DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to applicant’s Remarks filed on July 05, 2024.
Claims 19-26 and 29-30 were cancelled. Claims 1-18 and 27-28 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 and 12/10/202 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 4-7, 14-18, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu (US 20230397097 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yu, in view of Kim (US 20230179663 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 1:
Yu discloses a session release method, performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) device (method of session release, performed by AMF, element “local AMF” in Fig.5 or [0123]) comprising:
in response to receiving session release request message sent by a terminal, sending the session release request message to a Session Management Function (SMF) device (in response to receiving a PDU session release request from user equipment {UE}, e.g., terminal, sending PDU session release request to SMF, [S401a, S402a, or [0127-0128]);
sending an N2 resource release request message to a Radio Access Network (RAN) based on an AI session release response message returned by the SMF device (sending N2 resource release request to AN based on PDU session release context response [S408, S403c);
performing an Al session release update with the SMF device based on an N2 resource release response message returned by the RAN (performing PDU session context update [S406 and S407a]);
after receiving an Al session release status notification message sent by the SMF device, sending an Al session release result included in the Al session release status notification message to the terminal (after receiving PDU session context update response, sending PDU context release notification, [S410b, S411]);
in response to receiving an acknowledgement message for acknowledging that a release of an Al session is completed determining that the release of the Al session is completed (in response to receiving PDU release complete [S408, S412], wherein the acknowledgement message is sent based on the Al session release result by the terminal (wherein PDU session release complete is sent based on PDU session release reply [S412, S408]).
Yu does not disclose the session release request is an Artificial Intelligence {AI} session release request and the N2 resource release request message at least comprises a first resource release request message, and the first resource release request message is used to request the RAN to release resources for an AI session between the RAN and the terminal.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the session release request is sent by the terminal implemented with Artificial Intelligence {AI} technology (wireless devices/ terminals implemented with AI technology [0047]) and the N2 resource release request message at least comprises a first resource release request message (and N2 PDU Session Resource Release Command includes {first} N2 Resource Release Request [0169]), and the first resource release request message is used to request the RAN to release resources for an AI session between the RAN and the terminal (to release NG-RAN resources related to PDU Session [0170] and NG-RAN and UE may synchronize released radio resources for deactivated PDU Session [0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to perform Al session release and N2 resource release request among AI devices in a 5G system including UE, RAN, AMF, SMF, … via the exchange of requests/ responses; thus providing efficient communications by considering the deactivation/release of user plane connection of corresponding sessions – Kim [0006].
Regarding claim 4:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1.
Yu further discloses sending the Al session release request message to the SMF device comprises:
calling a session context update request service, corresponding to an Al function, on the SMF device, to send an Al session context release request message to the SMF device (sending a context update request to SMF [S407a in Fig.5 or [0136]), wherein the AI session context release request message comprises the AI session release request message has been sent by the terminal to the AMF device (S401a in Fig.5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to include the AI session context release request message comprising the AI session release request message that has been sent by the terminal to the AMF device; thus causing the session release requested by the terminal in SMF.
Regarding claim 5:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1.
Yuh further discloses the Al session release response message (transmitting N1 and N2 messages to AMF, [S403b in Fig.5] or sending PDU session release context response, [S403c in Fig.5) comprises at least two containers are used to carry the first resource release request message and a second resource release request message, respectively, comprising the second resource release request message is used to request the terminal to release resources for an Al session between the terminal and the RAN (comprising resource modification request to UE to release resource, [S405 and S408 in Fig.5) and the N2 resource release request message comprises the second resource release request message sent by the SMF device to the AMF device (comprising N2 resource release request, S404 in Fig.5).
Also, Yu further states that NG-RAN and UE may synchronize released radio resources for deactivated PDU Session [0171]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to transmit resource release requests for RAN and UE to release resources, according to responses including containers including such request sent from SMF; thus controlling the release of resources associated with the release of previously established sessions – Yu [0121].
Regarding claim 6:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 5.
Yu further teaches after performing the Al session release update with the SMF device based on the N2 resource release response message returned by the RAN (after performing context update with SMF based on N2 resource release response from AN [S406, A407a in Fig.5]), in response to receiving an N2 uplink Non-Access Stratum (NAS) transport message from the RAN (receiving N2 uplink bearer NAS, S409 in Fig.5), re-performing the Al session release update with the SMF device (performing PDU session context update with SMF, S410a) wherein the N2 uplink NAS transport message comprises an Al session resource release acknowledgement message sent by the terminal (N2 uplink bearer NAS following UE session reply [S409, S410, and S408]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to re-perform the Al session release update with the SMF device in response to receiving NAS transport message comprising resource release acknowledgement message sent by the terminal from RAN; thus efficiently controlling the processing of previously established sessions – Yu [0121].
Regarding claim 7:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1.
Yu further discloses performing the Al session release update with the SMF device based on the N2 resource release response message returned by the RAN (S407a and S406 in Fig.5) comprises:
sending an Al session context update request message to the SMF device (sending a context update request [S407a in Fig.5);
wherein the AI session context update request message comprises a container for carrying the N2 resource release response message (wherein context update request includes N2 and SM resource release reply [0137); and
receiving an AI session context update response message returned by the SMF device (receiving PDU session context update response from SMF, S407b in Fig.5), wherein the AI session context update response message is used to indicate that the SMF device has received an indication for performing a session update service (to indicate SMF to send update information [0032-0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed that SMF receives an indication for performing a session update service; thus allowing SMF to perform a session update service.
Regarding claim 27:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1.
Yu further discloses a session release device (network slicing device/UE/SMF, Fig.16 and [0229]) comprising: a processor (processor, element 510 in Fig.16); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (storage medium, element 520 in Fig.16); wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable instructions to perform the session release method [0229-0231].
Regarding claim 14:
Yu discloses receiving an N2 resource release request message sent by an Access and Mobility Management Function {AMF} device (receiving N2 resource release request [S404 in Fig.5]).
Yu does not disclose the N2 resource release request message at least comprises a first resource release request message, and the first resource release request message is used to request the RAN to release resources for an AI session between the RAN and the terminal.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the N2 resource release request message at least comprises a first resource release request message (and N2 PDU Session Resource Release Command includes {first} N2 Resource Release Request [0169]), and the first resource release request message is used to request the RAN to release resources for an AI session between the RAN and the terminal (to release NG-RAN resources related to PDU Session [0170] and NG-RAN and UE may synchronize released radio resources for deactivated PDU Session [0171]);
releasing the resources for the Al session between the RAN and the terminal based on the first resource release request message (releasing resources between RAN and terminal, step 7 inf Fig.6); and sending an N2 resource release response message to the AMF device after releasing the resources for the AI session between the RAN and the terminal (sending N2 PDU session resource release response to AMF, step 8 in Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to release resources for the Al session between the RAN and the terminal and sending an N2 resource release response message to the AMF device after releasing the resources for the AI session between the RAN and the terminal; thus improving communications by efficiently managing session resources – Kim [0009].
Regarding claim 15:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 14.
Yu further teaches N2 resource release request message (N2 resource release request, S404 in Fig.5) and sending an N2 uplink Non-Access Stratum (NAS) transport message to the AMF device (sending N2 NAS uplink bearer to AMF, S409 in Fig.5), wherein the N2 uplink NAS transport message comprises the Al session resource release acknowledgement message sent by the terminal to the RAN (following PDU session/ resource reply by UE, step S409 and S408 in Fig.5).
Yu does not further comprise a second resource release request message sent by a Session Management Function (SMF) device to the AMF device, the second resource release request message is used to request the terminal to release resources for an AI session between the terminal and the RAN; and sending the second resource release request message to the terminal; and in response to receiving an Al session resource release acknowledgement message returned based on the second resource release request message by the terminal.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a second resource release request message sent by a Session Management Function (SMF) device to the AMF device (comprising Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer, step 5 in Fig.6), the second resource release request message is used to request the terminal to release resources for an AI session between the terminal and the RAN (to request terminal to release resources between RAN and UE, steps 5-7 in Fig.6); and
sending the second resource release request message to the terminal (Steps 6-7 in Fig.6); and in response to receiving an Al session resource release acknowledgement message returned based on the second resource release request message by the terminal (and in response to receiving RAN-specific resource release from UE, step 7in Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to send to AMF device an N2 uplink Non-Access Stratum (NAS) transport message comprising the Al session resource release acknowledgement message sent by the terminal; thus causing AMF to forward information to SMF for context update.
Regarding claim 16:
Yu discloses a session release method, performed by a terminal (UE in Fig.5), comprising:
sending an Al session release request message to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) device (sending session release request to AMF [S401 in Fig.5];
after receiving a second resource release message sent by a Radio Access Network (RAN) (after receiving resource modification request sent by AN, S405 in Fig.5) and sending an acknowledgement message for acknowledging that a release of the Al session is completed to the AMF device (sending PDU session release reply to AN, then AMF sends PDU session context update response to AMF, and determining session release to be complete [S408, S410, and S412 in Fig.5]).
Yu does not further disclose releasing resources for an Al session between the terminal and the RAN, wherein the second resource release message is used to request the terminal to release the resource for the Al session between the terminal and the RAN; after releasing the resources for the Al session between the terminal and the RAN, sending an Al session resource release acknowledgement message to the RAN; in response to receiving an Al session release result from the AMF device.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, teaches releasing resources for an Al session between the terminal and the RAN (releasing RAN-specific resource release, step 7 in Fig.6) wherein the second resource release message is used to request the terminal to release the resource for the Al session between the terminal and the RAN (N2 PDU Session Resource Release command used to request UE to release RAN resources related to PDU sessions, steps 6-7 in Fig.6);
after releasing the resources for the Al session between the terminal and the RAN, sending an Al session resource release acknowledgement message to the RAN (sending RAN-specific resource release to RAN, step 7 in Fig.6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed that the terminal releases resources between the terminal and RAN, and acknowledges a release of the Al session is complete to AMF, in response to receiving an Al session release result from the AMF device; thus providing efficient communication by releasing resources associated with deactivated/ released PDU sessions – Kim [0006]
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 2, except that claim 17 is from the perspective of the terminal.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is rejected for substantially identical reasons as applied to claim 3, except that claim 18 is from the perspective of the terminal.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Youn (US 20200092932 A1), hereinafter referred to as Youn
Regarding claim 2:
Yu in view of Kim discloses all features of claim 1.
Yu in view of Kim does not further disclose the Al session release request message comprises an Al session identifier of an Al session to be released or an AI session group identifier of an AI session group to be releases, but Kim shows that PDU session may be for a specific group of UEs [Kim -0201].
Youn, from the same field of endeavor, further teaches the Al session release request message comprises an Al session identifier of an Al session to be released (PDU modification command message including an ID of a PDU session to be deactivated [0237]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to include Al session identifier of an Al session to be released or an Al session group identifier of an Al session group to be released in a session release request message; thus facilitating quick release of a proper session.
Regarding claim 3:
Yu in view of Kim and Youn discloses all features of claim 2.
Yu teaches UE sends a session establishment request including PDU session identification information [0009] and may release the previously established PDU session [0121].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to include information associated with AI session to be released in a session release request message; thus facilitating quick release of a proper session.
Thus, Yu does further teach the Al session release request message further comprises Al session association information of an Al session to be released.
Claims 8, 11 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20230300943 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wang.
Regarding claim 8:
Yu discloses a session release method performed by a Session Management Function {SMF} device (local SMF in Fig.5).
Yu does not disclose the session release request is an Artificial Intelligence {AI} session release request.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the session release request is sent by the terminal implemented with Artificial Intelligence {AI} technology (wireless devices/ terminals implemented with AI technology [0047]).
It is known in the art that AI technology is applied to wireless devices to increase the performance of wireless devices [0049].
Yu does not further disclose sending a release notification message to a Unified Data Management (UDM) device after sending an Al session release status notification message to the AMF device; wherein the Al session release status notification message comprises an Al session release result, and the release notification message is used to trigger the UDM device to release data related to an Al session.
Yu in view of Kim does not further disclose sending a release notification message to a Unified Data Management (UDM) device after sending an Al session release status notification message to the AMF device, wherein the Al session release status notification message comprises an Al session release result, and the release notification message is used to trigger the UDM device to release data related to an Al session.
Wang, from the same field of endeavor, teaches sending a release notification message to a Unified Data Management (UDM) device after sending an Al session release status notification message to the AMF device (sending session management subscription data changes notification with UDM [0166]), wherein the Al session release status notification message comprises an Al session release result (comprising PDU session ID [0166]), and the release notification message is used to trigger the UDM device to release data related to an Al session (for UDM to remove association between SMF identity and associated PDU session ID [0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to trigger the UDM device to release data related to AI session; thus ensuring data are freed up across the core network.
Regarding claim 11:
Yu in view of Kim and Wang discloses all features of claim 8.
Yu further discloses performing the Al session release update with AMF (transmitting PDU session release context response with AMF, [S403c in Fig.5] comprises at least two containers are used to carry a first resource release request message (comprising resource modification request [S405 in Fig.5). In addition, Kim teaches comprising a second resource release request message (Namf Communication N1N2MessageTransfer, step 5 in Fig.6) and the second resource release request message is used to request the terminal to release resources for an AI session between the terminal and the RAN (followed by N2PDUResourceRelease command to request the terminal to release resources, step 7 in Fig.6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed that SMF transmits a session release response that comprises containers used to carry resource requests for RAN and UE to release resources between themselves; thus efficiently managing resources for PDU sessions – Kim [0009].
Regarding claim 28:
Yu in view of Kim and Wang discloses all features of claim 8.
Yu further discloses a session release device (local MF in Fig.5) comprising: a processor (processor, element 510 in Fig.16); and a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (storage medium, element 520 in Fig.16); wherein the processor is configured to execute the executable instructions to perform the session release method [0229-0231].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim and Wang, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Youn.
Regarding claim 9:
Yu in view of Kim and Wang discloses all features of claim 8.
Yu does not, while Kim shows that PDU session may be for a specific group of UEs [Kim -0201].
Yu in view of Kim and Wang does not further disclose the Al session release request message comprises an Al session identifier of an Al session to be released or an AI session group identifier of an AI session group to be releases.
Youn, from the same field of endeavor, further teaches the Al session release request message comprises an Al session identifier of an Al session to be released (PDU modification command message including an ID of a PDU session to be deactivated [0237]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to include Al session identifier of an Al session to be released or an Al session group identifier of an Al session group to be released in a session release request message; thus facilitating quick release of a proper session.
Regarding claim 10:
Yu in view of Kim, Wang, and Youn discloses all features of claim 2.
Yu teaches UE sends a session establishment request including PDU session identification information [0009] and may release the previously established PDU session [0121].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to include information associated with AI session to be released in a session release request message; thus facilitating quick release of a proper session.
Thus, Yu does further teach the Al session release request message further comprises Al session association information of an Al session to be released.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Kim and Wang, as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20230300943 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 12:
Yu in view of Kim and Wang discloses all features of claim 8.
Yu further teaches performing the Al session release update with AMF (performing context update with AMF based on AN sending N2 resource release response, S407b and S406]) comprises:
receiving an Al session context update request message sent by AMF device (receiving context update request from AMF, S407a in Fig.5).
Yu in view of Kim and Wang does not further disclose the AI session context update request message comprises a container for carrying the N2 resource release response message; and receiving an AI session context update response message returned by the SMF device, wherein the AI session context update response message is used to indicate that the SMF device has received an indication for performing a session update service.
Zhang, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the AI session context update request message comprises a container for carrying the N2 resource release response message (receiving resource release response [0200]); and sending an AI session context update response message returned by the SMF device (sending session context update response, [step S309 in Fig.4B]), wherein the AI session context update response message is used to indicate that the SMF device has received an indication for performing a session update service (SMF receives session modification response [step S309 in Fig.4B]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to perform the Al session release update with AMF device based on the N2 resource release response message carried in a container and returned by the RAN; thus obtaining an efficient session processing – Zhang [0005].
Regarding claim 13:
Yu in view of Kim and Wang discloses all features of claim 8.
Yu in view of Kim and Wang does not further disclose the AI session release update is performed with the AMF device at least two times.
Zhang, from the same field endeavor, further teaches the AI session release update is performed with the AMF device at least two times (session management network element, e.g., SMF, may alternatively send response messages for a plurality of times [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to send the AI session release update at least two times; thus improving the efficiency of deactivating/ releasing user plane connections/ sessions – Zhang [0024].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suh (US-20230098261-A1 [0074-0075 and 0095]),
C ( [ ]),
C ( [ ]),
C ( [ ]), and
C ( [ ]) are all cited to show that a terminal performs a session release by sending an Artificial Intelligence (AI) session release request message to Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) device, which has interactions with Session Management Function (SMF) device and Radio Access Network (RAN), and completes the session and releases resources by means of the exchange of requests/ responses among those entities -- would provide efficient communications by considering the deactivation/release of user plane connection of corresponding sessions – similar to the claimed invention.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza, can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/C.Q.T/
Examiner - Art Unit 2465
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Patent Examiner, AU 2465B
13 July 2026