DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 31-48 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/05/2024 and 6/19/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 31, 35, 40, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0141700 A1 by Hedman et al. (hereafter referred to as Hedman).
Regarding claim 31, Hedman teaches A method by a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 11; WD 22), the method comprising:
determining to transmit a remote UE report message to a session management function (SMF) entity (see at least Fig. 11; Decide to forward message); and
identifying whether a back-off (BO) timer is running, wherein a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for the remote UE report message is not started, in case that the BO timer is running (see at least ¶ [0152]; “When the UE receives a back-off timer, the UE shall not initiate any NAS signalling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE initiates signalling for emergency services or high priority access.”).
Regarding claim 35, Hedman teaches the method of claim 31. In addition, Hedman teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the SMF via the NAS transport procedure, the remote UE report message, after the BO timer stops or expires (see at least ¶ [0189]; “When the UE receives a back-off timer, the UE shall not initiate any NAS signalling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE initiates signalling for emergency services or high priority access.”).
Regarding claim 40, Hedman teaches A user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver (see at least ¶ [0094]), the controller is configured to:
determine to transmit a remote UE report message to a session management function (SMF) entity (see at least Fig. 11; Decide to forward message), and identify whether a back-off (BO) timer is running, and wherein a non access stratum (NAS) transport procedure for the remote UE report message is not started, in case that the BO timer is running (see at least ¶ [0152]; “When the UE receives a back-off timer, the UE shall not initiate any NAS signalling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE initiates signalling for emergency services or high priority access.”).
Regarding claim 44, Hedman teaches the UE of claim 40. In addition, Hedman teaches wherein the controller is further configured to transmit, to the SMF via the NAS transport procedure, the remote UE report message, after the BO timer stops or expires (see at least ¶ [0189]; “When the UE receives a back-off timer, the UE shall not initiate any NAS signalling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE initiates signalling for emergency services or high priority access.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 32 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedman as applied to claims 31 and 40 above, in view of "3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) protocol for 5G System (5GS); Stage 3; (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; DRAFT-24501-H50_V3_CLEAN, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES
LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, 3 January
2022 (2022-01-03), XP052096682 (provided by applicant, hereafter referred to as 3GPP).
Regarding claim 32, Hedman teaches the method of claim 31.
Hedman does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the remote UE report message includes a protocol data unit (PDU) session identification (ID).
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches Hedman teaches wherein the remote UE report message includes a protocol data unit (PDU) session identification (ID) (see at least section 8.3.19 and 8.3.19.1; Remote UE report).
It would have been obvious to modify the report taught by Hedman with the report taught by 3GPP in order to accurately troubleshoot communication issues.
Regarding claim 41, Hedman teaches the UE of claim 40.
Hedman does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the remote UE report message includes a protocol data unit (PDU) session identification (ID).
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches Hedman teaches wherein the remote UE report message includes a protocol data unit (PDU) session identification (ID) (see at least section 8.3.19 and 8.3.19.1; Remote UE report).
It would have been obvious to modify the report taught by Hedman with the report taught by 3GPP in order to accurately troubleshoot communication issues.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 33, 34, 42, 43, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. Claims 36-39, 45-48 are allowed.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465