CTNF 18/727,174 CTNF 85644 DETAILED ACTION 1. Claims 56-69 (amendments received in the Office on 7/08/2024) have been examined and are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 3. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement 4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/08/2024, 5/06/2025, and 9/30/2025 have been found to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-37 AIA 5. The drawings were received on 7/08/2024 . These drawings are accepted . Specification 06-11 AIA 6. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: METHOD AND DEVICE FOR MEASUREMENT REPORTING IN SIDELINK DISCOVERY . 06-31 AIA 7. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 8. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 9. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 10. Claim s 68-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0107421 A1 to Yu et al. (hereinafter “Yu”) . Regarding Claim 68 , Yu discloses a method for reporting a measurement report, applied to a base station, and comprising: sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a first terminal (Yu: Figure 7 with [0116-0118] – base station sends an RRC message to UE.) , wherein the RRC message is configured for the first terminal to determine a first threshold value and a second threshold value (Yu: [0117], [0120-0121] – the RRC message may comprise one or more threshold values for measurement.). Regarding Claim 69 , Yu discloses the method according to claim 68, wherein the RRC message is configured for the first terminal to determine at least one of a first offset value or a second offset value (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station. Back discloses the result is sent to the base station in at least [0130].) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 11. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 12. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 13. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 14. Claim s 56-57, 59, 61, and 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0340668 A1 to Back et al. (hereinafter “Back”) . Regarding Claim 56 , Yu discloses a method for reporting a measurement report, applied to a first terminal, and comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message of a base station (Yu: Figure 7 with [0116-0118] – base station sends an RRC message to UE.) ; determining a first threshold value and a second threshold value according to the RRC message (Yu: [0117], [0120] – the RRC message may comprise one or more threshold values for measurement.) ; and determining to send the measurement report…according to at least one of: the first threshold value and a sidelink reference signal receiving power (SL-RSRP) (Yu: [0121] – corresponds to determining a threshold value of an SL-RSRP.) ; or the second threshold value and a sidelink discovery reference signal receiving power (SD-RSRP) (Yu: [0121] – corresponds to determining a threshold value of an SD-RSRP. See also [0123-0132] for additional steps for determining a measurement result based on thresholds for SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP.). Although Yu discloses determining a measurement result based on a received RRC message, Yu does not expressly disclose sending the measurement result to the base station. However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Back. Back is similarly concerned with sidelink communication, particular to sidelink measurements (Back: [0001]). Back discloses determining a measurement result according to received values for SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP and reporting these results to a base station (Back: [0130] – UE measure SD-RSRP or SL-RSRP and reports these values to a gNB.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the reporting method of Yu in view of the reporting method of Back to send measurement reports to a base station for the reasons of “ achieving service continuity and power saving through switching from an indirect link to a direct link or relay reselection ” (Back: [0045]). Regarding Claim 57 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 56, wherein the determining to send the measurement report to the base station comprises: determining that an entry condition is satisfied to send the measurement report to the base station, in case that the SL-RSRP plus a first offset value is less than the first threshold value or the SD-RSRP plus a second offset value is less than the second threshold value (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station. Back discloses the result is sent to the base station in at least [0130].). Although Yu discloses sending the message as a result of the value plus the hysteresis being above a threshold, Examiner notes that this is simply an entry condition, or trigger, and that the opposite outcome (less than a threshold) would have resulted in the same entry condition, and thus an obvious matter of design choice, since one having ordinary skill in the art would have considered one of two outcomes directly from a value being above or below a limitation, or threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the reporting method of Yu in view of the reporting method of Back to send measurement reports to a base station for the reasons of “ achieving service continuity and power saving through switching from an indirect link to a direct link or relay reselection ” (Back: [0045]). Regarding Claim 59 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 56, further comprising: determining at least one of a first offset value or a second offset value according to the RRC message (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station.). Regarding Claim 61 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 56, further comprising: determining at least one of: the second threshold value being equal to the first threshold value, or a second offset value being equal to a first offset value (Interpreted to correspond to “the same” value or, each of the values being only one value, i.e., a first and second threshold is a threshold, or a first and second offset is an offset. Examiner notes these values are interchangeable and would result in the same outcome had the threshold or offset values been different from one another, and thus an obvious matter of design choice, since one having ordinary skill in the art would have considered one of two outcomes directly from a value being above or below a limitation, or threshold. An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station.). Regarding Claim 63 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 57, wherein the measurement report comprises a cell or the first terminal where the entry condition is satisfied (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station. Back discloses the result is sent to the base station (cell) in at least [0130].). Although Yu discloses sending the message as a result of the value plus the hysteresis being above a threshold, Examiner notes that this is simply an entry condition, or trigger, and that the opposite outcome (less than a threshold) would have resulted in the same entry condition, and thus an obvious matter of design choice, since one having ordinary skill in the art would have considered one of two outcomes directly from a value being above or below a limitation, or threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the reporting method of Yu in view of the reporting method of Back to send measurement reports to a base station for the reasons of “ achieving service continuity and power saving through switching from an indirect link to a direct link or relay reselection ” (Back: [0045]). Regarding Claim 64 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 56, wherein the measurement report carries the SD-RSRP, the SL-RSRP, and a first channel measurement result of the first terminal and a cell (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station. Back discloses the result is sent to the base station (cell) in at least [0130].). Although Yu discloses sending the message as a result of the value plus the hysteresis being above a threshold, Examiner notes that this is simply an entry condition, or trigger, and that the opposite outcome (less than a threshold) would have resulted in the same entry condition, and thus an obvious matter of design choice, since one having ordinary skill in the art would have considered one of two outcomes directly from a value being above or below a limitation, or threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the reporting method of Yu in view of the reporting method of Back to send measurement reports to a base station for the reasons of “ achieving service continuity and power saving through switching from an indirect link to a direct link or relay reselection ” (Back: [0045]) . 07-21-aia AIA 15. Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yu and Back, and in further view of United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0029747 A1 to Xue et al. (hereinafter “Xue”) . Regarding Claim 60 , the combination of Yu and Back discloses the method according to claim 56, further comprising: receiving a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message sent by a second terminal (Yu: [0093] – corresponds to transmitting/receiving PC5-RRC messages between terminals.) ; and determining at least one of a first offset value or a second offset value according to the … RRC message (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station.). Both Yu and Back disclose receiving RRC configuration messages from a base station and exchanging control messages in the sidelink, but the combination does not explicitly disclose transmitting/receiving sidelink RRC messages comprising an offset value. However, receiving an RRC message from a terminal in the sidelink comprising one or more parameters is not new or novel in the presence of Xue. Xue is similarly concerned with sidelink communications (Xue: [0002]). Xue discloses the sidelink RRC comprises the offset values (Xue: [0126] – PC5 RRC messages include one or more offset values.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the sidelink message exchange method of the combination in view of the sidelink message exchange method of Xue to signal offset values in PC5-RRC messages for the reasons of avoiding collisions between control channels and feedback channels in sidelink communications (Xue: [0108]) . 07-21-aia AIA 16. Claim s 66-67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of Xue . Regarding Claim 66 , Yu discloses a method for reporting a measurement report, applied to a second terminal, and comprising: sending a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message to a first terminal (Yu: [0093] – corresponds to transmitting/receiving PC5-RRC messages between terminals.) , wherein the…RRC message is configured for the first terminal to determine at least one of a first offset value or a second offset value (An offset, as claimed, corresponds to a hysteresis value that is included with the one or more threshold values and is disclosed by Yu in at least [0117]. For reporting (an entry condition), a hystMaxRelay and/or a hystMinRelay is determined, and in the case of the former, a message is sent when the value is satisfied (above a threshold). Yu also discloses in [0120-0121] and [0127], these values are associated with one or more of an SL-RSRP and SD-RSRP, and the result is transmitted based on the values received in the RRC message from the base station.). Yu discloses receiving RRC configuration messages from a base station and exchanging control messages in the sidelink, but Yu does not explicitly disclose transmitting/receiving sidelink RRC messages comprising an offset value. However, receiving an RRC message from a terminal in the sidelink comprising one or more parameters is not new or novel in the presence of Xue. Xue is similarly concerned with sidelink communications (Xue: [0002]). Xue discloses the sidelink RRC comprises the offset values (Xue: [0126] – PC5 RRC messages include one or more offset values.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA) to modify the sidelink message exchange method of Yu in view of the sidelink message exchange method of Xue to signal offset values in PC5-RRC messages for the reasons of avoiding collisions between control channels and feedback channels in sidelink communications (Xue: [0108]). Regarding Claim 67 , the combination of Yu and Xue discloses the method according to claim 66, further comprising: determining the second offset value according to a difference value between a sidelink discovery reference signal receiving power (SD-RSRP) and a sidelink reference signal receiving power (SL-RSRP) (Yu: [0147] – corresponds to determining one or more of a hysteresis (offset) in the SD-RSRP and SL-RSRP as part of the measurement result.) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 17. Claim s 58, 62, and 65 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 18. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03. 19. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV whose telephone number is (571)270-7163. The examiner can normally be reached M, T, R, F 5:00 AM-5:00 PM, W 5:00 AM-3:00 PM (EDT). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Thier can be reached at (571) 272-2832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV Primary Examiner Art Unit 2474 /BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 June 12, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/727,174 Page 2 Art Unit: 2474