DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 7 Jul. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said second edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “said second central edge”.
Claims 2-8 depend upon claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said blade". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "their". There is unclear what the antecedent for this limitation is.
Claim 4 recites “said blade extends on at least a reticular wall of said fin” where it is unclear if the at least a reticular wall is the same or different than the previously recited “at least a reticular wall”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said first angle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "said adjacent panels". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said constraint means". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second edge". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the second central edge”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said edges". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said holes". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said pins". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “one of said bosses at each constraint means” where it is unclear if the each constraint means is the same or different than the claim 6 recited “constraint means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kulick et al. WO 2020/106919 (hereafter Kulick).
Regarding claim 1, Kulick teaches a reticular panel (10) for a cooling tower (¶2-4), defining:
a longitudinal plane (plane of paper in Fig 1) and a sagittal plane (plane alone 18 extending out of the paper in Fig 1) normal to said longitudinal plane, intersecting at a main axis (18);
first end edges (20, 22) extending parallel to said main axis on opposite sides of said panel in respect of said sagittal plane;
second central edges (edges along 18) extending parallel to said main axis, adjacent to said sagittal plane at the opposite sides of said panel in respect of said sagittal plane;
said panel extending corrugated on said longitudinal plane (as shown in Fig 3), making repeated fins (12) along said main axis, arranged in two symmetrical rows in respect of said sagittal plane, and extending along corresponding secondary axes, transversal to said main axis and mutually parallel, each comprising at least a top crest (upper portion of 12) more spaced from said longitudinal plane than the rest of said fin, and each defining a first end (end near 30 in Fig 3) at said first edge and a second end (end opposite first end not shown in Fig 3) at said second edge;
wherein each of said fins comprises a plurality of bosses (30, 30a, 26a), each boss protruding transversally to said longitudinal plane starting from said crest and/or said longitudinal plane at least on a corresponding end.
Regarding claim 2, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kulick further teaches wherein each of said bosses is defined by a flat bearing step (30) protruding from said crest and/or from said longitudinal plane.
Regarding claim 3, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kulick further teaches wherein each of said fins comprises at least a blade (as labeled below) extending parallel to said secondary axis and configured to increase the surface of thermal exchange of said panel.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blade)]
Regarding claim 4, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kulick further teaches wherein each fin defines at least to reticular walls (as shown in Fig 2 where the fins have tow rectangular walls which meet at the crest) on sides opposite to said crest, each wall being defined by pairs of sinusoidal segments intersecting at their inflection points, or mutually π/2 out-of-phase, and said blade extends on at least a reticular wall of said fin along each of said intersection points of said sinusoidal segments.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Blade)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kulick further teaches constraint means (means comprising 26a) configures to allow a mutual connection of said adjacent panels, and comprising a plurality of holes (26b) arranged between said fins at the longitudinal plane on each row and a plurality of pins (26a) arranged at said bosses on each row.
Regarding claim 7, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Kulick further teaches wherein said constraint means define for each row at least three constraint directions (where the pin/hole constraint would constrain at all directions parallel to the longitudinal plane) parallel to the main axis, placed at the first edge, at the second edge and between edges, respectively, and each row comprises a plurality of said holes (26b) aligned along said constraint directions at side longitudinal plane, a plurality of pins (26a) aligned along said constraint directions at said first edge on said first end and between said edges, and a plurality of said holes or of said pins along said constraint direction at said second edge on said second end (as shown in Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Kulick further teaches wherein each of said fins comprises one of said bosses at each constraint means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulick.
Regarding claim 5, Kulick teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kulick further teaches wherein said first angle (α) is approximately π/6 to π/3 (¶24).
MPEP 2144.05 II A states that where the prior art and claimed ranges overlap, a prima facie case exists to choose the overlapping portion of the ranges.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first angle of Kulick (¶24) to be is approximately π/3 as a matter of obvious choosing overlapping portions of the ranges.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776