DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-23, 25, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Palat, US 20220039192.
For claim 1. Palat teaches: A method for data compression, performed by a terminal device, comprising: (Palat, paragraph 212-222, UE; also see fig 3-4, paragraph 78-92 for more information)
receiving small data transmission (SDT) configuration information from a network side device, the SDT configuration information being used for instructing a terminal device to perform an SDT; (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode a response message from the base station, the response message including an UL grant; and encode the UL data for the second SDT, the UL data encoded using the secure key, and the second SDT performed using the UL grant while the UE is in the RRC_Inactive state.”)
determining a target data compression area; executing the data compression while performing the SDT, wherein the terminal device is located in the target data compression area. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 2. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: further comprising: stopping executing the data compression while performing the SDT, wherein the terminal device is not located in the target data compression area. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; implicit that if a current cell of the UE is not being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE is not being within the RNA, RoHC is not performed since “perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA”; also see paragraph 106-107, 171-174 for more details)
For claim 3. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: wherein determining the target data compression area comprises: determining the target data compression area according to a protocol. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression protocol; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”; RRC is also a protocol)
For claim 4. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Palat further teaches: wherein determining the target data compression area according to the protocol comprises: determining the target data compression area to be an access network notification area indicated by an access network notification area identification, the access network notification area identification being specified in the protocol. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression protocol; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”; RRC is also a protocol)
For claim 5. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and Palat further teaches: wherein the access network notification area identification specified in the protocol comprises any one of: the access network notification area identification being a notification area identification of an access network to which a cell configured with the configured grant-small data transmission (CG-SDT) resource belongs; the access network notification area identification being a notification area identification of an access network to which a cell in which the terminal device receives a connection suspension message belongs; or the access network notification area identification being a notification area identification of an access network to which a cell in which the terminal device receives a connection release message belongs. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression protocol; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”; RRC is also a protocol)
For claim 6. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 3, and Palat further teaches: wherein determining the target data compression area according to the protocol, comprising: determining the target data compression area to be a target cell determined by a cell notification, the cell notification being specified by the protocol. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression protocol; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”; RRC is also a protocol)
For claim 8. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 6, and Palat further teaches: wherein the cell notification specified by the protocol comprises any one of: the cell notification being a notification indicates a cell configured with the configured grant-small data transmission (CG-SDT) resources; the cell notification being a notification indicates a cell in which the terminal device receives a connection suspension message; or the cell notification being a notification indicates a cell in which the terminal device receives a connection release message. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”)
For claim 9. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 8, and Palat further teaches: wherein the cell in which the terminal device receives the connection suspension message comprises any one of: a cell in which the terminal device successfully receives the connection suspension message; a cell in which the terminal device receives the connection suspension message for a first time; or a cell in which the terminal device receives the connection suspension message for a last time; or wherein the cell in which the terminal device receives the connection release message comprises any one of: a cell in which the terminal device successfully receives the connection release message; a cell in which the terminal device receives the connection release message for a first time; or a cell in which the terminal device receives the connection release message for a last time. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”)
For claim 11. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: wherein determining the target data compression area comprises: receiving a data compression configuration configured by the network side device; wherein the data compression configuration comprises the data compression area configuration; determining the target data compression area based on the data compression area configuration. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 12. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and Palat further teaches: wherein determining the target data compression area based on the data compression area configuration comprises one of: determining the target data compression area to be the access network notification area indicated by an access network notification area identification, wherein the data compression area configuration is the access network notification area identification; or determining the target data compression area to be a target cell determined by a cell notification, wherein the data compression area configuration is the cell notification. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 15. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and Palat further teaches: wherein the data compression configuration comprises: a data compression bearer configuration and a data compression type configuration. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression which is a type of data compression; paragraph 116, “The UL/DL SDT belongs to a single radio bearer (RB), e.g., SRB1 (for NAS PDU) or DRB (for data PDU)”)
For claim 16. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 15, and Palat further teaches: wherein the data compression bearer configuration comprises at least one of: a bearer type corresponding to the data compression; or a bearer identification corresponding to the data compression; or wherein the data compression type configuration comprises at least one of: a type indication corresponding to the data compression; an indication that the data compression continues; an indication that the data compression stops; or an indication of a direction of the data compression. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression which is a type of data compression; paragraph 116, “The UL/DL SDT belongs to a single radio bearer (RB), e.g., SRB1 (for NAS PDU) or DRB (for data PDU)”)
For claim 18. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: wherein executing the data compression while performing the SDT comprises: executing the data compression while performing the SDT, wherein a cell in which the terminal device currently resides; or a cell reselected; or a cell selected; or a type of the access network reselected belongs to the target data compression area. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 19. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: wherein executing the data compression comprises at least one of: maintaining a compressed state of a compressed entity during a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reestablishment; maintaining a compressed state of a decompressed entity during a PDCP reestablishment; maintaining a compressed state of a compressed entity during a PDCP recovery; maintaining a compressed state of a decompressed entity during a PDCP recovery; maintaining a compressed state of a compressed entity during a radio resource control (RRC) connection recovery; maintaining a compressed state of a decompressed entity during a RRC connection recovery; maintaining a compressed state of a compressed entity during a RRC connection release; or maintaining a compressed state of a decompressed entity during a RRC connection release. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression protocol; paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session.”)
For claim 20. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Palat further teaches: wherein stopping executing the data compression comprises at least one of: resetting a compressed entity during a PDCP reestablishment; resetting a decompression entity during a PDCP reestablishment; resetting a compression entity during a PDCP recovery; resetting a decompression entity during a PDCP recovery; resetting a compression entity during a RRC connection recovery; resetting a decompression entity during a RRC connection recovery; resetting a compression entity during a RRC connection release; resetting a decompression entity during a RRC connection release; releasing the data compression area configuration; or entering an idle state. (Palat, paragraph 171-174, “One possibility is to allow RoHC to continue only in the same cell for SDT. Alternatively, it could be allowed to continue RoHC within a certain area—such as within an RNA or a certain group of cells. And this could also be under the control of the network. That is, the network can indicate this to the UE in the RRC release message that was sent to the UE to INACTIVE before the SDT session… Failure cases, such as cell reselection during SDT transfer could be handled by always resetting the RoHC state.”)
For claim 21. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and Palat further teaches: wherein stopping executing the data compression comprises at least one of: releasing the data compression configuration; deleting the data compression configuration; releasing a compression context corresponding to the data compression configuration; or deleting a compression context corresponding to the data compression configuration. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; implicit that if a current cell of the UE is not being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE is not being within the RNA, RoHC is not performed (RoHC configuration is released) since “perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA”; also see paragraph 106-107, 171-174 for more details)
For claim 22. Palat teaches: A method for data compression, performed by a network side device, comprising: (Palat, paragraph 212-222, base station; also see fig 3-4, paragraph 78-92 for more information)
sending, to the terminal device, small data transmission (SDT) configuration information used for instructing a terminal device to perform an SDT; (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode a response message from the base station, the response message including an UL grant; and encode the UL data for the second SDT, the UL data encoded using the secure key, and the second SDT performed using the UL grant while the UE is in the RRC_Inactive state.”)
sending data compression configuration to the terminal device; wherein the data compression configuration comprises a data compression area configuration. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 23. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 22, and Palat further teaches: wherein the data compression area configuration comprises at least one of: an access network notification area identification; or a cell notification. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
For claim 25. Palat discloses all the limitations of claim 22, and Palat further teaches: wherein the data compression configuration further comprises: a data compression bearer configuration and a data compression type configuration. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression which is a type of data compression; paragraph 116, “The UL/DL SDT belongs to a single radio bearer (RB), e.g., SRB1 (for NAS PDU) or DRB (for data PDU)”)
For claim 30. Palat teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory wherein the memory stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed by the processor, the processor is configured to: (Palat, fig 3-4, paragraph 78-92, UE)
receive small data transmission (SDT) configuration information from a network side device, the SDT configuration information being used for instructing a terminal device to perform an SDT; (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode a response message from the base station, the response message including an UL grant; and encode the UL data for the second SDT, the UL data encoded using the secure key, and the second SDT performed using the UL grant while the UE is in the RRC_Inactive state.”)
determine a target data compression area; execute the data compression while performing the SDT, wherein the terminal device is located in the target data compression area. (Palat, paragraph 212-222, “decode configuration signaling from the base station before detecting the radio link failure, the configuration signaling indicating a robust header compression (RoHC) configuration associated with one or more cells of the base station or a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA)… perform a RoHC during the second SDT based on a current cell of the UE being part of the one or more cells or the current cell of the UE being within the RNA.”; paragraph 106, RoHC is data compression)
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462