DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amended claim set of 05 Jul 2024 has been entered and reviewed
Claims 3, 4, 7-11, 13, and 14 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-12, directed to a precoated hard-shell capsule, in the reply filed on 26 Aug 20206 is acknowledged. Applicants also elected, with traverse, that the plasticizer is alkylcitrate (triethyl citrate), the emulsifier with a melting point higher than 40°C is glycerol monostearate, the emulsifier with a melting point lower than 40°C is polysorbate 80, the base material is hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC), and the glidant is silica in response to the species election requirement. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the processes of claims 13 and 14 use the same capsule of group 1 and depend on the same technical contribution and the teachings of Jain do not overcome the technical contribution as the oxygen permeability is not a necessary feature as the specification shows that small differences can produce large differences in oxygen permeability as shown by the HPMC film alone. This is not found persuasive because the HPMC film alone does not adequately prove that the composition resulting from what is obvious in Jain would not have the claimed oxygen permeability. Additionally, the examiner notes that the technical feature is not a special features in light of the rejection made below with Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005). Applicant further traverses the species election asserting that the species do not present a serious search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive as such arguments do not apply when the restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372, as in the instantly filed application. Thus, when the Office considers international applications as an International Searching Authority, as an International Preliminary Examining Authority, and during the national stage as a Designated or Elected Office under 35 U.S.C. 371, PCT Rule 13.1 and 13.2 will be followed when considering unity of invention of claims of different categories without regard to the practice in national applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-12 are under consideration to the extent of the elected species, i.e., that the plasticizer is alkylcitrate (triethyl citrate), the emulsifier with a melting point higher than 40°C is glycerol monostearate, the emulsifier with a melting point lower than 40°C is polysorbate 80, the base material is hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC), and the glidant is silica.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 Jul 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities;
The specification does not contain a brief description of the drawings (see MPEP 608.01(f)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “at” is missing in the last line between “the” and “least.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 lacks proper antecedent basis for “the base material” as a base material has not previously been mentioned and it is unclear what this is intended to refer to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by Evonik (EDURAGIT® L 100-155).
Jain teaches polymer coated hard-shell capsules filled with a biologically active ingredient and coated with a coating layer that covers the hard-shell capsule (page 3 lines 28-35). Jain teaches the coating layer comprises one or more (meth)acrylate copolymer with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less as determined by DSC according to ISO 11357-2:2013-05 (page 10 lines 15-20), preferably from minus 10 to plus 115 °C as these polymers are less brittle and more flexible which supports the coating layer to resist against the high mechanical forces occurring during the processing in a capsule filling machine (page 11 lines 1-19), rendering obvious the claimed glass transition temperature of claim 1 and claim 6. Jain teaches various EUDRAGIT copolymers including such as (meth)acrylate copolymers comprising polymerized units of 5 to 15% by weight methacrylic acid (page 13 lines 20-25, page 14 lines 30-35) and teaches a suitable polymer as EUDRAGIT® FL 30 D-55 which has a shell of about 25% by weight comprising 50% by weight methacrylic acid and a glass transition temperature of about 8 °C (page 15 lines 4-10) and as evidenced by the instant specification has a weight average of about 450,000 g/mol (page 24 lines 6-9 and page 25 lines 1-5). Jain teaches EUDRAGIT® L 100-55 which has 50% by weight methacrylic acid and a glass transition temperature of 110 °C (page 13 lines 12-18) and as evidenced by Evonik has a molar mass of approximately 320,000 g/mol (page 1). Jain thus renders obvious the (meth)acrylate copolymer as claimed.
Jain teaches including excipients in the polymer coating (page 15 lines 13-17) and teaches that the required elasticity (elongation at break) of the coating layer may be realized by addition of comparatively high amounts of plasticizers and/or emulsifiers and/or detacking agents (page 11 lines 8-10) Jain teaches plasticizers which lower the glass transition temperature of the mixture and increase elongation at break and teaches plasticizers such as alkyl citrates such as triethyl citrate from 2 to 50% by weight calculated on the weight of the (meth)acrylate copolymer (page 15 lines 25-35), rendering obvious the elected species of plasticizer and claims 7 and 8. Jain teaches including detacking agents such as glycerol monostearate from 2 to 60% by weight calculated on the weight of the (math)acrylate copolymer (page 15 line 37 to page 16 line 2), rendering obvious the elected emulsifier with a melting point higher than 40 °C and the amount of claim 2. Jain teaches including in the coating layer an emulsifier such as polysorbate 80 from 1 to 30% by weight calculated on the weight of the (meth)acrylate copolymer (page 16 lines 4-6), rendering obvious the elected emulsifier with a melting point lower than 40 °C and the amount of claim 2.
Jain teaches that the material of the body and the cap may be hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose (page 9 line 38 to page 10 line 4), rendering obvious claim 3. Regarding claim 9, Jain teaches the coating layer is present in an amount of about 1 to 5.8 mg/cm2 (page 10 lines 15-19). Regarding claim 10, Jain teaches that the hard-shell capsule comprises a body and a cap wherein in a closed state the cap overlaps the body either in a pre-locked state or in a final-locked state (page 3 lines 28-32).
Jain does not teach the oxygen permeability limitation as in claim 1. This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Shinichi.
Shinichi teaches hard capsules having low oxygen permeability and excellent drug release properties (abstract). Shinichi teaches that when the content encapsulated in the capsule is easily oxidized that the capsule needs to be oxygen impermeable ([0005]). Shinichi teaches that an oxygen neutral polymer is assumed to have an oxygen permeability coefficient of
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
but a film with a lower oxygen permeability is further required depending on the content to be encapsulated in the capsule ([0005]). The examiner notes that the value
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
is equal to approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a polymer coated hard-shell capsule filled with biologically active ingredient with a coating layer comprising (meth)acrylate copolymer with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less, alkyl citrate (triethyl citrate), glycerol monostearate and polysorbate 80 and to form the coating with low oxygen permeability such as less than
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
(which is approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm). Hard shell capsules that have a coating and contain various biological active components are known from Jain. It is also known from Shinichi that capsules should be oxygen impermeable when the content is easily oxidized. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to form the coating with low oxygen permeability in order to prevent oxidation of sensitive drug content. Having the permeability less than less than
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
(which is approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm) would be obvious as this is known from Shinichi as oxygen neutral and films with lower permeability are required based on the encapsulated content and it would be desirable to form the coatings with low permeability to protect the encapsulated content. Regarding the coating having a glass transition temperature less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C (claims 11 and 12), this is obvious as a matter of routine optimization. In view of the teachigns of Jain, the glass transition temperature of the coating is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining that the glass transition temperature of the coating is less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is known from Jain that the required elasticity (elongation at break) of the coating layer may be realized by addition of comparatively high amounts of plasticizers and/or emulsifiers and/or detacking agents and Jain teaches (meth)acrylate copolymers with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less as determined by DSC according to ISO 11357-2:2013-05 (page 10 lines 15-20), preferably from minus 10 to plus 115 °C as these polymers are less brittle and more flexible which supports the coating layer to resist against the high mechanical forces occurring during the processing in a capsule filling machine. Thus, it is known from Jain that the elasticity of the coating may be adjusted based on the copolymers and excipients used and it known to use copolymers with low transition temperatures for less brittle and more flexible supports. It thus would be obvious to have the overall coating with a transition temperature less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C for improved elasticity and low glass transition temperatures provide less brittle and more flexible layers.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by Evonik (EDURAGIT® L 100-155) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above and further in view of Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, published 23 May 2019, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024).
The teachings of Jain and Shinichi are described supra. Jain further teaches the inclusion of glidants in the polymer coating (page 15 lines 13-20).
Jain and Shinichi do not teach including a glidant of silica (the elected species). This deficiency is made up for in the teachings of Guha.
Guha teaches preparing coated hard shell capsules (title) and teaches ground silica as a suitable glidant and that standard proportions range between 0.5 and 100% by weight relative to polymer (page 24 lines 18-22).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included ground silica as a glidant from 0.5 to 100% by weight of the polymer in the hard shell capsule coating. It is known from Jain to include excipients such as glidants and it is known from Guha that ground silica is a suitable glidant for use with coated hard shell capsules. The inclusion of ground silica thus merely represents the use of a known prior art element according to its known use as a glidant.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,523,992 in view of Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by Evonik (EDURAGIT® L 100-155) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above and further in view of Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, published 23 May 2019, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024).
Claim 13 of the reference patent recites a hard-shell capsule obtained by the process of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites a process of
The reference patent does not recite for the capsule that the copolymer has maximally 50% by weight methacrylic acid and a molar mass from 25,000 to 900,000 g/mol, glycerol monostearate, polysorbate 80, silica, the oxygen permeability, the coating layer amount, or the glass transition tempearture of the coating.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha.
The teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a methacrylate copolymer such as of EUDRAGIT® L 100-55, which meets the claimed limitations of the copolymer as it is a methacrylate copolymer known from Jain to be suitable for hard shell capsule coatings. It further would have been obvious to have included 1 to 30% polysorbate 80 and 2-60% glycerol monostearate calculated on the weight of the (math)acrylate copolymer in the coating as these are from Jain as suitable emulsifier and detacking agents for such coatings. Including glidants is obvious from Jain and it is known from Guha that ground silica from 0.5 to 100% by weight of the polymer is a glidant for capsules, rendering it obvious to include. Jain teaches the coating layer is present in an amount of about 1 to 5.8 mg/cm2 rendering this an obvious amount. Having a low oxygen permeability, such as less than
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
(which is approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm), is obvious over Shinishi as it is known that a low oxygen permeability is preferred for components sensitive to oxidation. It further would have been obvious to have optimized the a glass transition temperature of the coating as a matter of routine experimentation. In view of the teachigns of Jain, the glass transition temperature of the coating is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining that the glass transition temperature of the coating is less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is known from Jain that the required elasticity (elongation at break) of the coating layer may be realized by addition of comparatively high amounts of plasticizers and/or emulsifiers and/or detacking agents and Jain teaches (meth)acrylate copolymers with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less as determined by DSC according to ISO 11357-2:2013-05 (page 10 lines 15-20), preferably from minus 10 to plus 115 °C as these polymers are less brittle and more flexible which supports the coating layer to resist against the high mechanical forces occurring during the processing in a capsule filling machine. Thus, it is known from Jain that the elasticity of the coating may be adjusted based on the copolymers and excipients used and it known to use copolymers with low transition temperatures for less brittle and more flexible supports. It thus would be obvious to have the overall coating with a transition temperature less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C for improved elasticity and low glass transition temperatures provide less brittle and more flexible layers.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/577,125 in view of Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by Evonik (EDURAGIT® L 100-155) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above and further in view of Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, published 23 May 2019, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024).
Claim 14 of the reference patent recites a polymer coated hard-shell capsule obtained by the process of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites a process of
The reference application does not recite for the capsule that the copolymer has maximally 50% by weight methacrylic acid and a molar mass from 25,000 to 900,000 g/mol or the glass transition temperature, the amount of glycerol monostearate and polysorbate 80, silica, the oxygen permeability, the coating layer amount, or the glass transition tempearture of the coating.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha.
The teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a methacrylate copolymer such as of EUDRAGIT® L 100-55, which meets the claimed limitations of the copolymer as it is a methacrylate copolymer known from Jain to be suitable for hard shell capsule coatings. It further would have been obvious to have included 1 to 30% polysorbate 80 and 2-60% glycerol monostearate calculated on the weight of the (math)acrylate copolymer in the coating as these are from Jain as suitable emulsifier and detacking agents for such coatings. Including glidants is obvious from Jain and it is known from Guha that ground silica from 0.5 to 100% by weight of the polymer is a glidant for capsules, rendering it obvious to include. Jain teaches the coating layer is present in an amount of about 1 to 5.8 mg/cm2 rendering this an obvious amount. Having a low oxygen permeability, such as less than
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
(which is approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm), is obvious over Shinishi as it is known that a low oxygen permeability is preferred for components sensitive to oxidation. It further would have been obvious to have optimized the a glass transition temperature of the coating as a matter of routine experimentation. In view of the teachigns of Jain, the glass transition temperature of the coating is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining that the glass transition temperature of the coating is less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is known from Jain that the required elasticity (elongation at break) of the coating layer may be realized by addition of comparatively high amounts of plasticizers and/or emulsifiers and/or detacking agents and Jain teaches (meth)acrylate copolymers with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less as determined by DSC according to ISO 11357-2:2013-05 (page 10 lines 15-20), preferably from minus 10 to plus 115 °C as these polymers are less brittle and more flexible which supports the coating layer to resist against the high mechanical forces occurring during the processing in a capsule filling machine. Thus, it is known from Jain that the elasticity of the coating may be adjusted based on the copolymers and excipients used and it known to use copolymers with low transition temperatures for less brittle and more flexible supports. It thus would be obvious to have the overall coating with a transition temperature less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C for improved elasticity and low glass transition temperatures provide less brittle and more flexible layers.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/563,327 in view of Jain et al. (WO 2020/229178, published 19 Nov 2020, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024) in view of Shinichi et al. (WO 2005065716A1, published 21 Jul 2005) as evidenced by the instant specification and evidenced by Evonik (EDURAGIT® L 100-155) as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-12 above and further in view of Guha et al. (WO 2019/096833, published 23 May 2019, listed on IDS filed 05 Jul 2024).
Claim 14 of the reference patent recites a polymer coated hard-shell capsule obtained by the process of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites a process of
The reference application does not recite for the capsule that the copolymer has maximally 50% by weight methacrylic acid and a molar mass from 25,000 to 900,000 g/mol or the glass transition temperature, the amount of glycerol monostearate and polysorbate 80, silica, the oxygen permeability, the coating layer amount, or the glass transition tempearture of the coating.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha.
The teachings of Jain, Shinichi, and Guha are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a methacrylate copolymer such as of EUDRAGIT® L 100-55, which meets the claimed limitations of the copolymer as it is a methacrylate copolymer known from Jain to be suitable for hard shell capsule coatings. It further would have been obvious to have included 1 to 30% polysorbate 80 and 2-60% glycerol monostearate calculated on the weight of the (math)acrylate copolymer in the coating as these are from Jain as suitable emulsifier and detacking agents for such coatings. Including glidants is obvious from Jain and it is known from Guha that ground silica from 0.5 to 100% by weight of the polymer is a glidant for capsules, rendering it obvious to include. Jain teaches the coating layer is present in an amount of about 1 to 5.8 mg/cm2 rendering this an obvious amount. Having a low oxygen permeability, such as less than
0.06
x
10
-
10
c
m
3
*
c
m
c
m
2
*
s
*
c
m
H
g
(which is approximately
39
m
L
m
2
*
d
*
a
t
m
when measured at a thickness of 100μm), is obvious over Shinishi as it is known that a low oxygen permeability is preferred for components sensitive to oxidation. It further would have been obvious to have optimized the a glass transition temperature of the coating as a matter of routine experimentation. In view of the teachigns of Jain, the glass transition temperature of the coating is an art-recognized result effective variable such that determining that the glass transition temperature of the coating is less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C would be a matter of optimization through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It is known from Jain that the required elasticity (elongation at break) of the coating layer may be realized by addition of comparatively high amounts of plasticizers and/or emulsifiers and/or detacking agents and Jain teaches (meth)acrylate copolymers with a glass transition temperature of 125 °C or less as determined by DSC according to ISO 11357-2:2013-05 (page 10 lines 15-20), preferably from minus 10 to plus 115 °C as these polymers are less brittle and more flexible which supports the coating layer to resist against the high mechanical forces occurring during the processing in a capsule filling machine. Thus, it is known from Jain that the elasticity of the coating may be adjusted based on the copolymers and excipients used and it known to use copolymers with low transition temperatures for less brittle and more flexible supports. It thus would be obvious to have the overall coating with a transition temperature less than 45 °C or in the range -60 °C to 45 °C for improved elasticity and low glass transition temperatures provide less brittle and more flexible layers.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/EDWIN COLEMAN MITCHELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1619