DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence lacks main subject-verb grammatically correct structure. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to incorporate some of the section headings below as they may apply to the current Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirata, JP2007319781 A, (“Machine Translation of JP2007319781 A”, published 2007, 61 total pages).
Regarding Claim 3, Hirata discloses a winding filter not subjected to sintering, (See paragraph [0011]), the winding filter comprising a cylindrical body including a stitch by overlapping at least one element wire forming a plurality of layers in a radial direction, (Filtration Member 1, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0012], [0031], [0032]), wherein a terminal end portion of the element wire of an outermost layer among the plurality of layers is joined by adhesion to a part of an adjacent layer adjacent to the outermost layer on a radially inner side, (Wire 10 of Filtration Member 1, See Figure 2, See paragraph [0034]), and the terminal end portion is joined to the adjacent layer at any position in a region having a length within a half from an axial intermediate position of the cylindrical body to one axial end portion of the cylindrical body and a region having a length within a half from the axial intermediate position of the cylindrical body to another axial end portion of the cylindrical body, (Two Fray-Preventing Sections 13 wrapped horizontally at points between either top and bottom and the middle of Filtration Member 1, See Figures 2 & 5, See paragraph [0040]; Figure 5 is an extension of Figure 2).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata, JP2007319781 A, (“Machine Translation of JP2007319781 A”, published 2007, 61 total pages), in view of Hirata et al., (“Hirata 2”, US 2006/0112559).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4 & 6, Hirata discloses a winding filter not subjected to sintering, (See paragraph [0011]), the winding filter comprising- a cylindrical body including a stitch by overlapping at least one element wire forming a plurality of layers in a radial direction, (See paragraph [0012], [0031], [0032]), wherein a terminal end portion of the element wire of an outermost layer among the plurality of layers is joined by: adhesion to a part of a layer adjacent at least radially inward relative to the outermost layer, (See paragraph [0034]), being drawn into an inner surface side via either one of axial end portions and adhesion to at least a part of an innermost layer, (See paragraph [0034], [0036]), or adhesion to a part of either one of the axial end portions, (optional), but does not explicitly disclose a joining strength of the terminal end portion is 5 N or more.
Hirata 2 discloses a joining strength of the terminal end portion is 5 N or more, (See paragraph [0044], Hirata 2; examples such as 9.61 or 16 N).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the winding filter of Hirata by incorporating a joining strength of the terminal end portion is 5 N or more as in Hirata 2 because “the level of the surface pressure (the contact surface pressure) between the bonding portions of the wire…is an important factor for determining the bonding strength”, (See paragraph [0041], Hirata 2), and “regardless of the relatively high pressure and high temperature caused by actuation of the airbag, the bonding portions…are maintained without loosening” ensuring “a relatively high bonding strength…with relatively low cost and improved efficiency”, (See paragraph [0047], Hirata 2).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The winding filter according to claim 1, wherein the adhesion is adhesion by welding, and the joining strength of the terminal end portion is a welding strength, (See paragraph [0034], [0036], Hirata).
Claim 4: The winding filter according to any one of claim 1, wherein a corner portion of at least one end portion of both axial end portions of the cylindrical body is formed in a rounded shape as viewed from a side, (Wire 10 of Filtration Member 1 is wound in cylindrical shape, appears rounded as in Figure 2, See paragraph [0032], Hirata).
Claim 6: The winding filter according to claim 4, wherein the element wire in an end surface of the end portion formed in the rounded shape is disposed along a surface in a direction substantially perpendicular to an axial direction of the cylindrical body, (Fray-Preventing Sections 13 wrapped horizontally while Filtration Member 1 extends vertically, See Figures 2 & 5, See paragraph [0040]; Figure 5 is an extension of Figure 2, Hirata).
Claim(s) 5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata, JP2007319781 A, (“Machine Translation of JP2007319781 A”, published 2007, 61 total pages), in view of Hirata et al., (“Hirata 2”, US 2006/0112559), in further view of Hirata, (“Hirata 3”, US 2007/0169454).
Regarding Claims 5 & 7, modified Hirata discloses the winding filter according to claim 4, wherein the rounded shape is formed by at least two element wires being arranged in parallel.
Hirata 3 discloses wherein the rounded shape is formed by at least two element wires being arranged in parallel, (See paragraphs [0045] & [0046], Hirata 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the winding filter of modified Hirata by incorporating wherein the rounded shape is formed by at least two element wires being arranged in parallel as in Hirata 3 so that “the number of reference lines can be increased as compared with the conventional filter, so that the float of the wire…can be restrained from appearing on the outer circumferential surface, and hence the occurrence of undulation on the outer circumferential surface can be restrained”, (See paragraph [0057], Hirata 3), “in order to ensure the performance of [the] inflator”, (See paragraph [0009], Hirata 3).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 7: The winding filter according to claim 5, wherein the element wire in an end surface of the end portion formed in the rounded shape is disposed along a surface in a direction substantially perpendicular to an axial direction of the cylindrical body, (Fray-Preventing Sections 13 wrapped horizontally while Filtration Member 1 extends vertically, See Figures 2 & 5, See paragraph [0040], Hirata).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779