Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (USPGPub 2006/0260734) in view of Kniajer et al. (WO01/30714).
Regarding claims 1-5, Brown teaches forming an enamel paste [0027] comprising glass frit (see Table 3), pigment, an organic carrier medium (see Table 5), magnesium peroxide and zinc peroxide (claim 4). Brown fails to teach wherein the second oxidizer is barium peroxide. However, Kniajer teaches that barium peroxide is a known substitute for zinc peroxide in the production of glass enamel as an oxidizer component (claim 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the barium peroxide of Kniajer with the magnesium peroxide of Brown as a simple substitution of one known glass enamel oxidizer for another wherein the results of the substitution would be predictable based upon the teachings of Kniajer.
Regarding claims 6-8, the teachings of Brown in view of Kniajer are as shown above. Brown in view of Kniajer fails to teach wherein the total amount of oxidizer is in the claimed range, although the range of Brown overlaps that of the current claims. However, Brown clearly indicates that the level of oxidizer present in the composition controls the level of oxygen present in the composition which thereby controls the firing of the organic component (abstract). Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific oxidizer content range of the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of oxidizer present in Brown in order to control the firing of the organic component of Brown as described by Brown. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claims 9-11, 13 and 17-18, Brown teaches the use of amounts of oxidizer (claim 5), glass frit (claim 5), pigment (claim 5), organic vehicle (claim 15) and seed material [0026] reading upon the currently claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 12, Brown teaches wherein the seed material is crystalline (claim 15) bismuth silicate [0026].
Regarding claims 14-16, Brown teaches the use of a vitreous glass frit composition comprising bismuth borosilicate and zinc borosilicate (i.e., a bismuth-boron-zinc system) (claim 9) and a crystallizing bismuth silicate (seed material) in the percentages claimed as shown above.
Regarding claims 19-21, Brown teaches forming an enamel paste [0027] comprising glass frit (see Table 3), pigment, an organic carrier medium (see Table 5), magnesium peroxide and strontium peroxide (claim 4) wherein the paste is deposited, dried at a temperature in the claimed range and successively fired at a temperature in the claimed range wherein a substrate is disposed over the dried enamel prior to firing [0042].
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Brown fails to teaches the use of a combination of magnesium peroxide and barium peroxide as claimed. However, these arguments are moot in view of newly provided art showing the use of barium peroxide as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717