DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 1, 2024, and September 2, 2025, were filed after the mailing date of the application on July 8, 2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a battery management system …” in claim 1.
“a plurality of battery exchange devices …configured to store and charge…” in claim 1.
“a terminal device …” in claim 1.
“the terminal device …” in claim 7.
“a terminal device …” in claim 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7, line 4, “the terminal device,” should read --a terminal device-- as there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-6 and 8 are drawn to machines and claim 7 is drawn to a process, each of which is within the four statutory categories (e.g., a process, a machine). (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A – Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether they recite a judicial exception.
Claim 1 (representative of claims 7) recites/describes the following steps:
“manage exchanging states of the battery devices at the battery exchange devices;”
“…enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station,”
“acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user…,”
“control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station,” and
“…providing the user with guidance on the battery stations based on control of the rental mode thereof and including information on a transition state to the expanded rental mode at each battery station.”
Claim 8 recites/describes the following steps:
“…enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station,”
“provide the setting information regarding the expanded rental mode… according to specification by the user on the setting screen,” and
“…provides the user with guidance on battery stations according to control of switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station, and includes information on a transition state to the expanded rental mode at each battery station,…”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth providing guidance to users for renting battery devices based on user specifications, which amounts to commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Dependent claim 2 recites the additional limitations of “wherein the server device is configured to cause the terminal device to display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map” which is further analyzed below.
Dependent claim 3 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “acquire information regarding battery exchange reservation according to an operation by the user on the guidance screen displayed on the terminal device.” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 3 is rejected due to being abstract and does not recite any additional elements/limitations.
Dependent claim 4 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “in a case where it is found, by referring to the setting information acquired according to specification by the user on the setting screen, that the user desires the switching of the rental mode, execute switching of the rental mode when a predetermined transition condition is satisfied” “…enables the user to specify whether to permit switching of the rental mode between the normal rental mode and the expanded rental mode,” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 4 recites the additional limitation “wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device…,” which is further analyzed below.
Dependent claim 5 recites the additional limitations of “wherein the server device is configured to highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode” which are further analyzed below.
Dependent claim 6 recites the same abstract idea as the independent claims because it recites the limitation “acquire the setting information including the expanded rental condition according to specification by the user on the setting screen” “enables the user to select an option presented by at least one of a number representing a threshold regarding a state of charge of the battery devices, a number representing a travelable distance corresponding to the threshold, and an image representing a charge level corresponding to the threshold, as the expanded rental condition” that further defines the abstract idea. Claim 6 recites the additional limitations of “wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device…” which are further analyzed below.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
The claims recite the additional elements/limitations of: “a battery management system,” “a plurality of battery exchange devices located in respective battery stations,” “battery devices,” “a server device connected to the plurality of battery exchange devices via a network,” “a terminal device,” (claim 1); “a server device for managing battery stations,” “battery devices,” (claim 7); “a terminal device carried by a user and connected to a server device via a network,” “each battery station,” (claim 8).
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a battery management system,” “a plurality of battery exchange devices located in respective battery stations,” “battery devices,” “a server device connected to the plurality of battery exchange devices via a network,” “a terminal device,” (claim 1); “a server device for managing battery stations,” “battery devices,” (claim 7); “a terminal device carried by a user and connected to a server device via a network,” “each battery station,” (claim 8), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See § MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claims also recite the additional elements/limitations of: “display, on the terminal device, a setting screen” “display a guidance screen on the terminal device,” (claims 1 and 7); “display a setting screen,” “display a guidance screen,” (claim 8).
The dependent claims also recite the additional elements/limitations of: “display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map” (claim 2); “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 4); “highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode” (claim 5); and “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 6).
The recited additional elements of “display, on the terminal device, a setting screen” “display a guidance screen on the terminal device,” (claims 1 and 7); “display a setting screen,” “display a guidance screen,” (claim 8); “display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map” (claim 2); “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 4); “highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode” (claim 5); and “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 6), simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere pre-solution activity, such as data gathering, in conjunction with an abstract idea; mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). The term “extra-solution activity” is understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. The recited additional elements are deemed “extra-solution” because they are merely presenting data/information to a user. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Remaining dependent claim 3 either recites the same additional elements as noted above or fails to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2,” the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “a battery management system,” “a plurality of battery exchange devices located in respective battery stations,” “battery devices,” “a server device connected to the plurality of battery exchange devices via a network,” “a terminal device,” (claim 1); “a server device for managing battery stations,” “battery devices,” (claim 7); “a terminal device carried by a user and connected to a server device via a network,” “each battery station,” (claim 8), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2”, the recited additional elements of “display, on the terminal device, a setting screen” “display a guidance screen on the terminal device,” (claims 1 and 7); “display a setting screen,” “display a guidance screen,” (claim 8); “display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map” (claim 2); “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 4); “highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode” (claim 5); and “display the setting screen on the terminal device,” (claim 6), even if considered to be an “additional” element for the purpose of the eligibility analysis, would simply append insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, (e.g., mere post-solution activity in conjunction with an abstract idea). These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, additionally amount to well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, appended to the judicial exception. These additional elements, taken individually or in combination, are well-understood, routine and conventional to those in the field of user interfaces. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(d). This conclusion is based on a factual determination. The determination that receiving data/messages over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional is supported by Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014), and MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), which note the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of receiving data/messages over a network.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer, generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity), and appended with well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
Remaining dependent claim 3 either recites the same additional elements as noted above or fails to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aloe (US 2016/0071079 A1) in view of Ong et al. (US 2022/0036330 A1), hereinafter Ong.
Regarding claim 1, Aloe discloses a battery management system, comprising:
a plurality of battery exchange devices located in respective battery stations (Par. [0019], Generally, the present invention involves one or a plurality of battery pack vending kiosks, and a central server system that controls the kiosks and tracks inventory status, sales, and the like) and configured to store and charge battery devices returned by users and to rent charged battery devices to the users in exchange for the returned battery devices (Par. [0043], the system may operate with multiple kiosks, and may allow a customer to rent a battery pack from one kiosk and return it at another);
a server device connected to the plurality of battery exchange devices via a network and configured to manage exchanging states of the battery devices at the battery exchange devices (Par. [0049], the server may be configured to control the charging, recharging, and positioning of the battery packs, and may control aspects of the kiosk such as activating a charging of a battery pack, deactivating of the charging of the battery pack, movement of the battery pack from a return area, to a charging unit, to a vending rack, and the like); and
a terminal device carried by a user and connected to the server device via the network (Par. [0009], a computerized user interface module that provides a user interface to a customer. The user interface module allows a user to identify one or more of a plurality of battery packs based on the desired device to be charged. The user interface module then guides the customer through the rental or purchase process including selecting a rental time period (if applicable) and payment), wherein the server device is configured to
display a guidance screen on the terminal device, the guidance screen providing the user with guidance on the battery stations based on control of the rental mode thereof and including information on a transition state to the expanded rental mode at each battery station (Par. [0029], once the interface is activated, the system may display an inventory level based on the number of battery packs capable of being vended (i.e. charged and ready) for each device or device category. Further, once the interface is activated, the system may inform the customer if the kiosk is experiencing any difficulties).
Aloe does not explicitly disclose display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device, control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station.
Ong teaches display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station (Par. [0093], The mobile vehicle may be configured to rapid charge the battery pack(s) up to a defined value, for example up to 70%. Thus, when the battery packs are delivered to Station 2 they are ready for users to swap, thereby increasing service quality provided to the users),
acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device (Par. [0048], The mobile app, directed by the data management system, prompts the user with an option to swap a battery pack and based on the users' input),
control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station (Par. [0046], ne advantage of the system and method of the present invention is the flexibility of the system and in some instances a user may wish to swap a used battery for a new battery that is not fully charged based on a users' need).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device, control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Aloe does not explicitly disclose wherein the server device is configured to cause the terminal device to display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map. Ong teaches wherein the server device is configured to cause the terminal device to display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map (Par. [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “wherein the server device is configured to cause the terminal device to display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Aloe discloses wherein the server device is configured to acquire information regarding battery exchange reservation according to an operation by the user on the guidance screen displayed on the terminal device (Par. [0032], a shopping module of the user interface may guide a user through the shopping process to either rent or buy a battery pack suitable for charging the device of their choosing).
Regarding claim 4, Aloe does not explicitly disclose wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to specify whether to permit switching of the rental mode between the normal rental mode and the expanded rental mode, and in a case where it is found, by referring to the setting information acquired according to specification by the user on the setting screen, that the user desires the switching of the rental mode, execute switching of the rental mode when a predetermined transition condition is satisfied.
Ong teaches display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to specify whether to permit switching of the rental mode between the normal rental mode and the expanded rental mode (Par. [0048], The mobile app, directed by the data management system, prompts the user with an option to swap a battery pack and based on the users' input), and in a case where it is found, by referring to the setting information acquired according to specification by the user on the setting screen, that the user desires the switching of the rental mode, execute switching of the rental mode when a predetermined transition condition is satisfied (Par. [0046], ne advantage of the system and method of the present invention is the flexibility of the system and in some instances a user may wish to swap a used battery for a new battery that is not fully charged based on a users' need).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to specify whether to permit switching of the rental mode between the normal rental mode and the expanded rental mode, and in a case where it is found, by referring to the setting information acquired according to specification by the user on the setting screen, that the user desires the switching of the rental mode, execute switching of the rental mode when a predetermined transition condition is satisfied,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Aloe does not explicitly disclose wherein the server device is configured to highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode. Ong teaches wherein the server device is configured to cause the terminal device to display the guidance screen in which battery stations where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode are superimposed on a map (Par. [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “highlight, in the guidance screen, a battery icon related to each battery station where rental of the battery devices is possible in the expanded rental mode,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6, Aloe does not explicitly disclose wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to select an option presented by at least one of a number representing a threshold regarding a state of charge of the battery devices, a number representing a travelable distance corresponding to the threshold, and an image representing a charge level corresponding to the threshold, as the expanded rental condition, and acquire the setting information including the expanded rental condition according to specification by the user on the setting screen.
Ong teaches wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to select an option presented by at least one of a number representing a threshold regarding a state of charge of the battery devices, a number representing a travelable distance corresponding to the threshold, and an image representing a charge level corresponding to the threshold, as the expanded rental condition, and acquire the setting information including the expanded rental condition according to specification by the user on the setting screen (Par. [0087], for a battery pack exhibiting a low state of health parameter as compared to a defined threshold, the central server may control the depth of discharge of the battery pack to be kept low, such as for example limiting the battery pack operation so that the battery no longer discharges once it reaches a certain charge level, capacity or operating life such as 10-20%. In this instance, the user is notified to swap the battery pack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “wherein the server device is configured to display the setting screen on the terminal device such that the setting screen enables the user to select an option presented by at least one of a number representing a threshold regarding a state of charge of the battery devices, a number representing a travelable distance corresponding to the threshold, and an image representing a charge level corresponding to the threshold, as the expanded rental condition, and acquire the setting information including the expanded rental condition according to specification by the user on the setting screen,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7, Aloe discloses a battery management method used by a server device for managing battery stations (Par. [0019], Generally, the present invention involves one or a plurality of battery pack vending kiosks, and a central server system that controls the kiosks and tracks inventory status, sales, and the like) where users exchange battery devices and for managing the battery devices (Par. [0043], the system may operate with multiple kiosks, and may allow a customer to rent a battery pack from one kiosk and return it at another), the battery management method comprising:
a server device connected to the plurality of battery exchange devices via a network and configured to manage exchanging states of the battery devices at the battery exchange devices (Par. [0049], the server may be configured to control the charging, recharging, and positioning of the battery packs, and may control aspects of the kiosk such as activating a charging of a battery pack, deactivating of the charging of the battery pack, movement of the battery pack from a return area, to a charging unit, to a vending rack, and the like); and
a terminal device carried by a user and connected to the server device via the network (Par. [0009], a computerized user interface module that provides a user interface to a customer. The user interface module allows a user to identify one or more of a plurality of battery packs based on the desired device to be charged. The user interface module then guides the customer through the rental or purchase process including selecting a rental time period (if applicable) and payment), wherein the server device is configured to
display a guidance screen on the terminal device, the guidance screen providing the user with guidance on the battery stations based on control of the rental mode thereof and including information on a transition state to the expanded rental mode at each battery station (Par. [0029], once the interface is activated, the system may display an inventory level based on the number of battery packs capable of being vended (i.e. charged and ready) for each device or device category. Further, once the interface is activated, the system may inform the customer if the kiosk is experiencing any difficulties).
Aloe does not explicitly disclose display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device, control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station.
Ong teaches display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station (Par. [0093], The mobile vehicle may be configured to rapid charge the battery pack(s) up to a defined value, for example up to 70%. Thus, when the battery packs are delivered to Station 2 they are ready for users to swap, thereby increasing service quality provided to the users),
acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device (Par. [0048], The mobile app, directed by the data management system, prompts the user with an option to swap a battery pack and based on the users' input),
control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station (Par. [0046], ne advantage of the system and method of the present invention is the flexibility of the system and in some instances a user may wish to swap a used battery for a new battery that is not fully charged based on a users' need).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, acquire and store setting information regarding the expanded rental mode according to specification made by the user on the setting screen displayed on the terminal device, control, by referring to the setting information, switching between the expanded rental mode and a normal rental mode which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 8, Aloe discloses a terminal device carried by a user and connected to a server device via a network (Par. [0009], a computerized user interface module that provides a user interface to a customer. The user interface module allows a user to identify one or more of a plurality of battery packs based on the desired device to be charged. The user interface module then guides the customer through the rental or purchase process including selecting a rental time period (if applicable) and payment), the terminal device being configured to
display a guidance screen that provides the user with guidance on battery stations which permits rental of only fully charged battery devices at each battery station, and includes information on a transition state to the expanded rental mode at each battery station, the control being conducted by the server device by referring to the setting information (Par. [0029], once the interface is activated, the system may display an inventory level based on the number of battery packs capable of being vended (i.e. charged and ready) for each device or device category. Further, once the interface is activated, the system may inform the customer if the kiosk is experiencing any difficulties).
Aloe does not explicitly disclose display a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, provide the setting information regarding the expanded rental mode to the server device according to specification by the user on the setting screen.
Ong teaches display, on the terminal device, a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station (Par. [0093], The mobile vehicle may be configured to rapid charge the battery pack(s) up to a defined value, for example up to 70%. Thus, when the battery packs are delivered to Station 2 they are ready for users to swap, thereby increasing service quality provided to the users),
provide the setting information regarding the expanded rental mode to the server device according to specification by the user on the setting screen (Par. [0048], The mobile app, directed by the data management system, prompts the user with an option to swap a battery pack and based on the users' input; Par. [0046], ne advantage of the system and method of the present invention is the flexibility of the system and in some instances a user may wish to swap a used battery for a new battery that is not fully charged based on a users' need).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong to teach “disclose display a setting screen for enabling the user to make specification regarding an expanded rental mode which permits rental of incompletely charged battery devices satisfying a predetermined expanded rental condition in a case where there is a shortage of fully charged battery devices at each battery station, provide the setting information regarding the expanded rental mode to the server device according to specification by the user on the setting screen,” as a need exists to provide solutions to address the limitations of battery exchanges (Ong, Par. [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary still in the art to include in battery exchange system of Aloe to include the user setting abilities of Ong since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Kawasaki et al. (US 2013/0063073 A1) discloses a system which enables consumers to conveniently exchange depleted rechargeable batteries for fully-charged batteries, and to recycle used primary batteries. The system includes a self-contained, typically automated kiosk designed for high volume battery exchange at low cost, and also includes re-usable battery trays for convenient, safe, and standardized handling and transport of rechargeable consumer batteries. A kiosk of the invented system may also be configured to utilize renewable-energy mechanisms to provide power for operation and/or recharging. Rechargeable batteries are stored and managed in a high-density, simple yet reliable storage rack wherein they are recharged in parallel while preserving long battery life. Batteries may be “keyed” to prevent recharging via third-party charging devices, enabling operating efficiencies and cost reductions.
Conclusion
/Patrick Kim/Examiner, Art Unit 3629