DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tekneyan et al. (DE102013109829).
With regards to claim 1, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole 7 with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Regarding the limitation of the opening in the stator having a profile expressed with a single formula as recited in the claim, Applicant should note that the recited single formula is the universally known formula of an ellipse and since the profile of the stator insertion hole of the stator of Tekneyan et al. is an ellipse, it goes without saying that it will be expressed with a single formula as recited in the claim.
With regards to claim 15, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002]), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Regarding the limitation of the opening in the stator having a profile expressed with a single formula as recited in the claim, Applicant should note because the profile of the stator of Tekneyan et al. has an insertion hole that satisfies the condition where in interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas, the profile of the opening in the stator will also be expressed with a single formula as claimed.
With regards to claim 16, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Regarding the limitation of the opening in the stator having a profile expressed with a single formula as recited in the claim, Applicant should note because the profile of the stator of Tekneyan et al. has an insertion hole that satisfies the condition where in interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas, the profile of the opening in the stator will also be expressed with a single formula as claimed.
With regards to claim 17, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Regarding the limitation of the opening in the stator having a profile expressed with a single formula as recited in the claim, Applicant should note because the profile of the stator of Tekneyan et al. has an insertion hole that satisfies the condition where in interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and an inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas, the profile of the opening in the stator will also be expressed with a single formula as claimed.
With regards to claim 20, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), the opening in the stator has a profile including a pair of straight lines in the middle area and a pair of elliptical arcs in the two end areas respectively (Figs. 1A-1C or Fig. 3B) and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekneyan et al in view of Seeberger et al. (US patent 3,499,389).
Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial screw pump as shown above except for the stator consisting of a stator body formed from an elastic material. However, it is known to form stators of uniaxial screw pumps consisting of stator bodies formed from an elastic material as attested by Seeberger et al., see column 2, lines 35-37 and figures 1-4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the stator of Tekneyan et al. such that it consisted of a stator body formed from an elastic material, in light of the teachings of Seeberger et al., as is known in the art.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekneyan et al. in view of Furukawa (JP2016079971).
With regards to claim 18, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Tekneyan et al. does not disclose that the opening in the stator has a profile including a pair of circular arcs each having a first curvature radius, in the middle area, and a second circular arc having a second curvature radius in each of the two end areas. However, Furukawa teaches a uniaxial screw pump with an opening in the stator having such a profile, see figure 9(b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the profile of the insertion hole of the stator of Tekneyan et al. such that the opening in the stator has a profile including a pair of circular arcs each having a first curvature radius, in the middle area, and a second circular arc having a second curvature radius in each of the two end areas, in light of the teachings of Furukawa, as an obvious matter of design choice as long as the requirement that an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas.
Claim(s) 19, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tekneyan et al.
With regards to claims 19, 21 and 22, Tekneyan et al. discloses a uniaxial eccentric pump comprising a stator (9, 4) having an insertion hole with an inner peripheral surface being internally threaded (since the pump is a screw pump, see paragraph [0002] of the machine English translation), and a rotor 5 including a shaft being externally threaded and placed through the insertion hole in the stator (conventional in the art), wherein the insertion hole is, in a cross section, an opening including a middle area and two end areas (Figs. 1A-1C), and an interference amount between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas (since less torque is needed when the rotor is in the middle area than in the two end areas, see paragraph [0045] of the translation). Tekneyan et al. does not disclose that the opening in the stator has a profile as recited in the respective claims. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that having the opening in the stator of Tekneyan et al. with a profile as recited in the claims is an obvious matter of design choice wherein no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having the profile of the insertion hole of the stator of Tekneyan et al. with the recited profiles versus the profile disclosed by Tekneyan et al., as long as the requirement that an interference amount (gap amount) between an outer peripheral surface of the rotor and the inner peripheral surface of the insertion hole in the stator is smaller in the middle area than in the two end areas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 15-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ESSAMA OMGBA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746