Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 18, 25-27, 63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thangarasa (2024/0306057).
Regarding claim 1, Thangarasa discloses an information processing method, performed by a user equipment (UE) comprising: acquiring a measurement relaxation parameter (para 44, UE obtains information about a measurement relaxation factor); wherein the measurement relaxation parameter is used by the UE for relaxing a measurement of a radio signal transmitted by a network node (para 114-117, RLP deals with signal quality); wherein the network node comprises at least one of a master or secondary node (para 100, Dual Connectivity with MCG and SCG).
Regarding claim 18, Thangarasa discloses an information processing method performed by a network node (Figure 7) wherein the network node comprises a MN or SN of a dual connectivity UE (para 100, dual connectivity with master and secondary node structure) comprising: sending relevant information of a measurement relaxation to the UE (item 42, operational scenario configuring unit as Figure 4, step 200) wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of a measurement relaxation parameter, used for measurement relaxation of the UE (Figure 4, item 204)
Regarding claim 63, Thangarasa discloses a communication device (UE 5) comprising a processor (12) a transceiver (16) and a memory (14) storing a program executable by the processor for performing the method of claim 1 (as discussed above).
Regarding claim 2, Thangarasa discloses wherein acquiring the measurement relaxation parameter comprises receiving the measurement relaxation parameter sent by the network node (para 112, relaxation is pre-defined and/or configured by the network node) or wherein the relaxation parameter comprises at least one of: A radio link monitoring parameter, a beam failure detection parameter, or a radio resource management (para 121, radio link monitoring and RRM usage),
Regarding claim 3, Thangarasa discloses the use of UTRA and NR connectivity (para 94) as well as dual connectivity (para 100)and thus discloses NR-E-UTRA or NR-NR connectivity between the master/secondary node the UE.
Regarding claim 25-26, Thangarasa discloses that the control signaling between the UE and the network node is used to determine an occasion which could provide relaxation (para 101- signaling in DL and UL between UE and network for reference signals) in which a notification that the measurement relaxation condition is satisfied (relaxed RLP allowed determination step 104, Figure 3) and wherein sending the relevant information the measurement relaxation to the UE comprises sending a measurement relaxation indication to the UE based on the notification, Figure 4, step 202, configuring UE with relaxation parameters based on the operational scenario that relaxed RLP is allowed). Note that configuration parameters being sent is an enabling indication as well.
Regarding claim 27, Thangarasa discloses the measurement relaxation parameter is at least one of RLM or RRM (para 121, RLM or RRM parameters) or a relaxation configuration (Figure 4, step 202). Thangarasa further discloses that the measurement relaxation condition comprises a first condition comprising at least one of a displace of the UE within a preset duration being less than a first threshold (para 114, low mobility means the UE displacement in the network is less than threshold, i.e.- doppler speed or RSRP being static).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa in view of Koskela (2024/0430725).
Regarding claim 5 , 8 and 19, Thangarasa discloses that the network node and the user equipment determine measurement relaxation (para 112) but doesn’t explicitly disclose the UE sending to the network the capability information. Thangarasa discloses the capability information is related to RLM or RRM parameters (para 121 as discussed above) as well as that the system can be new radio UTRA or DC system control signaling (para 94 and 100 as discussed above).
However Koskela teaches the use of measurement relaxation parameters in which a UE sends the capability information to the network node for determining relaxation parameters (para 157-159, UE transmits UE assistance information in order to determine whether to continue relaxation parameters). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilling the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include UE sent capability information in order to provide accurate control signaling to determine whether to continue a relaxation parameter.
Claim(s) 10-12, 22, 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangarasa and Koskela as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ali (2019/0208474).
Regarding claim 10 and 22, the combination of Thangarasa and Koskela disclose all the particulars of the claim except for the use of signaling radio bearers (SRB) to send capability information between a UE and a network node. However, Ali teaches that a user equipment (UE) and a network can exchange signaling through SRB between either a master node or between a SN and the MN (para 30, 32, 53, 55, 57 – SRB are used to indicate low power mode, which is a capability of the UE between the NR-access point or between a SN and MN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include SRB signaling in order to utilize 5g control signaling to indicate capability information as taught by Ali to the system of Thangarasa and Koskela.
Regarding claims 11-12, Thangarasa discloses the measurement relaxation parameter comprises a measurement relaxation criterion (Figure 3, step 108) for indicating a measurement relaxation condition. Kosekela discloses in response to the measurement condition being satisfied, sending a notification for indicating the relaxation condition is satisfied to the network node (para 157-159, as discussed above). Thangarasa discloses that the control signaling between the UE and the network node is used to determine an occasion which could provide relaxation (para 101- signaling in DL and UL between UE and network for reference signals) in which a notification that the measurement relaxation condition is satisfied (relaxed RLP allowed determination step 104, Figure 3) and wherein sending the relevant information the measurement relaxation to the UE comprises sending a measurement relaxation indication to the UE based on the notification, Figure 4, step 202, configuring UE with relaxation parameters based on the operational scenario that relaxed RLP is allowed). Note that configuration parameters being sent is an enabling indication as well.
The combination of Thangarasa and Koskela disclose all the particulars of the claim except for the use of signaling radio bearers (SRB) to send capability information between a UE and a network node. However, Ali teaches that a user equipment (UE) and a network can exchange signaling through SRB between either a master node or between a SN and the MN (para 30, 32, 53, 55, 57 – SRB are used to indicate low power mode, which is a capability of the UE between the NR-access point or between a SN and MN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include SRB signaling in order to utilize 5g control signaling to indicate capability information as taught by Ali to the system of Thangarasa and Koskela.
Regarding claim 65, Koskela discloses wherein the measurement relaxation request information is used for triggering the network node to determine whether to allow the UE to relax the measurement (Figure 7, UE assistance information 718 is used for the network node to determine whether to continue RRM relaxation).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Velde (20230309033) in view of Thangarasa.
Regarding claim 30, Van Der Velde discloses an information processing method performed by a secondary node (abstract) comprising: transmitting associated information of a user equipment measurement (assistance information) with a master node (Step 1130). Also noted para 97-102, configuration of DC user equipment dealing with power savings). Van der Velde doesn’t’ disclose the measurement information is related to a relaxation parameter capability. However, Thangarasa teaches measurement relaxation parameter is used by the UE for relaxing a measurement of a radio signal transmitted by a network node (para 114-117, RLP deals with signal quality); wherein the network node comprises at least one of a master or secondary node (para 100, Dual Connectivity with MCG and SCG). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include measurement relaxation information in order to reduce the power consumption between the UE and network node.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Der Velde and Thangarasa as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Teyeb (2021/0195444).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Van Der Velde and Thangarasa discloses all the particulars of the claim except for if the SN has no configured SRB, transmitting information to the associated MN. However, Teveb teaches in a MN/SN system, if there are no configured SRB for the SN, the use of the MN to transmit information (para 114- 115 and 119, in a failure or lack of SRB, the UE will transmit to the master node or MCG). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include MN transmission in the event of no SRB in order to prevent loss of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the closest prior arts of Thangarasa, Koskela, and Van Der Velde disclose the use of master and secondary cell groups for the purpose of measurement relaxation and signaling between the network and UE for capability related to measurement relaxation, none of the cited prior art discloses nor fairly suggests “a second type of relaxation configuration, being a Master Cell Group (MCG)- specific measurement relaxation configuration and a Secondary Cell Group (SCG)- specific measurement relaxation configuration; wherein receiving the measurement relaxation parameter sent by the network node comprises at least one of: receiving the second type of relaxation configuration that is the MCG-specific measurement relaxation configuration sent by the MN node, and receiving the second type of relaxation configuration that is the SCG-specific measurement relaxation configuration sent by the SN node; or receiving the second type of relaxation configuration that is the MCG-specific measurement relaxation configuration sent by the MN node, and/or receive the second type of relaxation configuration that is the SCG-specific measurement relaxation configuration sent by the MN node” with respect to secondary SCG specific relaxation parameters for a SCG group.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li. (2022/0353763) disclose measurement relaxation parameters in a serving cell.
Niu (12,028,809) discloses relaxation parameters in a wireless system for power savings.
Li (2024/0224106) discloses measurement relaxation based on stationary edge characteristics.
Shi (2024/0365236) discloses RRM measurement relaxation.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641