DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “330” has been used to designate both the locking mechanism and the first/second mating members/sliding main body/plastic sheet between FIGS. 3-7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of implying phrases (e.g. “are disclosed”), purported merits (e.g. “the mechanism is configured to slow down an extension speed at which the extendable portion is switched from the retracted state to the extended state” “the buffer mechanism can slow down the extension speed of the extendable portion”), and speculative applications (e.g. “When the extendable portion is switched from the retracted state to the extended state”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the limitations “an extension mechanism arranged between the main body portion and the extendable portion and configured to realize extension and retraction of the extendable portion”/”a buffer mechanism configured to slow down an extension speed at which the extendable portion is switched from the retracted state to the extended state” and “a locking mechanism configured to limit the extendable portion to the extended state” are recited respectively. The limitations are recognized to introduce nonce terms (“mechanism”), utilize functional language (.e.g. “configured to…”), and do not provide further structure as to what an extension/buffer/locking mechanism are or how they facilitated extending/retracting, buffering/slowing down an extension speed, or limit the extendable portion to the extendable state. For instance, an extension mechanism could mean an actuatable means or motor driven mode or merely the telescoping struts, or a biasing means such as a spring, electromagnetics and so on. A buffer mechanism could mean a force opposing damper means (such as a spring/air cell/pneumatic cushion, friction fit, electromagnetic repulsive means, and so on. While a locking mechanism could mean an exceedingly wide variety of locking mechanisms such as but not limited to a simple spring latch, a power activated electromagnetic lock, a foot stop, a physical block-stop, a padlock or chain, a lock peg/ball and detent system, and so on. Therefore: an “extension mechanism” is interpreted at a minimum to include either telescopic members and/or a reset member like a spring and equivalents thereof, as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3 and stated in [0047]; a “buffer mechanism” is interpreted at a minimum to be some form of dampener like a spring, a pressure/dash pot or pressure/air chamber, and equivalents thereof, as illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 7 and stated in [0036]; and where a “locking mechanism” is interpretated at a minimum to incorporate some form of sliding/guided latch or detent lock and equivalents thereof, as illustrated in FIGS. 2 , 3, 5, and 7, as stated in [0036] and [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhong (Chinese Pub. No. 214760236U).
Regarding claim 1, Zhong discloses (FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21) a support leg (As illustrated in FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21, comprising: a main body portion (at least 51; FIGS. 1, and 4); an extendable portion (as least portion 53; FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21) slidably connected to the main body portion (as illustrated between FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Abstract: “the telescopic part is telescopic relative to the main body part”) and having an extended state and a retracted state relative to the main body portion (Abstract: “the telescopic part is telescopic relative to the main body part and has an extended state and a contracted state”); an extension mechanism arranged between the main body portion and the extendable portion (the telescopic sleeving arrangement between the main body and the extendable portions, as illustrated between FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21, clarified in the Abstract) and configured to realize extension and retraction of the extendable portion (as clarified in the abstract “the telescopic part is telescopic relative to the main body part and has an extended state and a contracted state” alongside the extending operable features of 70; FIGS. 7 and 13 and spring 59 “reset part”; FIG. 7/13); and a buffer mechanism (at least wedge 83; FIG. 17-21) configured to slow down an extension speed at which the extendable portion is switched from the retracted state to the extended state (as illustrated in FIGS. 17-21).
Regarding claim 17, Zhong discloses (FIGS. 1, 4-5, and 8-21) a baby crib (11; FIG. 1), comprising a bed body (Title/Abstract: “comprising a bed body”), at least one column (31; FIG. 1), and at least one support leg according to claim 1 (corresponding to 50/51/53; FIGS. 1), two ends of the column being connected to the bottom of the bed body and the top of the support leg, respectively (as illustrated in FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, and 6-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Dubach (U.S. Pat. No. 6799663).
Regarding claim 2, Zhong discloses (FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21) the support leg according to claim 1, wherein the main body portion includes a hollow sleeving housing (As illustrated between FIGS. 6-8, where an outer hollow sleeving is provided through 51), and the extendable portion (53; FIGS. 6-14) is partially located inside the sleeving housing and movable relative to the sleeving housing (As illustrated between FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21),
However, Zhong does not explicitly disclose wherein the buffer mechanism includes a sliding plug fastened to an end of the extendable portion located inside the sleeving housing, the sliding plug is in airtight fit with the main body portion to form an air accommodation chamber with a variable volume, the sliding plug is provided with a vent, and the air accommodation chamber is communicated with outside atmosphere only through the vent.
Regardless, Dubach teaches (FIG. 1-11), a buffer mechanism (as illustrated in FIGS. 1 -11) that includes a sliding plug (17/31; FIG. 1) fastened to an end of the extendable portion located inside the sleeving housing (As illustrated in FIG. 1 and 11), the sliding plug is in airtight fit with the main body portion (as conveyed through FIG. 1-11), to form an air accommodation chamber with a variable volume, the sliding plug is provided with a vent (17/20; FIG. 1-4; or 20/30; FIG. 5-10; or 32; FIG. 11), and the air accommodation chamber is communicated with outside atmosphere only through the vent (As illustrated in FIGS. 1-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the buffer mechanism of Dubach (FIGS. 1-11) and constituent elements necessary thereof for operation into both operative sides of Zhong (FIGS. 1, 4-5, and 8-21). Where the results would have been predictable as Dubach acknowledges the technology is “in particular for furniture” (Title), and where Zhong is a type of furniture (e.g. “bedside bed”; Title). Where additionally Dubach acknowledges “a damping means which is, in particular, suitable for damping the movement of furniture parts such that the damping action increases to its maximum value very rapidly in relation to the piston travel” [1:14-18], thereby steadying the action/retraction/movement of the deployable/expansible legs in Zhong (FIGS. 1, and 4-5), thereby rendering it more gentle in alteration of size or configuration in use for occupancy.
Regarding claim 3, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 2, wherein the main body portion includes a fixed member (the centering member 57; FIG. 5, and 8-21) and a first guide member that are arranged inside the sleeving housing (as considered in the combination of Zhong/Dubach prior in claim 2, where Dubach has enlocated a guide member 8; FIGS. 1-11 into the sleeving member), the fixed member is fastened to the sleeving housing (as illustrated and constrained in FIGS. 5 of Dubach), and an end of the first guide member is connected to the fixed member (through encapsulation therein) and the first guide member is arranged along an extension direction of the extendable portion (as considered in the combination previously set forth in claim 2), and wherein the sliding plug has a first accommodating groove (Zhong: 573; FIG. 5) arranged along the extension direction of the extendable portion (as illustrated in FIG. 5), the first guide member is partially accommodated in the first accommodating groove (as illustrated in FIG. 5 of Zhong, as considered with FIGS. 1-11 of Dubach’s construction), the first guide member is in airtight fit with a wall of the first accommodating groove to form the air accommodation chamber, and the vent is arranged at a base of the first accommodating groove (as set forth in the combination of claim 2 with deference to Dubach, FIGS. 1-11).
Regarding claim 4, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 3, wherein an airtight flange (Dubach: 3/21; FIGS. 1-11) is arranged around an end of the first guide member away from the fixed member (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-11 of Dubach), and the airtight flange is in airtight fit with the wall of the first accommodating groove to form the air accommodation chamber (as illustrated in FIGS. 1-11 of Dubach).
Regarding claim 6, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 2, wherein the main body portion includes a fixed member (the centering member 57; FIG. 5, and 8-21) arranged inside the sleeving housing (as considered in the combination of Zhong/Dubach prior, where Dubach has enlocated a guide member 8; FIGS. 1-11 into the sleeving member), the fixed member is fastened to the sleeving housing (as illustrated and constrained in FIGS. 5 of Dubach), and the extension mechanism includes a reset member (59; FIGS. 9 of Zhong), two ends of the reset member abutting against the fixed member and the sliding plug, respectively (conveyed through FIGS. 5 of Zhong and as considered in combination with Dubach previously in claim 2).
Regarding claim 7, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 6, wherein the main body portion is further provided with a second guide member (as considered in the combination of Zhong/Dubach prior in claim 2, where Dubach has enlocated a guide member 8; FIGS. 1-11 into the sleeving member) arranged along an extension direction of the extendable portion (As illustrated between FIGS. 5/21 of Zhong and FIGS. 1-11 of Dubach), an end of the second guide member is connected to the fixed member (as considered previously in the combination of Zhong and Dubach in claim 2 previously), and the reset member is arranged around the second guide member (as illustrated in FIG. 1-10 of Dubach and considered with the reset member 59 FIG. 5/21 of Zhong).
Regarding claim 8, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 7, wherein the sliding plug has a second accommodating groove (Zhong: 573; FIG. 5) arranged along the extension direction of the extendable portion (As illustrated in FIGS, 1, 4-6 and 8-21), the second guide member is partially accommodated in the second accommodating groove (as illustrated in FIG. 5 of Zhong, as considered with FIGS. 1-11 of Dubach’s construction), and two ends of the reset member abut against the fixed member and a base of the second accommodating groove, respectively (conveyed through FIGS. 5 of Zhong and as considered in combination with Dubach previously in claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 2, further comprising a locking mechanism (Zhong: 55; FIGS. 5, 6, and 8-21) configured to limit the extendable portion to the extended state (As conveyed through FIGS. 5, 6, and 8-21, particularly 14 and 21 of Zhong).
Regarding claim 10, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 9, wherein the locking mechanism includes a first mating member (lower horizontal member of 55; FIG. 21 of Zhong) arranged on the sliding plug and a second mating member (upper horizontal member of 55) arranged on the fixed member (AS illustrated between FIGS. 14-21), wherein the first mating member and the second mating member are in sliding fit (as conveyed between FIGS. 1, 4-6 and 8-21 in motion there throughout), one of the first mating member and the second mating member is provided with a resistance portion (83; FIG. 21), and the other of the first mating member and the second mating member is adapted to overcome resistance of the resistance portion (straight portion of the slot 551 beneath 83; FIG. 21) to implement switching of the extendable portion from the extended state to the retracted state (AS illustrated between FIGS. 17 and 21).
Regarding claim 11, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 10, wherein the first mating member is a slider having a guide slot (551; FIG. 21), the second mating member is a guide post (571; FIG. 21) in sliding fit with the guide slot (as illustrated between FIGS. 17-21 of Zhong), and the resistance portion is arranged on the slider (83/81/80 as illustrated in FIG. 21 of Zhong).
Regarding claim 12, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 11, wherein the guide post is adapted to press against the resistance portion to cause the resistance portion to elastically deform so that the extendable portion is switched to the retracted state (As illustrated eminently between FIGS. 17-21), when the extendable portion is in the extended state and a force is applied to the extendable portion (as conveyed through FIGS. 17-21).
Regarding claim 13, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 11, wherein the slider has a sliding main body (correspondent the body of 55; FIG. 21) and an elastic sheet (correspondent the bulge 83 and the deformation slot 81 of 80; FIG. 21), wherein the sliding main body and the elastic sheet enclose and form the guide slot (As illustrated in FIG. 21), an end of the elastic sheet is connected to the sliding main body (As illustrated in FIG. 21), another end of the elastic sheet is spaced apart from the sliding main body to form a gap (As illustrated in FIG. 21; where Merriam Webster considers a “gap” to consider “a break in a barrier” “a separation in space” “an incomplete area”, Merriam Webster: “gap”, definitions 1a/4a/4b respectively, where there is an incomplete area formed by the gap/hole in the profile at 81; FIG. 21), and an end of the elastic sheet close to the gap is provided with the resistance portion (wherein 83 is observed to be relatively ‘close’ to the elastic sheet of the deformable portion between 83/81; FIG. 21).
Regarding claim 14, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 13, wherein the resistance portion is a blocking bulge (83; FIG. 21) arranged on the elastic sheet and extending towards the guide slot (As illustrated in FIG. 21).
Regarding claim 15, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 2,wherein two sides of the main body portion are each provided with the extendable portion (as previously set forth in the combination of Zhong in view of Dubach in claim 2, with deference to Zhong’s dual sided/operable extensible portions in FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21), and the extension mechanism and the buffer mechanism are arranged between the main body portion and each of the extendable portions located on the two sides of the main body portion, respectively (as considered with Dubach in FIGS. 1-11 previously in claim 2, as applied to both extensible legs of Zhong in FIG. 1, and 4-6).
Regarding claim 16, Zhong in view of Dubach discloses (Zhong: FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21; Dubach: FIGS. 1-11) the support leg according to claim 15, wherein the sliding plug of each of the buffer mechanisms located on the two sides of the main body portion, respectively (as considered with Dubach in FIGS. 1-11 previously in claim 2, as applied to both extensible legs of Zhong in FIG. 1, and 4-6), is in airtight fit with the main body portion to form the air accommodation chamber with the variable volume, wherein each of the sliding plugs located on the two sides of the main body portion, respectively is provided with the vent, and the air accommodation chamber is communicated with the outside atmosphere only through the vent (as considered with Dubach in FIGS. 1-11 previously in claim 2, as applied to both extensible legs of Zhong in FIG. 1, and 4-6).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Lin (Chinese Pat. No. 2614542).
Regarding claim 2, Zhong discloses (FIGS. 1, 4-5, and 8-21) the support leg according to claim 1, wherein the main body portion includes a hollow sleeving housing (As illustrated between FIGS. 6-8, where an outer hollow sleeving is provided through 51), and the extendable portion (53; FIGS. 6-14) is partially located inside the sleeving housing and movable relative to the sleeving housing (As illustrated between FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21),
However, Zhong does not explicitly disclose wherein the buffer mechanism includes a sliding plug fastened to an end of the extendable portion located inside the sleeving housing, the sliding plug is in airtight fit with the main body portion to form an air accommodation chamber with a variable volume, the sliding plug is provided with a vent, and the air accommodation chamber is communicated with outside atmosphere only through the vent.
Regardless, Lin teaches (FIG. 5-7), a buffer mechanism (as eminently illustrated in FIGS. 5-7; Title) includes a sliding plug (14; FIG. 6) fastened to an end of the extendable portion located inside the sleeving housing (AS illustrated in FIG. 6 and 7), the sliding plug is in airtight fit with the main body portion to form an air accommodation chamber (as eminently illustrated in FIG. 5 and 6 between 132 and 14) with a variable volume (As illustrated in FIGS. 5-7), the sliding plug is provided with a vent (112; FIG. 6), and the air accommodation chamber is communicated with outside atmosphere only through the vent (As eminently illustrated in FIG. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to have incorporated the buffer mechanism of Lin (FIG. 6) into both extensible legs of Zhong (FIGS. 1, 4-6, and 8-21). Where the results would have been predictable as both Zhong and Lin are directed to different types of extensible furniture (Zhong: a foot rail; Lin: a drawer rail). Where Lin acknowledges “the air discharge amount can be controlled by adjusting valve 14 adjusting the size of closed cells 112 to control, with buffer effect of the buffer can be controlled and adjusted” [page 2, final paragraph], thereby allowing variable control of the buffer means in Zhong, and offering greater versatility by adjusting for different situations strengths and user capabilities/environments.
Regarding claim 5, Zhong in view of Lin discloses (Lin: FIGS. 6) the support leg according to claim 2,wherein the vent has an adjustable size (Lin: as illustrated in FIGS. 6, with particularly 14, where the second page, last paragraph elucidates “the air discharge amount can be controlled by adjusting valve 14 adjusting the size of closed cells 112 to control, with buffer effect of the buffer can be controlled and adjusted”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) were considered pertinent because they address the state of the art concerning bedding legs and adjustment means, limiting means thereof, hydraulic/pneumatic or pressure based applications, where art such as Deng et al. (CN201636257), Yoon (KR101140365), Li et al. (CN208030770), and Bonetti (FR1502431) all provide assorted resistance/reset configurations of springs and hydraulic operations/pressure based variable venting configurations, Hu (U.S. Pub. No. 20210076841) provides for various crib considerations, configurations and applications,
/LUKE HALL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3673
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673