DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/727,018 filed on 07/05/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 17-32, 34, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US 20240195561, Jun. 13, 2024) in view of REN et al. (US 20250048395, Feb. 6, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu discloses the resources for sidelink positioning comprising time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, or a combination thereof (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
determining a partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning, the partial
sensing configuration comprising sensing parameters for sidelink positioning (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
performing partial sensing of the one or more sets resources for sidelink
positioning according to the partial sensing configuration (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission); and
selecting, based on results of the partial sensing, a first set of resources for
sidelink positioning from the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value
representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, if a periodic sidelink data transmission is enabled for the resource pool, multiple sets of values correspond to different periods of traffic, a set of values configured as 1 or 2, "1" represents a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, while "2" represents two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain).
Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Yu and REN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning the teaching of Yu to include the determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal of REN because it providing voice and data connectivity to a user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem.
Regarding Claim 2, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except determining the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning comprises receiving the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning from a base station, a network entity, or a second UE.
REN is the same field of invention teaches determining the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning comprises receiving the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning from a base station, a network entity, or a second UE (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 3, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except selecting the first set of resources for sidelink positioning comprises selecting a resource pool, a frequency band, a component carrier, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS), a time property of the SL-PRS, a spatial property of the SL-PRS, a precoder, a port identifier, a scrambling identifier, or a combination thereof.
REN is the same field of invention teaches selecting the first set of resources for sidelink positioning comprises selecting a resource pool, a frequency band, a component carrier, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS), a time property of the SL-PRS, a spatial property of the SL-PRS, a precoder, a port identifier, a scrambling identifier, or a combination thereof (page 12, par (0247-0248), line 1-10, the second terminal performs positioning based on the received S-PRS, the first resource is a resource that is determined by the first terminal through resource sensing or random selection and that is applicable to transmit the S-PRS, the first terminal may complete transmission of the S-PRS by using an appropriate S-PRS resource, and the second terminal receives the S-PRS, and then perform accurate positioning based on the received S-PRS).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning comprise a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configurations.
REN is the same field of invention teaches the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning comprise a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) configurations (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
each of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations use the same sensing type and the same sensing parameters.
REN is the same field of invention teaches each of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations use the same sensing type and the same sensing parameters (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
each of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations use the same sensing type but at least one of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations is different from another of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations.
REN is the same field of invention teaches each of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations use the same sensing type but at least one of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations is different from another of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations (page 8, par (0135), line 1-10, the terminal has different positioning delay requirements, energy saving requirements, different S-PRS transmission priorities, and different S-PRS transmission resource congestion conditions, and therefore, the first terminal flexibly selects an appropriate S-PRS resource selection manner according to
these different requirements and conditions to determine the first resource).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
at least one of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations uses a different sensing type from another of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations.
REN is the same field of invention teaches at least one of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations uses a different sensing type from another of the plurality of SL-PRS configurations (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 8, Yu discloses a sensing type for at least one of the plurality of
SL-PRS configurations is set according to a mapping that associates a priority of an SL-
PRS configuration to an allowed sensing type(page 7, par (0073), line 1-20, ist set of candidate sensing gap values and 2nd set of candidate sensing gap values are represented in a bitmap manner).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
determining the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning comprises receiving, from a second UE, a positioning request that indicates or is associated with the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches determining the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning comprises receiving, from a second UE, a positioning request that indicates or is associated with the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 10, Yu discloses receiving the positioning request comprises
receiving the positioning request before, during, or after performing the partial sensing,
and before selecting the first set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Regarding Claim 11, Yu discloses the sensing parameters for sidelink positioning comprise a sensing window and wherein performing partial sensing of the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning comprises sensing the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning during the sensing window(page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain; or a candidate sensing gap value representing two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain, if a periodic sidelink data transmission is enabled for the resource pool).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
comprising transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches comprising transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 18, Yu discloses comprising receiving, from a second UE, a second SL-PRS; determining a selection method as one of performing a full sensing and selection; performing a partial sensing and selection; or performing a random selection without performing sensing (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except selecting a second set of resources for sidelink positioning according to the selection method; and transmitting a third SL-PRS to the second UE on the second set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches selecting a second set of resources for sidelink positioning according to the selection method; and transmitting a third SL-PRS to the second UE on the second set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource-sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal; transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource, wherein the first resource pool is a dedicated resource pool for randomly selecting a transmission resource of the S-PRS).
Regarding Claim 19, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
sending, to a second UE, an indication of the first set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches sending, to a second UE, an indication of the first set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource-sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal; transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 20, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
receiving, from the second UE, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches receiving, from the second UE, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource-sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal; transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 21, Yu discloses sending, to a third entity, the results of the partial sensing, the third entity comprising the second UE, a base station, a network entity, or a third UE (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink).
Regarding Claim 22, Yu discloses receiving, from the third entity, an indication of a second set of resources for sidelink positioning from the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Regarding Claim 23, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
receiving, from the third entity, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the second set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches receiving, from the third entity, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the second set of resources for sidelink positioning(page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource-sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal; transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource, wherein the first resource pool is a dedicated resource pool for randomly selecting a transmission resource of the S-PRS).
Regarding Claim 24, Yu discloses the partial sensing configuration further
indicates a sensing type and sensing parameters for sidelink data communication, the
sensing type for data communication comprising a full sensing type, a partial sensing
type, or no sensing type (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Regarding Claim 25, Yu discloses at least one sensing parameter for sidelink data communication is different from the corresponding sensing parameter for sidelink
positioning (page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain; or a candidate sensing gap value representing two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain).
Regarding Claim 26, Yu discloses sending, to a base station, network
node, or second UE, an indication of capability to perform partial sensing for sidelink positioning, a set of one or more supported partial sensing configurations, or a
combination thereof(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference).
Regarding Claim 27, Yu discloses the resources for sidelink positioning comprising time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, or a combination thereof(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
and sending the selection window configuration to a user equipment (UE) (page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain; or a candidate sensing gap value representing two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain).
Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except of wireless positioning performed by a location server, the method Comprising determining a selection window configuration that specifies a selection window and periodicities to be used for partial sensing of one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning.
of wireless positioning performed by a location server, the method
REN is the same field of invention teaches Comprising determining a selection window configuration that specifies a selection window and periodicities to be used for partial sensing of one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Yu and REN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning the teaching of Yu to include the determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal of REN because it providing voice and data connectivity to a user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem.
Regarding Claim 28, Yu discloses sending the selection window configuration to
the UE comprises sending the selection window configuration to the UE as part of
assistance data or as part of a positioning request (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Regarding Claim 29, Yu discloses the resources for sidelink positioning comprising time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, or a combination thereof(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
determine a partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning, the partial sensing configuration comprising sensing parameters for sidelink positioning(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
perform partial sensing of the one or more sets resources for sidelink positioning according to the partial sensing configuration(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
and select, based on results of the partial sensing, a first set of resources for sidelink positioning from the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning(page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value
representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, if a periodic sidelink data transmission is enabled for the resource pool, multiple sets of values correspond to different periods of traffic, a set of values configured as 1 or 2, "1" represents a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, while "2" represents two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain).
Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except user equipment (UE), comprising a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to determine one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches user equipment (UE), comprising a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to determine one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Yu and REN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning the teaching of Yu to include the determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal of REN because it providing voice and data connectivity to a user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem.
Regarding Claim 30, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
to determine the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to receive the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning from a base station, a network entity, or a second UE.
REN is the same field of invention teaches to determine the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to receive the partial sensing configuration for sidelink positioning from a base station, a network entity, or a second UE (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 31, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
select the first set of resources for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to select a resource pool, a frequency band, a component carrier, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS), a time property of the SL-PRS, a spatial property of the SL-PRS, a precoder, a port identifier, a scrambling identifier, or a combination thereof.
REN is the same field of invention teaches select the first set of resources for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to select a resource pool, a frequency band, a component carrier, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS), a time property of the SL-PRS, a spatial property of the SL-PRS, a precoder, a port identifier, a scrambling identifier, or a combination thereof (page 12, par (0247-0248), line 1-10, the second terminal performs positioning based on the received S-PRS, the first resource is a resource that is determined by the first terminal through resource sensing or random selection and that is applicable to transmit the S-PRS, the first terminal may complete transmission of the S-PRS by using an appropriate S-PRS resource, and the second terminal receives the S-PRS, and then perform accurate positioning based on the received S-PRS).
Regarding Claim 32, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
to determine the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a second UE, a positioning request that indicates or is associated with the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches to determine the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning, the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a second UE, a positioning request that indicates or is associated with the one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 34, Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except
the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning.
REN is the same field of invention teaches the at least one processor is further configured to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) on the first set of resources for sidelink positioning (page 1, par (0006), line 1-10, determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal, transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) on the first resource).
Regarding Claim 36, Yu discloses the at least one processor is further configured to at least one of send, via the at least one transceiver, to a second UE, an indication of the first set of resources for sidelink positioning(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission); or send, via the at least one transceiver, to a third entity, the results of the partial sensing, the third entity comprising the second UE, a base station, a network entity, or a third UE(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink).
Regarding Claim 37, Yu discloses the partial sensing configuration further indicates a sensing type and sensing parameters for sidelink data communication, the sensing type for data communication comprising a full sensing type, a partial sensing type, or no sensing type(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Regarding Claim 38, Yu discloses the at least one processor is further configured to send, via the at least one transceiver, to a base station, network node, or second UE, an indication of capability to perform partial sensing for sidelink positioning, a set of one or more supported partial sensing configurations, or a combination thereof(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool (sets resources for sidelink positioning) for a sidelink position reference).
Regarding Claim 39, Yu discloses at least one processor configured to determine a selection window configuration that specifies a selection window and periodicities to be used for partial sensing of one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning(page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, UE configured with partial sensing to perform a periodic transmission in NR sidelink, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool for a sidelink position reference signalling transmission),
the resources for sidelink positioning comprising time resources, frequency resources, spatial resources, or a combination thereof (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission);
and send, via the at least one transceiver, the selection window configuration to a user equipment (UE) (page 5, par (0057), line 1-20, 1st set of candidates sensing gap values and set of candidates sensing gap values include: a candidate sensing gap value representing a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, if a periodic sidelink data transmission is enabled for the resource pool, multiple sets of values correspond to different periods of traffic, a set of values configured as 1 or 2, "1" represents a most recent sensing occasion before a resource selection window in time domain, while "2" represents two most recent sensing occasions before the resource selection window in time domain).
Yu discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a location server, comprising a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver.
REN is the same field of invention teaches a location server, comprising a memory; at least one transceiver (page 2, par (0022), line 1-5, a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a program instruction; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor);
and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (page 2, par (0022), line 1-5, a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; wherein the memory is configured to store a program instruction).
Yu and REN are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless positioning performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising determining one or more sets of resources for sidelink positioning the teaching of Yu to include the determining a first resource by a first terminal through performing resource sensing on detecting sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted by a second terminal of REN because it providing voice and data connectivity to a user, a handheld device having a wireless connection function, or another processing device connected to a wireless modem.
Regarding Claim 40, Yu discloses to send the selection window
configuration to the UE, the at least one processor is configured to send the selection
window configuration to the UE as part of assistance data or as part of a positioning
request (page 3, par (0036), line 1-10, a UE decides sidelink transmission resource(s) in time and frequency domains in a resource pool, NR sidelink will support multiple types of periodic traffic in one resource pool, a sidelink position reference signalling transmission).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claims 12 are incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 29 would be allowable if (i) claims 33 or 35 are incorporated into the independent claim 29.
Claim 39 would be allowable if (i) claims 12 or 33 or 35 are incorporated into the independent claim 39.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent
to applicant's disclosure are:
Manolakos et al. (US 20250168804, May 22, 2025) teaches Partial Sensing in Sidelink Positioning.
from the examiner should be directed to IQBAL ZAIDI whose telephone number
is 571-270-3943. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30a.m to 5:00p.m.
examiner’s supervisor, NGO RICKY can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax
phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is 571-273-8300.
the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information
for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public
PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through
Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see
http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the
Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-
9197 (toll-free).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464