DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on June 9, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, numbers, and letters are not durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined in figures 1-10. Figures 1-10 are all in grayscale which cause the lines, numbers, and letters to not be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. Additionally, drawings must be black and white (monochrome) except when another form (grayscale or color) is the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For figures 1-10, black and white drawings are sufficient to illustrate the claimed invention. Black and white drawings should be created and filed in monochrome, black only, no gray.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Preliminary Amendment
. The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on July 9, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on July 9, 2024. Claims 1-17 and 20 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim reads “The
server apparatus according to claims 1”, and should refer to claim 1 in the singular. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 20160362001 A1).
Consider claim 1, Jung et al. disclose a server apparatus, comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out (see Figure 4, the control unit or processor 423 “may be configured in such a way that it is functionally connected with the transmission unit and the reception unit in the wireless communication unit, allowing the transmission unit and the reception unit to control the process of data or signal transmission/reception between the in-vehicle communication apparatus 100 and the server 200” (see paragraph 0102)):
a process of receiving, from a first vehicle, a communication request message using wireless communication, the communication request message designating a selection condition for selecting another vehicle (see Figure 1, “the vehicle 100 can transfer a message concerning a specific vehicle selected by the user to request additional information to the server 200 connected in advance” (see paragraph 0069). Said request “may include the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the selected specific vehicle, and the VID of the specific vehicle selected may be the VID included in the surrounding vehicle signals received from each of one or more surrounding vehicles 300, 400, and 500 in the step S201” (see paragraph 0070));
a process of selecting a second vehicle that satisfies the selection condition (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle, using at least one out of VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of at least one vehicle, QR (Quick Response) code, text, and diagram representing the surrounding vehicle, and vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server, based on the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the specific vehicle contained in the message to request additional information” (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0073)); and
a process of transmitting the communication request message to the second vehicle (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle” (see paragraph 0073)).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jung et al. further disclose wherein the at least one processor transmits, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, sensing information which has been acquired by a sensing apparatus that is mounted on the second vehicle (“after transmitting the message to request additional information to the specific vehicle 500 in the step S205, the server 200 can receive the additional information from the specific vehicle 500 as the response for the request for additional information” (see paragraph 0075). Said additional information “may include image information around the specific vehicle 500 taken by the specific vehicle, sound information around the specific vehicle 500 recorded by the specific vehicle, and any other data or signals which the specific vehicle 500 can provide” (see paragraph 0080). The server 200 passes this information on to the first vehicle 100 (see paragraph 0081)).
Consider claim 10, Jung et al. disclose an information communication system, comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out (see Figure 4, the control unit or processor 423 “may be configured in such a way that it is functionally connected with the transmission unit and the reception unit in the wireless communication unit, allowing the transmission unit and the reception unit to control the process of data or signal transmission/reception between the in-vehicle communication apparatus 100 and the server 200” (see paragraph 0102)):
a process of receiving, from a first vehicle, a communication request message using wireless communication, the communication request message designating a selection condition for selecting another vehicle (see Figure 1, “the vehicle 100 can transfer a message concerning a specific vehicle selected by the user to request additional information to the server 200 connected in advance” (see paragraph 0069). Said request “may include the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the selected specific vehicle, and the VID of the specific vehicle selected may be the VID included in the surrounding vehicle signals received from each of one or more surrounding vehicles 300, 400, and 500 in the step S201” (see paragraph 0070));
a process of selecting a second vehicle that satisfies the selection condition (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle, using at least one out of VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of at least one vehicle, QR (Quick Response) code, text, and diagram representing the surrounding vehicle, and vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server, based on the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the specific vehicle contained in the message to request additional information” (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0073));
a process of transmitting the communication request message to the second vehicle (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle” (see paragraph 0073)); and
a process of transmitting predetermined information possessed by the second vehicle to the first vehicle (“after receiving the additional information from the specific vehicle 500 in the step S206 as the response for the request for additional information, the server 200 can transmit the additional information to the vehicle 100” (see paragraph 0081)).
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 10 above, Jung et al. further disclose wherein the predetermined information possessed by the second vehicle is sensing information which has been acquired by a sensing apparatus that is mounted on the second vehicle (“after transmitting the message to request additional information to the specific vehicle 500 in the step S205, the server 200 can receive the additional information from the specific vehicle 500 as the response for the request for additional information” (see paragraph 0075). Said additional information “may include image information around the specific vehicle 500 taken by the specific vehicle, sound information around the specific vehicle 500 recorded by the specific vehicle, and any other data or signals which the specific vehicle 500 can provide” (see paragraph 0080). The server 200 passes this information on to the first vehicle 100 (see paragraph 0081)).
Consider claim 20, Jung et al. disclose non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to carry out processes of a server apparatus recited in claim 1 (see Figure
4, the memory units 411 and 421 may “store programs codes and data” (see paragraph 0113)).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20160362001 A1) in view of Lund et al. (US 20200327343 A1).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jung et al. further disclose wherein the selection condition includes at least one item selected from the group consisting of license plate information, a vehicle type, and a body color of a vehicle (the selection information include the “vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server” (see paragraph 0071));
However, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out a process of detecting a vehicle from an image which has been taken by an imaging apparatus, and wherein in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects the second vehicle based on whether or not at least one item of the selection condition conforms to a characteristic of the vehicle which has been detected.
In the same field of endeavor, Lund et al. disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out a process of detecting a vehicle from an image which has been taken by an imaging apparatus (“Information from vehicular sensors (e.g. image sensors or other sensors) in ego vehicle 102 may also be useful to facilitate autonomous driving/decision making (a) in situations where one or more target vehicles 104 in the vicinity of ego vehicle 102 lack V2V communication capability” (see paragraph 0036)), and
wherein in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects the second vehicle
based on whether or not at least one item of the selection condition conforms to a characteristic of the vehicle which has been detected (“ego vehicle 102 may use information obtained from sensors to classify and/or uniquely identify and/or localize target vehicles based on locally stored information (e.g. stored target vehicle images, stored target vehicle features, etc.)” (see paragraph 0036)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the server apparatus disclosed by Jung at al. to select a vehicle based on characteristics detected from an image as taught by Lund et al. in order to reliably identify and select target vehicles.
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 10 above, Jung et al. further disclose wherein the selection condition includes at least one item selected from the group consisting of license plate information, a vehicle type, and a body color of a vehicle (the selection information include the “vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server” (see paragraph 0071)); and
in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects the second vehicle based on whether or not at least one item of the selection condition conforms to a characteristic of the vehicle which has been detected (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle, using at least one out of VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of at least one vehicle, QR (Quick Response) code, text, and diagram representing the surrounding vehicle, and vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server” (see paragraph 0073)).
However, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out a process of detecting a vehicle from an image which has been taken by an imaging apparatus.
In the same field of endeavor, Lund et al. disclose wherein the at least one processor
further carries out a process of detecting a vehicle from an image which has been taken by an imaging apparatus (“Information from vehicular sensors (e.g. image sensors or other sensors) in ego vehicle 102 may also be useful to facilitate autonomous driving/decision making… ego vehicle 102 may use information obtained from sensors to classify and/or uniquely identify and/or localize target vehicles based on locally stored information (e.g. stored target vehicle images, stored target vehicle features, etc.)” (see paragraph 0036)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the information communication system disclosed by Jung at al. to select a vehicle based on characteristics detected from an image as taught by Lund et al. in order to reliably identify and select target vehicles.
Claims 6-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20160362001 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 10149137 B2).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication (see Figure 3, “Receiving a broadcast (310) may include communication module 136 receiving, over network 190, a broadcast message from a nearby automobile…the broadcast message may include a request that any automobile matching the observed attributes respond with a complete list of identifying attributes (disclosed attributes) and a connection identifier” (see Col. 5, lines 66-67 and Col. 6, lines 1-14). “Responding to the broadcast (330) may include communication module 136 creating a response to a broadcast message that has been determined to be a match to the receiving automobile. The response may include the list of disclosed attributes, a current GPS location, and a connection identifier” (see Col. 6, lines 30-35)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the server apparatus disclosed by Jung at al. to transmit, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication as taught by Li et al. in order to allow the first vehicle to carry out direct communications with the second vehicle.
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 5 above, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits, to the second vehicle, the communication request message including communication connection information of the first vehicle in the wireless communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits, to the second vehicle, the communication request message including communication connection information of the first vehicle in the wireless communication (“In addition to the observed attributes, the broadcast message may include a request that any automobile matching the observed attributes respond with a complete list of identifying attributes (disclosed attributes) and a connection identifier that may enable communication module 136 to initialize a communication connection” (see Col. 4, lines 60-66)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the server apparatus disclosed by Jung at al. to transmit, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication as taught by Li et al. in order to allow the second vehicle to carry out direct communications with the first vehicle.
Consider claim 8, Jung et al. disclose a server apparatus, comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out (see Figure 4, the control unit or processor 423 “may be configured in such a way that it is functionally connected with the transmission unit and the reception unit in the wireless communication unit, allowing the transmission unit and the reception unit to control the process of data or signal transmission/reception between the in-vehicle communication apparatus 100 and the server 200” (see paragraph 0102)):
a process of receiving, from a first vehicle, a communication request message using wireless communication, the communication request message designating a selection condition for selecting another vehicle (see Figure 1, “the vehicle 100 can transfer a message concerning a specific vehicle selected by the user to request additional information to the server 200 connected in advance” (see paragraph 0069). Said request “may include the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the selected specific vehicle, and the VID of the specific vehicle selected may be the VID included in the surrounding vehicle signals received from each of
one or more surrounding vehicles 300, 400, and 500 in the step S201” (see paragraph 0070));
a process of selecting a second vehicle that satisfies the selection condition (“the server 200 can check a specific vehicle and transmit the request to ask for the additional information to the checked specific vehicle, using at least one out of VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of at least one vehicle, QR (Quick Response) code, text, and diagram representing the surrounding vehicle, and vehicle number(or car number) indicated on license plate of the surrounding vehicle stored on the server, based on the VID (Vehicle Identifier) of the specific vehicle contained in the message to request additional information” (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0073));
a process of storing pieces of positional information of respective vehicles included in a vehicle group and pieces of communication connection information of the respective vehicles in the wireless communication in association with each other (“the server 200 can receive the additional information from the specific vehicle 500 as the response for the request for additional information (S 206). Here, the additional information may include the vehicle information and location information of the specific vehicle, and multimedia data generated by the in-vehicle communication apparatus of the selected specific vehicle.” (see paragraphs 0075-0076)). The “location information may indicate the direction and distance of a gap, showing how far the location of the specific vehicle 500 away from the vehicle 100 or in which direction the specific vehicle 500 is located relative to the vehicle 100. According to one embodiment of the invention, it is possible to directly calculate the location information relative to the specific vehicle 500 based on the surrounding vehicle signals received by the vehicle 100 from the specific vehicle 500”(see paragraph 0077). “If necessary, the control unit 423 can store the information contained in
the exchanged data into the memory unit 421” (see paragraph 0103));
a process of retrieving a piece of positional information corresponding to a piece of positional information of the second vehicle with reference to the pieces of positional information of the respective vehicles which are stored (see Figure 2, step S207 comprises transmitting the additional information stored in the memory unit 421 to the first vehicle 100 (see paragraph 0081). The “location information may indicate the direction and distance of a gap, showing how far the location of the specific vehicle 500 away from the vehicle 100 or in which direction the specific vehicle 500 is located relative to the vehicle 100. According to one embodiment of the invention, it is possible to directly calculate the location information relative to the specific vehicle 500 based on the surrounding vehicle signals received by the vehicle 100 from the specific vehicle 500” (see paragraph 0077)); and
However, Jung et al fail to disclose a process of transmitting, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose a process of transmitting, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored (see Figure 3, “Responding to the broadcast (330) may include communication module 136 creating a response to a broadcast message that has been determined to be a match to the receiving automobile. The response may include the list of disclosed attributes, a current GPS location, and a connection identifier” (see Col. 6, lines 30-35), where the matching process includes comparing positional information of the receiving automobile to the coordinates received by the broadcast (see Col.6, lines 5-6 and 15-22)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the server apparatus disclosed by Jung at al. to transmit, to the second vehicle, the communication request message so as to cause the second vehicle to transmit, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored as taught by Li et al. in order to verify that the prospective target vehicle matches the stored positional information prior to prompting said vehicle to transmit communication connection information.
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 8 above, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored in the storage means, in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored in the storage means, in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication (see Figure 2, step 240 comprises broadcasting observed attributes to nearby vehicles, and “may include a request that any automobile matching the observed attributes respond with a complete list of identifying attributes (disclosed attributes) and a connection identifier” (see Col. 4, lines 56-64). This broadcast takes place prior to the broadcasting device receiving
positional information about the vehicle of interest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the server apparatus disclosed by Jung at al. such that in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored in the storage means, in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication as taught by Li et al. in order to maintain the ability to transmit the communication request message to the second vehicle if positional information is not known.
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 10 above, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored in the storage means, in the process of transmitting, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein the predetermined information possessed by the second vehicle is communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication (“Responding to the broadcast (330) may include communication module 136 creating a response to a broadcast message that has been determined to be a match to the receiving automobile. The response may include the list of disclosed attributes, a current GPS location, and a connection identifier” (see Col. 6, lines 30-35)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the information communication system disclosed by Jung at al. such that the predetermined information possessed by the second vehicle is communication connection information of the second vehicle in the wireless communication as taught by Li et al. in order to allow bidirectional communication between the vehicles.
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 10 above, Jung et al. further disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out a process of storing pieces of positional information of respective vehicles included in a vehicle group and pieces of communication connection information of the respective vehicles in the wireless communication in association with each other (see Figure 2, step S207 comprises transmitting the additional information stored in the memory unit 421 to the first vehicle 100 (see paragraph 0081). The “location information may indicate the direction and distance of a gap, showing how far the location of the specific vehicle 500 away from the vehicle 100 or in which direction the specific vehicle 500 is located relative to the vehicle 100. According to one embodiment of the invention, it is possible to directly calculate the location information relative to the specific vehicle 500 based on the surrounding vehicle signals received by the vehicle 100 from the specific vehicle 500” (see paragraph 0077)); and
the at least one processor further carries out a process of retrieving a piece of positional information corresponding to a piece of positional information of the second vehicle with reference to the pieces of positional information of the respective vehicles which are stored (see Figure 2, step S207 comprises transmitting the additional information stored in the memory unit 421 to the first vehicle 100 (see paragraph 0081). The “location information may indicate the direction and distance of a gap, showing how far the location of the specific vehicle 500 away from the vehicle 100 or in which direction the specific vehicle 500 is located relative to the vehicle 100. According to one embodiment of the invention, it is possible to directly calculate the location information relative to the specific vehicle 500 based on the surrounding vehicle signals received by the vehicle 100 from the specific vehicle 500” (see paragraph 0077)).
However, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored (see Figure 3, “Responding to the broadcast (330) may include communication module 136 creating a response to a broadcast message that has been determined to be a match to the receiving automobile. The response may include the list of disclosed attributes, a current GPS location, and a connection identifier” (see Col. 6, lines 30-35), where the matching process includes comparing positional information of the receiving automobile to the coordinates received by the broadcast (see Col.6, lines 5-6 and 15-22)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the information communication system disclosed by Jung at al. such that in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored as taught by Li et al. in order to allow the first vehicle to carry out direct communications with the second vehicle after verifying its position.
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 16 above, Jung et al. fail to disclose wherein in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored, in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al. disclose wherein in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is not stored, in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits the communication request message using broadcast wireless communication (see Figure 2, step 240 comprises broadcasting observed attributes to nearby vehicles, and “may include a request that any automobile matching the observed attributes respond with a complete list of identifying attributes (disclosed attributes) and a connection identifier” (see Col. 4, lines 56-64). This broadcast takes place prior to the broadcasting device receiving positional information about the vehicle of interest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the information communication system disclosed by Jung at al. such that in the process of transmitting the communication request message, the at least one processor transmits, to the first vehicle, a piece of communication connection information which is stored and corresponds to the second vehicle in a case where the piece of positional information corresponding to the piece of positional information of the second vehicle is stored as taught by Li et al. in order to allow the first vehicle to carry out direct communications with the second vehicle after verifying its position.
While not cited in the prior art rejections, Harada et al. (JP 2020162031A) discloses relevant information pertaining to the establishment of v2v communications via a proxy server.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 2, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Jung et al., fails to disclose specifically the limitation of “wherein the selection condition is being a vehicle which is positioned in front of a specific vehicle which is in front of the first vehicle in a traveling direction; in the process of selecting, the at least one processor identifies the specific vehicle with reference to positional information of the first vehicle; and in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects, as the second vehicle, a vehicle which is positioned in front of the specific vehicle”.
Consider claim 3, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Jung et al., fails to disclose specifically the limitation of “wherein the selection condition is being a vehicle which is positioned in front of a specific vehicle which is in front of the first vehicle in a traveling direction; in the process of selecting, the at least one processor identifies the first vehicle with reference to positional information of the specific vehicle; and in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects, as the second vehicle, a vehicle which
is positioned in front of the specific vehicle”.
Consider claim 11, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Jung et al., fails to disclose specifically the limitation of “wherein the selection condition is being a vehicle which is positioned in front of a specific vehicle which is in front of the first vehicle in a traveling direction; in the process of selecting, the at least one processor identifies the specific vehicle with reference to positional information of the first vehicle; and in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects, as the second vehicle, a vehicle which is positioned in front of the specific vehicle”.
Consider claim 12, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Jung et al., fails to disclose specifically the limitation of “wherein the selection condition is being a vehicle which is positioned in front of a specific vehicle which is in front of the first vehicle in a traveling direction; in the process of selecting, the at least one processor identifies the first vehicle with reference to positional information of the specific vehicle; and in the process of selecting, the at least one processor selects, as the second vehicle, a vehicle which is positioned in front of the specific vehicle.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Alexander Wu/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642