Final Rejection
DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 06/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 2-3. Accordingly, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and all subsequent dependent claims have been considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (JP H0424580 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached) in view of Sugae (US 20200301009 A1) and Matsuura (WO 2018221255 A1, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura teaches an object detection device comprising: a transmitting unit (22) configured to transmit a transmission wave in which a plurality of ultrasonic waves of different frequencies (transmitter 22 generates transmission signals of frequencies f1 and f2). (Abstract, Page.2, lines 4-8)
Kawamura also teaches a receiving unit (31a-32a) configured to receive a reflected wave produced by reflection of the transmission wave from an object (The signal processor 31a extracts the received frequency f1 by a filter 311, while the signal processor 32a extracts the received frequency f2 by a filter 32a). (Abstract, Page.2, lines 41-45)
Kawamura also teaches a frequency analysis unit configured to generate separated echo information indicating temporal changes in amplitude value for each of a plurality of frequency components contained in the reflected wave (Signal-processing machine 31a extracts received frequency f1 with filter 311, and signal processing machine 32a extracts received frequency f2 with filter 312). (Abstract, Page.2, lines 41-45)
Kawamura also teaches a calculation unit configured to generate distance information about a distance to the object (sonar device…suitable for the long distance search). (Page.1, line 25-Page.2, line 4)
Kawamura does not explicitly teach different frequencies are multiplexed and based on a maximum amplitude value that is the largest of a plurality of the amplitude values detected for the individual frequency components at the same time, the maximum amplitude value being obtained from the separated echo information and wherein the separated echo information indicates temporal changes in amplitude value for at least two frequency components contained in the reflected wave, and the calculation unit compares the amplitude values of the at least two frequency components at each time to select the maximum amplitude value.
Sugae also teaches different frequencies are multiplexed. (Paragraph 130, Claim 2)
Sugae also teaches based on a maximum amplitude value (peak) that is the largest of a plurality of the amplitude values detected for the individual frequency components at the same time, the maximum amplitude value being obtained from the separated echo information. (Paragraph 114, Claim 2)
Matsuura teaches wherein the separated echo information indicates temporal changes in amplitude value for at least two frequency components contained in the reflected wave, and the calculation unit compares the amplitude values of the at least two frequency components at each time to select the maximum amplitude value. (Page.20, lines 19-27, Page.13, lines 36-47)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawamura to incorporate different frequencies are multiplexed and based on a maximum amplitude value that is the largest of a plurality of the amplitude values detected for the individual frequency components at the same time, the maximum amplitude value being obtained from the separated echo information as taught by Sugae in order to identify a correspondence relationship between one or more frequencies and estimates the amount of the frequency transition on the basis of a difference between the frequencies which correspond to each other and further modify Kawamura to incorporate wherein the separated echo information indicates temporal changes in amplitude value for at least two frequency components contained in the reflected wave, and the calculation unit compares the amplitude values of the at least two frequency components at each time to select the maximum amplitude value as taught by Matsuura in order to improve the appearance of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura teaches wherein transmission of the transmission wave and reception of the reflected wave are performed using a common transducer. (Page.1, lines 14-18, Fig.5)
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura in view of Sugae, Matsuura and Ralston (US 20170307741 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura does not explicitly teach wherein the calculation unit generates the distance information, based on corrected echo information generated from the separated echo information, the corrected echo information indicating temporal changes in the maximum amplitude value.
Ralston teaches wherein the calculation unit generates the distance information, based on corrected echo information generated from the separated echo information, the corrected echo information indicating temporal changes in the maximum amplitude value. (Paragraphs 80-81, Fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kawamura to incorporate wherein the calculation unit generates the distance information, based on corrected echo information generated from the separated echo information, the corrected echo information indicating temporal changes in the maximum amplitude value as taught by Ralston in order to produce imagery with desired characteristics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645