DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication received July 9th, 2024. Claims 4, 8-9, 11, 12-13, 17-18, 21, 23, 25, 29-30, 33-34 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-20, 22, 24, 26-28, 31-32 have been entered and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 10th, 2026 and July 9th, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Application 18/727,411 is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/071130 01/10/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10, 12, 14-16, 19-20, 22, 24, 26-28, 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 102 Zhou et al. (US 2023/0403679).
Regarding claims 1, 15, 31-32, Zhou et al. discloses a method for configuring search space (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]), performed by a network-side device (paragraph 0322 [base station]), and comprising: configuring a first search space, for a paging early indication (PEI) of a first type of terminal, in one of a first bandwidth part (BWP) or in a second BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device.]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou et al. discloses all the subject matter in claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first type of terminal monitors a paging message on the first BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device.]).
Regarding claims 3, 16, Zhou et al. discloses all the subject matter in claims 1, 15 and further wherein on a condition that the first search space is in the first BWP, the first BWP comprises an initial downlink (DL) BWP for the first type of terminal, and the first type of terminal comprises a reduced capability (RedCap) terminal (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device.]); and on a condition that the first search space is in the second BWP, the second BWP comprises an initial DL BWP for a second type of terminal, and the second type of terminal comprises a legacy terminal (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device.]).
Regarding claims 5, 19, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 3, 15 and further discloses wherein the configuring the first search space, for the PEI of the first type of terminal, in one of the first BWP or in the second BWP comprises: configuring, based on a predefined rule, the first search space in one of the first BWP or in the second BWP (paragraphs 0322, 0393-0397 [the first control resource set may be same as the second control resource set. The first control resources set and the second control resource set being same comprises the two control resource sets being with same configuration parameters. The one or more first search spaces may be same as the one or more second search spaces. The one or more first search spaces and the one or more second search spaces being same comprises the two search spaces being with same configuration parameters.]).
Regarding claims 6, 22, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claims 5, 19 and further discloses wherein the configuring, based on the predefined rule, the first search space in one of the first BWP or in the second BWP comprises one of: configuring the first search space in the second BWP (paragraphs 0393-0397 [The one or more first search spaces and the one or more second search spaces being same comprises the two search spaces being with same configuration parameters; the first initial BWP may be same as the second initial BWP]); or determining a target BWP in which a search space for paging signaling monitored by the first type of terminal is located1, and configuring the first search space in the target BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 5 and further discloses configuring a second search space, for a PEI of the second type of terminal, in the second BWP,and wherein a first configuration of the first search space and a second configuration of the second search space are either completely different, partially the same, or all the same (paragraphs 0393-0397 [The one or more first search spaces and the one or more second search spaces being same comprises the two search spaces being with same configuration parameters; the first initial BWP may be same as the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 10, 24, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 6, 22 and further discloses indicating, by a broadcast message, the second BWP to the first type of terminal, and wherein the broadcast message comprises at least one of system information or paging signaling (see Figure 32 and paragraphs 0322, 0326 [a base station may transmit to a wireless device (or a plurality of wireless devices), one or more RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of PEI configurations. The one or more RRC messages may be cell common messages comprising MIB, SIB1, SIB2, etc. The one or more RRC messages may be broadcasted to the plurality of wireless devices comprising the wireless device; a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 6 and further discloses wherein the first search space is the same as a second search space for a PEI of the second type of terminal, and a resource corresponding to the PEI monitored by the first type of terminal in the first search space is the same as a resource corresponding to the PEI monitored by the second type of terminal in the second search space (paragraphs 0393-0397 [The one or more first search spaces and the one or more second search spaces being same comprises the two search spaces being with same configuration parameters; the first initial BWP may be same as the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 1 and further discloses in response to configuring the first search space in the first BWP, transmitting first configuration information to the first type of terminal, wherein the first configuration information is configured to indicate that the first search space is configured in the first BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device; a base station may configure separate initial BWPs, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]), or in response to configuring the first search space in the second BWP, transmitting second configuration information to the first type of terminal, wherein the second configuration information is configured to indicate that the secondfirstsearch space is configured in the second BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device; a base station may configure separate initial BWPs, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 19 and further discloses wherein the determining, based on the configuration information transmitted by the network-side device, the first search space in one of the first BWP or in the second BWP (paragraph 0322 [a base station may configure separate initial BWPs on a cell, e.g., comprising a first initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a RedCap wireless device and a second initial BWP for configuration of PEI and paging for a non-Redcap wireless device]) comprises: in response to receiving first configuration information transmitted by the network- side device, determining the first search space in the first BWP (paragraph 0322 [When a wireless device is a RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]), or in response to receiving second configuration information transmitted by the network-side device, determining the first search space in the second BWP (paragraph 0322 [When a wireless device is a RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the first initial BWP. When a wireless device is a non-RedCap wireless device, the wireless device may monitor a PEI PDCCH according to configuration parameters of the PEI search space on the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 26, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 22 and further discloses wherein the determining the first search space in the second BWP comprises: switching from the first BWP to the second BWP at a preset time, and monitoring the first search space in the second BWP (paragraph 0350 [a RedCap wireless device may determine PEI (e.g., search space, PEI occasion, etc.) is configured on the second initial BWP of the cell, in which case, the RedCap wireless device may be required to monitor the PEI on the second initial BWP and then switch to the first initial BWP for receiving the paging DCI in response to receiving the PEI on the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 22 and further discloses switching from the second BWP to the first BWP within a preset duration after monitoring the first search space in the second BWP (paragraph 0350 [a RedCap wireless device may determine PEI (e.g., search space, PEI occasion, etc.) is configured on the second initial BWP of the cell, in which case, the RedCap wireless device may be required to monitor the PEI on the second initial BWP and then switch to the first initial BWP for receiving the paging DCI in response to receiving the PEI on the second initial BWP]).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou et al. discloses all the recited subject matter in claim 22 and further suggests wherein a duration between a first time domain resource corresponding to the PEI in the first search space and a second time domain resource corresponding to the paging message to be monitored is greater than a preset number of time domain units (see Figures 29A-29B [the duration between the PEI and the PO is greater number than 1 time unit]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T WYLLIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2465