DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/727,173 filed on 07/08/2024 in which Claims 1 – 14 were filed for examination.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 3 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) and Claims 4 – 7 and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 and 07/22/2024 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haraguchi et al. (US 2020/0398693) (hereinafter, Haraguchi).
Regarding Claim 1, Haraguchi teaches a computer implemented method for preconditioning a cabin of one or more vehicles (See Haraguchi’s par 0025 and 0032), the computer implemented method comprising:
detecting a connection of the one or more vehicles to a charger (Haraguchi in par 0033 and Fig. 4, teaches that when the vehicle V is parked in a parking section and the user connects the cable 28 of the charging/discharging device 20 to the vehicle V, communication is established between the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 and the control unit 21 of the charging/discharging device 20 via the cable 28);
obtaining vehicle data and departure schedule associated with each of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger, wherein the vehicle data comprises preconditioning requirements of the one or more vehicles and battery data associated with an energy storage device of the one or more vehicles (Haraguchi in par 0032 and Fig. 3, teaches that the air conditioner 43 is automatically operated before the vehicle V departs on condition that the user of the vehicle V has permitted the power management of the battery 42 to the virtual power plant (VPP). The management system 1 side bears power necessary to operate the air conditioner 43. When the user of the vehicle V returns to the parked vehicle V and departs, the indoor environment is adjusted by the air conditioner 43, and so the user can depart comfortably. Such a pre-environment adjusting service allows the user of the vehicle V to be satisfied immediately after cooperation with the VPP, and can promote cooperation to the VPP. Haraguchi in par 0034 and Fig. 4, further teaches that in S1, the input device 25 receives a setting input of a usage condition from the user. Here, the user sets information on parking, such as scheduled departure time, confirmation of cooperation with the VPP, necessity of the pre-environment adjusting service, necessity of charging of the battery 42, and the degree of charging (such as full charge, 80%, or 50%). In response to a request for information provision to the vehicle V, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 transmits certain information to the control unit 21 in S11. The transmitted information can include, for example, remaining amount information on the battery 42, an action schedule after departure (such as destination information), specification information on the air conditioner 43, or normal operation setting information (such as room temperature and air volume setting) on the air conditioner 43 set while the user is boarding. Such information can be used when managing the VPP or can be used for setting an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 in the pre-environment adjusting service);
generating a cabin preconditioning profile for the charger based on the vehicle data, the departure schedule, and a number of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time. Haraguchi in par 0041 and Fig. 4, further teaches that after processing in S21, the management server 10 controls power management by including the battery 42 in the resource of the VPP based on updated information of the database. The control unit 21 controls the charging/discharging circuit 26 based on the received instruction to charge/discharge the battery 42 from/to the electrical grid 3a); and
transferring the cabin preconditioning profile to the charger for preconditioning the cabin of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0041 – 0043 and Fig. 4, further teaches that the control unit 21 controls the charging/discharging circuit 26 based on the received instruction to charge/discharge the battery 42 from/to the electrical grid 3a. A measurement result of the meter 27 is transmitted to the management server 10, which in turn updates the database. When management end time indicated in the “management period” arrives, in S23, the management server 10 notifies the control unit 21 of end of power management, and also notifies an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 to instruct the operation of the air conditioner 43, and to instruct the feeding power necessary for the operation of the air conditioner 43. In S4, the control unit 21 instructs the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43. At that time, the management server 10 specifies the operation mode notified in S23)
Regarding Claim 2, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Haraguchi further teaches:
wherein the preconditioning requirements comprise preconditioning energy and preconditioning duration required for preconditioning the cabin of the one or more vehicles (Haraguchi in par 0042 – 0043 and Fig. 4, teaches that when management end time indicated in the “management period” arrives, in S23, the management server 10 notifies the control unit 21 of end of power management, and also notifies an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 to instruct the operation of the air conditioner 43, and to instruct the feeding power necessary for the operation of the air conditioner 43. The operation mode of the air conditioner 43 can include information such as operation start time, end time, room temperature setting, and air volume setting. In S4, the control unit 21 instructs the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43. At that time, the management server 10 specifies the operation mode notified in S23. The control unit 21 may instruct, at the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43, or may reserve, before the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to start operation at the operation start time).
Regarding Claim 3, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Haraguchi further teaches:
wherein the battery data comprises a state of charge of the energy storage device at a time of connection of the vehicles to the charger and a rate of charging of the energy storage device when connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0039 and Fig. 5, further teaches that The “initial power” is information on a remaining amount of power stored in the battery 42 at the time of arrival, and is information (S11) obtained from the vehicle V. The “necessary power” is information on the remaining amount of the battery 42 at the time of departure, and is information by the user's input (S1). Haraguchi in par 0044, further teaches that since the management system 1 side bears power necessary to drive the air conditioner 43, the control unit 21 feeds power from the electrical grid 3a to the battery 42 by the charging/discharging circuit 26 in S5. The feeding amount of power may be a predetermined power amount, or may be a power amount estimated from the operation mode of the air conditioner 43. Alternatively, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 notifies a discharge amount (power consumption of the air conditioner 43) of the battery 42 after the operation start of the air conditioner 43 (S13), and a power amount corresponding to the notified discharge amount may be fed).
Regarding Claim 8, this Claim merely recites a computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device having computer readable program code stored therein (See Haraguchi par 0026), and program code executable by a processor of a computer system to implement a method according to claim 1. Accordingly, Haraguchi discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 8, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, this Claim merely recites a cabin preconditioning system for preconditioning a cabin of one or more vehicles, the cabin preconditioning system comprising: a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer program instructions defined by modules of the cabin preconditioning system (See Haraguchi par 0026, storage unit); at least one processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the at least one processor configured to execute the computer program instructions ((See Haraguchi par 0026, processing unit executing stored instructions); and the modules of the cabin preconditioning system configured to perform the computer implemented method according to claim 1. Accordingly, Haraguchi discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 8, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Haraguchi teaches a charger for preconditioning a cabin of one or more vehicles (See Haraguchi’s par 0025 and 0032), the charger comprising:
one or more connectors via which the one or more vehicles connect to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0027 and Fig. 1, teaches that cable 28 is a cable electrically connecting the vehicle V and the charging/discharging device 20);
a control unit (Haraguchi in par 0027 and Fig. 1, further teaches that charging/discharging device 20 includes a control unit 21, an input device 25, a charging/discharging circuit 26, a meter 27, and a cable 28) configured to:
detect a connection of the one or more vehicles to the one or more connectors (Haraguchi in par 0033 and Fig. 4, teaches that when the vehicle V is parked in a parking section and the user connects the cable 28 of the charging/discharging device 20 to the vehicle V, communication is established between the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 and the control unit 21 of the charging/discharging device 20 via the cable 28);;
obtain vehicle data and departure schedule associated with each of the one or more vehicles, wherein the vehicle data comprises preconditioning requirements of the one or more vehicles and battery data associated with an energy storage device of the one or more vehicles (Haraguchi in par 0032 and Fig. 3, teaches that the air conditioner 43 is automatically operated before the vehicle V departs on condition that the user of the vehicle V has permitted the power management of the battery 42 to the virtual power plant (VPP). The management system 1 side bears power necessary to operate the air conditioner 43. When the user of the vehicle V returns to the parked vehicle V and departs, the indoor environment is adjusted by the air conditioner 43, and so the user can depart comfortably. Such a pre-environment adjusting service allows the user of the vehicle V to be satisfied immediately after cooperation with the VPP, and can promote cooperation to the VPP. Haraguchi in par 0034 and Fig. 4, further teaches that in S1, the input device 25 receives a setting input of a usage condition from the user. Here, the user sets information on parking, such as scheduled departure time, confirmation of cooperation with the VPP, necessity of the pre-environment adjusting service, necessity of charging of the battery 42, and the degree of charging (such as full charge, 80%, or 50%). In response to a request for information provision to the vehicle V, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 transmits certain information to the control unit 21 in S11. The transmitted information can include, for example, remaining amount information on the battery 42, an action schedule after departure (such as destination information), specification information on the air conditioner 43, or normal operation setting information (such as room temperature and air volume setting) on the air conditioner 43 set while the user is boarding. Such information can be used when managing the VPP or can be used for setting an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 in the pre-environment adjusting service), and wherein the preconditioning requirements comprise preconditioning energy and preconditioning duration required for preconditioning the cabin of the one or more vehicles (Haraguchi in par 0042 – 0043 and Fig. 4, teaches that when management end time indicated in the “management period” arrives, in S23, the management server 10 notifies the control unit 21 of end of power management, and also notifies an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 to instruct the operation of the air conditioner 43, and to instruct the feeding power necessary for the operation of the air conditioner 43. The operation mode of the air conditioner 43 can include information such as operation start time, end time, room temperature setting, and air volume setting. In S4, the control unit 21 instructs the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43. At that time, the management server 10 specifies the operation mode notified in S23. The control unit 21 may instruct, at the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43, or may reserve, before the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to start operation at the operation start time), and wherein the battery data comprises a state of charge of the energy storage device at the time of connection of the one or more vehicles to the charger and a rate of charging of the energy storage device when connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0039 and Fig. 5, further teaches that The “initial power” is information on a remaining amount of power stored in the battery 42 at the time of arrival, and is information (S11) obtained from the vehicle V. The “necessary power” is information on the remaining amount of the battery 42 at the time of departure, and is information by the user's input (S1). Haraguchi in par 0044, further teaches that since the management system 1 side bears power necessary to drive the air conditioner 43, the control unit 21 feeds power from the electrical grid 3a to the battery 42 by the charging/discharging circuit 26 in S5. The feeding amount of power may be a predetermined power amount, or may be a power amount estimated from the operation mode of the air conditioner 43. Alternatively, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 notifies a discharge amount (power consumption of the air conditioner 43) of the battery 42 after the operation start of the air conditioner 43 (S13), and a power amount corresponding to the notified discharge amount may be fed); and
generate a cabin preconditioning profile for the charger based on the vehicle data, the departure schedule, and a number of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger for preconditioning the cabin of the one or more vehicles (Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time. Haraguchi in par 0041 and Fig. 4, further teaches that after processing in S21, the management server 10 controls power management by including the battery 42 in the resource of the VPP based on updated information of the database. The control unit 21 controls the charging/discharging circuit 26 based on the received instruction to charge/discharge the battery 42 from/to the electrical grid 3a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haraguchi in view of Jiang et al. (US 2016/0193933) (hereinafter, Jiang).
Regarding Claim 4, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Haraguchi further teaches:
wherein generating the cabin preconditioning profile comprises:
determining a number of the vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0021 and Fig. 2, teaches a layout of the parking facility to which the management system 1 is applied. The parking facility includes a plurality of parking sections P and each parking section P has an area capable of parking one vehicle V. The plurality of parking sections P are divided into a VPP cooperation region R1 and a normal parking region R2. A charging/discharging device 20 is provided correspondingly in each parking section P of the VPP cooperation region R1. Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time);
determining, based on the departure schedule and the preconditioning requirements, a preconditioning start time for the vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0042 – 0043 and Fig. 4, teaches that when management end time indicated in the “management period” arrives, in S23, the management server 10 notifies the control unit 21 of end of power management, and also notifies an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 to instruct the operation of the air conditioner 43, and to instruct the feeding power necessary for the operation of the air conditioner 43. The operation mode of the air conditioner 43 can include information such as operation start time, end time, room temperature setting, and air volume setting. In S4, the control unit 21 instructs the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43. At that time, the management server 10 specifies the operation mode notified in S23. The control unit 21 may instruct, at the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43, or may reserve, before the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to start operation at the operation start time);
Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time. Haraguchi in par 0041 and Fig. 4, further teaches that after processing in S21, the management server 10 controls power management by including the battery 42 in the resource of the VPP based on updated information of the database. The control unit 21 controls the charging/discharging circuit 26 based on the received instruction to charge/discharge the battery 42 from/to the electrical grid 3a.
However, Haraguchi does not specifically disclose determining, based on the preconditioning start time and the preconditioning requirements, a preconditioning overlap between two or more of the vehicles when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one; determining a charger power output of the charger in accordance with the preconditioning requirements, the battery data, the number of the vehicles, and the preconditioning overlap; and generating the cabin preconditioning profile using the preconditioning start time and the charger power output for each of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger.
Jiang teaches a charging modules that utilizes smart power combination and multiple output coordination to enable output with current sharing and the automatic balance control technology (See Jiang’s Abstract).
Jiang in par 0018, teaches that charging modules adopt smart power distribution and multiple output coordination to realize a current-sharing output and automatic balancing control. Jiang in par 0033, further teaches that the smart power distribution and the multiple output coordination control are as follows. The charger has a plurality of charging interfaces to charge a plurality of vehicles simultaneously. When the general control monitoring module detects that the charger charges a plurality of electric vehicles simultaneously, the output monitoring module monitors power of each of the electric vehicles, and uploads charging power, voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles to the general control monitoring module. The general control monitoring module distributes suitable charging modules and number of required charging modules for each of the plurality of charging interfaces, based on voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles, a maximum output voltage and current of the charger at the moment, and an actual power requirement, and sends a command to a charging control module. The charging control module controls relevant charging modules to start working. Jiang in par 0035, further teaches that if power outputted by the direct current output module is not equal to the required power, the output power is dynamically adjusted in real time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Jiang with the teachings as in Haraguchi to optimize the power provided by the charger in Haraguchi as disclosed in Jiang. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively meet the power requirement by each of the vehicles without damaging the batteries (See Jiang’s par 0036).
Regarding Claim 5, Haraguchi in view of Jiang teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 4. Jiang further teaches:
wherein the charger power output is determined based on:
the preconditioning requirements when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is equal to one, the preconditioning requirements when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one with absence of the preconditioning overlap; or the preconditioning requirements and the battery data when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one with presence of the preconditioning overlap (Jiang in par 0018, teaches that charging modules adopt smart power distribution and multiple output coordination to realize a current-sharing output and automatic balancing control. Jiang in par 0033, further teaches that the smart power distribution and the multiple output coordination control are as follows. The charger has a plurality of charging interfaces to charge a plurality of vehicles simultaneously. When the general control monitoring module detects that the charger charges a plurality of electric vehicles simultaneously, the output monitoring module monitors power of each of the electric vehicles, and uploads charging power, voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles to the general control monitoring module. The general control monitoring module distributes suitable charging modules and number of required charging modules for each of the plurality of charging interfaces, based on voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles, a maximum output voltage and current of the charger at the moment, and an actual power requirement, and sends a command to a charging control module. The charging control module controls relevant charging modules to start working. Jiang in par 0035, further teaches that if power outputted by the direct current output module is not equal to the required power, the output power is dynamically adjusted in real time).
Regarding Claim 11, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 10. Haraguchi further teaches:
wherein in generating the cabin preconditioning profile, the control unit is configured to:
determine a number of the vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0021 and Fig. 2, teaches a layout of the parking facility to which the management system 1 is applied. The parking facility includes a plurality of parking sections P and each parking section P has an area capable of parking one vehicle V. The plurality of parking sections P are divided into a VPP cooperation region R1 and a normal parking region R2. A charging/discharging device 20 is provided correspondingly in each parking section P of the VPP cooperation region R1. Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time);
determine, based on the departure schedule and the preconditioning requirements, a preconditioning start time for the vehicles connected to the charger (Haraguchi in par 0042 – 0043 and Fig. 4, teaches that when management end time indicated in the “management period” arrives, in S23, the management server 10 notifies the control unit 21 of end of power management, and also notifies an operation mode of the air conditioner 43 to instruct the operation of the air conditioner 43, and to instruct the feeding power necessary for the operation of the air conditioner 43. The operation mode of the air conditioner 43 can include information such as operation start time, end time, room temperature setting, and air volume setting. In S4, the control unit 21 instructs the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43. At that time, the management server 10 specifies the operation mode notified in S23. The control unit 21 may instruct, at the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to operate the air conditioner 43, or may reserve, before the operation start time, the vehicle-mounted control unit 41 to start operation at the operation start time);
Haraguchi in par 0037 – 0038 and fig. 5, further teaches that for each charging/discharging device 20 (#1, #2, . . . ), information including arrival, departure, management period, service, action, initial power, necessary power, discharge amount, charge amount, actual charge amount, result, and settlement is stored. The management server 10 sets time obtained by subtracting a necessary time for the pre-environment adjusting service from the scheduled departure time. Haraguchi in par 0041 and Fig. 4, further teaches that after processing in S21, the management server 10 controls power management by including the battery 42 in the resource of the VPP based on updated information of the database. The control unit 21 controls the charging/discharging circuit 26 based on the received instruction to charge/discharge the battery 42 from/to the electrical grid 3a.
However, Haraguchi does not specifically disclose determine, based on the preconditioning start time and the preconditioning requirements, a preconditioning overlap between two or more of the vehicles when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one; determine a charger power output of the charger in accordance with the preconditioning requirements, the battery data, the number of the vehicles, and the preconditioning overlap; and generate the cabin preconditioning profile using the preconditioning start time and the charger power output for each of the one or more vehicles connected to the charger.
Jiang teaches a charging modules that utilizes smart power combination and multiple output coordination to enable output with current sharing and the automatic balance control technology (See Jiang’s Abstract).
Jiang in par 0018, teaches that charging modules adopt smart power distribution and multiple output coordination to realize a current-sharing output and automatic balancing control. Jiang in par 0033, further teaches that the smart power distribution and the multiple output coordination control are as follows. The charger has a plurality of charging interfaces to charge a plurality of vehicles simultaneously. When the general control monitoring module detects that the charger charges a plurality of electric vehicles simultaneously, the output monitoring module monitors power of each of the electric vehicles, and uploads charging power, voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles to the general control monitoring module. The general control monitoring module distributes suitable charging modules and number of required charging modules for each of the plurality of charging interfaces, based on voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles, a maximum output voltage and current of the charger at the moment, and an actual power requirement, and sends a command to a charging control module. The charging control module controls relevant charging modules to start working. Jiang in par 0035, further teaches that if power outputted by the direct current output module is not equal to the required power, the output power is dynamically adjusted in real time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Jiang with the teachings as in Haraguchi to optimize the power provided by the charger in Haraguchi as disclosed in Jiang. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively meet the power requirement by each of the vehicles without damaging the batteries (See Jiang’s par 0036).
Regarding Claim 12, Haraguchi in view of Jiang teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 11. Jiang further teaches:
wherein the control unit is configured to determine the charger power output based on:
the preconditioning requirements when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger tis equal to one, the preconditioning requirements when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one with absence of the preconditioning overlap, or the preconditioning requirements and the battery data when the number of the vehicles connected to the charger is greater than one with presence of the preconditioning overlap (Jiang in par 0018, teaches that charging modules adopt smart power distribution and multiple output coordination to realize a current-sharing output and automatic balancing control. Jiang in par 0033, further teaches that the smart power distribution and the multiple output coordination control are as follows. The charger has a plurality of charging interfaces to charge a plurality of vehicles simultaneously. When the general control monitoring module detects that the charger charges a plurality of electric vehicles simultaneously, the output monitoring module monitors power of each of the electric vehicles, and uploads charging power, voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles to the general control monitoring module. The general control monitoring module distributes suitable charging modules and number of required charging modules for each of the plurality of charging interfaces, based on voltage and current required by each of the electric vehicles, a maximum output voltage and current of the charger at the moment, and an actual power requirement, and sends a command to a charging control module. The charging control module controls relevant charging modules to start working. Jiang in par 0035, further teaches that if power outputted by the direct current output module is not equal to the required power, the output power is dynamically adjusted in real time).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haraguchi in view of Jiang and in further view of Nergaard et al. (US 2013/0057210) (hereinafter, Negaard).
Regarding Claim 6, Haraguchi in view of Jiang teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 4.
However, Haraguchi in view of Jiang does not specifically disclose wherein the cabin preconditioning profile comprises a plurality of time intervals corresponding to the preconditioning overlap, and wherein the charger power output from the charger is alternately allocated to two or more of the vehicles in each of the time intervals.
Negaard teaches distributing charging power among a plurality of charge ports of a battery charging station is provided, where the battery charging station includes a plurality of power stages where each power stage includes an AC to DC converter and provides a portion of the charging station's maximum available charging power (see Negaard’s Abstract).
Negaard in par 0042 – 0043, further teaches that when a user couples their vehicle to the charging system they input information into the controller that may be used in determining the optimal distribution of power. For example, the user may enter their intended departure time, thereby allowing the controller to determine how much time is available for battery charging for that particular vehicle. When vehicles are coupled to the charger that have different departure times, e.g., one vehicle may have two hours to charge while another vehicle may have twelve hours to charge, the controller is able to optimize the use of the available power. Preferably if no information is entered or otherwise gathered that may be used by the charger controller to optimize power distribution, the system relies on a default set of data.
Instead of giving priority to a particular vehicle or customer, for example based on arrival time, fees, vehicle priority, etc., the controller maximizes charger output. Vehicle priority is only taken as a secondary consideration. For example, assuming a charging system with three power blocks as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 5-7 and in which each block has an output of 30 kW, and assuming the vehicles coupled to ports 313 and 314 request 35 kW and 50 kW, respectfully, and that the vehicle coupled to port 313 has a higher priority than the other vehicle (e.g., due to arrival time or for some other reason), if the charging system is operating under this mode the controller would couple one power block to port 313 and two power blocks to ports 314, thus using 80 kW of the available 90 kW. Under an alternate configuration such as those previously described in which the power distribution is based on priority rather than maximizing charger output, two power blocks would be coupled to the higher priority vehicle coupled to port 313 in order to supply this vehicle with the requested 35 kW. As a result, the alternate configuration would only use 65 kW of the available 90 kW. Note that under the presently described configuration, and as noted above, if the charger's maximized output is the same under several distribution schemes, then preferably a secondary consideration (such as arrival time priority) is used to determine the appropriate power distribution. For example, in the previous illustration if both vehicles required 35 kW, then the controller would couple two power blocks to the vehicle coupled to port 313 since this vehicle has a higher priority and reversing the distribution and coupling two power blocks to port 314 would not yield a higher charger output.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Negaard with the teachings as in Haraguchi and Jiang to distribute the available power in Haraguchi as disclosed in Negaard. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively determine appropriate distribution of power based on predetermined set of distribution instructions and current monitored conditions (See Negaard’s par 0034).
Regarding Claim 7, Haraguchi in view of Jiang and in further view of Negaard teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 6. Negaard further teaches:
wherein the cabin preconditioning profile comprises providing the charger power output from the charger to no more than one of the two or more vehicles at any given time (Negaard in par 0042 – 0043, further teaches that when a user couples their vehicle to the charging system they input information into the controller that may be used in determining the optimal distribution of power. For example, the user may enter their intended departure time, thereby allowing the controller to determine how much time is available for battery charging for that particular vehicle. When vehicles are coupled to the charger that have different departure times, e.g., one vehicle may have two hours to charge while another vehicle may have twelve hours to charge, the controller is able to optimize the use of the available power. Preferably if no information is entered or otherwise gathered that may be used by the charger controller to optimize power distribution, the system relies on a default set of data).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haraguchi in view of Nergaard.
Regarding Claim 13, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 10.
However, Haraguchi does not specifically disclose wherein the cabin preconditioning profile comprises a plurality of time intervals corresponding to the preconditioning overlap, and wherein the charger power output from the charger is alternately allocated to two or more of the vehicles in each of the time intervals.
Negaard teaches distributing charging power among a plurality of charge ports of a battery charging station is provided, where the battery charging station includes a plurality of power stages where each power stage includes an AC to DC converter and provides a portion of the charging station's maximum available charging power (see Negaard’s Abstract).
Negaard in par 0042 – 0043, further teaches that when a user couples their vehicle to the charging system they input information into the controller that may be used in determining the optimal distribution of power. For example, the user may enter their intended departure time, thereby allowing the controller to determine how much time is available for battery charging for that particular vehicle. When vehicles are coupled to the charger that have different departure times, e.g., one vehicle may have two hours to charge while another vehicle may have twelve hours to charge, the controller is able to optimize the use of the available power. Preferably if no information is entered or otherwise gathered that may be used by the charger controller to optimize power distribution, the system relies on a default set of data.
Instead of giving priority to a particular vehicle or customer, for example based on arrival time, fees, vehicle priority, etc., the controller maximizes charger output. Vehicle priority is only taken as a secondary consideration. For example, assuming a charging system with three power blocks as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 5-7 and in which each block has an output of 30 kW, and assuming the vehicles coupled to ports 313 and 314 request 35 kW and 50 kW, respectfully, and that the vehicle coupled to port 313 has a higher priority than the other vehicle (e.g., due to arrival time or for some other reason), if the charging system is operating under this mode the controller would couple one power block to port 313 and two power blocks to ports 314, thus using 80 kW of the available 90 kW. Under an alternate configuration such as those previously described in which the power distribution is based on priority rather than maximizing charger output, two power blocks would be coupled to the higher priority vehicle coupled to port 313 in order to supply this vehicle with the requested 35 kW. As a result, the alternate configuration would only use 65 kW of the available 90 kW. Note that under the presently described configuration, and as noted above, if the charger's maximized output is the same under several distribution schemes, then preferably a secondary consideration (such as arrival time priority) is used to determine the appropriate power distribution. For example, in the previous illustration if both vehicles required 35 kW, then the controller would couple two power blocks to the vehicle coupled to port 313 since this vehicle has a higher priority and reversing the distribution and coupling two power blocks to port 314 would not yield a higher charger output.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Negaard with the teachings as in Haraguchi to distribute the available power in Haraguchi as disclosed in Negaard. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively determine appropriate distribution of power based on predetermined set of distribution instructions and current monitored conditions (See Negaard’s par 0034).
Regarding Claim 14, Haraguchi teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 10.
However, Haraguchi does no specifically disclose is a sequential charger configured to provide the charger power output to no more than one of the two or more vehicles at any given time.
Negaard in par 0042 – 0043, further teaches that when a user couples their vehicle to the charging system they input information into the controller that may be used in determining the optimal distribution of power. For example, the user may enter their intended departure time, thereby allowing the controller to determine how much time is available for battery charging for that particular vehicle. When vehicles are coupled to the charger that have different departure times, e.g., one vehicle may have two hours to charge while another vehicle may have twelve hours to charge, the controller is able to optimize the use of the available power. Preferably if no information is entered or otherwise gathered that may be used by the charger controller to optimize power distribution, the system relies on a default set of data.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Negaard with the teachings as in Haraguchi to distribute the available power in Haraguchi as disclosed in Negaard. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively determine appropriate distribution of power based on predetermined set of distribution instructions and current monitored conditions (See Negaard’s par 0034).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118