DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment Acknowledgement
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 07/09/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11, 13, 15-16, 19-21, 23-24, 26, 28-29 and 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0125531).
Regarding claim 1. (Currently Amended) He teaches a method for information transmission, performed by a base station (He, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving first capability indication information, wherein the first capability indication information indicates whether a user equipment (UE) supports a paging early indication (PEI) (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping), wherein the first capability indication information indicates at least one of:
whether the UE supports a first type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping); or
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI, wherein the first type of PEI is different from the second type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping).
Regarding claim 11. (Currently Amended) He teaches a method for information transmission, performed by a user equipment (UE) (He, the Abstract), the method comprising:
sending first capability indication information, wherein the first capability indication information indicates whether the UE supports a paging early indication (PEI) (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping), wherein the first capability indication information indicates at least one of:
whether the UE supports a first type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping); or whether the UE supports a second type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping),
wherein the first type of PEI is different from the second type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping).
Regarding claim 24. (Currently Amended) He teaches a method for information transmission, performed by a core network device (He, the Abstract), the method comprising:
receiving first capability indication information, wherein the first capability indication information indicates whether a user equipment (UE) supports a paging early indication (PEI) (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping), wherein the first capability indication information indicates at least one of:
whether the UE supports a first type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping); or whether the UE supports a second type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping),
wherein the first type of PEI is different from the second type of PEI (He, pp [69]-[72], Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88]: receiving/transmitting capability information indication comprising based on UE subgrouping types, e.g., CN based subgrouping or UE ID based subgrouping).
Regarding claim 3. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein whether the UE supports the second type of PEI comprises at least one of:
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, wherein the first type of paging grouping mode comprises a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined by a core network device (He, Fig. 6, pp [69]-[72], [86]-[88]); or
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode, wherein the second type of paging grouping mode comprises a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined based on a UE identifier (He, Fig. 6, pp [69]-[72], [86]-[88]).
Regarding claim 5. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
in response to the first capability indication information indicating that the UE supports the second type of PEI, determining that the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 6, pp [69]-[72], [86]-[88]); or
in response to the first capability indication information indicating that the UE does not support a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode and a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode, determining that the UE does not support the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 6, pp [69]-[72], [86]-[88]; Fig. 7, pp [102]-[104]).
Regarding claim 6. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein receiving the first capability indication information comprises at least one of:
receiving from the UE, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
receiving from the UE, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
receiving from a core network device, the first capability indication information (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
receiving from a counterpart base station, the first capability indication information (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 7. (Original) He teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein receiving from the core network device, the first capability indication information, comprises:
in response to receiving grouping information of a first type of paging grouping mode of the UE from the core network device, determining that the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 8. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
sending to a counterpart base station, second capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
sending to the counterpart base station, second capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the second type of PEI (He, Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]; Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]);
sending to a core network device, second capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]; Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]); or
sending to the core network device, second capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PE at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]; Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]).
Regarding claim 9. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 1,further comprising:
sending third capability indication information to the UE, wherein the third capability indication information is configured for the UE to determine a PEI that the base station is capable of sending (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
wherein the third capability indication information is configured for the UE to determine at least one of the following that the base station is capable of sending:
the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
a second type of PEI corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, wherein the first type of PEI is different from the second type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
a second type of PEI corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
a second type of PEI corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode and the second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 13. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein whether the UE supports the second type of PEI comprises at least one of:
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, wherein the first type of paging grouping mode comprises at least one of a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined by a core network device (He, Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode, wherein the second type of paging grouping mode comprises a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined based on a UE identifier (He, Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 15. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein sending the first capability indication information comprises at least one of:
sending to a base station, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[64]; Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]);
sending to the base station, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[64]; Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]); or
sending to a core network device, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[64]; Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]).
Regarding claim 16. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 11, further comprising:
receiving second capability indication information from a base station, wherein the second capability indication information is configured for the UE to determine a PEI that the base station is capable of sending (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); and
determining whether to monitor the PEI sent by the base station according to the PEI supported by the UE (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
wherein the second capability indication information is configured for the UE to determine at least one of the following that the base station is capable of sending: the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
a second type of PEI corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, wherein the first type of PEI is different from the second type of PEI; a second type of PEI corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
a second type of PEI corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode and the second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 19. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein determining whether to monitor the PEI sent by the base station according to the PEI supported by the UE, comprises at least one of:
in response to determining that the UE supports the PEI that the base station is capable of sending, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
in response to determining that the UE does not support the PEI that the base station is capable of sending, not monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 20. (Original) He teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein in response to determining that the UE supports the PEI that the base station is capable of sending, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station comprises at least one of:
in response to the base station being capable of sending the first type of PEI and the UE supporting the first type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
in response to the base station being capable of sending the second type of PEI and the UE supporting the second type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 21. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 20, wherein in response to the base station being capable of sending the first type of PEI and the UE supporting the first type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station comprises at least one of:
in response to the base station being capable of sending the first type of PEI and the UE supporting the first type of PEI and the second type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
in response to the base station being capable of sending the first type of PEI and the UE supporting the second type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
wherein in response to the base station being capable of sending the second type of PEI and the UE supporting the second type of PEI, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station comprises at least one of:
in response to the base station being capable of sending a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, and the UE supporting the second type of PEI at least corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
in response to the base station being capable of sending a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode, and the UE supporting the second type of PEI at least corresponding to the second type of paging grouping mode, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 23. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein in response to the base station being capable of sending the second type of PEI at least corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode, and the UE supporting the second type of PEI at least corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station, comprises:
in response to the base station being capable of sending the second type of PEI at least corresponding to the first type of paging grouping mode, and the UE having grouping information of the first type of paging grouping mode, monitoring the PEI sent by the base station (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 26. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein whether the UE supports the second type of PEI comprises at least one of:
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode, wherein the first type of paging grouping mode comprises a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined by the core network device (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode, wherein the second type of paging grouping mode comprises a paging grouping mode where a paging group is determined based on a UE identifier (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 28. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 24, wherein receiving the first capability indication information comprises at least one of:
receiving from the UE, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PEI at least corresponding to a first type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]);
receiving from a base station, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]); or
receiving from a base station, the first capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports a second type of PE at least corresponding to a second type of paging grouping mode (He, Fig. 5, pp [82]-[83]; Fig. 6, pp [86]-[88], [92]-[95]).
Regarding claim 29. (Currently Amended) He teaches the method according to claim 24, further comprising at least one of:
sending to the base station, second UE capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the first type of PEI (He, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[64]; Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]); or
sending to the base station, second UE capability indication information indicating whether the UE supports the second type of PEI (He, Fig. 3, pp [60]-[64]; Fig. 4, pp [67]-[71]).
Regarding claim 59. (Currently Amended) He teaches a communication device, comprising:
a processor, and a memory storing a program executable by the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 11 (He, Fig. 2, pp [43]-[45]).
Relevant reference(s) to the claims but not used in the rejection above
Gupta et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0125555), teaches systems, methods, and apparatus for paging subgrouping wherein a UE may transmit a UE capability message as part of a registration procedure. The UE capability message may include paging subgroup assignment capability information. The UE capability message may be received at a CN via NAS signaling. The CN (e.g., an AMF of the CN) may assign the UE to a paging subgroup, based at least in part on the UE capability message; store the assignment in UE context; and transmit paging subgroup assignment information to both the UE and a base station. The paging subgroup assignment information may include an assignment of the UE to a paging subgroup. The UE may monitor for a paging occasion associated with the paging subgroup assigned to the UE, in a 5GMM_IDLE mode or a 5GMM_CONNECTED mode with RRC_INACTIVE indication.
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644