DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: “nowhere in paragraph [0092] of Drevo (or anywhere else therein) does it disclose that the new RAN node 110b sends a message to the AMF 120 requesting assistance in retrieving UE context information. Rather, paragraphs [0091]-[0092] of Drevo describe that the new RAN node 110b communicates with the Access and Mobility Management Function (i.e., AMF 120) by providing information received from the UE 130 (e.g., RRC Resume Request message) to the AMF 120 and requesting information (from the AMF 120) regarding the last serving node for that UE 130 (e.g., the old RAN node 110a).The information acquired (i.e., sent from the AMF 120 and received by the new RAN node 110b) is then used to establish a direct connection (i.e., XN interface) between the old and new RAN nodes 110a, 110b, so that the new RAN node 110b retrieves information from the old RAN node 110a. Succinctly, the new RAN node 110b requests that the AMF 120 provide information about the old RAN node 110a; the new RAN node 110b does not request assistance in retrieving UE context information.”
The BRI of claim 1 is a method, comprising: receiving one or more message(s) comprising a temporary identifier assigned to the WD, and sending a message comprising a temporary identifier assigned to the WD.
The names and/or intent of the messages and contents of the messages (except as noted above) carry no patentable weight as they are merely intended uses and / or nonfunctional descriptive limitations as any contents therein does not interact with any other step of the method.
Given the BRI of claim 1, it becomes clear to see how it is anticipated by the prior art.
It is further noted that the claim recites a “condition” of “upon failing to retrieve a UE context for the WD directly from the RNA”, yet nothing in the claim tests or checks or is concerned with trigger or condition.
The claims do not require any specific type of help or type of UE context information.
Claim 12 recites a reciprocal method performed by a CN node, and the “requesting assistance in retrieving a User Equipment (UE) context of the WD” is a nonfunctional descriptive limitation not carrying patentable weight as explained above.
Regarding claim 21, the BRI of the claim is sending a message to the CN node. The name and contents of the message are nonfunctional descriptive limitations not carrying patentable weight as explained above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drevo et al. (20220312533), hereinafter “Drevo”.
As to claim 1. (Currently amended) Drevo discloses A method, performed by a first radio network node (110b), for handling mobility of a wireless device (WD) connected to a core network (CN) node, wherein the first radio network node is outside a radio access network notification area_ (RNA), RNA, associated with the wireless device, the method (Figs 9-14) comprising:
- receiving ([0089]: “… when the UE triggers a RAN Notification Area (RNA) Update… while the UE is out of coverage…”, [0091]: “… Receipt of this message by the new RAN Node 110b may indicate that information regarding the old RAN Node 110a ( which may still hold a UE context) may be available upon request…”)), from the wireless device (UE 130), one or more message(s) indicating that the WD has moved outside the RNA, wherein the at least one message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD, and
- sending ([0092]: “Note that the signaling from the new RAN node 110b to the AMF 120 may include information comprised in the above-
discussed RRC resume Request message… the transmitted I-RNTI may be used at the AMF 20 to facilitate the retrieval at the AMF 120 of information regarding the old RAN node 110a”), upon failing to retrieve a UE context for the WD directly from the RNA, to the core network node, a message requesting assistance in retrieving a User Equipment UE, UE, context of the WD, wherein the message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD (“transmitted I-RNTI”).
As to claim 2, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, and wherein the method comprises refraining (Fig 11: step 295 after step 290) from informing the WD about a failure to retrieve a UE context for the WD directly from the RNA based on the temporary identifier until failing to retrieve the UE context also from the core network. See [0106]-[0107].
As to claim 3, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the temporary identifier assigned to the WD is one or more of a radio access network temporary identifier assigned to the WD in the RNA and a core network temporary identifier, [0107].
As to claim 4, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the radio access network temporary identifier
assigned to the WD in the RNA is an Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier(I-RNTI), I=RNTI, assigned to the RNA, [0107].
As to claim 5, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 3, and wherein the core network temporary identifier is a 5G-S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI), 5G-S-TMSI. See [0112].
As to claim 6, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more message(s) indicating that the WD has moved outside the RNA is a mobility update message. See [0009], [0061], etc.
As to claim 7, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises: - receiving from the CN node, the UE context of the WD. See Fig 10: 265, Fig 12: 365).
As to claim 12, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses A method performed by a core network (CN) node (AMF 120), for handling mobility of a wireless device(WD), wherein the wireless device is connected to the core network node, the method (Fig 10/14) comprising:
- receiving, from a first radio network node (110b) outside a radio access network notification area(RNA), RNA, associated with the wireless
device (UE 130), a message requesting assistance in retrieving a User Equipment(UE), UE, context of the WD, wherein the message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD, (see [0097], [0119]-[0121])
- retrieving, from a second radio network node (110a) in the RNA, the UE context of the WD based on the temporary identifier assigned to the WD (see [0121]), and
- transmitting (S209) the retrieved UE context of the WD to the first radio network node (see [0121]. Also see related method / steps as applied above to claim 1.
As to claims 13-19, see corresponding passages as applied above to claims 2-7.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (2022/0104299).
As to claim 21. (Currently amended) Kim discloses A method performed by a second radio network node, for handling mobility of a wireless device WD), wherein the wireless device is connected to a core network (CN) node and wherein the second radio network node serves a
radio access network notification area (RNA), associated with the wireless device, the method (see [0293]) comprising:
- upon failing to page the WD in the RNA, sending (S1704), to the core network node, a release request message requesting the core network node to release a UE context for the wireless device, wherein the release request message comprises an indication (“small data transmission with no context relocation”) that the first radio network node has DL data to be transmitted to the wireless device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drevo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim.
As to claim 8, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Kim discloses wherein the method comprises: - obtaining data to be transmitted to the WD, the data being data that has been buffered in a second radio network node in the RNA, (claim 9) - sending a request for buffered data in the second radio network node (claim 10) - receiving the buffered data from the second radio network node, (claim 11) - transmitting (S113) the data to the WD. See Fig 10A. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the method comprises: - obtaining data to be transmitted to the WD, the data being data that has been buffered in a second radio network node in the RNA and sending / receiving / transmitting as taught by Kim for the purpose of maintaining system reliability.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649