to claim 2, an antecedent basis for “the contact surface” (see line 3), “said contact surface” (see line 3) and “the width” (see line 4) has not been defined.
In regard to claim 3, an antecedent basis for “the contact surface” (see line 3), “said contact surface” (see line 3) and “the width” (see line 4) has not been defined.
In regard to claim 4, an antecedent basis for “the volume of the metering chamber” (see line 2) and “the thickness” (see line 3) has not been defined.
Further in regard to claim 4, an antecedent basis for “said openings” (see the last line) has not been defined. It is noted claim 1 only recites a single opening (see line 10).
In regard to claim 7, an antecedent basis for “the periphery” (see line 3) has not been defined.
In regard to claim 9, the phrase "such as" (see line 2) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1 618 049 (as cited by the Applicant, hereinafter ‘049).
In regard to claim 1, the ‘049 reference discloses a metering valve 10 (see Figures 1-3) for dispensing a fluid product, comprising a valve body 14 containing a metering chamber (within element 12), said metering chamber being defined by a chamber insert 12, a valve stem seal 17 and a chamber seal 18, said chamber insert 12 comprising a cylindrical wall 12a, an upper edge 12b that cooperates with said valve stem seal 17 and a lower edge 6 that cooperates with said chamber seal 18, a valve stem (comprises of elements 11 and 22) sliding axially within the valve body between a rest position (see Figure 1) and a dispensing position (see Figure 2) to selectively dispense the contents of said metering chamber, said valve stem being urged toward its rest position by a spring 25 that cooperates “on one hand” with said valve body 14 and “on the other hand” with said valve stem characterized in that said cylindrical wall 12a of said chamber insert 12 comprises an opening 23 connecting said metering chamber to an external volume arranged outside said chamber insert between said valve body 14 and said cylindrical wall 12a.
Although the ‘049 reference does not specifically disclose the use of two O-rings as claimed, the examiner takes official notice that such O-rings are commonly used in such fluid dispensing devices in order to prevent leakage. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the ‘049 device can include two O-rings associated with the metering chamber in order to prevent the metering chamber from leaking. It is further noted the specification discloses such O-rings are well known (see page 5, lines 3-7).
In regard to claim 2, the upper edge 12b of the chamber insert extends radially inwards (from an outer edge thereof) by an upper flange which increases the contact surface with the valve stem seal 17, the contact surface “always being the same, whatever the width of the cylindrical wall.
In regard to claim 3, the lower edge 6 of the chamber insert extends radially inwards by a lower flange which increases the contact surface with the chamber seal 18, the contract surface always being the same, whatever the width of the cylindrical wall.
In regard to claim 4, the volume of the metering chamber is modifiable without modification of the valve body by adapting the thickness of the wall and/or the number, shape and/or dimensions of the opening 23. Although the ‘049 reference does not disclose the claimed volume of the metering chamber, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the metering chamber can be designed to have any suitable volume, including that claimed, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Applicant has not indicated the specific volume of the metering chamber is critical to the overall operation of the device and the ‘049 reference does not limit the volume of the metering chamber.
In regard to claim 5, the ’049 device may include a singe opening 23 (see page 9, lines 6-7).
In regard to claim 6, the ‘049 device includes two diametrically opposed openings 23 (see Figure 1).
In regard to claim 7, the cylindrical wall of the chamber insert comprises a plurality of openings 23 distributed over the periphery of the cylindrical wall.
In regard to claim 8, the metering valve is mounted on a reservoir containing a fluid product and a propellant (see page 1, lines 6-16).
In regard to claim 9, the propellant comprises HFA gases (see page 1, lines 22-23).
In regard to claim 10, although the ‘049 reference does not disclose the use of the specifically claimed propellant, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made any suitable and know propellant, including that claimed, can be used in device without effecting the overall operation thereof, especially since the Applicant has not indicated the specific propellant is critical to the overall operation of the device and the ‘049 reference does not limit the propellant than may used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Di Giovanni et al., Blanie et al. and Stearns references are cited as being directed to the state of the art as teachings of other metering valve devices.
DJW
1/11/26
/DAVID J WALCZAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754