DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/09/24 has considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 10/27/25 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has been crossed out and not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 258 and 266 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 258 and 266 recites, inter alia, the limitations of “… one or more resource indicator value (TRIV), frequency resource indicator value (FRIV), …” which appears to be missing the word “time” before the recited “resource indicator value (TRIV)” similar to what is written in claim 274 that recites “… one or more time resource indicator value (TRIV), frequency resource indicator value (FRIV), …” which could potentially cause confusion and as such, the examiner requests the applicant to amend claims 258 and 266 to recite “time resource indicator value (TRIV)” in order to prevent confusion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 258-260, 263-268 and 270-272 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0180216 herein after referenced as Hwang) in view of LU et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0340859 herein after referenced as Lu).
Regarding claim 258, Hwang discloses:
One or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising: (Hwang, Fig. 16 & [0267] discloses The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document. For example, the processor(s) 102 may process information within the memory(s) 104 to generate first information / signals and then transmit radio signals including the first information / signals through the transceiver(s) 106).
causing transmission of sidelink control information (SCI) in accordance with a first inter-user equipment (UE) coordination scheme, (Hwang, [0140] discloses On the other hand, the UE may select SL resource(s) within a resource pool based on sensing. In the present disclosure, a method for selecting SL resource(s) by the UE may be referred to as a mode 2 method, a mode 2 operation, or a resource allocation mode 2. For example, in the resource allocation mode 2 (i.e. reads on in accordance with a first inter-UE coordination scheme), the UE may detect SCI transmitted (i.e. reads on transmission of SCI) by other UE(s), and the UE may identify resource(s) reserved by the other UE(s) based on the SCI; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
the SCI comprising inter-user equipment (UE) coordination information (Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information (i.e. reads on the inter-UE coordination information) through second SCI (i.e. reads on the SCI comprising). For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
that indicates a preferred or non-preferred resource set for a sidelink transmission, wherein the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information indicates non-preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a non-preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource (i.e. reads on for a sidelink transmission) within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0081] discloses For example, the UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool which implies a set of series of resources. In addition, the UE 1 may transmit an SL signal by using the resource unit; Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource. Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
is indicated by one or more resource indicator value (TRIV), frequency resource indicator value (FRIV), and periodicity combinations, (Hwang, [0179] discloses Additional resource information described in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be in the form of indicating/representing frequency domain resource(s) and/or time domain resource(s). For example, the resource information may be in the form of one combination or multiple combinations (i.e. reads on one or more combinations) of TRIV (i.e. reads on TRIV) and/or FRIV (i.e. reads on FRIV) and/or a resource reservation period (i.e. reads on periodicity) and/or a priority and/or a use level. Each combination may be transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or a PSSCH. For example, each resource group indicator combination may be included in different channels and/or signals and/or information. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each resource pool. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each first SCI indication value; Hwang, [0158] discloses For example, if reserved resources are repeated according to a resource reservation period indicated by the received SCI from a time when the UE-A detects the received SCI, the UE-A may determine the location of resources within the resource selection window. For example, the UE-A may determine the number of repetitions of resources reserved by the received SCI within the resource selection window, based on the resource reservation period and information regarding the resource selection window e.g., the size or end time of the resource selection window; Hwang, [0178] discloses For example, the UE-A may instruct the UE-B again the resource(s) corresponding to the reservation cancellation, through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or a PSSCH, by using the form of Time Resource Indicator Value TRIV and/or Frequency Resource Indicator Value FRIV resource allocation method; Hwang, [0159] discloses In this case, when the UE-A e.g., UE which transmits additional information indicates a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource, the UE-A may express/transmit by distinguishing between (i) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources indicated by FRIV and/or TRIV indicated in received SCI and (ii) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources repeatedly indicated after a resource reservation period indicated in received SCI and/or additional information e.g., resources indicated by TRIV and/or FRIV based on a slot after the resource reservation period from the reception time of SCI).
and wherein a maximum number (Hwang, [0144] discloses For example, the maximum number of resources (i.e. reads on maximum number) may be configured or pre-configured (i.e. reads on is fixed) for the UE).
and receiving the sidelink transmission based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information provided via the SCI (Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI (i.e. reads on provided via the SCI) may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH (i.e. reads on receiving the sidelink transmission) to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information). Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI; Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information indicates non-preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS).
Hwang discloses a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period as well as disclosing preconfiguring a maximum number of resources and Hwang, [0202] & [0217] discloses the information may be transmitted through second SCI and/or a MAC message but fails to explicitly recite that said maximum number of resources is directed towards the combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and therefore fails to disclose “and wherein a maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations is fixed;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
and wherein a maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations is fixed; (Lu, [0102] discloses a maximum quantity N.sub.max (i.e. reads on maximum number) of pieces of resource combination information (i.e. reads on of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations) corresponding to each resource pool is predefined (i.e. reads on is fixed), or the network device configures the corresponding maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information for each resource pool. In this way, when sending resource combination information, the first terminal may determine, according to a resource pool to which the resource combination information belongs, a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information that may be sent; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information (i.e. reads on combination) may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information (i.e. reads on TRIV), FRIV information (i.e. reads on FRIV), and resource reservation period information (i.e. reads on periodicity); Lu, [0109] discloses the resource combination information includes first time resource indicator value TRIV information and first frequency resource indicator value FRIV information; Lu, [0074] discloses Each time the terminal device sends the first sidelink control information, the terminal device reserves, by using the “Resource reservation period” field in the first sidelink control information, a resource of a next period, which is used for transmission of another TB, so as to achieve periodic semi-persistent transmission; Lu, Fig. 3 & [0071] discloses As shown in FIG. 3, a terminal device sends first sidelink control information, and indicates, by using a time domain resource assignment field and a frequency domain resource assignment field in the first sidelink control information, N time-frequency resources including a time-frequency resource used for current transmission used for transmission of a current TB; Lu, [0078]- [0082] discloses S201: A first terminal sends a first medium access control control element MAC CE to a second terminal and discloses Correspondingly, the second terminal receives the first MAC CE from the first terminal and discloses The first MAC CE includes N pieces of resource combination information, the N pieces of resource combination information are used to assist the second terminal in performing resource selection, and N is a positive integer and discloses the first terminal is referred to as a resource coordination terminal and discloses the N pieces of resource combination information may be considered as resource selection auxiliary information; Lu, [0089] discloses For example, the second terminal preferentially selects a preferred resource from resources indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information, and excludes a non-preferred resource; Lu, [0092] discloses the length of the first MAC CE is determined according to a size of N.sub.max pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0121] discloses For example, in a case that a higher layer parameter, that is, a maximum quantity per reserve on a sidelink sl-MaxNumPerReserve, is set to 2, a length of an information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 5 bits. In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0295] discloses In some embodiments, the first resource allocation information includes first time offset information, and the first time offset information is a time offset relative to a time domain resource indicated by the first offset information; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0056] discloses Device-to-device communication is a sidelink SL transmission technology based on terminal-to-terminal D2D. Different from a conventional cellular system in which communication data is received or sent by using a base station, in a vehicle to everything system, terminal-to-terminal direct communication is adopted, which has higher spectral efficiency and a lower transmission latency. Two transmission modes are defined in 3GPP, and are respectively denoted as a mode sidelink resource allocation mode A and a second mode sidelink resource allocation mode B; Lu, [0005] discloses This application provides a wireless communication method and a terminal device. A first terminal may indicate resource selection auxiliary information to a second terminal by using a MAC CE, so that the second terminal may perform resource selection according to the resource selection auxiliary information, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource, thereby improving performance of sidelink transmission).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hwang to incorporate the teachings of Lu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve performance of sidelink transmission (Lu, [0005]) by assisting the terminal in selecting a proper resource (Lu, [0240]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Hwang, [0256]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources as taught by Hwang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources, wherein the maximum number of resources includes a maximum number of combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and includes all the various information within the information fields and wherein the maximum number may be set to 3 and utilized in determining the length of an information field as taught by Lu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources (i.e. as taught by both Hwang & Lu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 259, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 258, (see claim 258).
wherein a first resource location of each TRIV is indicated by a slot offset in logical slots with respect to a reference slot (Hwang, [0181] discloses For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may vary according to the size of a TRIV indicator. For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may exceed two. For example, the UE may indicate up to M slot offsets within a W slot window after a reference slot of TRIV; Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, in the case of the reference time of the additional TRIV, information regarding the reference time may be provided for each resource indicator group. For example, information regarding the reference time may be a DFN index and/or a physical slot offset or a logical slot offset e.g. the first logical slot in the indicated DFN corresponds to an offset value 0; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0212] discloses For example, the start location of the time period may be in the form of a DFN index and/or a logical slot offset or a physical slot offset, and the start location of the time location may be transmitted to the UE through assistance information).
Regarding claim 260, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 259, (see claim 259).
wherein the reference slot is indicated by a field of the SCI (Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0217] discloses In this case, for example, the UE may determine whether to detect the additional information, based on an L1-source ID and/or an L1-destination ID and/or a reserved field value of the first SCI and/or whether the third SCI is indicated; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information; Lu, [0295] discloses In some embodiments, the first resource allocation information includes first time offset information, and the first time offset information is a time offset relative to a time domain resource indicated by the first offset information).
Regarding claim 263, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 258, (see claim 258).
wherein the maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations indicated by the SCI is 3 (Lu, [0121] discloses In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0102] discloses a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information corresponding to each resource pool is predefined, or the network device configures the corresponding maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information for each resource pool. In this way, when sending resource combination information, the first terminal may determine, according to a resource pool to which the resource combination information belongs, a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information that may be sent; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Regarding claim 264, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 258, (see claim 258).
wherein a field of the SCI indicates a number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations that are used to indicate the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Regarding claim 265, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 264, further comprising (see claim 264).
determining a size of a field in the SCI based at least in part on the number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations used to indicate the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Lu, [0121] discloses For example, in a case that a higher layer parameter, that is, a maximum quantity per reserve on a sidelink sl-MaxNumPerReserve, is set to 2, a length of an information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 5 bits. In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Regarding claim 266, Hwang discloses:
One or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising: (Hwang, Fig. 16 & [0267] discloses The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document. For example, the processor(s) 102 may process information within the memory(s) 104 to generate first information / signals and then transmit radio signals including the first information / signals through the transceiver(s) 106).
receiving sidelink control information (SCI) in accordance with a first inter-user equipment (UE) coordination scheme, (Hwang, [0140] discloses On the other hand, the UE may select SL resource(s) within a resource pool based on sensing. In the present disclosure, a method for selecting SL resource(s) by the UE may be referred to as a mode 2 method, a mode 2 operation, or a resource allocation mode 2. For example, in the resource allocation mode 2 (i.e. reads on in accordance with a first inter-UE coordination scheme), the UE may detect SCI transmitted (i.e. reads on receiving SCI) by other UE(s), and the UE may identify resource(s) reserved by the other UE(s) based on the SCI; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
the SCI comprising inter-user equipment (UE) coordination information (Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information (i.e. reads on the inter-UE coordination information) through second SCI (i.e. reads on the SCI comprising). For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
that indicates a preferred or non-preferred resource set for a sidelink transmission, wherein the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information indicates non-preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a non-preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource (i.e. reads on for a sidelink transmission) within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0081] discloses For example, the UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool which implies a set of series of resources. In addition, the UE 1 may transmit an SL signal by using the resource unit; Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource. Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
is indicated by one or more resource indicator value (TRIV), frequency resource indicator value (FRIV), and periodicity combinations, (Hwang, [0179] discloses Additional resource information described in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be in the form of indicating/representing frequency domain resource(s) and/or time domain resource(s). For example, the resource information may be in the form of one combination or multiple combinations (i.e. reads on one or more combinations) of TRIV (i.e. reads on TRIV) and/or FRIV (i.e. reads on FRIV) and/or a resource reservation period (i.e. reads on periodicity) and/or a priority and/or a use level. Each combination may be transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or a PSSCH. For example, each resource group indicator combination may be included in different channels and/or signals and/or information. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each resource pool. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each first SCI indication value; Hwang, [0158] discloses For example, if reserved resources are repeated according to a resource reservation period indicated by the received SCI from a time when the UE-A detects the received SCI, the UE-A may determine the location of resources within the resource selection window. For example, the UE-A may determine the number of repetitions of resources reserved by the received SCI within the resource selection window, based on the resource reservation period and information regarding the resource selection window e.g., the size or end time of the resource selection window; Hwang, [0178] discloses For example, the UE-A may instruct the UE-B again the resource(s) corresponding to the reservation cancellation, through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or a PSSCH, by using the form of Time Resource Indicator Value TRIV and/or Frequency Resource Indicator Value FRIV resource allocation method; Hwang, [0159] discloses In this case, when the UE-A e.g., UE which transmits additional information indicates a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource, the UE-A may express/transmit by distinguishing between (i) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources indicated by FRIV and/or TRIV indicated in received SCI and (ii) a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource determined based on resources repeatedly indicated after a resource reservation period indicated in received SCI and/or additional information e.g., resources indicated by TRIV and/or FRIV based on a slot after the resource reservation period from the reception time of SCI).
and wherein a maximum number (Hwang, [0144] discloses For example, the maximum number of resources (i.e. reads on maximum number) may be configured or pre-configured (i.e. reads on is fixed) for the UE).
and causing transmission of the sidelink transmission based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information provided via the SCI (Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI (i.e. reads on provided via the SCI) may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH (i.e. reads on receiving the sidelink transmission) to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information). Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI; Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information indicates non-preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS).
Hwang discloses a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period as well as disclosing preconfiguring a maximum number of resources and Hwang, [0202] & [0217] discloses the information may be transmitted through second SCI and/or a MAC message but fails to explicitly recite that said maximum number of resources is directed towards the combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and therefore fails to disclose “and wherein a maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations is fixed;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Lu discloses:
and wherein a maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations is fixed; (Lu, [0102] discloses a maximum quantity N.sub.max (i.e. reads on maximum number) of pieces of resource combination information (i.e. reads on of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations) corresponding to each resource pool is predefined (i.e. reads on is fixed), or the network device configures the corresponding maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information for each resource pool. In this way, when sending resource combination information, the first terminal may determine, according to a resource pool to which the resource combination information belongs, a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information that may be sent; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information (i.e. reads on combination) may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information (i.e. reads on TRIV), FRIV information (i.e. reads on FRIV), and resource reservation period information (i.e. reads on periodicity); Lu, [0109] discloses the resource combination information includes first time resource indicator value TRIV information and first frequency resource indicator value FRIV information; Lu, [0074] discloses Each time the terminal device sends the first sidelink control information, the terminal device reserves, by using the “Resource reservation period” field in the first sidelink control information, a resource of a next period, which is used for transmission of another TB, so as to achieve periodic semi-persistent transmission; Lu, Fig. 3 & [0071] discloses As shown in FIG. 3, a terminal device sends first sidelink control information, and indicates, by using a time domain resource assignment field and a frequency domain resource assignment field in the first sidelink control information, N time-frequency resources including a time-frequency resource used for current transmission used for transmission of a current TB; Lu, [0078]- [0082] discloses S201: A first terminal sends a first medium access control control element MAC CE to a second terminal and discloses Correspondingly, the second terminal receives the first MAC CE from the first terminal and discloses The first MAC CE includes N pieces of resource combination information, the N pieces of resource combination information are used to assist the second terminal in performing resource selection, and N is a positive integer and discloses the first terminal is referred to as a resource coordination terminal and discloses the N pieces of resource combination information may be considered as resource selection auxiliary information; Lu, [0089] discloses For example, the second terminal preferentially selects a preferred resource from resources indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information, and excludes a non-preferred resource; Lu, [0092] discloses the length of the first MAC CE is determined according to a size of N.sub.max pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0121] discloses For example, in a case that a higher layer parameter, that is, a maximum quantity per reserve on a sidelink sl-MaxNumPerReserve, is set to 2, a length of an information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 5 bits. In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0295] discloses In some embodiments, the first resource allocation information includes first time offset information, and the first time offset information is a time offset relative to a time domain resource indicated by the first offset information; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0056] discloses Device-to-device communication is a sidelink SL transmission technology based on terminal-to-terminal D2D. Different from a conventional cellular system in which communication data is received or sent by using a base station, in a vehicle to everything system, terminal-to-terminal direct communication is adopted, which has higher spectral efficiency and a lower transmission latency. Two transmission modes are defined in 3GPP, and are respectively denoted as a mode sidelink resource allocation mode A and a second mode sidelink resource allocation mode B; Lu, [0005] discloses This application provides a wireless communication method and a terminal device. A first terminal may indicate resource selection auxiliary information to a second terminal by using a MAC CE, so that the second terminal may perform resource selection according to the resource selection auxiliary information, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource, thereby improving performance of sidelink transmission).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hwang to incorporate the teachings of Lu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to improve performance of sidelink transmission (Lu, [0005]) by assisting the terminal in selecting a proper resource (Lu, [0240]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Hwang, [0256]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources as taught by Hwang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources, wherein the maximum number of resources includes a maximum number of combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and includes all the various information within the information fields and wherein the maximum number may be set to 3 and utilized in determining the length of an information field as taught by Lu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period and preconfiguring a maximum number of resources (i.e. as taught by both Hwang & Lu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 267, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 266, (see claim 266).
wherein a first resource location of each TRIV is indicated by a slot offset in logical slots with respect to a reference slot (Hwang, [0181] discloses For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may vary according to the size of a TRIV indicator. For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may exceed two. For example, the UE may indicate up to M slot offsets within a W slot window after a reference slot of TRIV; Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, in the case of the reference time of the additional TRIV, information regarding the reference time may be provided for each resource indicator group. For example, information regarding the reference time may be a DFN index and/or a physical slot offset or a logical slot offset e.g. the first logical slot in the indicated DFN corresponds to an offset value 0; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0212] discloses For example, the start location of the time period may be in the form of a DFN index and/or a logical slot offset or a physical slot offset, and the start location of the time location may be transmitted to the UE through assistance information).
Regarding claim 268, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 267, (see claim 267).
wherein the reference slot is indicated by a field of the SCI (Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0217] discloses In this case, for example, the UE may determine whether to detect the additional information, based on an L1-source ID and/or an L1-destination ID and/or a reserved field value of the first SCI and/or whether the third SCI is indicated; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information; Lu, [0295] discloses In some embodiments, the first resource allocation information includes first time offset information, and the first time offset information is a time offset relative to a time domain resource indicated by the first offset information).
Regarding claim 270, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 266, (see claim 266).
wherein the maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations indicated by the SCI is 3 (Lu, [0121] discloses In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0102] discloses a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information corresponding to each resource pool is predefined, or the network device configures the corresponding maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information for each resource pool. In this way, when sending resource combination information, the first terminal may determine, according to a resource pool to which the resource combination information belongs, a maximum quantity N.sub.max of pieces of resource combination information that may be sent; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Regarding claim 271, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 266, (see claim 266).
wherein a field of the SCI indicates a number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations that are used to indicate the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Regarding claim 272, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 266, further comprising (see claim 266).
determining a size of a field in the SCI based at least in part on the number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations used to indicate the preferred or non-preferred resource set (Lu, [0121] discloses For example, in a case that a higher layer parameter, that is, a maximum quantity per reserve on a sidelink sl-MaxNumPerReserve, is set to 2, a length of an information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 5 bits. In a case that the higher layer parameter sl-MaxNumPerReserve is set to 3, the length of the information field occupied by the first TRIV information is 9 bits; Lu, [0219] discloses Optionally, in the first MAC CE, an information field corresponding to the second bitmap may be set before an information field corresponding to the N pieces of resource combination information; Lu, [0240] discloses the first terminal indicates, to the second terminal, a parameter based on which the resource combination information or the first MAC CE is generated, so that the second terminal may determine a reference value of the N pieces of resource combination information according to the parameter, which is conducive to assisting the second terminal in selecting a proper resource; Lu, [0298] discloses the first MAC CE further includes third indication information, and the third indication information is used to indicate that a resource indicated by the N pieces of resource combination information is a preferred resource or a non-preferred resource; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information).
Claim(s) 261-262 and 269 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0180216 herein after referenced as Hwang) in view of LU et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0340859 herein after referenced as Lu) and further in view of KUCERA et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0217416 herein after referenced as Kucera).
Regarding claim 261 and claim 269, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 258, (see claim 258) and The one or more processors of claim 266 (see claim 266).
Hwang in view of Lu discloses transmitting an SCI that includes one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period but fails to explicitly recite that one of the TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period is omitted in response to an explicitly request and therefore fails to disclose “wherein at least one field is omitted from the SCI when transmission of the inter-UE coordination information is triggered by an explicit request.”
In a related field of endeavor, Kucera discloses:
wherein at least one field is omitted from the SCI when transmission of the inter-UE coordination information is triggered by an explicit request (Kucera, [0098]-[0100] discloses N combinations of TRIV, FRIV, resource reservation period as specified in Rel-16 TS 38.214 Section 8.1.5 with following modification. The value of resource reservation period is omitted at least when the transmission of preferred resource set is triggered by UE-B's explicit request and discloses First resource location of each TRIV is separately indicated by the inter-UE coordination information and discloses If [N<=3], MAC CE is used and it is up to UE implementation to additionally use 2nd SCI. When 2nd SCI and MAC CE are both used, the same resource set is indicated in the 2nd SCI and the MAC CE. If [N>3], only MAC CE is used; Kucera, [0093] discloses Under agenda item 8.11.1.2, RAN1 #107-e Nov 2021 has agreed on the following principles for IUC scheme 1 R1-2112756).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lu to incorporate the teachings of Kucera for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conform to the guidelines set forth by known standards (Kucera, [0093] & [0098]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Hwang, [0256]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period as taught by Hwang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period, wherein the resource reservation period is omitted in response to an explicit request and wherein a MAC CE and 2nd SCI is used if N <=3 and if N>3 only MAC CE is used as taught by Kucera) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period (i.e. as taught by both Hwang & Kucera) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 262, Hwang in view of Lu discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 258, further comprising (see claim 258).
Hwang in view of Lu discloses a transmission that includes one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period but fails to explicitly recite a determination being made to utilize a second stage SCI or MAC CE based on the number of combinations and therefore fails to disclose “determining whether to transmit the inter-UE coordination information via second stage SCI or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based at least in part on the maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations indicated by the SCI.”
In a related field of endeavor, Kucera discloses:
determining whether to transmit the inter-UE coordination information via second stage SCI or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) based at least in part on the maximum number of TRIV, FRIV, and periodicity combinations indicated by the SCI (Kucera, [0100] discloses If [N<=3], MAC CE is used and it is up to UE implementation to additionally use 2nd SCI. When 2nd SCI and MAC CE are both used, the same resource set is indicated in the 2nd SCI and the MAC CE. If [N>3], only MAC CE is used; Kucera, [0098]-[0099] discloses N combinations of TRIV, FRIV, resource reservation period as specified in Rel-16 TS 38.214 Section 8.1.5 with following modification. The value of resource reservation period is omitted at least when the transmission of preferred resource set is triggered by UE-B's explicit request and discloses First resource location of each TRIV is separately indicated by the inter-UE coordination information; Kucera, [0093] discloses Under agenda item 8.11.1.2, RAN1 #107-e Nov 2021 has agreed on the following principles for IUC scheme 1 R1-2112756).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hwang in view of Lu to incorporate the teachings of Kucera for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conform to the guidelines set forth by known standards (Kucera, [0093] & [0098]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and (Hwang, [0256]) and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period as taught by Hwang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period, wherein the resource reservation period is omitted in response to an explicit request and wherein a MAC CE and 2nd SCI is used if N <=3 and if N>3 only MAC CE is used as taught by Kucera) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a transmitting information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period (i.e. as taught by both Hwang & Kucera) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 273-277 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HWANG et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0180216 herein after referenced as Hwang).
Regarding claim 273, Hwang discloses:
One or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, perform operations comprising: causing transmission of sidelink control information (SCI) in accordance with a first inter-user equipment (UE) coordination scheme, (Hwang, [0140] discloses On the other hand, the UE may select SL resource(s) within a resource pool based on sensing. In the present disclosure, a method for selecting SL resource(s) by the UE may be referred to as a mode 2 method, a mode 2 operation, or a resource allocation mode 2. For example, in the resource allocation mode 2 (i.e. reads on in accordance with a first inter-UE coordination scheme), the UE may detect SCI transmitted (i.e. reads on transmission of SCI) by other UE(s), and the UE may identify resource(s) reserved by the other UE(s) based on the SCI; Hwang, Fig. 16 & [0267] discloses The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document. For example, the processor(s) 102 may process information within the memory(s) 104 to generate first information / signals and then transmit radio signals including the first information / signals through the transceiver(s) 106. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for a UE to include a processor and memory storing instructions in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
Hwang discloses in one embodiment that an SCI is transmitted that includes resources but fails to explicitly recite in the same embodiment, the limitations of “the SCI comprising inter-user equipment (UE) coordination information that indicates a reference slot and a preferred or non-preferred resource set for a sidelink transmission, wherein the preferred or non-preferred resource set is indicated with respect to the reference slot; and receiving the sidelink transmission based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information provided via the SCI.”
In a different embodiment, Hwang discloses:
the SCI comprising inter-user equipment (UE) coordination information (Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information (i.e. reads on the inter-UE coordination information) through second SCI (i.e. reads on the SCI comprising). For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
that indicates a reference slot (Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time (i.e. reads on that indicates a reference slot) of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI; Hwang, [0181] discloses For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may vary according to the size of a TRIV indicator. For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may exceed two. For example, the UE may indicate up to M slot offsets within a W slot window after a reference slot of TRIV; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, in the case of the reference time of the additional TRIV, information regarding the reference time may be provided for each resource indicator group. For example, information regarding the reference time may be a DFN index and/or a physical slot offset or a logical slot offset e.g. the first logical slot in the indicated DFN corresponds to an offset value 0; Hwang, [0212] discloses For example, the start location of the time period may be in the form of a DFN index and/or a logical slot offset or a physical slot offset, and the start location of the time location may be transmitted to the UE through assistance information).
and a preferred or non-preferred resource set for a sidelink transmission, (Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information (i.e. reads on inter-UE coordination information) indicates non-preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a non-preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources (i.e. reads on indicates a preferred resource set), the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource (i.e. reads on for a sidelink transmission) within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0081] discloses For example, the UE 1 may select a resource unit corresponding to a specific resource in a resource pool which implies a set of series of resources. In addition, the UE 1 may transmit an SL signal by using the resource unit; Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource. Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI).
wherein the preferred or non-preferred resource set is indicated with respect to the reference slot; (Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location (i.e. the reference slot) information for a reference resource selection window (i.e. reads on the preferred or non-preferred resource set) may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0165] discloses For example, if the UE-B performs partial sensing e.g., performing sensing only for a part of slots within a sensing window, or performing sensing only for sensing slots related to available slots after determining the available slots within a selection window, the number of available slots in the selection window according to non-preferred resource(s) and/or preferred resource(s) indicated/included in additional information may be less than a (pre-)configured threshold e.g., the minimum number of available slots).
and receiving the sidelink transmission based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information provided via the SCI (Hwang, Fig. 12 & [0227]-[0228] discloses Referring to FIG. 12, in step S1210, the UE-B may receive SCI from the UE-A through a PSCCH. For example, the SCI (i.e. reads on provided via the SCI) may include information for scheduling a PSSCH. In step S1220, the UE-B may receive assistance information from the UE-A through the PSSCH and discloses In step S1240, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH (i.e. reads on receiving the sidelink transmission) to the UE-C based on the selected SL resource (i.e. reads on based at least in part on the inter-UE coordination information). Alternatively/additionally, in step S1250, the UE-B may transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH to the UE-A based on the selected SL resource; Hwang, [0217] discloses For example, the UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through second SCI. For example, UE-A may transmit the additional resource information through a PSSCH e.g., a higher layer message e.g., a MAC layer message and/or an AS layer message and/or a V2X layer message. For example, the receiving UE may detect and use the additional information transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or third SCI; Hwang, [0235] discloses In the above situation, the UE may select a resource for the groupcast transmission by using additional information provided by receiving UEs e.g., UEs subject to the groupcast transmission. For example, if the additional information indicates non-preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource by avoiding the non-preferred resources indicated in each additional information. For example, if the additional information indicates preferred resources, the UE may select the sidelink transmission resource within the intersection of the preferred resources indicated in each additional information; Hwang, [0238] discloses Referring to FIG. 13, in step S1310, the first device may transmit, to a second device through a physical sidelink control channel PSCCH, first sidelink control information SCI including scheduling information for a physical sidelink shared channel PSSCH. For example, the first SCI may include information related to frequency resource assignment, information related to time resource assignment, information related to a demodulation reference signal DMRS pattern, and information related to modulation and coding scheme MCS).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Hwang to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Hwang, [0256]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period as taught by Hwang) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Hwang) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of a mobile device receiving information corresponding to one or more combinations of TRIV, FRIV and resource reservation period (i.e. as taught by Hwang) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 274, Hwang discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 273, (see claim 273).
wherein the preferred or non-preferred resource set is indicated by the reference slot and one or more time resource indicator value (TRIV), frequency resource indicator value (FRIV), and periodicity combinations indicated by the SCI (Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0165] discloses For example, if the UE-B performs partial sensing e.g., performing sensing only for a part of slots within a sensing window, or performing sensing only for sensing slots related to available slots after determining the available slots within a selection window, the number of available slots in the selection window according to non-preferred resource(s) and/or preferred resource(s) indicated/included in additional information may be less than a (pre-)configured threshold e.g., the minimum number of available slots; Hwang, [0179] discloses Additional resource information described in various embodiments of the present disclosure may be in the form of indicating/representing frequency domain resource(s) and/or time domain resource(s). For example, the resource information may be in the form of one combination or multiple combinations of TRIV and/or FRIV and/or a resource reservation period and/or a priority and/or a use level. Each combination may be transmitted through first SCI and/or second SCI and/or a PSSCH. For example, each resource group indicator combination may be included in different channels and/or signals and/or information. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each resource pool. For example, the number of resource group indicator combinations may be configured or pre-configured for the UE for each first SCI indication value; Hwang, [0158] discloses For example, if reserved resources are repeated according to a resource reservation period indicated by the received SCI from a time when the UE-A detects the received SCI, the UE-A may determine the location of resources within the resource selection window. For example, the UE-A may determine the number of repetitions of resources reserved by the received SCI within the resource selection window, based on the resource reservation period and information regarding the resource selection window e.g., the size or end time of the resource selection window).
Regarding claim 275, Hwang discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 273 (see claim 273).
wherein a first resource location of each TRIV is indicated by a slot offset in logical slots with respect to the reference slot (Hwang, [0181] discloses For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may vary according to the size of a TRIV indicator. For example, the maximum number of slot offsets may exceed two. For example, the UE may indicate up to M slot offsets within a W slot window after a reference slot of TRIV; Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, in the case of the reference time of the additional TRIV, information regarding the reference time may be provided for each resource indicator group. For example, information regarding the reference time may be a DFN index and/or a physical slot offset or a logical slot offset e.g. the first logical slot in the indicated DFN corresponds to an offset value 0; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0212] discloses For example, the start location of the time period may be in the form of a DFN index and/or a logical slot offset or a physical slot offset, and the start location of the time location may be transmitted to the UE through assistance information).
Regarding claim 276, Hwang discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 273 (see claim 273).
wherein the slot offset is indicated by a field of the SCI (Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI; Hwang, [0153] discloses For example, starting slot location information for a reference resource selection window may be transmitted through additional information in the form of an index of a slot in which additional information is transmitted and a slot offset value with respect to the index; Hwang, [0217] discloses In this case, for example, the UE may determine whether to detect the additional information, based on an L1-source ID and/or an L1-destination ID and/or a reserved field value of the first SCI and/or whether the third SCI is indicated; Lu, Fig. 6 & [0148] discloses the information field of the resource combination information may include information fields respectively corresponding to TRIV information, FRIV information, and resource reservation period information; Lu, [0295] discloses In some embodiments, the first resource allocation information includes first time offset information, and the first time offset information is a time offset relative to a time domain resource indicated by the first offset information).
Regarding claim 277, Hwang discloses:
The one or more processors of claim 273 (see claim 273).
wherein the SCI indicates the reference slot as a combination of a frequency value and a slot identifier (Hwang, [0231] discloses For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the first PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, the reference time of the additional TRIV may be the slot location of the last PSSCH indicated by first SCI. For example, in the case of the reference time of the additional TRIV, information regarding the reference time may be provided for each resource indicator group. For example, information regarding the reference time may be a DFN index and/or a physical slot offset or a logical slot offset e.g. the first logical slot in the indicated DFN corresponds to an offset value 0; Hwang, [0185] discloses For example, FRIV may indicate/represent the number of subchannels allocated for single PSSCH resource or multiple PSSCH resources, and/or starting subchannel index(es) for one PSSCH resource or two PSSCH resources indicated/represented by TRIV. For example, the one or two PSSCH resources may be resource(s) located after the last PSSCH resource indicated/represented by first SCI. For example, the one or two PSSCH resources may be resource(s) located after the last PSSCH resource indicated/represented by a previous resource group indicator. For example, a plurality of forms of FRIV and the reference point may be used in combination).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645