DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. Claims 1-7 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “oscillation axis selection unit that selects – corresponding to element 13 in Fig. 1”, “output unit that outputs – corresponding to element 902 in Fig. 9”, “retainer unit that retains – corresponding to element 12 in Fig. 1”, “setting input unit that sets – corresponding to element 11 in Fig. 1” and “oscillation control unit that performs – corresponding to element 14 in Fig. 1” in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim limitation “output unit” and “output step of” in claims 1 and 7 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3 are also rejected because they depend on a base claim that is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statuary subject matter.
Claim 7 is drawn to a “computer program", per se, therefore, fail(s) to fall within a statutory category of invention.
A claim directed to a computer program itself is non-statutory because it is not:
A process, or
A machine, or
A manufacture, or
A composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (Yamamoto; US 2020/0016712) in view of Uenishi (US 2016/0039014).
For claim 1, Yamamoto discloses an information processing device [E.g. 0025: a machine tool 10 and the controller 20 which controls the machine tool 10, 0030] comprising:
an oscillation axis selection unit that selects, from among a plurality of feed axes, one specific axis as an oscillation axis for oscillating cutting that is performed by oscillating only one specific axis, or abstains from selecting any of the plurality of feed axes as an axis to be oscillated [E.g. 0027: The machine tool 10 includes a spindle M0 and at least two feed axes M1 and M2 which perform a coordinated operation with the spindle M0. The spindle M0 includes a spindle motor or a servo motor, and the feed axes M1 and M2 include a servo motor. The spindle M0 and the feed axes M1 and M2 are controlled by the controller 20. The spindle M0 rotates the workpiece W about the center axis line (Z axis) of the workpiece. The feed axis M1 can both feed the tool 11 in the direction of the Z axis (first direction) and reciprocate the tool 11 in the direction of the Z axis, that is, make the tool 11 oscillate. The feed axis M2 can both feed the tool 11 in the direction of the X axis (second direction) and reciprocate the tool 11 in the direction of the X axis, that is, make the tool 11 oscillate, 0036: The intermittent cutting described above means that cutting is performed on the workpiece W while the tool 11 is being brought into contact with and separated from the workpiece W in a periodic manner, and is also referred to as oscillation cutting or vibration cutting. Although in FIG. 1, the workpiece W is rotated, and simultaneously, the tool 11 oscillates with respect to the workpiece W, the tool 11 may be rotated about the center axis line of the workpiece W, and simultaneously, the workpiece W may oscillate with respect to the tool 11. Although in FIG. 1, each of the feed axes M1 and M2 performs both the feed operation and the oscillation operation on the workpiece W, the feed operation and the oscillation operation on the workpiece W may be performed with separate feed axes, respectively, 0009: the oscillation command creation unit creates, when the machining condition indicates machining by an interpolation operation of one feed axis of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to make the tool and the workpiece oscillate relatively in a direction along a machining path and changes, when the machining condition indicates machining by a simultaneous interpolation operation of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to change the direction of the oscillation with respect to the machining path, 0015: when the machining condition indicates machining by an interpolation operation of one feed axis of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to make the tool and the workpiece oscillate relatively in a direction along a machining path and changes, when the machining condition indicates machining by a simultaneous interpolation operation of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to stop the oscillation; 0030, 0035, 0037]; and
an output unit that outputs a result of selection by the oscillation axis selection unit [E.g. 0034-0037, 0030].
Yamamoto fails to expressly disclose that the selection is based on tool shape data allowing for recognizing a tool shape, positional relationship data indicating a positional relationship between a workpiece and a tool, or tool-for-use data allowing for identifying a tool to be used, and movement data allowing for relatively moving the workpiece and the tool.
However, as shown by Uenishi, it was well known in the art of machine tools that selection is based on tool shape data allowing for recognizing a tool shape [0053, 0057, 0062, 0070, 0085], positional relationship data indicating a positional relationship between a workpiece and a tool [0005-0006, 0050, 0085-0090], or tool-for-use data allowing for identifying a tool to be used, and movement data allowing for relatively moving the workpiece and the tool [0031-0034, 0022-0023, 0110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of machine tools before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto with the teaching of Uenishi in order to enable selecting or not selecting an oscillation axis based on the tool characteristics and thereby improve the selection process, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 5, Yamamoto discloses a machine tool control device for a machine tool that performs oscillating cutting by oscillating only one specific axis [E.g. 0009, 0015, 0025-0029 0036], the machine tool control device comprising:
an oscillation axis selection unit that selects, from among a plurality of feed axes, one specific axis as an oscillation axis for oscillating cutting that is performed by oscillating only one specific axis, or abstains from selecting any of the plurality of feed axes as an axis to be oscillated [E.g. 0027: The machine tool 10 includes a spindle M0 and at least two feed axes M1 and M2 which perform a coordinated operation with the spindle M0. The spindle M0 includes a spindle motor or a servo motor, and the feed axes M1 and M2 include a servo motor. The spindle M0 and the feed axes M1 and M2 are controlled by the controller 20. The spindle M0 rotates the workpiece W about the center axis line (Z axis) of the workpiece. The feed axis M1 can both feed the tool 11 in the direction of the Z axis (first direction) and reciprocate the tool 11 in the direction of the Z axis, that is, make the tool 11 oscillate. The feed axis M2 can both feed the tool 11 in the direction of the X axis (second direction) and reciprocate the tool 11 in the direction of the X axis, that is, make the tool 11 oscillate, 0009: when the machining condition indicates machining by an interpolation operation of one feed axis of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to make the tool and the workpiece oscillate relatively in a direction along a machining path and changes, when the machining condition indicates machining by a simultaneous interpolation operation of the plurality of feed axes, 0015: when the machining condition indicates machining by a simultaneous interpolation operation of the plurality of feed axes, the oscillation command so as to stop the oscillation; 0030, 0035, 0037]; and
an oscillation control unit that performs control to oscillate the one specific axis selected by the oscillation axis selection unit or control not to oscillate any of the feed axes, based on a machining condition and a result of selection by the oscillation axis selection unit [E.g. 0009, 0030-0037, 0015].
Yamamoto fails to expressly disclose that the selection is based on tool shape data allowing for recognizing a tool shape, positional relationship data indicating a positional relationship between a workpiece and a tool, or tool-for-use data allowing for identifying a tool to be used, and movement data allowing for relatively moving the workpiece and the tool.
However, as shown by Uenishi, it was well known in the art of machine tools that selection is based on tool shape data allowing for recognizing a tool shape [0053, 0057, 0062, 0070, 0085], positional relationship data indicating a positional relationship between a workpiece and a tool [0005-0006, 0050, 0085-0090], or tool-for-use data allowing for identifying a tool to be used, and movement data allowing for relatively moving the workpiece and the tool [0031-0034, 0022-0023, 0110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of machine tools before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamamoto with the teaching of Uenishi in order to enable selecting or not selecting an oscillation axis based on the tool characteristics and thereby improve the selection process, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 7, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tezuka et al. (US 2018/0335765; which teaches periodically oscillating the tool or the workpiece in the machining direction of the workpiece by feed axes in advance. Typically, in the number control device of machine tools, an NC program capable of setting machining conditions such as the spindle rotation speed and the feed speed and various parameters is created and stored, and the feed command of the above oscillation operations is generated in accordance with the NC program. Thus, an operator can change the machining conditions and the various parameters set in the NC program in the numerical control device to determine the frequency, amplitude, etc., of the feed command for the oscillation operations).
Horikawa et al. (US 2021/0101240; which teaches a control device for a machine tool capable of performing thread cutting while reducing the load on the machine tool from the oscillating operation, without extending the cycle time, and capable of reliably shredding chips in a case of performing the non-oscillating operation in the present pass after the oscillating operation in the previous pass. A control device for a machine tool includes: an oscillating operation execution determination unit that determines whether to execute an oscillating operation that causes the cutting tool to oscillate in the radial direction of the workpiece; an oscillation command generation unit that generates an oscillation command of the oscillating operation based on a determination result; a control unit that superimposes the oscillation command on a position command of the feed axis to generate a drive command).
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689