Claims 1-15 is/are pending.
IDS has been considered.
Drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2024/0340899).
As to claim 1 and 8:
A method and a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 10, ¶0162 processor, memory, and transceiver) and configured to perform said method, wherein the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, first information configuring a time domain allocation list for multiple physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) and second information enabling a time domain hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) bundling;
(See at least ¶0003, 0034, 0044-0047, 0085-0086, abstract, receiving DCIs from a base station for multi-PDSCH scheduling, having TDRA tables, i.e. first information, configuring the time domain location list for the PDSCHs. See ¶0034, 0036, 99090-0093, and claim 8 - the TDRA rows information (i.e. second information), upon selected/used, directly enables the time-domain bundling feature in the HARQ-ACK codebook generation process)
receiving, from the base station, a plurality of PDSCHs; (¶0095, 0047, 0005, receiving from the base station a plurality of PDSCHs)
and transmitting, to the base station, a HARQ acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for the plurality of PDSCHs based on the first information and the second information, (See at least ¶0034-0036, 0048-0049 Abstract, 0090-0095, claim 1 – codebook is generated and transmitted to the base station based on TDRA time allocation configuration and the bundling enabling information transmitted by the base station. See also details in the implementation in ¶0114-0117)
wherein, in case that each slot of the plurality of PDSCHs includes an uplink symbol of a PDSCH time resource, a time domain resource allocation set for the HARQ-ACK codebook is updated based on a row index corresponding to the PDSCH time resource. (See at least ¶0034, 0044-0049, 0055, 0090-0093, TDRA row containing one or more SLIVs is used to schedule a plurality of PDSCHs across multiple slot. In NR/5G environment of Wang, such slots include uplinks symbol or flexible symbol that can be used for UL. The HARQ-ACK codebook is generated and adaptively modified specifically based on the TDRA row index selected for these multi-PDSCH transmissions, and as such when schedule slots include uplink/flexible uplink symbols, the time domain resource allocation set for said codebook is adaptively modified based on the row index corresponding to the PDSCH time resources)
As to claims 5, 12:
Wang discloses a method and a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver for performing the method (Fig. 10, ¶0162 processor, memory, and transceiver), the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, first information configuring a time domain allocation list for multiple physical downlink shared channels(PDSCHs) and second information enabling a time domain hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) bundling; (See at least ¶0003, 0034, 0044-0047, 0085-0086, abstract, transmitting DCIs from a base station for multi-PDSCH scheduling, having TDRA tables, i.e. first information, configuring the time domain location list for the PDSCHs. See ¶0034, 0036, 99090-0093, and claim 8 - the TDRA rows information (i.e. second information), upon selected/used, directly enables the time-domain bundling feature in the HARQ-ACK codebook generation process)
transmitting, to the terminal, a plurality of PDSCHs; (¶0095, 0047, 0005, receiving from the base station a plurality of PDSCHs)
and receiving, from the terminal, a HARQ acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for the plurality of PDSCHs based on the first information and the second information, See at least ¶0034-0036, 0048-0049 Abstract, 0090-0095, claim 1 – codebook is generated and transmitted to the base station based on TDRA time allocation configuration and the bundling enabling information transmitted by the base station. See also details in the implementation in ¶0114-0117)
wherein, in case that each slot of the plurality of PDSCHs includes an uplink symbol of a PDSCH time resource, a time domain resource al- location set for the HARQ-ACK codebook is updated based on a row index corresponding to the PDSCH time resource. (See at least ¶0034, 0044-0049, 0055, 0090-0093, TDRA row containing one or more SLIVs is used to schedule a plurality of PDSCHs across multiple slot. In NR/5G environment of Wang, such slots include uplinks symbol or flexible symbol that can be used for UL. The HARQ-ACK codebook is generated and adaptively modified specifically based on the TDRA row index selected for these multi-PDSCH transmissions, and as such when schedule slots include uplink/flexible uplink symbols, the time domain resource allocation set for said codebook is adaptively modified based on the row index corresponding to the PDSCH time resources)
As to claims 2, 6, 9, and 13:
Wang discloses all limitations of claim 1/5/8/12, wherein the time domain resource allocation set includes a first set including PDSCH time domain resource allocation tables and a second set including last start and length indicator value (SLIV) of each row of the first set. (See ¶0045-0047, the DCIS having a plurality of TDRA tables, each containing at least one row with multiple SLIVs)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2024/0340899) in view of Tian et al. (US 2022/0167392).
As to claims 3, 10, 14:
Wang discloses all limitations of claim 1/8/12, regarding:
the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index.
While Wang does not explicitly mention the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index , note that ¶0034, 0044-0049, 0090-0093 the reference describes the terminal receiving multiple PDSCH transmission scheduled by one or more DCI that uses a TDRA with multiple SLIVs. These transmission occurs multiple slot and the TDRA rows define resources intrinsically from the earliest slot, i.e. smallest index. It is further noted that the claim language is a mere narration on the manner the PDSCH are received, i.e. from smallest index.
In a related field of codebook design for multi-PDSCH, Tian discloses in at least ¶0094, 0115 that downlink transmission as scheduled might be overlaps with uplink symbols with earliest slot available, i.e. ¶0014, first slot of the group)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index. The practice of transmission on overlapped UL/DL slots is common in the art due to the benefit of being able to use more time resources (i.e. don’t have to wait for the next full downlink slot) and PDSCHs can start in earliest available slot as soon as possible, which can be crucial for time-sensitive applications.
As to claims 4, 11, 15:
Wang discloses all limitations of claim 1/8/12, wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook for the plurality of PDSCHs is generated based on the first information, the second information, (See at least ¶0034-0036, 0048-0049 Abstract, 0090-0095, claim 1 – codebook is generated and transmitted to the base station based on TDRA time allocation configuration and the bundling enabling information transmitted by the base station. See also details in the implementation in ¶0114-0117) and third information configuring the HARQ-ACK codebook as semi-static (¶0069, payload of the HARQ-ACK is generated as semi-static);
Wang however is silent on wherein the uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal.
In a related field of codebook design for multi-PDSCH, Tian discloses in at least ¶0054, 0056 that uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the Wang’s uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal. Such practice benefitually allows for flexibility in slot usage, i.e. TDD lets slots to be configured with a mix of DL, flexible, and UL symbols instead of full DL or UL slots. Furthermore TDD configuration allows for dynamical slit of DL vs. DL share in a frequency band.
As to claim 7:
Wang discloses all limitations of claim 1, regarding:
the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index.
While Wang does not explicitly mention the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index , note that ¶0034, 0044-0049, 0090-0093 the reference describes the terminal receiving multiple PDSCH transmission scheduled by one or more DCI that uses a TDRA with multiple SLIVs. These transmission occurs multiple slot and the TDRA rows define resources intrinsically from the earliest slot, i.e. smallest index. It is further noted that the claim language is a mere narration on the manner the PDSCH are received, i.e. from smallest index.
In a related field of codebook design for multi-PDSCH, Tian discloses in at least ¶0094, 0115 that downlink transmission slots as scheduled by the network might be overlapped with uplink symbols with earliest slot available, i.e. ¶0014, first slot of the group)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the plurality of PDSCHs are received in a plurality of downlink slots overlapping with an uplink slot, starting from a smallest index. The practice of transmission on overlapped UL/DL slots is common in the art due to the benefit of being able to use more time resources (i.e. don’t have to wait for the next full downlink slot) and PDSCHs can start in earliest available slot as soon as possible, which can be crucial for time-sensitive applications.
Wang further discloses: wherein the HARQ-ACK codebook for the plurality of PDSCHs is generated based on the first information, the second information, (See at least ¶0034-0036, 0048-0049 Abstract, 0090-0095, claim 1 – codebook is generated and transmitted to the base station based on TDRA time allocation configuration and the bundling enabling information transmitted by the base station. See also details in the implementation in ¶0114-0117) and third information configuring the HARQ-ACK codebook as semi-static (¶0069, payload of the HARQ-ACK is generated as semi-static) , however is silent on wherein the uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal.
In a related field of codebook design for multi-PDSCH, Tian discloses in at least ¶0054, 0056 that uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the Wang’s uplink symbol is configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink downlink configuration for the terminal. Such practice benefitually allows for flexibility in slot usage, i.e. TDD lets slots to be configured with a mix of DL, flexible, and UL symbols instead of full DL or UL slots. Furthermore TDD configuration allows for dynamical slit of DL vs. DL share in a frequency band.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LIU et al. (US 2023/0039107) -Dynamic (Type-2) HARQ-ACK codebook generation for multi-PDSCH scheduling is discussed. Up to Rel-16, PDSCH can be scheduled using DCI 1_0, 1_1, 2_1, all which schedule one PDSCH at a time. Multi-PDSCH scheduling, one DL DCI (scheduling assignment) scheduling multiple PDSCHs is discussed, as scheduling multiple PDSCHs with a single DCI allows reducing PDCCH overhead and UE PDCCH monitoring, in particular in the context of high carrier frequencies (which allow large data throughput). A scheduling assignment for multi-PDSCH scheduling may be seen as associated to multiple sub patterns of feedback information, wherein each sub pattern may pertain to a different scheduled or schedulable PDSCH.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645