DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 12-18, 20-25, 28-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12, 17-18, 20-23, 25 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (Gao), US 2025/0106865, in view of Park et al (Park), US 2022/0116859.
As per claim 1, Gao teaches the invention including a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Receiving a first control information message indicating a first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0045, 0117-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), wherein the first control information message activates a set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, or both, using the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0116-0120, 0143-0144);
Receiving, after receiving the first control information message, a second control information message indicating a second transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single second unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0124, 0145; second DCI indicates a second TCI state); and
Selecting a unified transmission configuration indicator state from the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states or the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a portion of the communication (pp. 0148-0152, 0159).
Gao does not teach wherein the first control information message activates a periodic or semi-persistent (P/SP) configuration. Park teaches that the first control information message is an activation command such as a MAC CE or DCI message that actives semi-persistent configuration (pp. 0226, 0281, 0291-0292, 0299, 0424-0426, 0429; figure 23) using the indicated one or more unified TCI states (pp. 0164, 0226, 0243-0248, 0429, 0443, 0455). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Gao and Park and transmit configuration parameters using activation messages such as MAC CE or DCI message to activate semi-persistent configuration (see Park, pp. 0299).
As per claim 3, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), and wherein selecting the unified transmission configuration indicator state comprises:
Selecting the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a subset of the set of periodic occasions (pp. 0045, 0159).
As per claim 4, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to a at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), the method to further comprise:
Deactivating a subset of the set of periodic occasions based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (pp. 0131, 0133, 155).
As per claim 5, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), the method further comprising:
Receiving, from the first transmission and reception point and the second transmission and reception point, first control signaling over a control resource set using directional beams corresponding to the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0108, 0110, 0112, 0123-0124).
As per claim 6, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Gao further teaches to comprise:
Receiving, from one of the first transmission and reception point or the second transmission and reception point, second control signaling over the control resource set using a directional beam corresponding to the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (pp. 0160-0161, 0167-0168).
As per claim 8, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein:
The first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to a at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), and
Each of the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states is associated with a respective subset of the set of periodic occasions, the respective subsets of the set of periodic occasions overlapping in a time domain and frequency domain (pp. 0030-0034).
As per claim 9, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein:
The first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), and
Each of the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states corresponds to a respective spatial layer (pp. 0030-0035).
As per claim 12, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein:
the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153),
Each of the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states is associated with a respective subset of the set of periodic occasions, and the respective subsets of the set of periodic occasions are non-overlapping in either a frequency domain or a time domain (pp. 0038-0042).
As per claim 17, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein the first control information message indicating the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single first unified transmission configuration indicator states is received over a first control resource set and activates the set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and the first transmission and reception point (pp. 0108, 0110, 0112, 0123-0124), the method further comprising:
Receiving a third control information message indicating third transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single third unified transmission configuration indicator state over a second control resource set, wherein the third control information message activates a second set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and the second transmission and reception point (pp. 0160); and
Selecting the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to a subset of the set of periodic occasions and a subset of the second set of periodic occasions (pp. 0160-0165).
As per claim 18, Gao teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
A processor (pp. 0227);
Memory coupled with the processor (pp. 0227, 0229); and
Instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (pp. 0227-0228) to cause the apparatus to:
Receive a first control information message indicating a first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0045, 0117-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), wherein the first control information message activates a set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, or both, using the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0116-0120, 0143-0144);
Receive, after receiving the first control information message, a second control information message indicating a second transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single second unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0124, 0145; second DCI indicates a second TCI state); and
Select a unified transmission configuration indicator state from the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states or the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a portion of the communication (pp. 0148-0152, 0159).
Gao does not teach wherein the first control information message activates a periodic or semi-persistent (P/SP) configuration. Park teaches that the first control information message is an activation command such as a MAC CE or DCI message that actives semi-persistent configuration (pp. 0226, 0281, 0291-0292, 0299, 0424-0426, 0429; figure 23) using the indicated one or more unified TCI states (pp. 0164, 0226, 0243-0248, 0429, 0443, 0455). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Gao and Park and transmit configuration parameters using activation messages such as MAC CE or DCI message to activate semi-persistent configuration (see Park, pp. 0299).
As per claim 20, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 18. Gao further teaches wherein the instructions to select the unified transmission configuration indicator state are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Select the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a subset of the set of periodic occasions (pp. 0045, 0159).
As per claim 21, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 18. Gao further teaches wherein the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to a at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Deactivating a subset of the set of periodic occasions based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (pp. 0131, 0133, 155).
As per claim 22, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 18. Gao further teaches wherein the instructions to select the unified transmission configuration indicator state, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Receive, from the first transmission and reception point and the second transmission and reception point, first control signaling over a control resource set using directional beams corresponding to the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0108, 0110, 0112, 0123-0124).
As per claim 23, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 22. Gao further teaches wherein the instructions to select the unified transmission configuration indicator state are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Receive, from one of the first transmission and reception point or the second transmission and reception point, second control signaling over the control resource set using a directional beam corresponding to the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (pp. 0160-0161, 0167-0168).
As per claim 25, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 18. Gao further teaches wherein:
The first transmission configuration indicator codepoint is mapped to a at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0116-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), and
Each of the at least two first unified transmission configuration indicator states corresponds to a respective spatial layer (pp. 0030-0035).
As per claim 28, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 18. Gao further teaches wherein the first control information message indicating the first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single first unified transmission configuration indicator states is received over a first control resource set and activates the set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and the first transmission and reception point (pp. 0108, 0110, 0112, 0123-0124), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Receive a third control information message indicating third transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single third unified transmission configuration indicator state over a second control resource set, wherein the third control information message activates a second set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and the second transmission and reception point (pp. 0160); and
Select the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to a subset of the set of periodic occasions and a subset of the second set of periodic occasions (pp. 0160-0165).
As per claim 29, Gao teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Means for receiving a first control information message indicating a first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0045, 0117-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), wherein the first control information message activates a set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, or both, using the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0116-0120, 0143-0144);
Means for receiving, after receiving the first control information message, a second control information message indicating a second transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single second unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0124, 0145; second DCI indicates a second TCI state); and
Means for selecting a unified transmission configuration indicator state from the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states or the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a portion of the communication (pp. 0148-0152, 0159).
Gao does not teach wherein the first control information message activates a periodic or semi-persistent (P/SP) configuration. Park teaches that the first control information message is an activation command such as a MAC CE or DCI message that actives semi-persistent configuration (pp. 0226, 0281, 0291-0292, 0299, 0424-0426, 0429; figure 23) using the indicated one or more unified TCI states (pp. 0164, 0226, 0243-0248, 0429, 0443, 0455). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Gao and Park and transmit configuration parameters using activation messages such as MAC CE or DCI message to activate semi-persistent configuration (see Park, pp. 0299).
As per claim 30, Gao teaches the invention including a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (pp. 0229, 0231, 0233), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to:
Receive a first control information message indicating a first transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0045, 0117-0118, 0124, 0143-0144, 0152-0153), wherein the first control information message activates a set of periodic occasions for communication between the UE and a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, or both, using the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0116-0120, 0143-0144);
Receive, after receiving the first control information message, a second control information message indicating a second transmission configuration indicator codepoint mapped to a single second unified transmission configuration indicator state (pp. 0124, 0145; second DCI indicates a second TCI state); and
Select a unified transmission configuration indicator state from the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states or the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state to apply to at least a portion of the communication (pp. 0148-0152, 0159).
Gao does not teach wherein the first control information message activates a periodic or semi-persistent (P/SP) configuration. Park teaches that the first control information message is an activation command such as a MAC CE or DCI message that actives semi-persistent configuration (pp. 0226, 0281, 0291-0292, 0299, 0424-0426, 0429; figure 23) using the indicated one or more unified TCI states (pp. 0164, 0226, 0243-0248, 0429, 0443, 0455). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Gao and Park and transmit configuration parameters using activation messages such as MAC CE or DCI message to activate semi-persistent configuration (see Park, pp. 0299).
Claim(s) 7 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Park as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12, 17-18, 20-23, 25 and 28-30 above, and further in view of obviousness.
As per claim 7, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 5. Gao and Park do not further teach to comprise:
Deactivating search spaces associated with the control resource set based at least in part on receiving the second control information message.
However, it is obvious to deactivate a search space associated with the control resource set when a second control information message is received to override the configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Gao and further deactivate search spaces when new control information message with updated configuration for the search space is received.
As per claim 24, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 22. Gao and Park do not teach wherein the instructions to select the unified transmission configuration indicator state are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
Deactivating search spaces associated with the control resource set based at least in part on receiving the second control information message.
However, it is obvious to deactivate a search space associated with the control resource set when a second control information message is received to override the configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Gao and further deactivate search spaces when new control information message with updated configuration for the search space is received.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao and Park as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 12, 17-18, 20-23, 25 and 28-30 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (Zhang), US 2025/0158689.
As per claim 13, Gao and Park teach the invention as claimed in claim 1. Gao further teaches wherein the control signaling activates a second set of periodic occasions for uplink signaling between the UE and the first transmission and reception point, the second transmission and reception point, or both, using the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0160-0165). Gao and Park do not teach to further comprise:
Receiving control signaling indicating at least two resource sets associated with a sounding reference signal, each of the at least two resource sets corresponding to a respective first unified transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states.
Zhang teaches to receive control signaling indicating at least two resource sets associated with a sounding reference signal, each of the at least two resource sets corresponding to a respective first unified transmission configuration indicator state of the one or more first unified transmission configuration indicator states (pp. 0144, 0159, 0167). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Gao, Park and Zhang in order to utilize the mapping of unified TCI state list and a sounding reference signal resource set having a first TCI state mapped to a first SRS resource set and a second TCI state mapped to a second SRS resource set to indicate and associate the uplink beam selection.
As per claim 14, Gao, Park and Zhang teach the invention as claimed in claim 13. Gao, Park and Zhang in combination further teach to comprise:
Updating a resource set of the at least two resource sets such that the resource set corresponds to the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (see Zhang: pp. 0126 and Gao: pp. 0124, 0145).
As per claim 16, Gao, Park and Zhang teach the invention as claimed in claim 13. Gao further teaches to comprise:
Deactivating a subset of the second set of periodic occasions based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (pp. 0131, 0133, 155).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao, Park and Zhang as applied to claims 13-14 and 16 above, and further in view of obviousness.
As per claim 15, Gao, Park and Zhang teach the invention as claimed in claim 13. Gao, Park and Zhang in combination further teach to comprise:
Updating a second resource set of the at least two resource sets such that the second resource set corresponds to the single second unified transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on receiving the second control information message (see Zhang: pp. 0126 and Gao: pp. 0124, 0145).
Gao, Park and Zhang do not teach to comprise:
Deactivating a first resource set of the at least two resources sets based at least in part on receiving the second control information message.
However, it is obvious to deactivate a first resource set of the at least two resources sets based at least in part on receiving the second control information message when a second control information message is received to override the configuration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Gao, Park, Zhang and further deactivate a first resource set when new control information message with updated configuration replacing the previous resource set is received.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10-11, 19 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao et al, US 2023/0309109
Muruganathan et al, US 2024/0015732
Venugopal et al, US 2021/0195583
Blankenship et al, US 2023/0300834
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 31, 2026