DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 3, 6, 7, 14, and 16 and canceled claims 18-20 in the preliminary amendment filed on 07/05/2024.
The claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0264376 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Hosseini teaches a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE) (Abstract), the method comprising: transmitting an advanced indication to a second UE for an upcoming sidelink communication with the second UE over a sidelink communication link (paragraph 0050; 0114; 0220 disclose transmitting, to a second UE and within an active duration of a first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern of the second UE, sidelink control information indicating a resource reservation for a sidelink resource of a sidelink channel within at least a portion of an inactive duration of the first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern), wherein the upcoming sidelink communication is associated with
one or more selected resources that include at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time in Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (paragraph 0050; 0221 disclose communicating, with the second UE via the sidelink channel, a sidelink message within the sidelink resource indicated in the resource reservation).
With respect to claim 2, Hosseini teaches wherein the transmitting of the advanced indication is in response to the first UE receiving a higher layer signaling (paragraph 0113 disclose the first UE 115-a may transmit the SCI 245 indicating the resource reservation for the sidelink message 25 based on receiving the control message 235 indicating the resource pool, receiving/determining the first sidelink DRX pattern 240, receiving the SCI 245, determining the resource availability for the active duration, or any combination thereof).
With respect to claim 6, Hosseini teaches wherein the advanced indication is indicative of a particular resource among the one or more selected resources to start data transmission in the upcoming sidelink communication (paragraph 0126 disclose the resource selection window 345 may begin after a second time period 330 (T2) has elapsed since the resource selection trigger 320. Additionally or alternatively, the first resource 340 may be located a third time period 335 (T3) after the availability check window 325).
With respect to claim 10, Hosseini teaches a method for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE) (Abstract), the method comprising: receiving an advanced indication from a first UE for an upcoming sidelink communication with the first UE over a sidelink communication link (paragraph 0050; 0114; 0220 disclose transmitting, to a second UE and within an active duration of a first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern of the second UE, sidelink control information indicating a resource reservation for a sidelink resource of a sidelink channel within at least a portion of an inactive duration of the first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern), wherein the upcoming sidelink communication is associated with the one or more selected resources that include at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time in Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (paragraph 0050; 0221 disclose communicating, with the second UE via the sidelink channel, a sidelink message within the sidelink resource indicated in the resource reservation); and in response to the receiving of the advanced indication, extending the second UE's active time in accordance with the one or more selected resources (paragraph 0097-0098 disclose the UE B may be able to activate an inactivity timer to delay entering the inactive duration 225-b so that the UE B may perform the sidelink message scheduled by the control message. In other words, the inactivity timer may extend the active duration 220-b by a time duration 230. Thus, the SCI received during the active duration 220-b may effectively reserve sidelink resources which are outside of the active durations 220 of the sidelink DRX pattern 215-a.).
With respect to claim 14, Hosseini teaches wherein receiving the advanced indication is indicative of a particular resource among the one or more selected resources to start data transmission in the upcoming sidelink communication (paragraph 0126 disclose the resource selection window 345 may begin after a second time period 330 (T2) has elapsed since the resource selection trigger 320. Additionally or alternatively, the first resource 340 may be located a third time period 335 (T3) after the availability check window 325).
With respect to claim 17, Hosseini teaches a communication apparatus with a sidelink Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (Abstract), wherein the communication apparatus is a first user equipment (UE) (Abstract), the communication apparatus comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 9 disclose a device 905 including a transceiver 915), which in operation, transmits an advanced indication to a second UE for an upcoming sidelink communication with the second UE over a sidelink communication link (paragraph 0050; 0114; 0220 disclose transmitting, to a second UE and within an active duration of a first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern of the second UE, sidelink control information indicating a resource reservation for a sidelink resource of a sidelink channel within at least a portion of an inactive duration of the first sidelink discontinuous reception pattern), wherein the upcoming sidelink communication is associated with one or more selected resources that include at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time in Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration (paragraph 0050; 0221 disclose communicating, with the second UE via the sidelink channel, a sidelink message within the sidelink resource indicated in the resource reservation); and circuitry, which in operation, controls the transceiver (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0264376 A1) in view of Li et al (US Patent Publication No. 2023/0199656 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Hosseini teaches wherein the transmitting of the advanced indication comprises: transmitting sidelink control information (SCI) to the second UE via a Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSCCH) and/or a Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) (paragraph 0093 discloses the first UE 115-a may “autonomously” determine sidelink resources which are to be used within the communication link 210 by monitoring the a sidelink network including sidelink communication links, and blindly decoding all physical sidelink shared channels (PSSCHs) within the communication link 210 and sidelink network to identify sidelink resources which have been reserved by other UEs 115. Subsequently, the first UE 115-a may report available sidelink resources to the upper layer, and may transmit a sidelink communication (e.g., SCI) which reserves a set of sidelink resources for a sidelink communication to be performed (e.g., transmitted, received) at the first UE 115-a).
Hosseini does not explicitly disclose wherein the SCI comprises a 1-bit SCI information, a 2-bit SCI information, or a n-bit SCI information.
However, Li teaches wherein the SCI comprises a 1-bit SCI information, a 2-bit SCI information, or a n-bit SCI information (paragraph 0027; 0029; 0095 disclose the sequence may contain a 1-bit indication mapped to a cyclic shift value, wherein the 1-bit indication may indicate to the UE 115-a to change an active status (for example, a 1-bit indication value of “1” to wake up) during a forthcoming sidelink DRX on duration) in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the system of Hosseini in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract).
With respect to claim 4, Hosseini discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein when the SCI is a 1-bit SCI information, the 1-bit SCI information indicates whether there is a time window in advance to the at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time.
However, Li teaches wherein when the SCI is a 1-bit SCI information, the 1-bit SCI information indicates whether there is a time window in advance to the at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time (paragraph 0027 disclose each of multiple transmitting UEs may send a sidelink indication signal including a sequence that includes, for example, a wakeup signal indicating to one or more respective receiving UEs to wake up (for example, enter an active state or a high power state) or a go-to-sleep signal indicating to one or more respective receiving UEs to go to or remain asleep (for example, enter or remain in an inactive state or a low power state). Each receiving UE may determine whether to monitor for scheduling SCI in subsequent on durations of one or multiple sidelink DRX cycles based on the sidelink indication signals) in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the system of Hosseini in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract).
With respect to claim 5, Hosseini discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein when the SCI information is a 2-bit SCI information, the 2-bit SCI information indicates count, periodicity, duration, carrier, and/or bandwidth part (BWP) of one or more time windows in advance to the at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time.
However, Li teaches wherein when the SCI information is a 2-bit SCI information, the 2-bit SCI information indicates count, periodicity, duration, carrier, and/or bandwidth part (BWP) of one or more time windows in advance to the at least one resource falling outside the second UE's active time (paragraph 0027; 0078; 0085 disclose the sequence included in the sidelink indication signal may be a sequence conveying one or more bits for an indication. In some examples, the sequence may be designed and transmitted such that a cyclic shift of the sequence is orthogonal to itself. The sequence may be, for instance, a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence. The sequence may contain a 1-bit indication mapped to a cyclic shift value, wherein the 1-bit indication may indicate to the UE 115-a to change an active status (for example, a 1-bit indication value of “1” to wake up) during a forthcoming sidelink DRX on duration) in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the system of Hosseini in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract).
With respect to claim 8, Hosseini discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the transmitting of the advanced indication is in response to the first UE meeting one or more triggering conditions, the one or more triggering conditions comprising a Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) condition, a Channel Occupation Ratio (CR) condition, a consecutive transmission failure condition, an instruction from a base station, and/or a transmission of high priority data.
However, Li teaches wherein the transmitting of the advanced indication is in response to the first UE meeting one or more triggering conditions, the one or more triggering conditions comprising a Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) condition, a Channel Occupation Ratio (CR) condition, a consecutive transmission failure condition, an instruction from a base station, and/or a transmission of high priority data (paragraph 0027; 0078; 0085 disclose the sequence included in the sidelink indication signal may be a sequence conveying one or more bits for an indication. In some examples, the sequence may be designed and transmitted such that a cyclic shift of the sequence is orthogonal to itself. The sequence may be, for instance, a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence. The sequence may contain a 1-bit indication mapped to a cyclic shift value, wherein the 1-bit indication may indicate to the UE 115-a to change an active status (for example, a 1-bit indication value of “1” to wake up) during a forthcoming sidelink DRX on duration) in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the system of Hosseini in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract).
With respect to claim 9, Hosseini discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the one or more triggering conditions are associated with corresponding count, periodicity, duration, carrier, and/or bandwidth part (BWP) of one or more time windows in advance to a first resource of the one or more selected resources.
However, Li teaches wherein the one or more triggering conditions are associated with corresponding count, periodicity, duration, carrier, and/or bandwidth part (BWP) of one or more time windows in advance to a first resource of the one or more selected resources (paragraph 0027; 0078; 0085 disclose the sequence included in the sidelink indication signal may be a sequence conveying one or more bits for an indication. In some examples, the sequence may be designed and transmitted such that a cyclic shift of the sequence is orthogonal to itself. The sequence may be, for instance, a Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence. The sequence may contain a 1-bit indication mapped to a cyclic shift value, wherein the 1-bit indication may indicate to the UE 115-a to change an active status (for example, a 1-bit indication value of “1” to wake up) during a forthcoming sidelink DRX on duration) in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Li, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Li to the system of Hosseini in order to monitor for sidelink control information (SCI) messages (Abstract).
The limitations of claim 11 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 12 are rejected in the analysis of claim 4 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0264376 A1) in view of Park et al (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0210864 A1).
With respect to claim 15, Hosseini discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above except wherein the extending of the second UE's active time in accordance with the one or more selected resources comprises: triggering a DRX active timer for a predetermined expirable time period; triggering a DRX active timer until expiration of the one or more selected resources; triggering a DRX active timer until expiration of the particular resource; configuring an earlier wake-up for the one or more selected resources or the particular resource;
changing a DRX active timer to an always-on mode and resetting the second UE to its default DRX until expiration of the one or more selected resources or the particular resource;
triggering periodic DRX active timers for periodic transmissions from the first UE; and/or configuring periodic earlier wake-ups for periodic transmissions from the first UE.
However, Park teaches wherein the extending of the second UE's active time in accordance with the one or more selected resources comprises: triggering a DRX active timer for a predetermined expirable time period; triggering a DRX active timer until expiration of the one or more selected resources; triggering a DRX active timer until expiration of the particular resource; configuring an earlier wake-up for the one or more selected resources or the particular resource; changing a DRX active timer to an always-on mode and resetting the second UE to its default DRX until expiration of the one or more selected resources or the particular resource;
triggering periodic DRX active timers for periodic transmissions from the first UE; and/or configuring periodic earlier wake-ups for periodic transmissions from the first UE (paragraph 0088; 0103 disclose a transmitting UE may also perform periodic transmission resource reservation in the active time within the SL DRX inactivity time period ((section excluding the SL DRX on-duration timer in the SL DRX cycle, that is, SL DRX off-duration)) together with the SL DRX on-duration timer operation period, and may transmit only packets in which the intended receiving UE is a V-UE in the SL DRX inactivity time period. For example, when an intended receiving UE is a V-UE, the receiving UE checks periodic transmission resource reservation information included in the SCI transmitted by a transmitting UE and may recognize that there is SL data transmitted to it in the SL DRX inactive period) in order to provide periodic transmission resource reservation solution (paragraph 0107). Therefore, based on Hosseini in view of Park, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Park to the system of Hosseini in order to provide periodic transmission resource reservation solution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
6/12/2026