CTNF 18/727,321 CTNF 73460 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the “sending” step, only the first parenthesis and space was deleted such that the claim now reads: “- upon failing to page the WD in the RNA, sendingS501), …” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Drevo et al. (20220312533), hereinafter “Drevo” . As to claim 1. (Currently amended) Drevo discloses A method, performed by a first radio network node (110b), for handling mobility of a wireless device (WD) connected to a core network (CN) node, wherein the first radio network node is outside a radio access network notification area_ (RNA) , RNA, associated with the wireless device, the method (Figs 9-14) comprising: - receiving ([0089]: “… when the UE triggers a RAN Notification Area (RNA) Update… while the UE is out of coverage…”, [0091]: “… Receipt of this message by the new RAN Node 110b may indicate that information regarding the old RAN Node 110a ( which may still hold a UE context) may be available upon request…”)), from the wireless device (UE 130), one or more message(s) indicating that the WD has moved outside the RNA, wherein the at least one message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD, and - sending ([0092]: “Note that the signaling from the new RAN node 110b to the AMF 120 may include information comprised in the above-discussed RRC resume Request message… the transmitted I-RNTI may be used at the AMF 20 to facilitate the retrieval at the AMF 120 of information regarding the old RAN node 110a”), upon failing to retrieve a UE context for the WD directly from the RNA, to the core network node, a message requesting assistance in retrieving a User Equipment UE, UE, context of the WD, wherein the message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD (“transmitted I-RNTI”). As to claim 2, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, and wherein the method comprises refraining (Fig 11: step 295 after step 290) from informing the WD about a failure to retrieve a UE context for the WD directly from the RNA based on the temporary identifier until failing to retrieve the UE context also from the core network. See [0106]-[0107]. As to claim 3, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the temporary identifier assigned to the WD is one or more of a radio access network temporary identifier assigned to the WD in the RNA and a core network temporary identifier, [0107]. As to claim 4, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the radio access network temporary identifier assigned to the WD in the RNA is an Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) , I=RNTI, assigned to the RNA, [0107]. As to claim 5, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 3, and wherein the core network temporary identifier is a 5G-S-Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (5G-S-TMSI) , 5G-S-TMSI. See [0112]. As to claim 6, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more message(s) indicating that the WD has moved outside the RNA is a mobility update message. See [0009], [0061], etc. As to claim 7, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises: - receiving from the CN node, the UE context of the WD. See Fig 10: 265, Fig 12: 365). As to claim 12, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses A method performed by a core network (CN) node (AMF 120), for handling mobility of a wireless device (WD), wherein the wireless device is connected to the core network node, the method (Fig 10/14) comprising: - receiving, from a first radio network node (110b) outside a radio access network notification area (RNA) , RNA, associated with the wireless device (UE 130), a message requesting assistance in retrieving a User Equipment (UE) , UE, context of the WD, wherein the message comprises a temporary identifier assigned to the WD, (see [0097], [0119]-[0121]) - retrieving, from a second radio network node (110a) in the RNA, the UE context of the WD based on the temporary identifier assigned to the WD (see [0121]), and - transmitting (S209) the retrieved UE context of the WD to the first radio network node (see [0121]. Also see related method / steps as applied above to claim 1. As to claims 13-19, see corresponding passages as applied above to claims 2-7 . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (2022/0104299) . As to claim 21. (Currently amended) Kim discloses A method performed by a second radio network node, for handling mobility of a wireless device WD), wherein the wireless device is connected to a core network (CN) node and wherein the second radio network node serves a radio access network notification area (RNA) , associated with the wireless device, the method (see [0293]) comprising: - upon failing to page the WD in the RNA, sending (S1704), to the core network node, a release request message requesting the core network node to release a UE context for the wireless device, wherein the release request message comprises an indication (“small data transmission with no context relocation”) that the first radio network node has DL data to be transmitted to the wireless device . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drevo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim . As to claim 8, (Currently amended) Drevo discloses The method according to claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Kim discloses wherein the method comprises: - obtaining data to be transmitted to the WD, the data being data that has been buffered in a second radio network node in the RNA, (claim 9) - sending a request for buffered data in the second radio network node (claim 10) - receiving the buffered data from the second radio network node, (claim 11) - transmitting (S113) the data to the WD. See Fig 10A. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method such that the method comprises: - obtaining data to be transmitted to the WD, the data being data that has been buffered in a second radio network node in the RNA and sending / receiving / transmitting as taught by Kim for the purpose of maintaining system reliability . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jin et al. (2021/0195678) disclose methods for RNAU updating and context sharing. See abstract, etc. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LESTER KINCAID whose telephone number is (571)272-7922. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th: 7-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuwen Pan can be reached at 571-272-7855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. LESTER G. KINCAID Primary Patent Examiner Art Unit 2649 /LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 2 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 3 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 4 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 5 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 6 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 7 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 8 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 9 Art Unit: 2649 Application/Control Number: 18/727,321 Page 10 Art Unit: 2649