DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 13, 20, 23-25, 27-28, 31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN: 113451378 A~ hereinafter “Wang”) of record. The Examiner is using the US. Pub: 2023/0087603 A1 of record as the English translation of the foreign reference.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate ([0071]); a plurality of sub-pixels (100; [0063]), located on the base substrate; wherein a shape of an orthographic projection of at least one of the plurality of sub-pixels on the base substrate comprises a first shape (130), the first shape comprises a first curved edge (1012) and a second curved edge (1101), two ends of the first curved edge and two ends of the second curved edge are respectively connected to form a first connection point and a second connection point (line L; see at least fig. 6B); a length of a first connection line between the first connection point and the second connection point is a maximum length of the first shape in an extension direction of the first connection line (line L; fig. 6B), the first shape is divided by the first connection line into a first sub-section (i.e. the left area of line L) comprising the first curved edge (1012) and a second sub-section (i.e. the right area of line L) comprising the second curved edge (1011); an area of the first sub-section is greater than an area of the second sub-section (see at least fig. 6b; [0153]-[0156]), a maximum vertical distance between each point on the first curved edge and the first connection line is greater than a maximum vertical distance between each point on the second curved edge and the first connection line (see fig. 6; [0156]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1 and 6B) a curvature of a vertex of the first curved edge (1012) away from the first connection line is greater than a curvature of a vertex of the second curved edge (1011) away from the first connection line.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) the plurality of sub-pixels comprise first color sub-pixels (120), second color sub-pixels (110) and third color sub-pixels (130), a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the third color sub-pixels (130) on the base substrate is the first shape (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6); a plurality of third color sub-pixels (130) are arranged in an array along a row direction and a column direction to form a third color sub-pixel row extending along the row direction (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6), the plurality of third color sub-pixel (130) rows are arranged sequentially along the column direction; the first curved edge (1012) and the second curved edge (1011) of the first shape have an arrangement order in a direction perpendicular to the first connection line (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6), in a same third color sub-pixel row, arrangement orders of two adjacent of the third color sub-pixels are opposite (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) an extension direction of the first connection line of the first shape of the third color sub-pixel in one of two adjacent third color sub-pixel rows is parallel to the row direction (see at least fig. 6B), and an extension direction of the first connection line of the first shape of the third color sub-pixel (130) in the other of the two adjacent third color sub-pixel rows is parallel to the column direction (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) arrangement orders of the first curved edge and the second curved edge comprise a first order and a second order that are opposite to each other, in a same third color sub-pixel row, a difference between a number of the third color sub-pixels in the first order and a number of the third color sub-pixels in the second order is less than 10.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) a shape of an orthographic projection of at least one of the sub-pixels on the base substrate comprises a second shape (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the second shape comprises a third curved edge and a fourth curved edge (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), two ends of the third curved edge and two ends of the fourth curved edge are respectively connected to form a third connection point and a fourth connection point (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B); a length of the second connection line between the third connection point and the fourth connection point is a maximum length of the second shape in an extension direction of the second connection line (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the second shape is divided by the second connection line into a third sub-section comprising the third curved edge and a fourth sub-section comprising the fourth curved edge (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B); an area of the third sub-section is greater than an area of the fourth sub-section (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B), and a maximum vertical distance between each point on the third curved edge and the second connection line is greater than a maximum vertical distance between each point on the fourth curved edge and the second connection line (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) the plurality of sub-pixels comprise first color sub-pixels (120), second color sub-pixels (110) and third color sub-pixels (130), a shape of an orthographic projection of the first color sub-pixel on the base substrate is the second shape (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B); a plurality of the first color sub-pixels are arranged in an array along the row direction and the column direction to form first color sub-pixel rows extending along the row direction (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the plurality of first color sub-pixel rows are arranged sequentially along the column direction (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B); the third curved edge and the fourth curved edge of the second shape have an arrangement order in a direction perpendicular to the second connection line, in a same first color sub-pixel row, arrangement orders of two adjacent first color sub-pixels are opposite (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) the plurality of sub-pixels are arranged in an array on the base substrate to form a display array (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the plurality of sub-pixels comprise boundary sub-pixels located at edges of the display array, a shape of an orthographic projection of at least one of the boundary sub-pixels on the base substrate comprises a fourth shape (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the fourth shape comprises a seventh curved edge and an eighth curved edge (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), two ends of the seventh curved edge and two ends of the eighth curved edge are respectively connected to form a seventh connection point and an eighth connection point (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B); a length of a fourth connection line between the seventh connection point and the eighth connection point is a maximum length of the fourth shape in an extension direction of the fourth connection line (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), the fourth shape is divided by the fourth connection line into a seventh sub-section comprising the seventh curved edge and an eighth sub-section comprising the eighth curved edge (see figs. 1, 5 and 6B); an area of the seventh sub-section is equal to an area of the eighth sub-section (see at least figs. 1 and 5), a shape of the seventh curved edge is the same as a shape of the second curved edge (see at least figs. 1 and 5), and a shape of the eighth curved edge is the same as the shape of the second curved edge (see at least figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 23, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) a plurality of anodes ([0072]), located on the base substrate; a pixel defining layer (200; [0047]; [0069]; [0071]), located on the base substrate; and a light emitting functional layer ([0071]), located at a side of the plurality of anodes and the pixel defining layer away from the base substrate, wherein the pixel defining layer (200) is arranged with a plurality of pixel openings (see at least figs. 1 and 2; [0071]-[0074]), the light emitting functional layer comprises a light emitting layer ([0071]-[0074]), and the light emitting layer comprises a plurality of light emitting parts (see at least figs. 1 and 2), the plurality of light emitting parts are arranged in the plurality of pixel openings and driven by the anodes exposed by the pixel openings (see at least figs. 1 and 2), to form a plurality of light emitting structures of the plurality of sub-pixels (see at least figs. 1 and 2), a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the sub-pixels on the base substrate is a shape of an orthographic projection of the pixel opening corresponding to the sub-pixel on the base substrate (see at least figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6B) in a sub-pixel having the first shape (see at least figs. 1 and 2), a shape of an orthographic projection of the light emitting part on the base substrate is a rounded rectangle, the rounded rectangle comprises a first rounded corner part and a second rounded corner part that are oppositely arranged, and the first rounded corner part is located at a side of the first curved edge away from the second curved edge (see at least figs. 1 and 2), the second rounded corner part is located at a side of the second curved edge away from the first curved edge (see at least figs. 1 and 2), a distance between a first vertex of the first rounded corner part away from the pixel opening and the first curved edge is less than a distance between a second vertex of the second rounded corner part away from the pixel opening and the second curved edge (see at least figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) in the sub-pixel having the first shape, the rounded rectangle further comprises a third rounded corner part and a fourth rounded corner part arranged oppositely (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B), a line connecting a third vertex of the third rounded corner part away from the pixel opening and a fourth vertex of the fourth rounded corner part far away from the pixel opening is substantially parallel to the first connection line (see at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B).
Regarding claim 27, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) the plurality of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of sub-pixel groups (see at least figs. 1 and 5), each of the sub-pixel groups comprises one first color sub-pixel, two second color sub-pixels and one third color sub-pixel (see at least figs. 1 and 5); in each of the sub-pixel groups, the first color sub-pixel and the third color sub-pixel are arranged along a first direction (see at least figs. 1 and 5), the two second color sub-pixels are arranged along the second direction (see at least figs. 1 and 5), a line connecting centers of the first color sub-pixel and the third color sub-pixel intersects a line connecting centers of the two second color sub-pixels (see at least figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 28, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) in each of the sub-pixel groups, a first center connection line and a second center connection line between the center of the first color sub-pixel and the centers of the two second color sub-pixels and a third center connection line and a fourth center connection line between the center of the third color sub-pixel and the centers of the two second color sub-pixels form a virtual quadrilateral, and at least one interior angle of the virtual quadrilateral is not equal to 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) in each of the sub-pixel groups, the first color sub-pixel and the two second color sub-pixels have a first distance and a second distance respectively (see at least figs. 1 and 5), the third color sub-pixel and the two second color sub-pixels have a third distance and a fourth distance respectively (see at least figs. 1 and 5), at least two of the first distance, the second distance, the third distance and the fourth distance are equal in size (see at least figs. 1 and 5).
Regarding claim 33, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) a display apparatus, comprising the display substrate according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 26, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN: 113451378 A~ hereinafter “Wang”) of record. The Examiner is using the US. Pub: 2023/0087603 A1 of record as the English translation of the foreign reference.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first curved edge is a continuously curved edge, and the second curved edge is a continuously curved edge.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display substrate wherein the first curved edge is a continuously curved edge, and the second curved edge is a continuously curved edge as evident by Shi et al. (CN: 114420741 A1~ hereinafter “Shi”) of record.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the display substrate of Wang wherein the first curved edge is continuously curved edge, and the second curved edge is a continuously curved edge, since it has been held that a mere change in the shape of a component is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for the first curved edge is a continuously curved edge, the second curved edge comprises a first sub-curved edge, a second sub-curved edge and a first straight edge, and the first straight edge is connected with the first sub-curved edge and the second sub-curved edge respectively. See the rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 26, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for a color filter layer, comprising a plurality of color filters, wherein shapes of the plurality of color filters define a plurality of light emitting regions of the plurality of sub-pixels, and a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the sub-pixels on the base substrate is a shape of an orthographic projection of one of the color filters corresponding to the sub-pixel on the base substrate.
However, it is well-known in the art to form a display substrate comprises a color filter layer, comprising a plurality of color filters, wherein shapes of the plurality of color filters define a plurality of light emitting regions of the plurality of sub-pixels, and a shape of an orthographic projection of each of the sub-pixels on the base substrate is a shape of an orthographic projection of one of the color filters corresponding to the sub-pixel on the base substrate as evident by Wang et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0335909 A1~ hereinafter “Wang 909”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display substrate of Wang with the color filter of Wang909 in order to convert the emitting light to different wavelength.
Regarding claim 29, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for a value range of an interior angle of the virtual quadrilateral is from 84 degrees to 94 degrees.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited virtual quadrilaterals angle range through design choice. Applicant has not recited that the recited virtual angle range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the virtual angle range of Wang.
Regarding claim 30, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6B) the center lines connecting the two first color sub-pixels and the two third color sub-pixels in the two adjacent sub-pixel groups in the second direction may form a second virtual quadrilateral, but is silent about at least one interior angle of the second virtual quadrilateral is not equal to 90 degrees.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have led to the recited second virtual angle through design choice. Applicant has not recited that the recited virtual angle is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using the virtual angle range of Wang.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875