Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, 17 and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salem et al. (20180097486), hereafter called SALEM.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, SALEM (2B) discloses an amplifier circuit, comprising a main amplifier (PA3 and PA4) circuit comprising a plurality of first switched- capacitor, SC, house-of-cards, HoC, amplifier cells (see power amplifier cells PA3 and PA4 and para. [0049], see also Fig. 1C and para. [0046]) coupled in parallel between an input (Vin) and an output of the main amplifier circuit (the right hand side interconnection node of all main capacitors CM); at least one peak amplifier comprising power amplifiers (PA1 and PA2) circuit comprising a plurality of second SC HoC amplifier cells (see power amplifier cells PA1 and PA2 and para. [0049], see also Fig. 1C and para. [0046]) coupled in parallel between an input (Vin) and an output of the peak amplifier circuit (the right hand side interconnection node of all main capacitors CM); wherein the output of the main amplifier circuit and the output of the peak amplifier circuit are coupled to a common load (RL).
Regarding claim 2, see D1, Fig. 11A and paragraph [0069], the HoC cells are reconfigurable by keeping some switches in a fixed state, thereby generating different discrete output voltage levels.
Regarding claim 5, see Fig. 2B, when switching between phase 2 and phase 3, the main amplifier comprises power amplifiers PA3 and PA4 and the peaking amplifier comprises power amplifier cells PA1 and PA2.
Regarding claim 6, see Fig. 2B in combination paragraph [0049] describing Fig. 2B and stating: "In general, any arbitrary number of slices greater than 2 can be used. 16 slices were implemented in the experimental chip.", wherein a slice refers to one power amplifier, i.e. PA1, PA2, PA3 or PA4 in Fig. 2B.
Regarding claims 7 and 8: see Figs. 7A to 8B.
Regarding claim 9, see Fig. 2B, main capacitors CM and peak capacitors Cp.
Regarding claim 10, see Fig. 2B and paragraph [0049], the presence of a control circuit although not explicitly mentioned is required to reconfigure the topologies and therefore considered to be an implicit feature.
Regarding claim 11, see Fig. 15B and paragraph [0087].
Regarding claim 17, see Fig. 1C, antenna 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SALEM in view of Voravit et al. (see applicant IDS), hereafter called VORAVIT.
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 12, SALEM discloses claimed invention except the subject matters claimed. VORAVIT (Figs. 5, 6 and 13) discloses claimed subject matters not disclosed in SALEM. SALEM and VORAVIT are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely Doherty amplifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to configure the circuit of SALEM as VORAVIT has disclosed such configuration in the same context.
Regarding claims 13-16, which disclose straightforward implementation details that the person skilled in the art would select in accordance with the design requirements without applying inventive skills.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (20200266768); Walling et al. (11,258,410); Yoo et al. (8,547,177), all discloses switched capacitor amplifier. However, they are not Doherty amplifier, wherein each main amplifier and peak amplifier, each comprises amplifier cells in parallel.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843