DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-18, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN212157600U).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses an air handling unit (see Fig. 1-13) comprising: a heat exchange cabinet (second box 200 with evaporator 310), including two first assembly components (connecting portion 240 with “screws and other connecting pieces” Page 7-8 via holes 244) each being at one of two ends of the heat exchange cabinet in a height direction of the heat exchange cabinet; and a fan cabinet (first box 100 with fan 400), including a second assembly component (mounting portion 140 with “screws and other connecting pieces” Page 7-8 via holes 144) at one end of the fan cabinet in a height direction and corresponding to the first assembly components; wherein the heat exchange cabinet is configured to be in one of: a first assembly state (see Fig. 10), in which the first assembly component at one of the two ends of the heat exchange cabinet is connected to the second assembly component; and a second assembly state (see Fig. 12), in which the first assembly component at another one of the two ends of the heat exchange cabinet is connected to the second assembly component.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 17 and Zhang further discloses each of the first assembly components includes a first positioning frame and a first connection mechanism (connecting portion 240 with “screws and other connecting pieces” Page 7-8); the second assembly component includes a second positioning frame and a second connection mechanism (mounting portion 140 with “screws and other connecting pieces” Page 7-8 via holes 144); the first positioning frame and the second positioning frame are configured to match (see matching shapes of 140 & 240 in Fig. 4-5) each other for positioning when the heat exchange cabinet is in the first assembly state or the second assembly state; and the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism are configured to be detachably connected (detachably connected – Page 2) to each other when the heat exchange cabinet is in the first assembly state or the second assembly state.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang discloses the limitations of claim 18,and Zhang further discloses wherein one of the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism comprises a connection arm (143), another one of the first connection mechanism and the second connection mechanism includes a fitting hole (244), and the connection arm extends towards the fitting hole and is connected to the fitting hole by a fastener (screws).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN212157600U) in view of Zen (EP3264001A).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 18, and Zhang does not teach the first positioning frame includes one of a positioning protrusion and a positioning recess, and the second positioning frame includes another one of the positioning protrusion and the positioning recess.
Zen teaches (see Fig. 6-7) the first positioning frame (plastic frame 21 w/ male upright 28) includes one of a positioning protrusion (projection 16) and a positioning recess, and the second positioning frame (plastic frame 21 w/ female upright 27) includes another one of the positioning protrusion and the positioning recess (groove 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the positioning frame and recess of Zen, in order to prevent air leakages (¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, and Zen further teaches the positioning protrusion (16) is provided with a first matching surface, the positioning recess (15) is provided with a second matching surface configured to abut against the first matching surface, and the first matching surface and the second matching surface are inclined surfaces or arc surfaces that match each other (see arcuate shapes thereof).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18, and Zhang does not teach the heat exchange cabinet includes an enclosure plate, the enclosure plate including a sheet metal member and extending along a circumferential direction of the heat exchange cabinet; and the two first positioning frames each include a plastic member and are connected to two ends of the enclosure plate, respectively.
Zen teaches (see Fig. 1-6) the heat exchange cabinet includes an enclosure plate (32), the enclosure plate including a sheet metal member and extending along a circumferential direction of the heat exchange cabinet; and the two first positioning frames (21) each include a plastic member and are connected to two ends of the enclosure plate, respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the frame and sheet of Zen, in order to prevent thermal and air leakages (¶[0005]).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 21, and Zen further teaches the enclosure plate includes, at each end of the two ends of the enclosure plate: a positioning member (see bolt extending through 27/28) arranged around a part of an outer peripheral wall of the first positioning frame at the end; and an installation member (mounting system 49) extending towards a center of the heat exchange cabinet; and each of the two first positioning frames is fixedly connected to the corresponding installation member.
Regarding claim 23, Zhang as modified teaches the limitations of claim 21, and Zen further teaches the outer peripheral wall of the first positioning frame is provided with a positioning groove (see corresponding groove), and the corresponding positioning member is disposed in the positioning groove.
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN212157600U) in view of Ferguson (US7575617B2).
Regarding claims 31-32, Zhang teaches the limitations of claim 17, and Zhang further teaches a filter screen plate (290) connected to the first positioning frame adjacent to an air intake side of the heat exchange cabinet, however, does not teach the filter screen plate removably connected; wherein the first positioning frame is provided with a plurality of magnets along a circumferential direction, and the filter screen plate is connected to the plurality of magnets.
Ferguson teaches (See Fig. 7-8) a filter screen plate (24) removably connected; wherein the first positioning frame (16) is provided with a plurality of magnets (35) along a circumferential direction, and the filter screen plate is connected to the plurality of magnets.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the magnetically detachable filter configuration of Ferguson, in order to provide means for easily cleaning or replacing the filter (Col. 1, lines 30-45).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-29 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. It is noted Zhang does not teach these limitations, and while Lei (CN112856590A) is considered pertinent to claims 24-29, it does not cure the deficiencies of Zhang.
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763