Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II- claims 21-25 in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Lenhardt does not teach all the limitations of claim 21, and therefore there is unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature of this Application is claim 1, not claim 21, claim 21 having more limiting claim limitations beyond what is claimed in claim 1. Since Applicant did not argue against the Examiner’s rejection of claim 1, which is the special technical feature of this Application, this argument is found unpersuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 lines 5-6 use the phrase “for glass sheets not yet coupled provided with a thermoplastic spacer and not provided with a thermoplastic spacer”. This is an indefinite term as a singular sheet cannot be both “provided… and not provided with a thermoplastic spacer”. The Examiner recommends amending claim 21 to have similar language as claim 22 with the phrase “glass sheets not yet coupled with or without a thermoplastic spacer”. This establishes that these properties are exclusive of each other. Alternatively, Applicant can amend claim 21 by substituting the word “and” with “or” to establish the phrase “provided with a thermoplastic spacer or not provided with a thermoplastic spacer”, which also establishes exclusivity. Claims 22-25 are rejected due to dependency on claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lenhardt (EP 0727556; previously presented).
Regarding claim 21, Lenhardt teaches an apparatus (fig. 1-2) for producing insulating glass wherein the apparatus is for insulating glass sheets that are provided with a thermoplastic spacer (pg. 8 lines 24-25) comprising a thermoplastic spacer distribution unit (nozzle- 13, piston cylinder unit-15, barrel pump- 17, and barrel- 18; pg. 6 line 35- pg. 7 line 6), and a sheet coupling unit (assembly and pressing station; pg. 7 line 32- pg. 8 line 2). Lenhardt teaches that the plastic spacer must be applied at an elevated temperature (pg. 2 lines 15-17), which means the apparatus of Lenhardt has thermal conditioning and the glass transient pathway can be interpreted as a thermal conditioning unit. The thermal conditioning unit comprises an inlet area for glass sheets not yet coupled (subsection 2; pg. 7 lines 32-34) and an outlet area for said glass sheets (entrance to assembly and pressing station; pg. 4 lines 31-33). The glass sheets move between these areas which defines a transit direction as seen in Figures 1 and 2. The thermal conditioning unit comprises a fixed frame (subsection 3) and a movable frame (subsections 4 and 25; noted as movable on a rail in pg. 7 lines 21-22) wherein said movable frame is adapted to be moved with respect to said fixed frame in a direction substantially perpendicular to said transit direction (the rails shown in Figure 1 show a movement perpendicular to transit direction shown in the arrows of element 1 and 21). Elements 4 and 25 are both compartments that are adapted to house said glass sheets being provided on said movable frame and as part of the movable frame are adapted to position each compartment of said plurality of compartments in line with said inlet area and said outlet area for said glass sheets (pg. 7 lines 36-39).
Regarding method steps, Lenhardt teaches the steps of positioning a compartment (specifically first subsection- 25) in alignment with the inlet area (pg. 4 lines 27-30; this would be aligned with subsection- 2 in Figure 1) housing at least one glass sheet (first glass sheet) provided with the spacer in said compartment, and unloading the at least one glass sheet provided with the spacer from said compartment to the outlet area. (pg. 4 lines 31-34). The spacer is a thermoplastic (pg. 8 lines 24-25). It is noted that when the thermoplastic is applied, it is at an elevated temperature (pg. 2 lines 15-17), and therefore between the steps of housing and unloading the glass sheet provided with the thermoplastic spacer, it would be cooling, which is a form of thermal conditioning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lenhardt.
Regarding claim 23, Lenhardt teaches that the material of the thermoplastic spacer is applied in a range between 70-80°C (pg. 15-17). Therefore, while not taught, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to measure the temperature of the thermoplastic spacer to ensure compliance with the taught application range.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 22, and 24-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 22, the apparatus of Lenhardt has only 2 compartments (subsections 25 and 4), and since these are used in the process steps of b) and c); steps b) and c) cannot be repeated for further glass sheets. The subject matter of claim 22 is therefore not taught or rendered obvious by Lenhardt.
Regarding claim 24, Lenhardt teaches that the glass sheet with the thermoplastic spacer is to be moved “without delay” (pg. 4 lines 30-34). This constitutes a teaching away from calculating a residence time of a glass sheet in one of the said components, and therefore the subject matter of claim 24 is not taught or rendered obvious by Lenhardt.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745