DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 28 (Group III) directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed and examined (Group I) for the following reasons:
Group I and Group II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because the combination does not require heat to be generated. The subcombination has separate utility such as generation of heat.
There would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(b) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(c) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(d) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 28 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beckett et al. (US 2019/0255654, of record as provided in 10/14/26 IDS).
As to claims 11 and 18, Beckett discloses a method for pretreating a surface (surface of object) of a workpiece (object on 105 and/or 155) for joining following the pretreating, the method comprising: radiating a laser energy beam 101 (para 46-52, figs 1-3) onto the surface to pretreat the surface (para 3-5, 43-52, figs 1-3, 19a, 20); while the energy beam is being radiated onto the surface (para 5-7, 43-45, figs 1-3, 19a), capturing electromagnetic radiation 106 resulting from an interaction of the energy beam with the surface (para 43-45, radiation 106 on account of interaction with 104, fig 1-3) by a capture device 109/110 (figs 1-3, 19a, 20, associated text, para 42-62), the capture device providing at least one electrical signal (signal sent to control device computer) characterizing the captured electromagnetic radiation; capturing the electromagnetic radiation by a first sensor 109 of the capture device in a first wavelength range (para 7-9 146, claims 1, 5, figs 1-3); capturing the electromagnetic radiation by a second sensor 110 of the capture device in a second wavelength range that at least partially differs from the first wavelength range (figs 1-4b, 5, 19a-20, para 7-9, 43-62, claims 1, 5, 10) and monitoring, by an evaluation device (116), the pretreating based on the at least one electrical signal (figs 1-4b, 5, 19a-20, para 7-9, 43-72, claims 1, 5, 10).
As to claim 12, Beckett discloses the method further comprising comparing, by the evaluation device, an actual signal with a target signal, the actual signal comprising the electrical signal or at least one evaluation signal generated from the electrical signal; and monitoring the pretreating based on the comparing (fig 5, para 71-79, claim 1)
As to claim 13, Beckett discloses the method comprising: outputting at least one haptically and/or optically and/or acoustically perceptible warning signal by a playback device in response to a deviation of the actual signal from the target signal exceeding a threshold value (para 61, 145).
As to claim 14, Beckett discloses wherein a frequency at which the electromagnetic radiation is captured by the capture device and at least temporarily stored is at least 10 kHz (para 76).
As to claim 19, Beckett discloses the method comprising: joining, after the pretreating the surface, the workpiece to at least one further component by connecting the workpiece to the at least one further component via the pretreated surface (para 4-7, joined to the subsequent layer via additive manufacturing figs 1-4b, 5, 19a-20, para 43-72, claims 1, 5, 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckett, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Thomas (US 2016/0256959).
As to claim 15, While Beckett discloses the manner of radiating the energy beam can be varied widely, Beckett does not expressly disclose the energy beam can be radiated in a pulsed manner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to radiate the energy beam of Beckett in a pulsed manner as taught by Thomas (para 41-444) as such is a known and conventional radiating means and has a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 16, Thomas discloses the method comprising: radiating the energy beam onto the surface in a pulsed manner at a frequency of at least 1 kHz (Thomas, para 81).
As to claim 20, Thomas discloses the method wherein the connecting comprises adhesively bonding the workpiece to the at least one further component via the pretreated surface (para 12-17, 85, 87, 93).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/24/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746