DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 13, 23 are objected to because of the following reasons:
For claims 2, 13, to improve clarity, Examiner recommends Applicants use comma instead of semicolon when describing what an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises; and similarly to use comma instead of semicolon when describing what an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises.
For example, to amend the claim language of claims 2, 13 to “wherein at least one of: an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of first spatial streams and a first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame, a format of the non-measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the non-measurement NDP frame, and the non-measurement NDP frame comprises a first long training field; or an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of second spatial streams and a second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame, a format of the measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the measurement NDP frame, and the measurement NDP frame comprises a second long training field and a packet extension field”
For claim 23, to improve clarity, Examiner recommends Applicants to use semicolon instead of comma to separate the indented limitations. Applicants can look at their own claims 1, 12 for example on how to do so.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Specifically, the limitations in claim 13 is the same as the limitations in claim 2 which claim 13 depends on (claim 13 depends on claim 11 which depends on claim 2). Thus claim 13 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Examiner recommends Applicants to change the dependency of claim 13 so that claim 13 depends on claim 12 instead.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 23-24, 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240334221 in view of Lim, US 20220417074.
For claim 1. Chen teaches: A communication method, comprising:
sending a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame; (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, non-AP STA sends NDPA frame to AP)
sending an uplink null data packet (NDP) frame; (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDPA frame, the non-AP STA sends NDP packet to the AP; NDP packet sent from non-AP STA to AP is UL NDP packet)
and receiving a downlink NDP frame, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDP packet from the non-AP STA, the AP sends NDP packet to the non-AP STA; NDP packet sent from AP to non-AP STA is DL NDP packet)
wherein one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a measurement NDP frame used for wireless local area network sensing measurement, and another one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a non-measurement NDP frame not used for the wireless local area network sensing measurement, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); fig 9, paragraph 102-114, 141, wireless LAN)
and wherein the measurement NDP frame and the non-measurement NDP frame are of different operation parameters or formats. (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); implicit that DL NDP packet and UL NDP packet are of different operation parameters since it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP)
Even though it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP, Examiner understands Applicants might not know such fact, as thus as a show of good faith to compact prosecution, Examiner had included prior art to teach such fact.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: NDP packet contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, fig 24, paragraph 286-287, a DL/UL field and/or a frame format field may be used to indicate the NDP frame, for example, when the DL/UL field is set to a first value (e.g., 0), the DL/UL field may indicate the DL, when the DL/UL field is set to a second value (e.g., 1), the DL/UL field may indicate the UL)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Chen, since Chen suggests a technique for communicating UL NDP packet and DL NDP packet, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of having such packets contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether such packets operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, paragraph 286-287) to distinguish between DL NDP and UL NDP in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 12. Chen teaches: A communication method, comprising:
receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame; (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, non-AP STA sends NDPA frame to AP)
receiving an uplink null data packet (NDP) frame; (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDPA frame, the non-AP STA sends NDP packet to the AP; NDP packet sent from non-AP STA to AP is UL NDP packet)
and sending a downlink NDP frame, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDP packet from the non-AP STA, the AP sends NDP packet to the non-AP STA; NDP packet sent from AP to non-AP STA is DL NDP packet)
wherein one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a measurement NDP frame used for wireless local area network sensing measurement, and another one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a non-measurement NDP frame not used for the wireless local area network sensing measurement, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); fig 9, paragraph 102-114, 141, wireless LAN)
and wherein the measurement NDP frame and the non-measurement NDP frame are of different operation parameters or formats. (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); implicit that DL NDP packet and UL NDP packet are of different operation parameters since it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP)
Even though it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP, Examiner understands Applicants might not know such fact, as thus as a show of good faith to compact prosecution, Examiner had included prior art to teach such fact.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: NDP packet contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, fig 24, paragraph 286-287, a DL/UL field and/or a frame format field may be used to indicate the NDP frame, for example, when the DL/UL field is set to a first value (e.g., 0), the DL/UL field may indicate the DL, when the DL/UL field is set to a second value (e.g., 1), the DL/UL field may indicate the UL)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Chen, since Chen suggests a technique for communicating UL NDP packet and DL NDP packet, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of having such packets contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether such packets operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, paragraph 286-287) to distinguish between DL NDP and UL NDP in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 23. Chen teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory-storing a computer program; an input/output device; and a processor-communicatively coupled to the memory and the input/output device, and when the processor executes the computer program, the processor is configured to: (Chen, fig 7, paragraph 83-90)
send a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, non-AP STA sends NDPA frame to AP)
send an uplink null data packet (NDP) frame, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDPA frame, the non-AP STA sends NDP packet to the AP; NDP packet sent from non-AP STA to AP is UL NDP packet)
and receive a downlink NDP frame, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, after the NDP packet from the non-AP STA, the AP sends NDP packet to the non-AP STA; NDP packet sent from AP to non-AP STA is DL NDP packet)
wherein one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a measurement NDP frame used for wireless local area network sensing measurement, and another one of the uplink NDP frame and the downlink NDP frame is a non-measurement NDP frame not used for the wireless local area network sensing measurement, (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); fig 9, paragraph 102-114, 141, wireless LAN)
and wherein the measurement NDP frame and the non-measurement NDP frame are of different operation parameters or formats. (Chen, fig 5, paragraph 62-66, 69-70, in option 1 (option a), DL NDP packet is used for sensing measurement while UL NDP is not used for sensing measurement since only DL sensing sounding is present, the UL NDP is redundant (not needed) and is only being sent to keep the existing NDPA+NDP flow unchanged); implicit that DL NDP packet and UL NDP packet are of different operation parameters since it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP)
Even though it’s well-known in the art for NDP packet to contain DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP, Examiner understands Applicants might not know such fact, as thus as a show of good faith to compact prosecution, Examiner had included prior art to teach such fact.
Lim from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: NDP packet contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether the NDP packet operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, fig 24, paragraph 286-287, a DL/UL field and/or a frame format field may be used to indicate the NDP frame, for example, when the DL/UL field is set to a first value (e.g., 0), the DL/UL field may indicate the DL, when the DL/UL field is set to a second value (e.g., 1), the DL/UL field may indicate the UL)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim into Chen, since Chen suggests a technique for communicating UL NDP packet and DL NDP packet, and Lim suggests the beneficial way of having such packets contains DL/UL field which is set to different values to indicate whether such packets operates as a DL NDP or operates as a UL NDP (Lim, paragraph 286-287) to distinguish between DL NDP and UL NDP in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 24. Chen and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 12 and Chen further teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storing a computer program; an input/output device; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the input/output device, and when the processor executes the computer program, the communication method according to claim 12 is implemented. (Chen, fig 7, paragraph 83-90)
For claim 26. Chen and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and Chen further teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the communication method according to claim 1 is implemented. (Chen, fig 7, paragraph 83-90)
For claim 27. Chen and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 12 and Chen further teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and when the computer program is executed by a processor, the communication method according to claim 12 is implemented. (Chen, fig 7, paragraph 83-90)
Claims 2-4, 7, 11, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240334221 in view of Lim, US 20220417074 and Chun, US 20190165883.
For claim 2. Chen and Lim disclose all the limitations of claim 1, however Chen doesn’t teach: wherein at least one of: an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of first spatial streams and a first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame; a format of the non-measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the non-measurement NDP frame, and the non-measurement NDP frame comprises a first long training field; or an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of second spatial streams and a second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame; a format of the measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the measurement NDP frame, and the measurement NDP frame comprises a second long training field and a packet extension field.
Chun from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein at least one of: an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of first spatial streams and a first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame; a format of the non-measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the non-measurement NDP frame, and the non-measurement NDP frame comprises a first long training field; or an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of second spatial streams and a second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame; a format of the measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the measurement NDP frame, and the measurement NDP frame comprises a second long training field and a packet extension field. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, NDP frame includes long training fields (L-STF/LTF/SIG and HE-LTF), a SIG-A field, the SIG-A field further includes Format field, Bandwidth field, Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams, packet extension field, UL/DL field to indicate whether the frame is UL or DL; fig 11-13, paragraph 92-100, NDP frame used for sounding, measuring; NDP frame used for sounding, measuring is measurement NDP frame; and as already discussed above by Chen, non-measurement NDP frame is just measurement NDP frame that is not used for measurement)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Chun into Chen and Lim, since Chen suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet, and Chun suggests the beneficial way of having such packet to include long training fields, format field, bandwidth field, Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams, packet extension field to minimize overhead (Chun, paragraph 94) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 3. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and Chun further teaches: wherein the number of first spatial streams is 1, and a number of the first long training field is 1. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, Nsts field is set to 0 to indicate 1 spatial stream, there is one HE-LTF)
For claim 4. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and Chun further teaches: wherein the first operation bandwidth is 20 MHz, or the first operation bandwidth is equal to the second operation bandwidth. (Chen, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, bandwidth field can be set to 0 for 20 MHz, 1 for 40 MHz, 2 for 80 MHz, 3 for 160 MHz)
For claim 7. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and Chun further teaches: wherein when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz or 160 MHz, a maximum number of the second long training field is 8 and when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 320 MHz, the maximum number of the second long training field is 16. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, bandwidth field can be set to 0 for 20 MHz, 1 for 40 MHz, 2 for 80 MHz, 3 for 160 MHz, LTF can be set to 1x, 2x, 4x and other combinations; other combinations means LTF can be set to 8x, 16x as well; also please notes, the prior arts are not required to teach this limitation since the “second operation bandwidth” is not required in the claims(s) which this claim depends on)
For claim 11. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, and Chun further teaches: wherein a number of the second long training field and a number of the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame are different for different wireless local area network sensing measurement events. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, bandwidth field can be set to 0 for 20 MHz, 1 for 40 MHz, 2 for 80 MHz, 3 for 160 MHz, LTF can be set to 1x, 2x, 4x and other combinations; other combinations means LTF can be set to 8x, 16x as well; implicit these can be set differently for different measuring events; also please notes, the prior arts are not required to teach this limitation since the “second long training field” and the “second operation bandwidth” are not required in the claims(s) which this claim depends on)
For claim 13. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 11, however Chen doesn’t teach: wherein at least one of: an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of first spatial streams and a first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame; a format of the non-measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the non-measurement NDP frame, and the non-measurement NDP frame comprises a first long training field; or an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of second spatial streams and a second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame; a format of the measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the measurement NDP frame, and the measurement NDP frame comprises a second long training field and a packet extension field.
Chun from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein at least one of: an operation parameter of the non-measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of first spatial streams and a first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame; a format of the non-measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the non-measurement NDP frame, and the non-measurement NDP frame comprises a first long training field; or an operation parameter of the measurement NDP frame comprises: a number of second spatial streams and a second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame; a format of the measurement NDP frame represents information comprised in the measurement NDP frame, and the measurement NDP frame comprises a second long training field and a packet extension field. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, NDP frame includes long training fields (L-STF/LTF/SIG and HE-LTF), a SIG-A field, the SIG-A field further includes Format field, Bandwidth field, Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams, packet extension field, UL/DL field to indicate whether the frame is UL or DL; fig 11-13, paragraph 92-100, NDP frame used for sounding, measuring; NDP frame used for sounding, measuring is measurement NDP frame; and as already discussed above by Chen, non-measurement NDP frame is just measurement NDP frame that is not used for measurement)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Chun into Chen and Lim, since Chen suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet, and Chun suggests the beneficial way of having such packet to include long training fields, format field, bandwidth field, Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams, packet extension field to minimize overhead (Chun, paragraph 94) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 14. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 13, and Chun further teaches: wherein the number of first spatial streams is 1, and a number of the first long training field is 1. (Chun, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, Nsts field is set to 0 to indicate 1 spatial stream, there is one HE-LTF)
For claim 15. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 13, and Chun further teaches: wherein the first operation bandwidth is 20 MHz, or the first operation bandwidth is equal to the second operation bandwidth. (Chen, fig 14, paragraph 101-108, bandwidth field can be set to 0 for 20 MHz, 1 for 40 MHz, 2 for 80 MHz, 3 for 160 MHz)
Claims 5-6, 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240334221 in view of Lim, US 20220417074 and Chun, US 20190165883 and Yu, WO 2017041590 A1.
For claim 5. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Chen, Lim and Chun don’t teach: wherein a maximum number of the second long training field is a maximum number of the second spatial streams supported by a transmitter of the measurement NDP frame.
Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a maximum number of the second long training field is a maximum number of the second spatial streams supported by a transmitter of the measurement NDP frame. (Yu, translation, page 27, third paragraph to fourth paragraph, the number of HE-LTF symbols that are included with the system is determined by the number of spatial streams indicated by Nsts in HE-SIG A, an indicator bit may indicate whether the current frame contains additional HE-LTF or whether the current frame is an NDP; also please notes, the prior arts are not required to teach this limitation since the “the second long training field” and “the second spatial streams” are not required in the claims(s) which this claim depends on)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Yu into Chen, Lim and Chun, since Chun suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet which includes Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams and Yu suggests the beneficial way of determining a number of HE-LTF symbols based on the number of spatial streams indicated by the Nsts field since it’s well-known in the art to determine a number of HE-LTF symbols based on the number of spatial streams indicated by the Nsts field (Yu, translation, page 27, third paragraph to fourth paragraph) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 6. Chen, Lim, Chun and Yu disclose all the limitations of claim 5, and Chun further teaches: wherein the maximum number of the second spatial streams is acquired from a physical layer capability information element. (Chun, fig 11-13, paragraph 92-100, NDP frame used for sounding, measuring; fig 14, paragraph 101-108, NDP frame includes a SIG-A field, the SIG-A field further includes Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams, Nsts is a field (information element) in a PPDU (Physical Protocol Data Unit); also please notes, the prior arts are not required to teach this limitation since the “the second spatial streams” is not required in the claims(s) which this claim depends on)
For claim 8. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Chen, Lim and Chun don’t teach: wherein a length of the packet extension field when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 320 MHz is greater than a length of the packet extension field when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 20 MHz, 40 MHZ, 80 MHz or 160 MHz.
Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a length of the packet extension field when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 320 MHz is greater than a length of the packet extension field when the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame is 20 MHz, 40 MHZ, 80 MHz or 160 MHz. (Yu, translation, page 13, fourth paragraph to page 15, first paragraph, the length of packet extension field is determined based on bandwidth, longer length of packet extension field for bigger bandwidth; also please notes the prior arts are not required to teach these limitations since “the packet extension field” and “the second operation bandwidth” are not required in the claim(s) which this claim depends on)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Yu into Chen, Lim and Chun, since Chun suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet which includes packet extension field and bandwidth field and Yu suggests the beneficial way of including into such technique determining the length of packet extension field based on the bandwidth to provide longer length of packet extension field for bigger bandwidth to avoid resource waste and improve transmission efficiency (Yu, translation, page 8, third paragraph) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 16. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 13, however Chen, Lim and Chun don’t teach: wherein a maximum number of the second long training field is a maximum number of the second spatial streams supported by a transmitter of the measurement NDP frame.
Yu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a maximum number of the second long training field is a maximum number of the second spatial streams supported by a transmitter of the measurement NDP frame. (Yu, translation, page 27, third paragraph to fourth paragraph, the number of HE-LTF symbols that are included with the system is determined by the number of spatial streams indicated by Nsts in HE-SIG A, an indicator bit may indicate whether the current frame contains additional HE-LTF or whether the current frame is an NDP; also please notes, the prior arts are not required to teach this limitation since the “the second long training field” and “the second spatial streams” are not required in the claims(s) which this claim depends on)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Yu into Chen, Lim and Chun, since Chun suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet which includes Nsts field which indicates number of spatial streams and Yu suggests the beneficial way of determining a number of HE-LTF symbols based on the number of spatial streams indicated by the Nsts field since it’s well-known in the art to determine a number of HE-LTF symbols based on the number of spatial streams indicated by the Nsts field (Yu, translation, page 27, third paragraph to fourth paragraph) thus doing so would ease implementation and improve compatibility in the analogous art of communication.
Claims 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240334221 in view of Lim, US 20220417074 and Chun, US 20190165883 and Lim, US 20240049135 (Lim 2).
For claim 9. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Chen, Lim and Chun don’t teach: wherein a number of the first long training field and a number of the first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame are either fixed and carried in the NDPA frame, or determined in a setup stage of the wireless local area network sensing measurement.
Lim 2 from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a number of the first long training field and a number of the first operation bandwidth of the non-measurement NDP frame are either fixed and carried in the NDPA frame, or determined in a setup stage of the wireless local area network sensing measurement. (Lim 2, paragraph 184-185, sensing responders can determine the information about the NDP being transmitted via the NDPA, the NDPA may include bandwidth, LTF size and number of LTFs, number of spatial streams, reporting feedback information, etc.; and as already discussed above by Chen, non-measurement NDP frame is just measurement NDP frame that is not used for measurement)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim 2 into Chen, Lim and Chun, since Chun suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet which includes long training field and bandwidth field and Lim 2 suggests the beneficial way of including information about such fields in the NDPA so that the responder can determine information about the NDP via the NDPA (Lim 2, paragraph 184-185) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 10. Chen, Lim and Chun disclose all the limitations of claim 2, however Chen, Lim and Chun don’t teach: wherein a number of the second long training field and a number of the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame are either carried in the NDPA frame, or determined in a setup stage of the wireless local area network sensing measurement.
Lim 2 from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein a number of the second long training field and a number of the second operation bandwidth of the measurement NDP frame are either carried in the NDPA frame, or determined in a setup stage of the wireless local area network sensing measurement. (Lim 2, paragraph 184-185, sensing responders can determine the information about the NDP being transmitted via the NDPA, the NDPA may include bandwidth, LTF size and number of LTFs, number of spatial streams, reporting feedback information, etc.; and as already discussed above by Chen, non-measurement NDP frame is just measurement NDP frame that is not used for measurement; also please notes the prior arts are not required to teach these limitations since “the second long training field” and “the second operation bandwidth” are not required in the claim(s) which this claim depends on)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Lim 2 into Chen, Lim and Chun, since Chun suggests a technique for communicating NDP packet which includes long training field and bandwidth field and Lim 2 suggests the beneficial way of including information about such fields in the NDPA so that the responder can determine information about the NDP via the NDPA (Lim 2, paragraph 184-185) in the analogous art of communication.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462