DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This cation is responsive to the communication received July 9th, 2024. Claims 1-19, and 21 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Application 18/727,406 is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/011336 03/14/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) an estimation process of estimating an intensity of each of degradation causes of the communication quality due to a radio propagation environment, in accordance with the obtained time series data; and a derivation process of deriving an influence ratio in degradation of the communication quality for each of the degradation causes in accordance with the estimated intensities of the degradation causes.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no improvement to the technology. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the invention only requires the abstract idea and does not constitute anything that can be considered an improvement to the technology (See MPEP § 2106.05(a), improvements to abstract ideas are not improvements to the technology, so even a better mental process such as the estimation or derivation process cannot be an improvement to the technology if they are solely mental processes).
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 14, 16-18 do not equate to significantly more and do not provide an improvement on the technology as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 9, 14-15, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masato (JP2019176322)(Supplied by Applicant).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 15, 21, Masato discloses an information processing system (see Figure 1 and paragraph 0016 [deterioration factor estimation device]) comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out: an obtaining means for process of obtaining time series data of a radio indicator value that is an indicator of communication quality of wireless communication (paragraph 0021 [data acquired from the terminal; RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, response time, throughput]); an estimation means for process of estimating an intensity of each of degradation causes of the communication quality due to a radio propagation environment, in accordance with the obtained time series data (paragraphs 0027-0028 [degradation cause estimation]); and a derivation means for process of deriving an influence ratio in degradation of the communication quality for each of the degradation causes in accordance with the estimated intensities of the degradation causes (paragraph 0033 [there are six kinds of deterioration events, i.e., events 1 to 6 in which the quality-deterioration factors in the first to third places are ABC, ACB, BAC, BCA, CAB, CBA . Then by considering the order of the quality deterioration factors with respect to the quality deterioration factor estimation results of the six events 1 to 6 the event 1 is "the radio wave is weaker than the surrounding base stations" and the event 2 is "there is an obstacle in the center and the radio wave interferes". It can be estimated that the event 3 is "the radio wave of another base station is too strong", the event 4 is "a wider range than expected is covered", the event 5 is "there is a problem in the coverage area of the base station and another base station", and the event 6 is "there is a problem in the base station".]).
Regarding claim 6, Masato discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the radio indicator value includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a reference signal received power, a reference signal received quality, a received signal strength indicator, and a signal-to-interference-plus-noise power ratio (paragraph 0021 [data acquired from the terminal; RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, response time, throughput]).
Regarding claim 7. Masato discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the degradation causes include at least one selected from the group consisting of distance, shielding, fading, interference, congestion, and handover (paragraph 0033 [there are six kinds of deterioration events, i.e., events 1 to 6 in which the quality-deterioration factors in the first to third places are ABC, ACB, BAC, BCA, CAB, CBA . Then by considering the order of the quality deterioration factors with respect to the quality deterioration factor estimation results of the six events 1 to 6 the event 1 is "the radio wave is weaker than the surrounding base stations" and the event 2 is "there is an obstacle in the center and the radio wave interferes". It can be estimated that the event 3 is "the radio wave of another base station is too strong", the event 4 is "a wider range than expected is covered", the event 5 is "there is a problem in the coverage area of the base station and another base station", and the event 6 is "there is a problem in the base station".]).
Regarding claim 14, Masato discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the at least one processor further carries out an output process of outputting the derived influence ratios (see Figures 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13, 19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato (JP2019176322)(Supplied by Applicant).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, Masato discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 1, 9, 15, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor further carries out a measure taking process of taking a measure for improving the communication quality in accordance with the derived influence ratios.
However, since Masato discloses there are six kinds of deterioration events, i.e., events 1 to 6 in which the quality-deterioration factors in the first to third places are ABC, ACB, BAC, BCA, CAB, CBA . Then by considering the order of the quality deterioration factors with respect to the quality deterioration factor estimation results of the six events 1 to 6 the event 1 is "the radio wave is weaker than the surrounding base stations" and the event 2 is "there is an obstacle in the center and the radio wave interferes". It can be estimated that the event 3 is "the radio wave of another base station is too strong", the event 4 is "a wider range than expected is covered", the event 5 is "there is a problem in the coverage area of the base station and another base station", and the event 6 is "there is a problem in the base station" (paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to recognize taking measurements according to the degradation causes in order to improve the quality of the communication.
NOTE: Regarding claims 2-4, 8, 10-12, 16-18, prior art of record does not disclose or make obvious the subject matter in the claims, but cannot be objected since claims are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465