Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/JP2023/004663, filed on February 10, 2023, which claims priority benefit of Japanese Patent Application No. JP 2022-026073 filed on February 22, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasunori Tsukuda et al. (WO 2021/186817 A1) in view of Shimizu (US 2019/0259902 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasunori et al. teaches a ranging device comprising (e.g., Figure 1): a second pixel that is provided separately from a first pixel that performs ranging (e.g., Figure 12; 301; “… A plurality of reference pixel 301… are arranged in the pixel array unit 220 in the third modification of the first embodiment… For example, the reference pixel 301 is arranged in only one line, and the distance measuring pixel 302 is arranged in a plurality of lines. In another example, the reference pixel and the distance measuring pixel are arranged in a plurality of pixel regions of the pixel array unit 220, respectively”); a first detection unit that detects a time of flight (ToF) value based on light reception time (e.g., [Configuration example of signal processing unit “… The TDC231 measures the time from the light emission timing indicated by the clock signal CLKp to the fall (that is, the light reception timing) of the pulse signal OUT form the corresponding row”]) of incident light incident on the second pixel (e.g., [Background-Art “… a distance measuring method called a ToF (Time of Flight) method has been known in an electronic device having distance measuring function. This ToF method is a method of irradiating an object with irradiation light from an electronic device and measuring a distance by obtaining a round-trip time until the irradiation light is reflected and returned to the electronic device];” Figure 12; 302; “… a plurality of distance measuring pixels 302 are arranged in the pixel array unit 220”); and a control unit that controls a bias voltage to be applied to the first pixel and the second pixel on a basis of the ToF value detected by the first detection unit (e.g., [Pixel configuration example “… The control circuit 310 supplies of a predetermined potential as a control signal CA2 to the additional cathode 331 at the irradiation timing of the irradiation light… Since a bias voltage is applied between the anode 311 and the additional cathode 331, a current flows between them and the electrons generated by the photoelectric conversion region 312 are discharged from the additional cathode 331”])
Yasunori further teaches that (e.g., [Configuration example of ranging module “… the irradiation light 502 is reflected by the object 501 to be distance-measured and is incident on the solid-state imaging sensor 200 as the reflect light 504, but the irradiation light 502 is reflected in the distance-finding module 100 and is solid as the stray light 505. It may be incident on the image sensor 200. A part of the irradiation light 502 is reflected and stray light 505 is generated as illustrated in the figure. If the solid-state image sensor 200 erroneously detects the light receiving timing of the stray light 505 as the light receiving timing of the reflected light 504… Details of the method for preventing this false detection will be described later”]).
In addition, Shimizu teaches a similar light detection device, including SPAD arrays (8 and 9) where they are physically separated by the light-shielding wall (32) while “stray” light correspond to the SPAD array (8) and “incident” light by the SPAD array (9). Because as claim(s) would result from the application of the prior art knowledge or art-recognized equivalents to enhance the accuracy of the overall ranging device. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate various embodiments of Yasunori to increase the accuracy of the photodetector and arrangements between the “first” and “second” pixels separately as taught by various embodiments of Yasunori, while “stray” light correspond to reference pixel(s) while “incident” light correspond to rear of pixel(s) within the solid-state image sensor unit as well as both lights are captured and utilized by the control circuit.
Note: Claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (e.g., “provided separately”). In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974)
Regarding claim 2, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 1, wherein the first detection unit detects the ToF value on a basis of a time difference between the light reception time of the incident light incident on the second pixel and time at which a light emitting unit emitted a light signal (e.g., [Structure example of solid-state image sensor “… The signal processing unit 230 measures the round-trip time for each pixel circuit based on the signal from the pixel 300 and the clock signal CLKp, and calculates the distance. The signal processing unit 230 generates distance data indicating the distance of each pixel group corresponding to the distance measurement point, and outputs them to the outside”])
Regarding claim 3, Yasunori et al. and Shimizu further teaches the ranging device according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel receives a reflected light signal obtained by causing a light signal emitted from a light emitting unit to be reflected by an object (e.g., 501 and 504 of Yasunori et al.), and the second pixel directly receives the light signal emitted from the light emitting unit (e.g., 505 of Yasunori et al. and Figures 2 and 8 of Shimizu).
Regarding claim 4. Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel has a first photodiode that outputs a voltage signal corresponding to incident light, the second pixel has a second photodiode that outputs a voltage signal corresponding to incident light, and the bias voltage is a voltage to be supplied to anode pressures or cathodes of the first photodiode and the second photodiode (e.g., Figure 13; [Third variant “… the control circuit 210 supplies a signal obtained by inverting… to the ranging pixel 302 as a control signal CA2 DIST, the supplies a signal having the same phase as the inverted signal to the pixel 302 the reference pixel 301 and the distance measuring pixel 302 are arranged, the signal processing unit 230 simultaneously acquires the reference distance and measures the distance”]).
Regarding claim 5, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, wherein the first photodiode and the second photodiode output the voltage signals from the cathodes in a case where the bias voltage is supplied to the anodes (e.g., [Application example to mobile “… The output electrode and the additional electrode are cathodes”]), and output the voltage signals from the anodes in a case where the bias voltage is supplied to the cathodes (e.g., [Pixel configuration example]).
Regarding claim 6, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, wherein the first detection unit detects the ToF value based on the light reception time of the incident light by the second photodiode (e.g., [Configuration example of signal processing unit “… The TDC231 measures the time from the light emission timing indicated by the clock signal CLKp to the fall (that is, the light reception timing) of the pulse signal OUT form the corresponding row”]), and the control unit controls an anode voltage (e.g., 311, 347) or a cathode voltage (e.g., Figure 6, CA1, 331, 332) of the first photodiode and the second photodiode on a basis of the ToF value detected by the first detection unit.
Regarding claim 7, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 6, wherein the first detection unit detects the ToF value on a basis of a timing at which a voltage level of the voltage signal output from the anode or the cathode of the second photodiode intersects with a predetermined threshold (e.g., [Pixel configuration example “… the predetermined reference potential VSS… a signal of a predetermined potential… The buffer 352 outputs a high-level pulse signal OUT when the cathode signal CA1 is higher than a predetermined threshold value”]).
Regarding claim 8, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit controls the bias voltage to be supplied to the anodes or the cathodes of the first photodiode and the second photodiode in such a way that the ToF value based on the light reception time of the incident light by the second photodiode detected by the first detection unit becomes constant (e.g., [Configuration example of signal processing unit “… The TDC231 measures the time from the light emission timing indicated by the clock signal CLKp to the fall (that is, the light reception timing) of the pulse signal OUT form the corresponding row”]).
Regarding claim 9, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, wherein the control unit causes reverse voltages between the anodes and the cathodes of the first photodiode and the second photodiode to become larger in a case where the ToF value detected by the first detection unit is longer than a predetermined reference value (e.g., [Second variant “… Then, the signal processing unit 230 calculates a distance from the measured round-trip time by Equation 1, acquires and holds the distance as a reference distance. When there is a delay time from the rise of the clock signal CLKp to the light emission, the reference distance does not become zero but becomes a value larger than that”]).
Note: Claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation (e.g., “causes reverse voltages”). In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu et al. further teaches The ranging device according to claim 4, further comprising: a temperature measuring instrument that measures an ambient temperature, wherein the control unit controls an anode voltage or a cathode voltage of the first photodiode and the second photodiode on a basis of the ToF value detected by the first detection unit and the temperature measured by the temperature measuring instrument (e.g., [0008 “… In the nonlinear circuit, a second temperature coefficient representing variation of setting potential with respect to temperature variation when constant-current driving is performed so that electrical potential of the cathodes becomes equal to the setting potential is substantially the same as a first temperature coefficient representing variation of a breakdown voltage of the one or more avalanche photodiodes with respect to temperature variation”]). In addition, Also, the Examiner takes Official Notice of the equivalence of any known temperature measuring instrument for their use in the photodetection-related technology for their use in vehicle to increase the accuracy of the distance finding and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 15, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, further comprising: a second detection unit (e.g., [Application example to mobile]; Figure 25; 12030, 12040, 12041) that detects the number of light receiving pulses per unit time in the first pixel, wherein the control unit controls an anode voltage or a cathode voltage of the first photodiode and the second photodiode on a basis of the ToF value detected by the first detection unit and the number of light receiving pulses per unit time detected by the second detection unit. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate multiple/duplicate detection units to the ranging device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 16, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 15, wherein the control unit causes reverse voltages between the anodes and the cathodes of the first photodiode and the second photodiode to become smaller in a case where the number of light receiving pulses detected by the second detection unit is larger than a predetermined reference number of pulses (e.g., [Second variant “… Then, the signal processing unit 230 calculates a distance from the measured round-trip time by Equation 1, acquires and holds the distance as a reference distance. When there is a delay time from the rise of the clock signal CLKp to the light emission, the reference distance does not become zero but becomes a value larger than that”]).
Regarding claim 17, Yasunori et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 4, further comprising: a light emitting unit that emits a light signal (e.g., 110), wherein the first photodiode in the first pixel receives the incident light based on a reflected light signal from an object irradiated with the light signal (e.g., Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18. Shimizu et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 17, wherein the second pixel is arranged away from the first pixel, and a light shielding member is included (e.g., 32), the light shielding member being arranged around the second photodiode in such a way that the light signal to be incident on the second photodiode is not incident on the first photodiode (e.g., [0044 “… the light-shielding wall 32 is arranged between the SPAD array 8 and the SPAD array 9”]).
Regarding claim 19. Shimizu et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 17, further comprising: a pixel array unit that has a plurality of pixels (e.g., 8 and 9), each of the pixels having a photodiode (e.g., [0012 “… the photodiodes array module disclosed in PTL1… avalanche photodiodes”]), wherein some of the pixels in the pixel array unit are used as the first pixel, at least some of the pixels other than the some of the pixels in the pixel array unit are used as the second pixel (e.g., Figures 1, 3, and 7), and a light shielding member is included (e.g., 32), the light shielding member being arranged along a boundary region between the first pixel and the second pixel in the pixel array unit, and being arranged around the second photodiode (e.g., [0044 “… the light-shielding wall 32 is arranged between the SPAD array 8 and the SPAD array 9”]) in such a way that the light signal to be incident on the second photodiode is not incident on the first photodiode (e.g., Figures 2 and 8).
Regarding claim 20. Shimizu et al. further teaches the ranging device according to claim 17, wherein the light signal emitted from the light emitting unit is radiated in a direction toward the object (e.g., 501), and is also radiated in a direction toward the second pixel (e.g., 502, 504, 503, 5050, Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Homma Ryutaro (JP 2021089962 A) – Light receiving device, method for controlling light receiving device, and distance measuring device
Kobayashi et al. (US 2020/0194482 A1) – Photoelectric conversion apparatus, photoelectric conversion system, and movable body
Lee et al. (US 2015/0372038 A1) – Image sensor and image processing system including the same
Fujisawa et al. (US 2024/0353564 A1) – Ranging device
Sekiya (US 2025/0110219 A1) – Ranging device
Segura Puchades et al. (USPN 9,817,027 B2) – Method and device for counting objects
Kawamura Takahiro (JP 2015053411 A) – Solid-state imaging device, method for manufacturing solid-state imaging device, and electronic equipment
Oh et al. (US 2022/0415957 A1) – Imaging sensor with near-infrared absorber
Ferreira et al. (US 2020/0284883 A1) – Component for a LIDAR sensor system, LIDAR sensor system, LIDAR sensor device, method for LIDAR sensor system and method for a LIDAR sensor device
Guo-Hua Li (CN 111796295 A) – Collector, manufacturing method of collector and distance measuring system
Guo-Hua Li (CN 111796296 A) – A distance measuring method, system and computer readable storage medium
Yasunori Tsukuda (WO 2024/004367 A1) – Range finding module
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897