DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 7/16/24 and 7/1/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 30 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: change “the sidelink” in line 11 to “a sidelink”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 16, and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250175810 by Miao et al. (hereinafter Miao) in view of US 20240040595 by Peng et al. (hereinafter Peng).
Regarding claim 30, Miao teaches a channel transmission device (fig. 3, shows terminal device 110-1 transmitting; ¶ 182, FIG. 12 is a simplified block diagram of a device 1200 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure), comprising:
one or more processors (fig. 12, processor 1210);
and one or more memories storing instructions executable by the one or more processors (fig. 12, memory 1220 storing program 1230; ¶ 184, The program 1230 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1210, enable the device 1200 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to FIG. 2 to 11);
wherein the one or more processors are configured to (¶ 184):
in an unlicensed frequency band (¶ 28, The terminal…can further work on…unlicensed…spectrum; ¶ 36, resources for sidelink (SL) communication may be in unlicensed bands; fig. 3, shows terminal device 110-2 performing SL communication), for each of one or more receiving devices (fig. 3, shows terminal device 110-1 receiving), map a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information to a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs) (¶ 101, terminal device 110-1 may determine the same RBs for each of the third number of the feedback channel resources. In other words, the M times transmission opportunities for HARQ feedback information associated with a sidelink data transmission with a sub-channel in a slot are allocated on the same RB(s) in each PSFCH resource; ¶ 70, how to allocate PSFCH resources (such as, in unlicensed bands); ¶ 91, interlace based RB allocation may be used in unlicensed band. Several non-consecutive PRBs may be assigned as resources of each interlace; ¶ 97, HARQ feedback information…may be transmitted on at least one of PSFCH resources #1, #2, #3, #4);
and transmit, by the plurality of IRBs, the PSFCH information to a transmitting device for the sidelink (¶ 109, terminal device 110-1 may have maximum 4 opportunities to transmit its HARQ feedback information to Tx terminal device; ¶ 101, the M times transmission opportunities for HARQ feedback information associated with a sidelink data transmission with a sub-channel in a slot are allocated on the same RB(s) in each PSFCH resource; ¶ 107, terminal device 110-1 may transmit HARQ feedback information on the corresponding PSFCH resources; ¶ 67, a sidelink data transmission on PSSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miao’s teachings with Miao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is satisfying requirement of occupied channel bandwidth (Miao ¶ 91) or avoid unnecessary retransmission and improve the transmission performance (Miao ¶ 94).
Although Miao teaches map a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information to a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), the receiving device, the plurality of IRBs, and transmit, by the plurality of IRBs, the PSFCH information to a transmitting device for the sidelink, Miao does not explicitly disclose map a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence transmitted by the receiving device to a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), wherein the plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index and transmit, by the plurality of IRBs, the PSFCH sequence to a transmitting device for the sidelink.
Peng in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a PSFCH sequence transmitted by a receiving device (¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 169, the feedback information is sent in the unlicensed frequency band, and system efficiency is improved; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource; ¶ 45, first UE is a PSSCH or PSCCH receiving-side device, or a feedback-information transmitting-side device) and a plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index (¶ 177, the resource mapping of the feedback information is related to an interlace index. For example, at 15 kHz, interlaces 0 to 5 correspond to 11 PRBs, interlaces 6 to 9 correspond to 10 PRBs, and for interlaces 0 to 5; ¶ 83, A physical resource block (PRB) may be understood as a structure of an interlace; ¶ 84, For example, at predefined 15 kHz, there are 10 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; at predefined 30 kHz, there are 5 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; ¶ 167, for a resource with an interlace of 10 PRBs. Examiner correspond interlace index to a IRB index). By modifying Miao’s teachings of mapping a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information to a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), the receiving device, the plurality of IRBs, and transmit, by the plurality of IRBs, the PSFCH information to a transmitting device for the sidelink with Peng’s teachings of a PSFCH sequence transmitted by a receiving device and a plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index, the modification results in map a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence transmitted by the receiving device to a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), wherein the plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index and transmit, by the plurality of IRBs, the PSFCH sequence to a transmitting device for the sidelink.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miao’s teachings with Peng’s above teachings. The motivation is improving system efficiency (Peng ¶ 169). Known work in one field of endeavor (Peng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (improving system efficiency) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 1 recite similar limitations of claim 30 and is thus rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the PSFCH sequence is in a first format to indicate a length of the PSFCH sequence (Peng ¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 169, the feedback information is sent in the unlicensed frequency band, and system efficiency is improved; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Peng’s above teachings. The motivation is improving system efficiency (Peng ¶ 169).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the PSFCH sequence adopts a second format to indicate that a length of the PSFCH sequence is a preset length (Peng ¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 161, a value of N satisfies one of the following; ¶ 162, the value is a predefined or preconfigured value; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource), wherein the PSFCH sequence with the preset length supports being mapped to the plurality of IRBs belonging to the same IRB index (Peng ¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 161, a value of N satisfies one of the following; ¶ 162, the value is a predefined or preconfigured value; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource; ¶ 175, the sequence is mapped to PRB 1 to PRB n; ¶ 177, the resource mapping of the feedback information is related to an interlace index. For example, at 15 kHz, interlaces 0 to 5 correspond to 11 PRBs, interlaces 6 to 9 correspond to 10 PRBs, and for interlaces 0 to 5; ¶ 83, A physical resource block (PRB) may be understood as a structure of an interlace; ¶ 84, For example, at predefined 15 kHz, there are 10 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; at predefined 30 kHz, there are 5 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; ¶ 167, for a resource with an interlace of 10 PRBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Peng’s above teachings. The motivation is improving system efficiency (Peng ¶ 169).
Regarding claim 16, Miao teaches a channel transmission method, performed by a transmitting device for a sidelink (¶ 109, Tx terminal device), comprising:
in an unlicensed frequency band (¶ 28, The terminal…can further work on…unlicensed…spectrum; ¶ 36, resources for sidelink (SL) communication may be in unlicensed bands), receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information that is transmitted by a receiving device for the sidelink through a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs) (¶ 109, terminal device 110-1 may have maximum 4 opportunities to transmit its HARQ feedback information to Tx terminal device; ¶ 101, the M times transmission opportunities for HARQ feedback information associated with a sidelink data transmission with a sub-channel in a slot are allocated on the same RB(s) in each PSFCH resource; ¶ 107, terminal device 110-1 may transmit HARQ feedback information on the corresponding PSFCH resources; ¶ 67, a sidelink data transmission on PSSCH; ¶ 70, how to allocate PSFCH resources (such as, in unlicensed bands); fig. 3, shows terminal device 110-1 receiving; ¶ 91, interlace based RB allocation may be used in unlicensed band. Several non-consecutive PRBs may be assigned as resources of each interlace; ¶ 97, HARQ feedback information…may be transmitted on at least one of PSFCH resources #1, #2, #3, #4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miao’s teachings with Miao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is satisfying requirement of occupied channel bandwidth (Miao ¶ 91) or avoid unnecessary retransmission and improve the transmission performance (Miao ¶ 94).
Although Miao teaches receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information that is transmitted by a receiving device for the sidelink through a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), Miao does not explicitly disclose receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence that is transmitted by a receiving device for the sidelink through a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), wherein the plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index.
Peng in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a PSFCH sequence transmitted by a receiving device (¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 169, the feedback information is sent in the unlicensed frequency band, and system efficiency is improved; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource; ¶ 45, first UE is a PSSCH or PSCCH receiving-side device, or a feedback-information transmitting-side device) and a plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index (¶ 177, the resource mapping of the feedback information is related to an interlace index. For example, at 15 kHz, interlaces 0 to 5 correspond to 11 PRBs, interlaces 6 to 9 correspond to 10 PRBs, and for interlaces 0 to 5; ¶ 83, A physical resource block (PRB) may be understood as a structure of an interlace; ¶ 84, For example, at predefined 15 kHz, there are 10 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; at predefined 30 kHz, there are 5 interlaces, and within each interlace, one PRB is occupied; ¶ 167, for a resource with an interlace of 10 PRBs. Examiner correspond interlace index to a IRB index). By modifying Miao’s teachings of receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) information that is transmitted by a receiving device for the sidelink through a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs) with Peng’s teachings of a PSFCH sequence transmitted by a receiving device and a plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index, the modification results in receiving a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) sequence that is transmitted by a receiving device for the sidelink through a plurality of interlaced physical resource blocks (IRBs), wherein the plurality of IRBs belong to a same IRB index.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miao’s teachings with Peng’s above teachings. The motivation is improving system efficiency (Peng ¶ 169). Known work in one field of endeavor (Peng prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (improving system efficiency) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 31, the combination teaches a channel transmission device (Miao ¶ 109, Tx terminal device; ¶ 182, FIG. 12 is a simplified block diagram of a device 1200 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure), comprising:
one or more processors (fig. 12, processor 1210);
and one or more memories storing instructions executable by the one or more processors (fig. 12, memory 1220 storing program 1230; ¶ 184, The program 1230 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1210, enable the device 1200 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to FIG. 2 to 11);
wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform the channel transmission method according to claim 16 (¶ 184; see rejection of claim 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Miao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is satisfying requirement of occupied channel bandwidth (Miao ¶ 91) or avoid unnecessary retransmission and improve the transmission performance (Miao ¶ 94).
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao and Peng and in further view of US 20230028000 by Si et al. (hereinafter Si).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1.
Although the combination teaches mapping the PSFCH sequence transmitted by the receiving device to the plurality of IRBs comprises: mapping the PSFCH sequence on each of the plurality of IRBs, , wherein the PSFCH sequence is mapped on each of the plurality of IRBs (see rejection above), the combination does not explicitly disclose repeatedly mapping the PSFCH sequence on each of the plurality of IRBs.
Si in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches repeatedly mapping the PSFCH sequence on each of the plurality of IRBs (¶ 172, mapping of sequence for PSFCH format 0 to resource elements can be repeated for each resource block in the interlace and in the active bandwidth part over the assigned physical resource blocks with the resource block dependent sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Si’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting interlace based resource allocation such that the OCB and PSD requirement can be satisfied according to the regulation of the unlicensed spectrum (Si ¶ 84). Known work in one field of endeavor (Si prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (support interlace based resource allocation such that the OCB and PSD requirement can be satisfied according to the regulation of the unlicensed spectrum) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein mapping the PSFCH sequence transmitted by the receiving device to the plurality of IRBs comprises: mapping the PSFCH sequence to at least two IRBs in the plurality of IRBs (Miao ¶ 101, terminal device 110-1 may determine the same RBs for each of the third number of the feedback channel resources. In other words, the M times transmission opportunities for HARQ feedback information associated with a sidelink data transmission with a sub-channel in a slot are allocated on the same RB(s) in each PSFCH resource; ¶ 70, how to allocate PSFCH resources (such as, in unlicensed bands); ¶ 91, interlace based RB allocation may be used in unlicensed band. Several non-consecutive PRBs may be assigned as resources of each interlace; ¶ 97, HARQ feedback information…may be transmitted on at least one of PSFCH resources #1, #2, #3, #4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Miao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is satisfying requirement of occupied channel bandwidth (Miao ¶ 91) or avoid unnecessary retransmission and improve the transmission performance (Miao ¶ 94).
Although Miao teaches mapping the PSFCH sequence to at least two IRBs in the plurality of IRBs, the combination does not explicitly disclose mapping the PSFCH sequence to at least two adjacent IRBs in the plurality of IRBs.
Si in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches repeatedly mapping PSFCH sequence to at least two adjacent IRBs in a plurality of IRBs (¶ 172, mapping of sequence for PSFCH format 0 to resource elements can be repeated for each resource block in the interlace and in the active bandwidth part over the assigned physical resource blocks with the resource block dependent sequence; fig. 9, shows mapping to at least two adjacent RBs; ¶ 97, An illustration of the interlace of resource blocks is shown in FIG. 9). By modifying Miao’s teachings of mapping the PSFCH sequence to at least two IRBs in the plurality of IRBs with Si’s teachings of repeatedly mapping PSFCH sequence to at least two adjacent IRBs in a plurality of IRBs, the modification results in mapping the PSFCH sequence to at least two adjacent IRBs in the plurality of IRBs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Si’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting interlace based resource allocation such that the OCB and PSD requirement can be satisfied according to the regulation of the unlicensed spectrum (Si ¶ 84). Known work in one field of endeavor (Si prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (support interlace based resource allocation such that the OCB and PSD requirement can be satisfied according to the regulation of the unlicensed spectrum) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao and Peng and Si and in further view of US 20210099269 by Wu et al. (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method according to claim 2.
Although the combination teaches the PSFCH sequence mapped on each of the plurality of IRBs, the combination does not explicitly disclose modulating a phase shift of the PSFCH sequence mapped on each of the plurality of IRBs.
Wu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches modulating a phase shift of a PSFCH sequence (¶ 71, HARQ feedback may be carried by a sequence, e.g., a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) modulation sequence; ¶ 63, determine a location of one or more HARQ resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback in the slot, which may be a PSFCH slot). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the PSFCH sequence mapped on each of the plurality of IRBs with Wu’s teachings of modulating a phase shift of a PSFCH sequence, the modification results in modulating a phase shift of the PSFCH sequence mapped on each of the plurality of IRBs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improvements to power consumption, spectral efficiency, higher data rates and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency operations (Wu ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wu prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (improvements to power consumption, spectral efficiency, higher data rates and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency operations) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao and Peng and in further view of WO 2021027815 by Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the method according to claim 8.
Although the combination teaches the preset length, the combination does not explicitly disclose the preset length is 120.
Li in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a length of a sequence is 120 (page 45 of 66, length of the sequence…is not less than 120 (this is teaching that length is at least 120)). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the preset length with Li’s teachings of a length of a sequence is 120, the modification results in the preset length is 120.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Li’s above teachings. The motivation is ensuring the reliability and efficiency of data transmission (Li page 2 of 66). Known work in one field of endeavor (Li prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (ensuring the reliability and efficiency of data transmission) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao and Peng and in further view of US 20210099269 by Wu et al. (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the method according to claim 16,
Although the combination teaches the PSFCH sequence transmitted on each of the plurality of IRBs (Miao ¶ 109, terminal device 110-1 may have maximum 4 opportunities to transmit its HARQ feedback information to Tx terminal device; ¶ 101, the M times transmission opportunities for HARQ feedback information associated with a sidelink data transmission with a sub-channel in a slot are allocated on the same RB(s) in each PSFCH resource; ¶ 107, terminal device 110-1 may transmit HARQ feedback information on the corresponding PSFCH resources; ¶ 67, a sidelink data transmission on PSSCH; ¶ 70, how to allocate PSFCH resources (such as, in unlicensed bands); fig. 3, shows terminal device 110-1 receiving; ¶ 91, interlace based RB allocation may be used in unlicensed band. Several non-consecutive PRBs may be assigned as resources of each interlace; ¶ 97, HARQ feedback information…may be transmitted on at least one of PSFCH resources #1, #2, #3, #4; Peng ¶ 158, a sequence of the feedback information satisfies at least one of the following; ¶ 159, the feedback information is transmitted by using a sequence with a sequence length of N; ¶ 169, the feedback information is sent in the unlicensed frequency band, and system efficiency is improved; ¶ 5, SL feedback resource is used by the first UE to send feedback information; ¶ 49, SL feedback resource includes at least one of the following; ¶ 50, a physical sidelink feedback channel PSFCH resource; ¶ 45, first UE is a PSSCH or PSCCH receiving-side device, or a feedback-information transmitting-side device), the combination does not explicitly disclose a phase shift of the PSFCH sequence transmitted on each of the plurality of IRBs is modulated.
Wu in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a phase shift of a PSFCH sequence is modulated (¶ 71, HARQ feedback may be carried by a sequence, e.g., a quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) modulation sequence; ¶ 63, determine a location of one or more HARQ resources for transmitting the HARQ feedback in the slot, which may be a PSFCH slot). By modifying the combination’s teachings of the PSFCH sequence transmitted on each of the plurality of IRBs with Wu’s teachings of a phase shift of a PSFCH sequence is modulated, the modification results in a phase shift of the PSFCH sequence transmitted on each of the plurality of IRBs is modulated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wu’s above teachings. The motivation is improvements to power consumption, spectral efficiency, higher data rates and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency operations (Wu ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wu prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Miao prior art) based on design incentives (improvements to power consumption, spectral efficiency, higher data rates and, in some examples, may promote enhanced efficiency for high reliability and low latency operations) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 10-12, 14-15, and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see form PTO-892.
/PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476