DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claims 35, 38, 39, 40, 45, 48, 49, 71 and 73 are objected to because of this informality:
The name or meaning of the acronym eDRX is not explicitly spelled out.
Also, the name or meaning of the acronym PTW as recited in claims 39, 40 and 49 is not explicitly spelled out.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are therefore, required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 51, 53-55 and 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0043459) in view of Edge (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0079636).
Note: Examiner is considering Shrestha (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0043459) as prior art especially since the applicant’s provisional application 63/168,265 filed on 03/31/2021 does not provided support for the limitation(s) as recited in the respective claims. Similarly, Edge (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0079636) is considered as prior art for the same reason(s) as mentioned above.
As per claim 1:
Shrestha teaches a wireless communication method performed by a user equipment (UE) (see abstract: teaches a method performed by a UE), comprising:
performing a power saving mechanism when the UE is in a discontinuous coverage scenario that comprises alternating occurrences of an in-coverage and an out-of-coverage (see paragraphs [0065], [0066], steps 806, 808, in response to detecting out-of-coverage state, UE 104 may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO. Paragraph [0067], step 810 disclose UE 104 may exit power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Therefore, steps 806-808 as recited in paragraphs [0065]-[0067] are alternating occurrences of ab in-coverage and out-of-coverage), wherein in the power saving mechanism, the UE is in a dormant state or in a power saving mode (PSM) during the out-of-coverage of the discontinuous coverage scenario (as explained earlier in paragraphs [0065]-[0066], steps 806, 808, when the UE 104 detects out-of-coverage state, it may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO) and is configured to wake up to monitor a paging during the in-coverage of the discontinuous scenario (see paragraph [0067], the UE 104 may exit the power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Paragraph [0049] also disclose the UE may wake up to monitor a certain number of paging occasions (or establish a connection) during an in-coverage state (e.g., at the start of an in-coverage period)).
Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite;
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on an information from a satellite.
Edge teaches wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite (see paragraph [0118], the UE 105 may leave the inactive state in order to resume access to a serving PLMN. The inactive state may start at a first time 1132 and end at a second time 1142 later than the first time 1132. The power saving mode, discontinuous reception, the satellite coverage gap (construed as said out-of-coverage), or the power off state may start at the first time 1132 and end at the second time 1142. Paragraph [0119] disclose, during the second time, the UE 105 may select/find a satellite cell from a plurality of satellite cells identified in the acquisition information);
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on an information from a satellite (see paragraph [0091], the UE 105 may receive the acquisition information 730 via a satellite 102/202/302 at some previous time (e.g., before the UE 105 enters and later leaves an inactive state and before the satellite 710 becomes visible to the UE 105. Note: Said acquisition information includes said start and stop times of the respective satellites, please see paragraph [0113] for example).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
As per claim 5:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1.
Shrestha does not teach wherein if the serving cell is a quasi-earth fixed cell, the
information from the satellite comprises a service stop time of a serving satellite, a leaving indication, a service start time of a next satellite, a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the serving satellite, and/or a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the next satellite.
Edge teaches wherein if the serving cell is a quasi-earth fixed cell (see paragraph [0094] disclose preference of satellite cells may depend on the type of satellite, e.g., whether the satellite cell is temporarily fixed), the information from the satellite comprises a service stop time of a serving satellite, a leaving indication, a service start time of a next satellite (see paragraph [0111], the acquisition information and cell availability at the known UE location for a series of periodic times at fixed intervals. For example, fix intervals may be one minute intervals in some known zone. For a cell supported by a GEO SV, all of the information for a cell may remain the same over time), a physical cell identity (see Figure 10, PCI for each of the acquisition information), a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the serving satellite, and/or a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the next satellite (see paragraph [0108], information for satellite cells and/or SVs. Figure 10 also shows PCI, duration, TX offset and ARFCN).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
As per claim 6:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1.
Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein if the serving cell is a moving cell, the information from the satellite comprises a reference location of the serving cell, an elevation angle, a maximum distance, a cell footprint size, a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the serving satellite, and/or a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the next satellite.
Edge teaches wherein if the serving cell is a moving cell (paragraph [0082] disclose each satellite cell may remain with the same SV and may have a moving coverage area), the information from the satellite comprises a reference location of the serving cell (see paragraph [0100], different location(s) of the cell), an elevation angle, a maximum distance, a cell footprint size, a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the serving satellite (see paragraph [0100], angle of elevation and angle of azimuth. Range 816 denoting distance), and/or a physical cell identity, a satellite identity, or a satellite ephemeris of the next satellite (see paragraph [0103], PCI corresponding to each cell of the SV).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
As per claim 7:
Shrestha in view of Edge the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1.
Shrestha does not teach wherein the information from the satellite is transmitted by a base station to the UE through a broadcast message or a unicast message.
Edge teaches wherein the information from the satellite is transmitted by a base station to the UE through a broadcast message or a unicast message (see paragraph [0116], the acquisition information may be transmitted by the base station to the UE by means of broadcast signal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
As per claim 51:
Shrestha teaches a wireless communication method performed by a base station (see paragraph [0005], teaches a method of wireless communication by a network entity), comprising:
transmitting an information for a user equipment in a discontinuous coverage scenario (see paragraph [0087], the UE may receive an indication from the network to extend or override configuration of the power saving state in response to the determination that the UE is or will be in the out-of-coverage state) that comprises alternating occurrences of an in-coverage and an out-of-coverage (see paragraphs [0065], [0066], steps 806, 808, in response to detecting out-of-coverage state, UE 104 may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO. Paragraph [0067], step 810 disclose UE 104 may exit power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Therefore, steps 806-808 as recited in paragraphs [0065]-[0067] are alternating occurrences of ab in-coverage and out-of-coverage) such that the UE can be in a dormant state or in a power saving mode (PSM) during the out-of-coverage of the discontinuous scenario (as explained earlier in paragraphs [0065]-[0066], steps 806, 808, when the UE 104 detects out-of-coverage state, it may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO) and wakes up to monitor a paging during the in-coverage of the discontinuous scenario (see paragraph [0067], the UE 104 may exit the power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Paragraph [0049] also disclose the UE may wake up to monitor a certain number of paging occasions (or establish a connection) during an in-coverage state (e.g., at the start of an in-coverage period)).
Shrestha does not clearly teach wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite;
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on the information from the base station.
Edge teaches wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite (see paragraph [0118], the UE 105 may leave the inactive state in order to resume access to a serving PLMN. The inactive state may start at a first time 1132 and end at a second time 1142 later than the first time 1132. The power saving mode, discontinuous reception, the satellite coverage gap (construed as said out-of-coverage), or the power off state may start at the first time 1132 and end at the second time 1142. Paragraph [0119] disclose, during the second time, the UE 105 may select/find a satellite cell from a plurality of satellite cells identified in the acquisition information);
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on the information from the base station (see paragraph [0091], the UE 105 may receive the acquisition information 730 via a satellite 102/202/302 at some previous time (e.g., before the UE 105 enters and later leaves an inactive state and before the satellite 710 becomes visible to the UE 105).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
Claim 53 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Claim 54 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Claim 55 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
As per claim 85:
Shrestha teaches a user equipment (UE) (see Figure 2, UE 104), comprising:
a memory (see Figure 2, memory 282);
a transceiver (see Figure 2, paragraph [0112], transceivers 254);
and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver (see Figure 2, controller/processor 280 coupled to memory 282 and transceivers 254);
wherein the processor is configured to perform a power saving mechanism when the UE is in a discontinuous coverage scenario that comprises alternating occurrences of an in-coverage and an out-of-coverage (see paragraphs [0065], [0066], steps 806, 808, in response to detecting out-of-coverage state, UE 104 may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO. Paragraph [0067], step 810 disclose UE 104 may exit power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Therefore, steps 806-808 as recited in paragraphs [0065]-[0067] are alternating occurrences of ab in-coverage and out-of-coverage), wherein in the power saving mechanism, the UE is in a dormant state or in a power saving mode (PSM) during the out-of-coverage of the discontinuous coverage scenario (as explained earlier in paragraphs [0065]-[0066], steps 806, 808, when the UE 104 detects out-of-coverage state, it may enter into a power saving state by initiating DRX sleep cycle, PSM or MICO), and the processor is configured to wake up to monitor a paging during the in-coverage of the discontinuous scenario (see paragraph [0067], the UE 104 may exit the power saving state when it expects to be in an in-coverage state with the NTN 140. Paragraph [0049] also disclose the UE may wake up to monitor a certain number of paging occasions (or establish a connection) during an in-coverage state (e.g., at the start of an in-coverage period)).
Shrestha does not teach wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite;
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on an information from a satellite.
Edge teaches wherein an out-of-coverage interval is configured based on a service stop time of a serving satellite and/or a service start time of a next satellite (see paragraph [0118], the UE 105 may leave the inactive state in order to resume access to a serving PLMN. The inactive state may start at a first time 1132 and end at a second time 1142 later than the first time 1132. The power saving mode, discontinuous reception, the satellite coverage gap (construed as said out-of-coverage), or the power off state may start at the first time 1132 and end at the second time 1142. Paragraph [0119] disclose, during the second time, the UE 105 may select/find a satellite cell from a plurality of satellite cells identified in the acquisition information);
and wherein the service stop time of the serving satellite and the service start time of the next satellite is determined based on an information from a satellite (see paragraph [0091], the UE 105 may receive the acquisition information 730 via a satellite 102/202/302 at some previous time (e.g., before the UE 105 enters and later leaves an inactive state and before the satellite 710 becomes visible to the UE 105. Note: Said acquisition information includes said start and stop times of the respective satellites, please see paragraph [0113] for example).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the exiting of the inactive state comprising a start time and an end time based on acquisition information (as disclosed in Edge) into Shrestha as a way of giving the UE an opportunity to find a second satellite cell from a plurality of available satellites (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge). Thus, using the acquisition information enables the UE to select a satellite that is acceptable or better than corresponding characteristics of other satellite cells (please see paragraph [0119] of Edge).
4. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Kuntz (US PG Pub. No. 2020/0081131).
As per claim 4:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1, wherein the UE reducing the measurement latency of the serving cell comprises the UE reducing or early stopping a first timer based on information from a satellite to reduce a recovery time for the serving cell.
Kuntz teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1, wherein the UE reducing the measurement latency of the serving cell comprises the UE reducing or early stopping a first timer based on information from a satellite to reduce a recovery time for the serving cell (see paragraph [0056], the delay in measurement collection time is reduced, especially when gathering data from the satellite in a start and stop duration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the collection of measurement in a reduced delay (as disclosed in Kuntz) into both Shrestha and Edge as a way of enhancing the capacity of data processing via higher clock speeds (please see paragraph [0057] of Kuntz).
5. Claims 35, 38, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Huang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0060373).
As per claim 35:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein a procedure of one or more initial configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM through an initial attach comprises at least one of the following steps:
the UE transmitting an attach request message comprising the out-of-coverage interval to a mobility management entity (MME) when the UE determines that there is enough time to complete the eDRX and/or PSM configuration;
the UE receiving an attach accept message from the serving satellite;
the UE activates an operation of the eDRX and/or the PSM.
Huang teaches wherein a procedure of one or more initial configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM through an initial attach (see paragraph [0022], UE may transmit an attach request including request for eDRX and/or PSM configuration(s) to the MME) comprises at least one of the following steps:
the UE transmitting an attach request message comprising the out-of-coverage interval to a mobility management entity (MME) when the UE determines that there is enough time to complete the eDRX and/or PSM configuration (see paragraphs [0020]-[0023], based on the reachability status and last disconnect data and/or time, the UE may transmit an attachment request message to the MME indicating the request for eDRX parameter and/or PSM configuration(s));
the UE receiving an attach accept message from the serving satellite (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the UE activates an operation of the eDRX and/or the PSM (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of attachment request by the UE to the MME (as disclosed in Huang) into both Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to determine a scheduled eDRX parameters (e.g., PTW, eDRX cycle length, and/or the like) (please see paragraph [0023] of Huang).
As per claim 38:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Huang teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 35.
The combination of Shrestha and Edge do not clearly teach wherein the attach request message comprises the parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM, parameters of multiple eDRX configurations and/or PSM configurations, the service stop time of the serving satellite, the service start time of the next satellite, a UE location information, a cell identity, a satellite identity, and/or a satellite ephemeris.
Huang teaches wherein the attach request message comprises the parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM, parameters of multiple eDRX configurations and/or PSM configurations (see paragraphs [0020]-[0023], eDRX configurations and PSM parameters), the service stop time of the serving satellite, the service start time of the next satellite (see paragraphs [0020]-[0023], PSM parameters comprising first and second timer values), a UE location information (see paragraphs [0020]-[0023], UE reachability information), a cell identity, a satellite identity, and/or a satellite ephemeris (see paragraph [0021], identifiers of RAN such as base station identifier, cell identifier and/or the like).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the transmission of attachment request by the UE to the MME (as disclosed in Huang) into both Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to determine a scheduled eDRX parameters (e.g., PTW, eDRX cycle length, and/or the like) (please see paragraph [0023] of Huang).
Claim 71 is rejected in the same scope as claim 35.
6. Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Huang and Jantzi (US PG Pub. No. 2019/0349858).
As per claim 39:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Huang teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 38 with the exception of:
wherein the parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises a PTW and a TeDRX,H timer for the eDRX and T3324 and T3412 timers for the PSM.
Jantzi teaches wherein the parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises a PTW and a TeDRX,H timer for the eDRX and T3324 and T3412 timers for the PSM (see paragraphs [0125]-[0131], the eDRX and PSM modes according to an applicable coverage class comprise T3412 timer and T3324 timer which specifies the duration when an electronic device is to be in a DRX mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of timers T3324 and T3412 for eDRX and PSM modes (as disclosed in Jantzi) into Shrestha, Edge and Huang as a way of indicating the length of time the electronic device is to operate in either the eDRX or PSM modes (please see paragraphs [0057] and [0058] of Jantzi).
As per claim 40:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Huang and Jantzi teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 39.
The combination of Shrestha, Edge and Huang do not clearly teach wherein a length of the PTW and/or a length of the T3324 timer is configured as the in-coverage interval of the serving satellite, and/or a length of the TcDRX.H timer and/or a length of the T3412 timer is configured as the in-coverage interval plus the out-of-coverage interval.
Jantzi teaches wherein a length of the PTW and/or a length of the T3324 timer is configured as the in-coverage interval of the serving satellite, and/or a length of the TcDRX.H timer and/or a length of the T3412 timer is configured as the in-coverage interval plus the out-of-coverage interval (see paragraphs[0057]-[0058], [0119], [0125]-[0131], the lengths of T3412 timer and T3324 timer are configured based on the coverage class of the applicable operation mode, i.e., eDRX or PSM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the application of timers T3324 and T3412 for eDRX and PSM modes (as disclosed in Jantzi) into Shrestha, Edge and Huang as a way of indicating the length of time the electronic device is to operate in either the eDRX or PSM modes (please see paragraphs [0057] and [0058] of Jantzi).
7. Claims 45, 48, 49, 50 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Fujishiro (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0176883).
As per claim 45:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein a procedure of the one or more updating configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises at least one of the following steps:
the UE transmitting a tracking area update request message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval to a mobility management entity (MME) when the UE determines that there is enough time to update the eDRX and/or PSM configuration;
the UE receiving a tracking area update accept message from the serving satellite;
the UE activates the operation of the eDRX and/or the PSM using updating configurations of the eDRX and/or PSM.
Fujishiro teaches wherein a procedure of the one or more updating configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM (see paragraph [0133], disclose notifying the UE of the configured eDRX parameters) comprises at least one of the following steps:
the UE transmitting a tracking area update request message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval to a mobility management entity (MME) when the UE determines that there is enough time to update the eDRX and/or PSM configuration (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) or record);
the UE receiving a tracking area update accept message from the serving satellite (Note: limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) or record);
the UE activates the operation of the eDRX and/or the PSM using updating configurations of the eDRX and/or PSM (see paragraph [0145], the MME configures the eDRX and relays to the UE via the eNB. The UE upon receipt starts the eDRX if the connection between the UE and eNB is released, please see paragraph [0146]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the configured eDRX (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to transition to idle mode as soon as possible (please see paragraph [0147] of Fujishiro).
As per claim 48:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Fujishiro teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 45.
Shrestha and Edge do not clearly teach wherein the tracking area update request message comprises updated parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM, parameters of multiple eDRX configurations and/or PSM configurations, the service stop time of the serving satellite, the service start time of the next satellite, a UE location information, a cell identity, a satellite identity, and/or a satellite ephemeris.
Fujishiro teaches wherein the tracking area update request message comprises updated parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM, parameters of multiple eDRX configurations and/or PSM configurations (see paragraph [0210], the UE may notify MME of the eDRX application cancellation via the TAU message), the service stop time of the serving satellite, the service start time of the next satellite, a UE location information, a cell identity, a satellite identity, and/or a satellite ephemeris (see paragraph [0265], the MME negotiates on the appropriate active timers for applying the PSM, including the stand and end run time for entering and leaving sleep for the RRC connection).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the configured eDRX (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to transition to idle mode as soon as possible (please see paragraph [0147] of Fujishiro).
As per claim 49:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Fujishiro teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 48.
The combination of Shrestha and Edge do not clearly teach wherein the updated parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises a PTW and a TeDRX,H timer for the eDRX and T3324 and T3412 timers for the PSM.
Fujishiro teaches wherein the updated parameters of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises a PTW and a TeDRX,H timer for the eDRX and T3324 and T3412 timers for the PSM (see paragraphs [0139], [0172] and [0265], the updated parameters for the eDRX also comprise PTW and active timers T3324 and T3412 for the PSM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the configured eDRX (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to transition to idle mode as soon as possible (please see paragraph [0147] of Fujishiro).
As per claim 50:
Shrestha in view of Edge and further in view of Fujishiro teaches the wireless communication method performed by the UE according to claim 45.
The combination of Shrestha and Edge do not clearly teach wherein the tracking area update request message is used for the MME to determine values of the T3324 and T3412 timers.
Edge teaches wherein the tracking area update request message is used for the MME to determine values of the T3324 and T3412 timers (see paragraph [0265], based on the TAU procedure, the T3324 and T3412 values may be determined based on negotiation between UE and MME).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the configured eDRX (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to transition to idle mode as soon as possible (please see paragraph [0147] of Fujishiro).
As per claim 73:
Shrestha in view of Edge teaches the wireless communication method performed by the base station according to claim 51 with the exception of:
wherein a procedure of the one or more updating configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM comprises at least one of the following steps:
the base station receiving a tracking area update request message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval from the UE through the serving satellite;
the base station forwarding the tracking area update request message to the MME;
the base station receiving a tracking area update accept message from the MME;
the base station forwarding the tracking area update accept message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval to the UE through the serving satellite;
the base station transmits a UE context release request message to the MME to initiate to release a radio bearer for the UE;
the base station receiving a UE context release command message to release the UE from the MME; and the base station transmitting an RRCConnectionRelease message to the UE through the serving satellite to release the UE.
Fujishiro teaches wherein a procedure of the one or more updating configurations of the eDRX and/or the PSM (see paragraph [0133], disclose notifying the UE of the configured eDRX parameters) comprises at least one of the following steps:
the base station receiving a tracking area update request message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval from the UE through the serving satellite (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the base station forwarding the tracking area update request message to the MME (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the base station receiving a tracking area update accept message from the MME (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the base station forwarding the tracking area update accept message comprising the updated out-of-coverage interval to the UE through the serving satellite (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the base station transmits a UE context release request message to the MME to initiate to release a radio bearer for the UE (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record);
the base station receiving a UE context release command message to release the UE from the MME (see paragraph [0157], eNB may receive UE context release request from MME);
and the base station transmitting an RRCConnectionRelease message to the UE through the serving satellite to release the UE (Note: Limitation(s) is/recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art(s) of record).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to implement the configured eDRX (as disclosed in Fujishiro) into Shrestha and Edge as a way of enabling the UE to transition to idle mode as soon as possible (please see paragraph [0147] of Fujishiro).
Conclusion
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474