CTNF 18/727,501 CTNF 85264 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The use of the term WiMax, MulteFire, Wi-Fi, WiFi, Bluetooth, Blu-ray, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized entirely wherever each appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. None of the instant claims invoke U.S.C. 112(f). The term “processor” is a structural modifier. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 14-15, 17, 20, 24, 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0410098 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”) [provided by Applicant] . As to claims 1-2, 6, see similar rejections to claims 26-28, respectively. The apparatus teaches the methods. As to claim 7, Bao further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the wake-up signal is dedicated for use in waking up the UE solely for sidelink positioning operations (para. 0181, the UE 500 analyzes the WUS to determine whether an instruction associated with the WUS instructs the UE 500 to activate aperiodic positioning signal measurement, in this example, A-DL-PRS activation by the UE 500. For example, the UE 500 may analyze the WUS 1510 to determine whether the monitor indication 1640-1 instructs A-DL-PRS activation ( or other aperiodic positioning signal activation, e.g., A-SL-PRS activation )). As to claim 14, see similar rejection to claim 29. The apparatus teaches the method. As to claim 15, Bao further discloses the method of claim 14, wherein: the wake-up signal is transmitted during the wake-up signal monitoring window to direct the one or more UEs to wake-up during the DRX on-time for conducting the one or more sidelink positioning operations (fig. 20, step 2010 is determining if the WUS skips DRX, when no, step 2015 is measuring positioning signal and/or report positioning information, i.e. the WUS indicates that measuring the positioning signal occurs during DRX). As to claim 17, see similar rejection to claim 30. The apparatus teaches the method. As to claim 20, Bao further discloses the method of claim 14, wherein: the network node is a base station (para. 0057-0058, base station); and the base station transmits the at least one DRX to a first set of one or more UEs associated with a first common UE zone formed by the base station (para. 0069, One or more of a group of UEs utilizing D2D communications may be within a geographic coverage area of a Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) such as one or more of the gNBs 110a, 110b, and/or the ng-eNB 114; fig. 12, TRP transmits DRX to UE). As to claim 24, Bao further discloses the method of claim 14, wherein: the wake-up signal is dedicated to waking up the one or more UEs for sidelink positioning operations (fig. 20, step 2010 is determining if the WUS skips DRX, when no, step 2015 is measuring positioning signal and/or report positioning information, i.e. the WUS indicates that measuring the positioning signal occurs during DRX). As to claim 26, Bao discloses a user equipment (UE) (fig. 5, UE), comprising: a memory (fig. 5, memory 530); at least one transceiver (fig. 5, interface 520); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (fig. 5, processor 510), the at least one processor configured to (para. 0133 processor 510 generally, or the UE 500 generally, as performing any of the functions of the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550.): receive, via the at least one transceiver, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, wherein the at least one DRX configuration indicates at least a DRX on-time and a wake-up signal monitoring window for reception of a wake-up signal (fig. 12, para. 0134, The PRS measurement and reporting unit 550 is configured to receive DRX configuration information from the TRP 300 (e.g., a serving TRP) and to use the received DRX configuration information to implement measurement and reporting... The DRX configuration information may include, for example, the DRX cycle, DRX ON duration timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX retransmission timer, short DRX cycle, and DRX short cycle timer; para. 0170, the UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to monitor for the WUS during appropriate WUS monitoring windows 1550, 1560 ), wherein the wake-up signal is configured for use in determining whether the UE is to wake-up for sidelink positioning operations (para. 0172, The UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to analyze (e.g., receive, decode, and analyze) the WUS 1510 and respond to the WU indication corresponding to the UE 500, e.g., the WU indication 1610-1, to determine whether and how to measure positioning signals (e.g., PRS (DL-PRS, UL-PRS, SL-PRS)); and transition from a sleep state to a wake-up state during the DRX on-time to conduct one or more sidelink positioning operations dependent on whether the wake-up signal is received during the wake-up signal monitoring window (para. 0127, Discontinuous reception (DRX) is a mechanism in which a UE operates intermittently in a sleep mode and an active mode. The UE may enter the sleep mode from the active mode and stay in the sleep mode for a predetermined amount of time, although the time in the sleep mode may be altered, e.g., before entering the sleep mode or while in the sleep mode. The sleep mode time may be altered dynamically or in a predetermined way (e.g., according to a schedule of different sleep times). The UE may enter the active mode by waking up from the sleep mode; para. 0172: The UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to analyze (e.g., receive, decode, and analyze) the WUS 1510 and respond to the WU indication corresponding to the UE 500, e.g., the WU indication 1610-1, to determine whether and how to measure positioning signals (e.g., PRS (DL-PRS, UL-PRS, SL-PRS)). The UE 500 may be configured (statically and/or dynamically) to adhere to an indication by the WU indication 1610-1 not to skip the DRX ON time, and thus implement the DRX ON time). As to claim 27, Bao further discloses the UE of claim 26, wherein the one or more sidelink positioning operations comprise: report, via the at least one transceiver, sidelink positioning capabilities (para. 0148, the UE 500 may send a measurement and reporting configuration/capability(ies) message 1221 to the server 400. The message 1221 may indicate a configuration of the UE 500 regarding measurement behavior for measuring positioning signals (e.g., PRS) in view of DRX mode operation of the UE 500)); receive, via the at least one transceiver, a sidelink positioning resource signal (SL-PRS) configuration for a positioning session (para. 0149, At stage 1230, the server 400 may send a PRS configuration message 1231 to the TRP 300 and a PRS configuration message 1232 to the UE 500.); measure one or more SL-PRS (fig. 12, 1270, measure positioning signal); report, via the at least one transceiver, one or more SL-PRS measurements (fig. 12, 1290, positioning report(s)); configure one or more SL- PRS resources for transmitting one or more SL-PRS; transmit, via the at least one transceiver, one or more SL-PRS on one or more SL-PRS resources; report, via the at least one transceiver, transmission of the one or more SL-PRS; or any combination thereof (Examiner cited to at least two elements). As to claim 28, Bao further discloses the UE of claim 26, wherein: the wake-up signal includes signaling indicating the one or more sidelink positioning operations that are to be conducted during the DRX on-time (fig. 20, step 2010 is determining if the WUS skips DRX, when no, step 2015 is measuring positioning signal and/or report positioning information, i.e. the WUS indicates that measuring the positioning signal occurs during DRX). As to claim 29, Bao discloses a network node (fig. 3, TRP), comprising: a memory (fig. 3, memory 311); at least one transceiver (fig. 3, transceiver); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (fig. 3, processor 310), the at least one processor configured to (para. 0096, rocessor 310 to perform various functions described herein): transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration to one or more user equipments (UEs), wherein the at least one DRX configuration indicates a DRX on-time and a wake-up signal monitoring window for receiving a wake-up signal (fig. 12, para. 0134, The PRS measurement and reporting unit 550 is configured to receive DRX configuration information from the TRP 300 (e.g., a serving TRP) and to use the received DRX configuration information to implement measurement and reporting... The DRX configuration information may include, for example, the DRX cycle, DRX ON duration timer, DRX inactivity timer, DRX retransmission timer, short DRX cycle, and DRX short cycle timer; para. 0170, the UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to monitor for the WUS during appropriate WUS monitoring windows 1550, 1560), wherein the wake-up signal is indicated for determining whether the one or more UEs are to wake-up for sidelink positioning operations (para. 0172: The UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to analyze (e.g., receive, decode, and analyze) the WUS 1510 and respond to the WU indication corresponding to the UE 500, e.g., the WU indication 1610-1, to determine whether and how to measure positioning signals (e.g., PRS (DL-PRS, UL-PRS, SL-PRS); para. 0170, a WUS may be sent corresponding to each DRX ON time); and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a wake-up signal during the wake-up signal monitoring window indicated by the at least one DRX configuration (para. 0182, the UE 500 may analyze the WUS, or a message (e.g., a DCI) message received during the WUS monitoring window 1550; para. 0170, a WUS may be sent corresponding to each DRX ON time), wherein the wake-up signal is transmitted dependent on whether the one or more UEs are to wake-up during the DRX on-time for conducting one or more sidelink positioning operations (para. 0172: The UE 500, e.g., the PRS measurement and reporting unit 550, may be configured to analyze (e.g., receive, decode, and analyze) the WUS 1510 and respond to the WU indication corresponding to the UE 500, e.g., the WU indication 1610-1, to determine whether and how to measure positioning signals (e.g., PRS (DL-PRS, UL-PRS, SL-PRS), i.e. WUS is sent during ON time, to determine how to measure PRS). As to claim 30, Bao further discloses network node of claim 29, wherein: the wake-up signal is indicated for use in waking up the one or more UEs for sidelink positioning operations based on signaling included in the wake-up signal (fig. 20, step 2010 is determining if the WUS skips DRX, when no, step 2015 is measuring positioning signal and/or report positioning information, i.e. the WUS indicates that measuring the positioning signal occurs during DRX) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0410098 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0295442 A1 to Goyal et al. (“Goyal”) . As to claim 3, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one DRX configuration is configured as part of a sidelink resource pool configuration. Goyal discloses at para. 0009: A WTRU may be configured to perform positioning measurements (e.g., OTDOA, A-GNSS, E-CID, etc.) in the idle state. One or more of the following may apply. The WTRU may receive a configuration of dedicated sidelink resources of one or more WTRUs to relay the positioning measurements to a positioning server. The configuration may include one or more of the following: a list of sidelink enabled WTRUs, a list of DRX cycles of the configured sidelink WTRUs, a maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, threshold values, delay reduction factor values, etc. A WTRU may perform positioning measurements on configured resources. If the positioning measurement differs from a previously reported positioning measurement value (e.g., by a value larger than a threshold), the WTRU may reduce the maximum positioning measurement delay by a configured reduction factor value. The WTRU may perform one or more of the following to send positioning measurements. If the total reporting delay using one or more of the sidelink resources is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may send the positioning measurements using one of the configured dedicated sidelink resources . If the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs is unable to satisfy the condition that the total reporting delay is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports using resources from the common sidelink resource pool. The WTRU may select one of the sidelink WTRUs which may satisfy the requirements of the total reporting delay using the common resource pool. If the sidelink WTRUs in the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs satisfies the condition that the total reporting delay using a common resource pool is less than the reduced maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports, for example, by first transitioning to the connected state. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine geographic location of a WTRU (Goyal, para. 0002). Including the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Goyal. As to claim 4, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the at least one DRX configuration is configured as part of a sidelink positioning resource pool configuration dedicated to sidelink positioning resources. Goyal discloses at para. 0009: A WTRU may be configured to perform positioning measurements (e.g., OTDOA, A-GNSS, E-CID, etc.) in the idle state. One or more of the following may apply. The WTRU may receive a configuration of dedicated sidelink resources of one or more WTRUs to relay the positioning measurements to a positioning server. The configuration may include one or more of the following: a list of sidelink enabled WTRUs, a list of DRX cycles of the configured sidelink WTRUs, a maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, threshold values, delay reduction factor values, etc. A WTRU may perform positioning measurements on configured resources. If the positioning measurement differs from a previously reported positioning measurement value (e.g., by a value larger than a threshold), the WTRU may reduce the maximum positioning measurement delay by a configured reduction factor value. The WTRU may perform one or more of the following to send positioning measurements. If the total reporting delay using one or more of the sidelink resources is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may send the positioning measurements using one of the configured dedicated sidelink resources . If the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs is unable to satisfy the condition that the total reporting delay is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports using resources from the common sidelink resource pool. The WTRU may select one of the sidelink WTRUs which may satisfy the requirements of the total reporting delay using the common resource pool. If the sidelink WTRUs in the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs satisfies the condition that the total reporting delay using a common resource pool is less than the reduced maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports, for example, by first transitioning to the connected state. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine geographic location of a WTRU (Goyal, para. 0002). Including the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Goyal. As to claim 22, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 14, wherein: the at least one DRX configuration is configured as part of a sidelink resource pool configuration. Goyal discloses at para. 0009: A WTRU may be configured to perform positioning measurements (e.g., OTDOA, A-GNSS, E-CID, etc.) in the idle state. One or more of the following may apply. The WTRU may receive a configuration of dedicated sidelink resources of one or more WTRUs to relay the positioning measurements to a positioning server. The configuration may include one or more of the following: a list of sidelink enabled WTRUs, a list of DRX cycles of the configured sidelink WTRUs, a maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, threshold values, delay reduction factor values, etc. A WTRU may perform positioning measurements on configured resources. If the positioning measurement differs from a previously reported positioning measurement value (e.g., by a value larger than a threshold), the WTRU may reduce the maximum positioning measurement delay by a configured reduction factor value. The WTRU may perform one or more of the following to send positioning measurements. If the total reporting delay using one or more of the sidelink resources is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may send the positioning measurements using one of the configured dedicated sidelink resources . If the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs is unable to satisfy the condition that the total reporting delay is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports using resources from the common sidelink resource pool. The WTRU may select one of the sidelink WTRUs which may satisfy the requirements of the total reporting delay using the common resource pool. If the sidelink WTRUs in the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs satisfies the condition that the total reporting delay using a common resource pool is less than the reduced maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports, for example, by first transitioning to the connected state. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine geographic location of a WTRU (Goyal, para. 0002). Including the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Goyal. As to claim 23, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 14, wherein: the DRX configuration is configured as part of a sidelink positioning resource pool configuration dedicated to configuring sidelink positioning resources. Goyal discloses at para. 0009: A WTRU may be configured to perform positioning measurements (e.g., OTDOA, A-GNSS, E-CID, etc.) in the idle state. One or more of the following may apply. The WTRU may receive a configuration of dedicated sidelink resources of one or more WTRUs to relay the positioning measurements to a positioning server. The configuration may include one or more of the following: a list of sidelink enabled WTRUs, a list of DRX cycles of the configured sidelink WTRUs, a maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, threshold values, delay reduction factor values, etc. A WTRU may perform positioning measurements on configured resources. If the positioning measurement differs from a previously reported positioning measurement value (e.g., by a value larger than a threshold), the WTRU may reduce the maximum positioning measurement delay by a configured reduction factor value. The WTRU may perform one or more of the following to send positioning measurements. If the total reporting delay using one or more of the sidelink resources is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may send the positioning measurements using one of the configured dedicated sidelink resources . If the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs is unable to satisfy the condition that the total reporting delay is less than the maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports using resources from the common sidelink resource pool. The WTRU may select one of the sidelink WTRUs which may satisfy the requirements of the total reporting delay using the common resource pool. If the sidelink WTRUs in the configured list of sidelink enabled WTRUs satisfies the condition that the total reporting delay using a common resource pool is less than the reduced maximum positioning measurement reporting delay, the WTRU may determine to send the positioning measurement reports, for example, by first transitioning to the connected state. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to determine geographic location of a WTRU (Goyal, para. 0002). Including the positioning as taught by Goyal into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Goyal . 07-21-02-aia AIA Claim s 10, 21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0410098 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,617,135 B1 to Wu et al. (“Wu”) . The applied reference has a common Assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02. As to claim 10, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a further discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, wherein the further DRX configuration indicates at least a further DRX on-time and a further wake-up signal monitoring window for detecting an occurrence of a further wake-up signal, wherein the further wake-up signal is configured to wake-up the UE for one or more communication operations including monitoring sidelink control information (SCI), receiving sidelink data, or any combination thereof. Wu discloses FIG. 3 illustrates examples of resource configurations 300 that support destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some cases, the resource configurations 300 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 and the wireless communications system 200. For example, the resource configurations 300 may include a UE 115-d and a UE 115-e, which may be examples of UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a sidelink communication link 205-c, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link 205, as described with reference to FIG. 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a DRX cycle 210-c, a DRX cycle 210-d, a DRX cycle 210-e, a DRX cycle 210-f, and a DRX cycle 210-g, which may be an example of a DRXs 210 as described with reference to FIG. 2. The DRX cycles 210 may include one or more DRX on-durations 315, which may be examples of DRX on-duration 225 as described with reference to FIG. 2. In some cases, resource configurations 300 may include offsets 305, and S-WUS occasions 310 (col. 16, lines 37-58). Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to have destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling (Wu, col. 1, lines 5-7). Including the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wu. As to claim 21, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 20, further comprising: transmitting at least one further DRX configuration to a second set of one or more UEs, wherein the at least one further DRX configuration indicates a further DRX on-time and a further wake-up signal monitoring window for receiving a further wake-up signal, wherein the further wake-up signal is indicated for use in waking up the second set of one or more UEs for sidelink positioning operations, and wherein the second set of one or more UEs are associated with a second common UE zone formed by the base station. Wu discloses FIG. 3 illustrates examples of resource configurations 300 that support destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some cases, the resource configurations 300 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 and the wireless communications system 200. For example, the resource configurations 300 may include a UE 115-d and a UE 115-e, which may be examples of UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a sidelink communication link 205-c, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link 205, as described with reference to FIG. 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a DRX cycle 210-c, a DRX cycle 210-d, a DRX cycle 210-e, a DRX cycle 210-f, and a DRX cycle 210-g, which may be an example of a DRXs 210 as described with reference to FIG. 2. The DRX cycles 210 may include one or more DRX on-durations 315, which may be examples of DRX on-duration 225 as described with reference to FIG. 2. In some cases, resource configurations 300 may include offsets 305, and S-WUS occasions 310 (col. 16, lines 37-58). FIG. 1 illustrating various coverage areas (i.e. zones) of UEs at 110. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to have destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling (Wu, col. 1, lines 5-7). Including the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wu. As to claim 25, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 14, wherein: the wake-up signal is further indicated for use in waking up the one or more UEs for one or more communication operations including monitoring sidelink control information (SCI), receiving sidelink data, or any combination thereof. Wu discloses FIG. 3 illustrates examples of resource configurations 300 that support destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some cases, the resource configurations 300 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 and the wireless communications system 200. For example, the resource configurations 300 may include a UE 115-d and a UE 115-e, which may be examples of UEs 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a sidelink communication link 205-c, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link 205, as described with reference to FIG. 2. Additionally or alternatively, the resource configurations 300 may include a DRX cycle 210-c, a DRX cycle 210-d, a DRX cycle 210-e, a DRX cycle 210-f, and a DRX cycle 210-g, which may be an example of a DRXs 210 as described with reference to FIG. 2. The DRX cycles 210 may include one or more DRX on-durations 315, which may be examples of DRX on-duration 225 as described with reference to FIG. 2. In some cases, resource configurations 300 may include offsets 305, and S-WUS occasions 310 (col. 16, lines 37-58). Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to have destination-based sidelink wake-up signaling (Wu, col. 1, lines 5-7). Including the DRX cycles as taught by Wu into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Wu. Claims 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0410098 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”) [provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0262601 A1 to Ganesan et al. (“Ganesan”). As to claim 11, Bao does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the wake-up signal is further configured for waking up the UE for one or more communication operations including monitoring sidelink control information (SCI), receiving sidelink data, or any combination thereof. Ganesan discloses at para. 0077: in some embodiments, subchannels for SL- WUS transmission may be frequency division multiplexed (“FDMed”) with respect to a subchannel for a PSCCH transmission and a PSSCH transmission and those subchannels are not associated with any SL data transmission as shown in FIG.6. Further at para 0078: in various embodiments, a WUS resource is defined within a subchannel of a resource pool where the WUS resource is in a slot containing multiple WUS blocks. Each of the WUS blocks carries SCI (e.g., SCI - WUS ) which includes parameters such as a wake-up indicator, a destination ID, and/or a source ID. A number of WUS blocks in a WUS resource may be configured as part of a RP and each WUS block may contain SCI to be transmitted to a destination ID. Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the WUS as taught by Ganesan into the invention of Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been to have radio resource configuration for power saving (Ganesan, para. 0002). Including the WUS as taught by Ganesan into the invention of Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Ganesan. As to claim 12, Bao and Ganesan further disclose method of claim 11, wherein: the wake-up signal is configured for waking up the UE for the one or more sidelink positioning operations based on signaling included in the wake-up signal (Bao, fig. 20, step 2010 is determining if the WUS skips DRX, when no, step 2015 is measuring positioning signal and/or report positioning information, i.e. the WUS indicates that measuring the positioning signal occurs during DRX). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 11 applies. As to claim 13, Gao and Ganesan further disclose the method of claim 12, wherein: the signaling included in the wake-up signal indicates the one or more sidelink positioning operations to be conducted during the DRX on-time (Bao, fig. 20, elements 2010, 2015, do not skip DRX based on WUS, then measure positioning signal; para. 0135: he PRS discussed herein are DL-PRS, but the description is applicable to other PRS, e.g., SL-PRS and/or UL-PRS. As shown in FIG. 6, in a full-overlap relationship of PRS and DRX ON time, a scheduled DL-PRS occasion 610 occurs completely within a scheduled DRX ON time window 620. Thus, the DL-PRS occasion 610 fully overlaps with the DRX ON time window 620. The DRX ON time may refer to the DRX onDuration (configured by the DRX onDuration timer) or DRX active time (as discussed above, with an active time range being more dynamic, e.g., not determined at a beginning of a DL-PRS occasion)). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 12 applies. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 8-9, 16, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Publication No. 2020/0288399 A1 discloses at para. [0071] In other aspects, it may be appropriate for a subset of all TRPs in communication with UE 115-b to transmit wake-up signaling to UE 115-b prior to or at the beginning of on-duration states of a DRX cycle (e.g., to minimize power consumption at UE 115-b). Thus, in such aspects, the WUS configuration 505 may indicate that a subset of all the TRPs may transmit wake-up signaling to UE 115-b (e.g., an anchor TRP), and UE 115-b may turn on the panels used to communicate with the subset of TRPs to monitor for wake-up signaling from the subset of TRPs prior to or at the beginning of each on-duration state of a DRX cycle (i.e., during every pre-wake-up cycle). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR J GHOWRWAL whose telephone number is (571)270-5691. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached at 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR J GHOWRWAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 3 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 10 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 11 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 12 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 13 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 14 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 15 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 16 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 17 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 19 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 20 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 21 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 22 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 23 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 24 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 25 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/727,501 Page 26 Art Unit: 2463