DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10-14 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 2-6 respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by “T334 for MUSIM”, 3GPP TSG-CT WG1 Meeting #131-e, C1-215121, 24.301 CR 3549, referred hereafter as D1.
Regarding claim 1, D1 discloses a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising, transmitting, to a network, a SERVICE REQUEST message, wherein the SERVICE REQUEST message is a CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message; receiving, from the network, a SERVICE ACCEPT message; and starting a timer when a condition is met (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message and the UE has set request type in the UE request type IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message).
Regarding claim 2, D1 further suggest wherein the condition is that the SERVICE ACCEPT message is received, the UE has set the Control plane service type of the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message to "mobile terminating request" and the "active" flag in the Control plane service type IE to 0, the user plane radio bearers have not been set up, and the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message was sent from EMM-IDLE mode (section Reason for Change, Case 3: UE shall send the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message and setting control plane service type IE to “mobile terminating request”. Setting the active flag to 0 in the request IE (Case 1)) (Section 10.2, T3440; the UE in EMM-IDLE mode without the active flag set and without the signalling active flag set, and the user plane radio bearers have not been setup as described in subclause 5.3.1.2.1 case b).
Regarding claim 3, D1 further suggest wherein the timer is T3440 (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message).
Regarding claim 4, D1 further suggest wherein the condition is that the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message is sent, the UE did not set the Control plane service type IE to "emergency services fallback", the UE has not included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message indicates that no user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established (section 5.3.1.2.1 d): starting the timer T3440 and the UE has no CS fallback emergency call, CS fallback call, 1xCS fallback emergency call, or 1xCS fallback call pending) (section 10.2 T3447; REGISTRATION REQUEST for mobility and periodic registration update with Follow-on request indicator set to "No follow-on request pending" and without Uplink data status IE included).
Regarding claim 7, D1 discloses a method performed by a network in a wireless communication system, the method comprising, receiving, to a User Equipment (UE), a SERVICE REQUEST message, wherein the SERVICE REQUEST message is a CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message; and transmitting, from the network, a SERVICE ACCEPT message, wherein a timer is stared when a condition is met (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message and the UE has set request type in the UE request type IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message).
Regarding claim 8, D1 further suggest wherein the condition is at least one of: the SERVICE ACCEPT message is sent, the UE has set the Control plane service type of the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message to "mobile terminating request" and the "active" flag in the Control plane service type IE to 0, the user plane radio bearers have not been set up, and the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message was sent from EMM-IDLE mode (section Reason for Change, Case 3: UE shall send the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message and setting control plane service type IE to “mobile terminating request”. Setting the active flag to 0 in the request IE (Case 1)) (Section 10.2, T3440; the UE in EMM-IDLE mode without the active flag set and without the signalling active flag set, and the user plane radio bearers have not been setup as described in subclause 5.3.1.2.1 case b), the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message is received, the UE did not set the Control plane service type IE to "emergency services fallback", the UE has not included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message indicates that no user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re- established, (section 5.3.1.2.1 d): starting the timer T3440 and the UE has no CS fallback emergency call, CS fallback call, 1xCS fallback emergency call, or 1xCS fallback call pending) (section 10.2 T3447; REGISTRATION REQUEST for mobility and periodic registration update with Follow-on request indicator set to "No follow-on request pending" and without Uplink data status IE included) or the UE did not set the Control plane service type IE to "emergency services fallback", the UE has not included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message indicates that no user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re- established (section 5.3.1.2.1 d): starting the timer T3440 and the UE has no CS fallback emergency call, CS fallback call, 1xCS fallback emergency call, or 1xCS fallback call pending) (section 10.2 T3447; REGISTRATION REQUEST for mobility and periodic registration update with Follow-on request indicator set to "No follow-on request pending" and without Uplink data status IE included).
Regarding claim 9, D1 discloses a User Equipment (UE), the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to control to: transmit, to a network, a SERVICE REQUEST message, wherein the SERVICE REQUEST message is a CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, receive, from the network, a SERVICE ACCEPT message, and start a timer when a condition is met (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message and the UE has set request type in the UE request type IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message).
Regarding claim 10, D1 further suggest wherein the condition is that the SERVICE ACCEPT message is received, the UE has set the Control plane service type of the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message to "mobile terminating request" and the "active" flag in the Control plane service type IE to 0, the user plane radio bearers have not been set up, and the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message was sent from EMM-IDLE mode (section Reason for Change, Case 3: UE shall send the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message and setting control plane service type IE to “mobile terminating request”. Setting the active flag to 0 in the request IE (Case 1)) (Section 10.2, T3440; the UE in EMM-IDLE mode without the active flag set and without the signalling active flag set, and the user plane radio bearers have not been setup as described in subclause 5.3.1.2.1 case b).
Regarding claim 11, D1 further suggest wherein the timer is T3440 (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message).
Regarding claim 12, D1 further suggest wherein the condition is that the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message is sent, the UE did not set the Control plane service type IE to "emergency services fallback", the UE has not included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Uplink data status IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message indicates that no user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established (section 5.3.1.2.1 d): starting the timer T3440 and the UE has no CS fallback emergency call, CS fallback call, 1xCS fallback emergency call, or 1xCS fallback call pending) (section 10.2 T3447; REGISTRATION REQUEST for mobility and periodic registration update with Follow-on request indicator set to "No follow-on request pending" and without Uplink data status IE included).
Regarding claim 15, D1 discloses a network, the network comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to control to: receive, to a User Equipment (UE), a SERVICE REQUEST message, wherein the SERVICE REQUEST message is a CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, and transmit, from the network, a SERVICE ACCEPT message, wherein a timer is stared when a condition is met (section 5.3.1.2.1 x): start the timer T3440 if the UE receives a SERVICE ACCEPT message and the UE has set request type in the UE request type IE in the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of “[J020] issue on missing indication to stop the NAS timer T3540”; 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #103 R2-1812945, referred hereafter as D2.
Regarding claim 5, D1 disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established. However, D2 from the same or similar field of endeavor suggests wherein the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established (section 5.3.1.2, b); Starting the timer T3540 if the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message) (section 5.5.1.3.4; If the Uplink data status IE is not included in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message, the AMF may indicate the SMF to re-establish the user-plane resources for the PDU sessions). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in D1’s method/system where the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established as suggested by D2. The motivation would have been to add an appropriate indication to NAS (see section 1; Introduction).
Regarding claim 13, D1 disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established. However, D2 from the same or similar field of endeavor suggests wherein the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established (section 5.3.1.2, b); Starting the timer T3540 if the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message) (section 5.5.1.3.4; If the Uplink data status IE is not included in the REGISTRATION REQUEST message, the AMF may indicate the SMF to re-establish the user-plane resources for the PDU sessions). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in D1’s method/system where the condition is that the UE has not included the Allowed PDU session status IE or has included the Allowed PDU session status IE indicating there is no PDU session(s) for which the UE allowed the user-plane resource to be re-established over 3GPP access in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message, or the UE has included the Allowed PDU session status IE in the SERVICE REQUEST message or the CONTROL PLANE SERVICE REQUEST message but the SERVICE ACCEPT message does not indicate that any user-plane resources of any PDU sessions are to be re-established as suggested by D2. The motivation would have been to add an appropriate indication to NAS (see section 1; Introduction).
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Lin (US 20230035327 A1).
Regarding claim 6, D1 disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein the timer is T3540. However, Lin from the same or similar field of endeavor suggests wherein the timer is T3540 (paragraph [0027]; the UE can start a guard timer (T3440, or T3540) upon receiving the SERVICE ACCEPT message from the network). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in D1’s method/system the T3540 timer as suggested by Lin to guarantee releasing of NAS signal connection. The motivation would have been to improve service with better performance (paragraphs [0027] [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, D1 disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention as recited in claim 1 above without explicitly suggest wherein the timer is T3540. However, Lin from the same or similar field of endeavor suggests wherein the timer is T3540 (paragraph [0027]; the UE can start a guard timer (T3440, or T3540) upon receiving the SERVICE ACCEPT message from the network). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate in D1’s method/system the T3540 timer as suggested by Lin to guarantee releasing of NAS signal connection. The motivation would have been to improve service with better performance (paragraphs [0027] [0040]).
Conclusion
HOANG-CHUONG Q. VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/HOANG-CHUONG Q VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476