Detailed Action
This is the first office action on the merits for US application number 18/727,371.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, the device of claims 1-15, in the reply filed on July 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 28, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because US 2020/0133721 published April 16, 2020 with Inventor Luna does not appear to exist. Instead, US 2020/0133721 was published April 30, 2020 with Inventor Sasaki. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “canted coil spring” of claim 6, the first and second “canted coil spring” of claim 8, the first and second “canted coil spring” of claim 11, the resection profile of the device having a reference wing and lateral rod of claim 1 comprises a plastic block and a metal insert coupled to the plastic block via one or more fasteners of claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 line 1 should read “the reference wing is semicircular”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are unclear with regards to clear support for the resection profile of the device having a reference wing and lateral rod of claim 1 that comprises a plastic block and a metal insert coupled to the plastic block via one or more fasteners of claim 12. Examiner notes that this appears to be intended to claim the structures of Figs. 8-11; however, there appears to be no disclosure of how such are configured to be used with the device having a reference wing and lateral rod of claim 1 nor is such readily apparent based upon the shown structure. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to and suggests amending to clarify or cancel claims 12 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatibi et al. (US 2021/0113222, hereinafter “Khatibi”) in view of Luna et al. (US 2014/0336658, hereinafter “Luna”).
As to claims 1 and 12-14, Khatibi discloses a device (Figs. 1-18) comprising: a reference wing (276) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Fig. 15); a resection profile (14, 158, 12) capable of being removably coupled to the reference wing between the first end and the second end (via 268a, 268b, and 280, Figs. 15 and 16, ¶105). As to claim 12, Khatibi discloses that the resection profile comprises: a plastic block (12, ¶107); and a metal insert (98A-98D, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶68) capable of being positioned in the plastic block (Fig. 4, ¶68 and 107), wherein the metal insert is coupled to the plastic block via one or more fasteners (Fig. 4). As to claim 13, Khatibi discloses that the metal insert includes one or more fluoroscopic alignment features (98A-98D, Figs. 4 and 5, ¶68). As to claim 14, Khatibi discloses that the reference wing includes a vertical alignment line (edge of the support portion of rods 286A and 286B, Fig. 15), wherein the resection profile includes a horizontal alignment line (upper edge of 158 as shown in Fig. 15, Fig. 15), and wherein the vertical alignment line and the horizontal alignment line together form a crosshairs when the resection profile is removably coupled to the reference wing (Fig. 15) to thereby visualize a true anterior view of the device (Fig. 15).
Khatibi is silent to each of the first end and the second end of the reference wing includes a plurality of through holes and a lateral rod configured to be removably coupled to the reference wing via the plurality of through holes.
Luna teaches a similar device (Figs. 10-27) comprising: a reference wing (162) having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Figs. 10, 21, and 22), wherein each of the first end and the second end of the reference wing includes a plurality of through holes (164); and a lateral rod (170) capable of being removably coupled to the reference wing via the plurality of through holes (Fig. 21 and 22, ¶154).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the first end and the second end of the reference wing and the device as disclosed by Khatibi by adding a plurality of through holes and a lateral rod as taught by Luna in order to attach the lateral rod to the reference wing and enable use of viewing under lateral fluoroscopy to establish sagittal rotation and adjustment thereof (Luna ¶158).
As to claim 2, the combination of Khatibi and Luna discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as that that the reference wing is comprises arcuate portions (Fig. 15).
The combination of Khatibi and Luna is silent to the reference wing is semicircular.
Luna teaches that the reference wing is semicircular (Figs. 10, 21, and 22).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the reference wing with arcuate portions as disclosed by the combination of Khatibi and Luna to be semicircular as taught by Luna, since Applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a guide base in a device for aligning a cutting guide relative to the tibia in 3-dimensions (Khatibi Figs. 15, 17, and 18; Luna Figs. 21, 22, and 36).
As to claim 7, the combination of Khatibi and Luna discloses the invention of claim 1 as well as that that the reference wing includes a first rod (286A) and a second rod (286B) each positioned between the first end and the second end of the reference wing (Fig. 15), and wherein the resection profile includes a first cannulated rod (166A, 148A, Figs. 7A-7D. ¶83) and a second cannulated rod (166B, 148B) capable of mating within the first rod and the second rod of the reference wing to thereby removably couple the resection profile to the reference wing (Fig. 15, ¶s 83 and 105).
The combination of Khatibi and Luna is silent to the first rod and the second rod of the reference wing being cannulated.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the rod-cannulated rod connection of the combination of Khatibi and Luna such that the first rod and the second rod of the reference wing are cannulated and the first cannulated rod and a second cannulated rod the resection profile are received therein, since a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khatibi and Luna in view of Bojarski et al. (US 2013/0184713, hereinafter “Bojarski”).
As to claim 8, the combination of Khatibi and Luna discloses the invention of claim 7.
The combination of Khatibi and Luna is silent to the first cannulated rod and the second cannulated rod each include a canted coil spring.
Bojarski teaches a similar connection of a rod (210, Fig. 16B, ¶61) inside a cannulated rod (255 in 215, Fig. 16B, ¶61), wherein the first cannulated rod and the second cannulated rod each include a canted coil spring (263, Fig. 16B, ¶61) in a groove (260, Fig. 6B, ¶61).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the cannulations as disclosed by the combination of Khatibi and Luna by adding a canted coil spring in a groove as taught by Bojarski in order to secure or "lock" the rod within the cannulation (Bojarski ¶63).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 9-11, and 15 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892, Notice of References Cited.
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775