DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 113471122 A) [see Ma et al. (US 20240420977 A1) for paragraph and figure references] in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20140210224 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches:
A substrate-holding hand (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of blades (400) for supporting substrates [0022] and stacked with the plurality of blades being spaced away from each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2);
a linkage (300 & 310 & 320 & 330) for supporting the plurality of blades to change a pitch between the blades [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038]; and
a driver (200 & 210 & 220 & 500 & 510 & 520) for driving the linkage for changing the pitch between the blades [0020 & 0023 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
a force applier arranged for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades.
Hashimoto teaches:
A substrate-holding hand (10) comprising:
a plurality of blades (30) for supporting substrates (9) and stacked with the plurality of blades being spaced away from each other (Fig. 2 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B);
a linkage (50) for supporting the plurality of blades to change a pitch between the blades [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128]; and
a force applier (40 & 45) arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 2, Ma does not teach:
the force applier includes a biaser for biasing the linkage in the direction that increases the pitch between the blades.
Hashimoto teaches:
the force applier includes a biaser for biasing the linkage in the direction that increases the pitch between the blades [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, where the force applier includes a biaser for biasing the linkage in the direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 3, Ma teaches:
the driver for driving the linkage [0020 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044], wherein
the driver changes the pitch between the blades [0020 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier.
Hashimoto teaches:
the driver (102 & 121 & 123) [0139] for driving the linkage [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 137 & 138 & 139], wherein
the driver changes the pitch between the blades with the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 137 & 138 & 139].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, where the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 4, Ma does not teach:
balance is achieved between the force that is applied by the force applier and the own weights of the plurality of blades without a driving force of the driver [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128].
Hashimoto teaches:
balance is achieved between the force that is applied by the force applier and the own weights of the plurality of blades without a driving force of the driver [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, where balance is achieved between the force that is applied by the force applier and the own weights of the plurality of blades without a driving force of the driver taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 5, Ma teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link (1000) connected to the driver (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 5) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0040 & 0041 & 0051 & 0052],
a plurality of second links (1001) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 5) [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0040 & 0041 & 0048 & 0049 & 0051 & 0052], and
a third link (1002) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5).
Ma does not teach:
the force applier is connected to the first link and the third link.
Hashimoto teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link connected to the driver (Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B) [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128],
a plurality of second links connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), and
a third link connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B); and
the force applier is connected to the first link and the third link (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, where the force applier is connected to the first link and the third link taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 6, Ma teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link (1000) connected to the driver (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2),
a plurality of second links (1001) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5), and
a third link (1002) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
the substrate-holding hand further comprises a support (100) fixed to the substrate-holding hand (Fig. 4) [0050].
Ma does not teach:
the force applier includes
a first force applier connected to the first link and the support, and
a second force applier connected to the third link and the support.
Hashimoto teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link connected to the driver (Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B) [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128],
a plurality of second links connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3), and
a third link connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B);
the substrate-holding hand further comprises a support (30a) fixed to the substrate-holding hand [0091]; and
the force applier includes
a first force applier connected to the first link and the support Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B, and
a second force applier connected to the third link and the support Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, where the force applier includes a first force applier connected to the first link and the support, and a second force applier connected to the third link and the support taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 7, Ma teaches:
the driver (200 & 210 & 220 & 500 & 510 & 520) applies a pulling force that rotates the first link in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) [0020 & 0023 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
the force applier includes a pulling coil spring for applying a pulling force that rotates the first link in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades.
Hashimoto teaches:
the force applier includes a pulling coil spring for applying a pulling force that rotates the first link in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades [0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, the force applier is connected to the first link and the third link, where the force applier includes a pulling coil spring for applying a pulling force that rotates the first link in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 11, Ma teaches:
A substrate-holding hand (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of blades (400) for supporting substrates [0022] and stacked with the plurality of blades being spaced away from each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2);
a linkage (300 & 310 & 320 & 330) for supporting the plurality of blades to change a pitch between the blades [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038]; and
a driver (200 & 210 & 220 & 500 & 510 & 520) for driving the linkage for changing the pitch between the blades [0020 & 0023 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
A substrate-conveying robot comprising:
a robot arm; and
a substrate-holding hand arranged in a distal end part of the robot arm.
Hashimoto teaches:
A substrate-conveying robot (2) comprising:
a robot arm (20 & 21); and
a substrate-holding hand (10) arranged in a distal end part of the robot arm (Fig. 1), wherein
the substrate-holding hand includes
a plurality of blades (30) for supporting substrates (9) and stacked with the plurality of blades being spaced away from each other (Fig. 2 & Fig. 10A & Fig. 10B & Fig. 21A & Fig. 21B);
a linkage (50) for supporting the plurality of blades to change a pitch between the blades [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128]; and
a force applier (40 & 45) arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades [0091 & 0092 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate conveying robot comprising a robot arm, a substrate-holding hand arranged in a distal end part of the robot arm, substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Hashimoto in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (CN 113471122 A) [see Ma et al. (US 20240420977 A1) for paragraph and figure references] in view of Moriya et al. (US 20050135905 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ma teaches:
A substrate-holding hand (Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of blades (400) for supporting substrates [0022] and stacked with the plurality of blades being spaced away from each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2);
a linkage (300 & 310 & 320 & 330) for supporting the plurality of blades to change a pitch between the blades [0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038]; and
a driver (200 & 210 & 220 & 500 & 510 & 520) for driving the linkage for changing the pitch between the blades [0020 & 0023 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
a force applier arranged for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades.
Moriya teaches:
A plurality of substrate-holding hands (13) comprising:
a blade (7) for supporting substrates (1) the substrate-holding hands being spaced away from each other (Fig. 6 & Fig. 7);
a linkage (8 & 9 & 10 & 11 & 12) for supporting the plurality of hands to change a height of the hands [0031 & 0032]; and
a force applier (11 & 12) arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades [0032 & 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Moriya in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 3, Ma teaches:
the driver for driving the linkage [0020 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044], wherein
the driver changes the pitch between the blades [0020 & 0029 & 0030 & 0031 & 0032 & 0033 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0037 & 0038 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier.
Moriya teaches:
the driver (8) for driving the linkage [0031 & 0032], wherein
the driver changes the pitch between the blades with the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier [0031 & 0032 & 0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, where the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier taught by Moriya in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 8, Ma teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link (1000) connected to the driver (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2),
a plurality of second links (1001) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5), and
a third link (1002) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
the substrate-holding hand further comprises a support (100) fixed to the substrate-holding hand (Fig. 4) [0050].
Ma does not teach:
the force applier includes a weight arranged on the first link.
Moriya teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link (9) connected to the driver,
a plurality of second links (3000) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 6), and
a third link (3001) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 6); and
the force applier includes a weight [0032] arranged on the first link (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, where the force applier includes a weight arranged on the first link taught by Moriya in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 9, Ma teaches:
a first link (1000) connected to the driver (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2),
a plurality of second links (1001) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5), and
a third link (1002) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3);
the substrate-holding hand further comprises a support (100) fixed to the substrate-holding hand (Fig. 4) [0050].
the driver (8) driving the linkage [0031 & 0032]
Ma does not teach:
the force applier includes a weight connected to the third link through a wire and a pulley.
Moriya teaches:
the linkage includes
a first link (11) connected to the driver,
a plurality of second links (3000) connected to the plurality of blades (Fig. 6), and
a third link (3001) connecting the plurality of second links to each other (Fig. 6); and
the force applier includes a weight [0032] arranged on the first link (Fig. 6).
the force applier includes a weight (12) connected to the third link through a wire (11) and a pulley (10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades, the biasing force being applied against own weights of the plurality of blades by the force applier, where the force applier includes a weight connected to the third link through a wire and a pulley taught by Moriya in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Regarding Claim 10, Ma teaches:
the substrate-holding hand, wherein
the blades include
a plurality of blades provided to the substrate-holding hand for changing the pitch between the blades through the linkage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3) [0020 & 0023 & 0032 & 0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Ma does not teach:
a first substrate-holding hand, and a second substrate-holding hand arranged on or above the first substrate-holding hand for operating independently of the first substrate-holding hand, wherein
the blades include
a first blade provided to the first substrate-holding hand and fixed to the first substrate-holding hand, and
a second blade provided to the second substrate-holding hand and fixed to the second substrate-holding hand.
Moriya teaches:
a first substrate-holding hand (13), and a second substrate-holding hand (13) arranged on or above the first substrate-holding hand for operating independently of the first substrate-holding hand (Fig. 6), wherein
the blades include
a first blade (7) provided to the first substrate-holding hand and fixed to the first substrate-holding hand (Fig. 6), and
a second blade (7) provided to the second substrate-holding hand and fixed to the first substrate-holding hand (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a driver for driving the linkage for adjusting the blades taught by Ma with the substrate holding hand with a plurality of blades, the blades adjustable relative to one another by a linkage adjustably supporting the blades with a force applier arranged separately from a driver for driving the linkage for applying a force to the linkage in a direction that increases the pitch between the blades taught by Moriya in order to provide an adjusting means that biases the linkage in a manner that reduces the force on the actuator in order to reduce wear on the system and reduce the required actuator size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20010048867 A1, US 20220093444 A1, US 20020119033 A1, US 11414278 B2, US 9245784 B2, US 6216883 B1, US 20220250255 A1, and US 11817342 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: substrate holding hands having a plurality of blades spaced away from each other.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652