DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
A preliminary amendment, filed 7/8/2024, is acknowledged. Claims 2-5 are canceled; claim 6 is added. No new matter is present. Claims 1 and 6 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is a single figure incorrectly labeled as “Fig. 1” rather than, for example, “Figure.” Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “FIG.” must not appear. 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN108396223A)(machine translation provided).
With respect to Claim 1, Li teaches a steel composition comprising Ni and Cr (thus, a Ni-Cr-Fe alloy) with a composition, in mass%, as follows (pgs. 1-2 of translation):
Claim 1
Li
C
0.002-0.030
≤ 0.025
Si
0.05-0.50
≤ 0.6
Mn
0.10-1.50
1.5-7.0
P
≤ 0.050
≤ 0.025
S
≤ 0.0200
≤ 0.005
Ni
29.0-40.0
20.0-38.0
Cr
24.00-30.00
22.0-35.0
Mo
5.0-7.5
5.5-8.0
N
0.20-0.40
0.35-0.75
Al
≤ 0.50
-
Ca
0.0002-0.0040
0.01-0.06
B
0.0001-0.005
0.0005-0.012
Cu
0-0.40
0.25-1.20
W
0-1.00
≤ 3.0
Sn
0-0.50
-
Co
0-0.50
-
V
0-0.50
0.05-0.20*
Nb
0-0.50
0.05-0.20*
Ti
0-0.50
0.05-0.20*
Zr
0-0.200
-
Hf
0-0.200
-
Ta
0-0.50
-
Rare earth metal
0-0.0030
0.005-0.12
Fe
Balance with impurities
Balance with inevitable impurities
*one or more
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Therefore, Li teaches an alloy with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges and not comprising any additional elements outside those claimed using the closed transitional phrase “consisting of.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
In addition, regarding the composition-based “Formula (1)” of claim 1, the instantly claimed formula fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the Ni-Cr-Fe alloy of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 6, Li teaches wherein the alloy may comprise contents of one or more of Cu, W, V, Nb, Ti and rare earth metals overlapping the instantly claimed ranges. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizoguchi et al. (JP2013199661A)(machine translation provided).
With respect to Claim 1, Mizoguchi teaches a steel composition comprising Ni and Cr (thus, a Ni-Cr-Fe alloy) with a composition, in mass%, as follows (pgs. 1, 3-4 of translation):
Claim 1
Mizoguchi
C
0.002-0.030
0.001-0.030
Si
0.05-0.50
0.10-0.70
Mn
0.10-1.50
0.10-1.00
P
≤ 0.050
≤ 0.045
S
≤ 0.0200
≤ 0.003
Ni
29.0-40.0
18.0-40.0
Cr
24.00-30.00
20.0-30.0
Mo
5.0-7.5
3.0-8.0
N
0.20-0.40
0.05-0.30
Al
≤ 0.50
≤ 0.13
Ca
0.0002-0.0040
3 x S to 0.20 total**
B
0.0001-0.005
0.0005-0.020
Cu
0-0.40
0.05-2.0
W
0-1.00
-
Sn
0-0.50
-
Co
0-0.50
-
V
0-0.50
-
Nb
0-0.50
-
Ti
0-0.50
-
Zr
0-0.200
3 x S to 0.20 total**
Hf
0-0.200
-
Ta
0-0.50
-
Rare earth metal
0-0.0030
10 x S content to 0.20
Fe
Balance with impurities
Balance
** total of Ca, Mg, Zr
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Therefore, Mizoguchi teaches an alloy with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges and not comprising any additional elements outside those claimed using the closed transitional phrase “consisting of.” Specifically, the reference teaches the optional addition of a combined total content of Ca, Mg and Zr (noting that Mg is not a claimed element) where the lower limit is based on the sulfur content of the alloy. As Mizoguchi does not teach a lower limit of sulfur, the lower limit of Ca, Mg, and Zr is interpreted as zero and any incidental content of S, and thereby Mg, is deemed to fall within an impurity level. Accordingly, the reference does not require a content of an element outside those claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
In addition, regarding the composition-based “Formula (1)” of claim 1, the instantly claimed formula fully depends on the composition of the alloy. It is well settled that there is no invention in the discovery of a general formula if it covers a composition described in the prior art. In the instant case, as the Ni-Cr-Fe alloy of the prior art is capable of falling within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition formulas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected any portion of the disclosed ranges which fall within the boundaries of the instantly claimed composition-based formulas because the reference discloses utility throughout the disclosed ranges. See also MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 6, Mizoguchi teaches wherein the alloy may comprise contents of one or more of Cu, Zr, and rare earth metals overlapping the instantly claimed ranges. (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2001/0012491, drawn to an alloy overlapping most but not all of the instantly claimed ranges. US 2025/0327154, drawn to a related alloy having a substantially similar composition but requiring a rare earth metal content outside the instantly claimed ranges.
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735